Samsung Samsung OMNIA :: SGH-i900, omni u..can make the world seem bright..

Joseph Hahn
post Oct 18 2008, 07:15 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

New Omnia 8GB owner here. rclxm9.gif Totally overwhelmed as this is my first time with touch screen device.
It's a FMG set with supposedly free screen protector, pouch and 4GB MicroSD. Costed me 2700 at Mahkota Parade, Melaka.
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 18 2008, 10:24 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

How long did you guys charge your Omnia for the first time ? The salesman told me to charge for 8 hours.
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 18 2008, 11:34 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

I see. Did some research a bit and some recommend to leave it charging overnight for a few days and drain it fully before recharging again.
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 19 2008, 03:40 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

21900 baht = 2260 ringgit now. Monia lol. doh.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 20 2008, 07:25 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

What's the latest firmware and what's the latest official firmware? Which one would you guys recommend ? Seems that mine comes with H3 which is supposedly a battery killer ?
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 20 2008, 12:03 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Oct 20 2008, 10:10 AM)
Latest official firmware for Malaysia region is DXHH3. I don't agree that HH3 is a battery killer, I think my battery life was good with HH3.

Latest unofficial or leaked firmware for Malaysia region is DXHJ1.

To get the latest roms, how to install them and learn about the naming convention, go here

p/s: I am on DXHI3, pretty happy with this version. I will not jump to latest DXHJ1 until more reviews from other users smile.gif
Thanks man. I guess i'll wait for the next official firmware.

BTW how do i backup contacts, messages etc into my PC ? I haven't got a chance to read the manual yet. blush.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 20 2008, 09:17 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

So older firmware got Wifi problem ? I'm having problem where it tries to connect but then shows as available again. Upgrading firmware will solve the problem ?

I looked around for firmware update, it's only for XP ? o.o

This post has been edited by Joseph Hahn: Oct 20 2008, 10:29 PM
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 22 2008, 07:07 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(DragLung @ Oct 20 2008, 06:51 PM)
Strictly for Star Wars fans (otherwise regarded as lame and useless)

found a video...but this guy doesn't know how to swing properly lol

I suggest reading first before doing any installation for anyone interested

http://www.modaco.com/index.php?s=&showtop...ndpost&p=920711
Tried this. Freaking funny lol. Good to annoy friends. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 22 2008, 09:50 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Hm it's been a few days and i'm getting about a day of battery life with medium usage. ._. Should i give it more time to settle in ?

One more thing, when i play music in CorePlayer, the screen didn't turn off even though the "keep screen on when playing audio" is unticked by default. Any solution ?

Still on H3 btw.
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 26 2008, 06:48 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

I think Coreplayer supports it though i havent try.
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 29 2008, 01:54 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Hm guys, i'm still on H3 and my phone is 11 days old. The battery life doesn't seem to improve. Use it a lot and it can only last for a day. Should i upgrade my firmware ? What's the recommended firmware for me to upgrade? J6 ?

QUOTE(apextm @ Oct 28 2008, 11:51 PM)
wanna asking again..how to play avi files..
ive downloaded it from internet and transfer it to my storage folder using active sync. but cannot be played using windows media player..
do i need to install codec?
I use Coreplayer for audio and video. nod.gif

Joseph Hahn
post Oct 29 2008, 02:26 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Ah k, just looked at the thread. Seems good. Maybe i'll wait for MCR03.
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 30 2008, 10:38 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(apextm @ Oct 29 2008, 08:47 PM)
any link to download it?

Ugh J6/M2D02 looks pretty. Might install this instead of J6/MCR02 lol. doh.gif
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 30 2008, 03:18 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Guys, i'm still wondering why when i play music using Coreplayer, the display won't turn off even when i leave it alone. Any solution ?
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 30 2008, 04:21 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Touch player no equalizer. ;x Haven't try other players though.
Joseph Hahn
post Oct 31 2008, 08:20 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(maks_pain @ Oct 30 2008, 10:58 PM)
Omnia is a bit difficult for texting while driving..
but i always do that when i'm almost reach my wife's office..hehe..
Yeah tried that, very dangerous. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Doggystyle @ Oct 30 2008, 11:08 PM)
Hi guys,
Is this phone powerful enough to play a typical 700mb divx/xvid movie without reencoding to smaller res?
What i did is resize any format of video to 400 pixel width. If not the video will lag. And i think you can't play files above 720p IIANM.

Joseph Hahn
post Nov 4 2008, 07:56 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Nov 3 2008, 11:20 PM)
By the way guys, my Omnia problem is back - it will turn off Phone mode (meaning my Omnia goes into flight mode) randomly and I will not be able to turn back Phone mode unless by shutting down my Omnia for approximately 30 seconds. I think I need to send back my Omnia for warranty.

Any Malaccan here? I need to know the location of Samsung Service Centre in Melaka or else I need to go to Low Yat
QUOTE(dkliew @ Nov 3 2008, 11:55 PM)
i am from melaka as well.
wondering if there is any samsung service centre here. so far i only saw samsung service stall.  in mahkota.

say hi to the omnia melaka user smile.gif

Got. I bought in MP and the salesman said i can just service in Melaka. Here's the address from Samsung Mobile website.
Address : UB-023 Dataran Pahlawan Melaka Megamall, Jalan Merdeka Bandar Hilir, 75300 Melaka

Phone : 06-2867818, 016-6607818

Fax : 06-2867813
Only opposite of MP. sweat.gif

Joseph Hahn
post Nov 4 2008, 03:13 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

QUOTE(sharpman @ Nov 4 2008, 09:14 AM)
I know that address as I checked already from the website.. I am afraid the information is outdated since the whole UB floor is now occupied with clothes store and few restaurants.. no more handphone and computer shops up there. May I know which shop from MP you bought your Omnia? I think I'll go there and ask the shop myself

Thanks smile.gif
Answered your PM. Sorry late. I just moved house and no internet there yet. Only in office. ;x

QUOTE(pupp82 @ Nov 4 2008, 11:24 AM)
Hey Guys, a quick noob question, im going to get an Omnia somewhere around end of this week. My question is, how do you differentiate FMG set or AP or FMG sg ? Only the sticker on the back? Hehehe, after reading some threads about ppl getting cheated, so thought i might as well ask 1st =)

Oh yea, Thx to those who answered my previous questions and thx in advance for this. Hope don't mind my questions, i havent bought a phone in the past 3-4yrs, nor have i ever bought one in west malaysia or a Samsung phone.  blush.gif
Yea stickers on the battery and where you place the battery on the phone.

QUOTE(Ryeeson @ Nov 4 2008, 01:43 PM)
Anyone have good omnia pouch? care to share? how much do u buy? where?
I use iPhone pouch. sweat.gif

Joseph Hahn
post Nov 4 2008, 04:18 PM

kpop k
6,410 posts

navilink can lock this thread now. tongue.gif

0.0442sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:02 AM