post Jun 10 2008, 11:07 AM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Jun 10 2008, 09:58 AM)
looks dull  wink.gif
agree...dull n boring sweat.gif

Added on June 10, 2008, 11:11 am
QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jun 10 2008, 10:34 AM)
iphone repeat 1 phone with additional features..
nokia repeat most of all newphones with nothing to feature..  and u are saying? biggrin.gif
haha...from my POV, although nokia keep repeating ( sweat.gif doh.gif ) but at least phone basic function they hv it, good camera they still hv it, where as iphone update softwarem gps n 3G (data only)

This post has been edited by squall_kay: Jun 10 2008, 11:11 AM
squall_kay
post Jun 11 2008, 10:12 AM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Jun 11 2008, 09:44 AM)
lol..N95 replica??
but i do like the idea of embeded lighting
looks cool in dark
design wise..sleep.gif ntg new n fresh
crossover between n95+n81+touchup = n85 sweat.gif ----> not nice doh.gif
n96 at least looks better, but for back part, this better la...but still overall, not fresh sweat.gif
squall_kay
post Aug 29 2008, 11:45 AM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Aug 29 2008, 09:18 AM)
Looks fat..what is the weight? Just concern how if put in pocket? lol..
it weigh around n95 8gb, 128g
but hv slimmer body line than n96 n n95/n95 8gb
hope this is the last n95 recycling programmes

Added on August 29, 2008, 11:51 am
QUOTE(eyez98 @ Aug 29 2008, 10:07 AM)
eh doesnt this look likethe n96?
hmm...
yerp...all n81 look alike

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Aug 29 2008, 10:10 AM)
i pity nokia now.. they are getting more and more pathetic in their designs...
What goes to the exterior design, the company representatives stated exclusively for SMAPE.com that the current designer trend witnessed in N81, N85, N96 and a number of future models will be continued for a serious period of time, reserving the use of metal to Eseries line products. It's hard to say if this is actually good or bad, our task is to tell you about the Nseries outlook for the future. As long as the current design sells well, Nokia aren't going to invent something new. The second point is about the positioning policy. While Samsung is invading the hi-end segment with products like i8510 INNOV8, Nokia are doing their best to take over the mid-end product range, facing little to no competition. Models like i8510 or N96 almost never score high sales, while N79, N82 and N85 form the mass segment of multimedia devices which constitute a serious share of the company's sold products. The future growth of this share in the next year will owe much to the mentioned mass coming of mid-end multimedia handsets. That doesn't mean exactly that Nokia will no longer need a flagship to lead the product line; the most powerful handset in this series is to arrive later, in the first quarter of 2009, and this policy is fully justified.

Source: SMAPE

base on the bold line statement, if users wanna something fresh from nokia, we need to teach them a lessons, so that they can roll out new fresh design (as if they are hiding it, wait till the exact moment to release it sweat.gif )

This post has been edited by squall_kay: Aug 29 2008, 11:51 AM
squall_kay
post Aug 30 2008, 12:08 AM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Aug 29 2008, 08:30 PM)
erksss?...Nokia really brave... whistling.gif
does that mean..."don't judge the phone by it's casing"... laugh.gif
haha....coz Nokia know, although some basher (including me) said this phone looks bad n bla3...bt after all it still give the best all-rounder performance at reasonable price (perhaps), even when compare to c905, its only advantage js it 8mpx cam n xenon...if compare to INNOV8, the samsung offering a lot better but it come with hefty price tag sweat.gif
i think nokia has other design or perhaps revolution/innovation design, but they dun wanna release it, becoz why wanna offer it when they still can make profit (not like SE n Motorola), n this re-cycle specs from n95 still prove its worthness n can provide cost effective....marketing strategy rite..
squall_kay
post Aug 30 2008, 12:23 AM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(eyez98 @ Aug 30 2008, 12:10 AM)
xenon flash definately better
not always difinately better for camphone
coz xenon cannot be use in video, drains more battery, n double LED flash (base on mobile-review) perform better in close up pictures

squall_kay
post Aug 30 2008, 03:55 AM

5,725 posts

although the n85 kinda has boring design...but both gsmarena n smape give quite good impression

http://smape.com/en/reviews/nokia/Nokia_N85_N96-comp.html

http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_n85_nokia_n79-review-277.php

squall_kay
post Aug 30 2008, 03:22 PM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(xk2 @ Aug 30 2008, 12:15 PM)
some n85 pic brows.gif
im not sure either its me only or other also, coz this official photos make this n85 look quite nice despite its recycling design
squall_kay
post Sep 1 2008, 07:59 AM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(yupio @ Sep 1 2008, 04:57 AM)
interesting phone...any idea when's it launching and available in MY??
the latest might be around october
squall_kay
post Sep 1 2008, 10:41 AM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Sep 1 2008, 09:54 AM)
how good is the music quality of this phone? should i wiat for this or get the w980i? lol, dono wchih to choose. i'm looking more for a phone which looks good and for music. and not bad specs as well.
w980 n w902 with clear audio tech might be better in music department compare to the n85
n85 sound quality identical to n78 n n96 which is slightly better than n95/n95 8gb
squall_kay
post Sep 3 2008, 08:15 PM

5,725 posts

it seems this n85 getting many positive review
here from smape:
http://www.smape.com/en/reviews/nokia/Nokia_N85-rev.html
many praise its build quality, seems very good indeed smile.gif

its sound quality on par with n81, better than n78 a bit n better than n95, slightly below n91 n INNOV8

squall_kay
post Sep 4 2008, 10:31 PM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Sep 4 2008, 09:21 AM)
thank you squall_kay, this is a very detailed review indeed...
also, it mention that the built quality is next to perfect, but when i checked N81 8GB review at the same site, they say the same thing similar things as well. As a n81 user, i'd say that the slide quality is just normal, one which really need protection from user.

also, can anyone briefly explain the result on JBenchmark??
i see that N85 still have quite a big score gap compared to n82(n95 have totally same result as n82), so i am still quite worried that it will lag in games...

tq
i oso wondered coz base on the benchmark it seems n95 hv higher score, but from video in youtube, n85 seems faster n more responsive than n95
squall_kay
post Sep 5 2008, 06:08 PM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Sep 5 2008, 02:04 PM)
outlook doesnt impress much, looks like typical old design pda phone.... once again nokia phailed!!!
at least its quality and specs impressed those reviewers smile.gif
fail or not, the number of sales will justify it n base on the review, i do agree with them, n85 still one of the best all rounder specs out there for that kind of price... whistling.gif
squall_kay
post Sep 5 2008, 08:03 PM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Sep 5 2008, 07:27 PM)
any ideas about the pricing?
450euro
squall_kay
post Sep 6 2008, 06:26 PM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(smashpOp @ Sep 6 2008, 02:14 PM)
hey all

i had a review session with the N85 recently.

Posted part 1 of the whole story in my Symbian Blog.
Posted photos and video too.

Click on the link and come view the N85 video yea
Cannot view ur blog ar bro sweat.gif
squall_kay
post Sep 8 2008, 07:09 PM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(smashpOp @ Sep 8 2008, 02:29 AM)
rockstar teddy: i tak beli... i review je

Click on the photo above to view all posts.

Click here to go directly to view the video of N85 navi wheel used to view the gallery
now can surf ur blog
thanx
wow, so lucky can review it drool.gif
squall_kay
post Sep 13 2008, 12:44 PM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Sep 13 2008, 11:28 AM)
when will it be out?
international launch - October
squall_kay
post Sep 13 2008, 05:06 PM

5,725 posts

interactive video

This post has been edited by squall_kay: Sep 13 2008, 05:07 PM
squall_kay
post Sep 15 2008, 04:34 PM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Sep 15 2008, 04:01 PM)
it's cool...since they have 90% similar in design, i will not be surprised that ppl got mistaken...it's like i can flash my N81 in front of you and say it's N96, most ppl would thought that it's actually N96 as well...
emm..i dont think so, coz n96 has way bigger screen than n81, n n96 looks bigger than n81
between n85 n n81, it look same but certainly can be differentiate tongue.gif
squall_kay
post Sep 17 2008, 02:47 PM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Sep 16 2008, 08:23 PM)
Nokia have this kind of "dare and brave" spirit...which makes them strong... whistling.gif
either this model or n96 can still stand strong in the coming days... rolleyes.gif
it they think a new design is a must then just launch a new model or "something-similar-design"... doh.gif
this what happens when they (any company la) become major brands and sit at top of the rank sweat.gif
squall_kay
post Sep 17 2008, 08:40 PM

5,725 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Sep 17 2008, 06:08 PM)
correct...correct... doh.gif
thinking theirs the best without reflecting what actually "should" be the best... whistling.gif
interms of innovation, only samsung, LG n apple can fit that terms.
moto, nokia n se cannot wooo
but at least nokia give best all rounder when compare to others (especially se n moto) atlhough they js recycling their products
as for me, i quite like this n85 tongue.gif

0.0478sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:47 AM