University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

chiahau
post Apr 15 2013, 09:14 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Quick question.

Instead of doing BPTC in UK, one could go to US and take Law as a post grad as well no?

Then you would have to sit for the State's Bar depending on where you want to practice in future.

Ain't that a better option compared to the BPTC?

Just hypothetical.
chiahau
post Apr 15 2013, 10:35 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(academiclawyer @ Apr 15 2013, 09:23 PM)
You can do your postgrad anywhere, even at the North Pole smile.gif

You may sit for the state bar exam. But you are unlikely to find employment. Unlike the BTPC, US state bar exams are not recognised in Msia. You spent 2 extra years in the US, and still need to sit for the CLP. To answer your question, it is the worst option.
Any why are you unlikely to find employment? Any hard facts to back this up?

Most people take the US bar and the BPTC with the intention not to go back to Malaysia, don't you think? laugh.gif
chiahau
post Apr 15 2013, 10:46 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(academiclawyer @ Apr 15 2013, 10:41 PM)
No hard facts. Just browse the websites of law firms. Go pick any 10 US law firms and try looking for a Msian.

Intention, yes. Realistically, no.

Msia has the most noncompetitive legal market. Everyone will find a job, even with a third class degree. The misconception is that everywhere else is like Msia.
No hard facts? Shame then.

The market is saturated in the States yea. But if you are good enough, don't see why a top 10 law firm won't hire you. It's blatantly saying just because you are Malaysian, you won't get hired.

Which is kinda ridiculous.

Thou I agree with your last statement. BolehLand can hire anyone and everyone with a job....
chiahau
post Apr 15 2013, 10:58 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(academiclawyer @ Apr 15 2013, 10:56 PM)
Surely you must take my statement as reflecting the general position. There are exceptions to everything. Finding a couple of exceptions does not refute the general position.
Of course, of course.

Don't get me wrong. I understand completely where you are coming from icon_rolleyes.gif

Thanks anyways. And I am sure, it's not just "couple" of exceptions smile.gif
chiahau
post Apr 16 2013, 08:38 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(academiclawyer @ Apr 15 2013, 11:05 PM)
If you take the traditional route - get a first degree and take the JD as your 2nd degree - then your chances are much higher. There's not much reason why they want to hire someone with a foreign law degree, especially from Msia.
Yea man.

I was thinking LL.M actually but you pretty much summed up what I was thinking.

Thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Apr 16 2013, 08:06 AM)
Does UM and UKM Law degrees recognise by SG gov to practise as a lawyer in S'pore ? Thanks.
UM should be recognized, UKM not really sure.

Refer to the Singapore Bar for more information?

One of these days, we should update the 1st page of this thread with latest information so that newer people can read well.

chiahau
post Apr 16 2013, 11:07 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Apr 16 2013, 11:06 AM)
Do you intend to practice law in the USA ? Thanks.
If I'm taking the CA's state Bar exam, of course I plan to practice in US.
chiahau
post Apr 16 2013, 11:12 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(academiclawyer @ Apr 16 2013, 11:10 AM)
Mind to tell us your undergrad and postgrad (if any) qualifications? From this we can more or less tell whether you should risk taking the state bar exam.
Undergrad - No qualification tongue.gif

I'm taking professional qualification, ACCA

Postgrad - LL.M in US once I get the clearance from my sponsors.
chiahau
post Apr 16 2013, 11:41 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Apr 16 2013, 11:38 AM)
Are yo on scholarship since you mentioned sponsorship ? Why take ACCA then go for L.LM in the USA ? Is there a change of mind after you took up ACCA route ? Cheers.
Personal reasons.

ACCA's just a stepping stone to something bigger man.

I plan to finish ACCA and get a 2nd degree to specialize in some field I want.

I'm on some form of sponsorship yea.
chiahau
post Apr 16 2013, 12:09 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(academiclawyer @ Apr 16 2013, 12:02 PM)
As I understand, most good US law schools will not except an applicant without a first law degree except under extraordinary circumstances. Which are you applying to?

With this route, your chances are very slim. Chances would increase slightly if, for example, you have been dealing with tax matters for the past 10 years and you aced an LLM from a top US law school specialising in tax. But in most cases, it's fatal to apply without a JD. Also, understand that LLM carries very little weight in the eyes of the US employers. For practice, JD trumps the LLM all day.
Most US law school offer Law as post grad, how can one get a law degree as undergrad?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pre-law

The American Bar Association requires law schools that it approves to require at least a bachelor's degree for North American students for admission. But no specific degree or major is considered "pre-law";[1] unlike pre-med, an undergraduate student is not required to take a set of prerequisites in order to get into law school. Therefore, universities lack an official "pre-law" concentration. Both holders of Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science degrees (and more rarely, higher degrees such as the master's degree and doctorate), as well as students of most undergraduate majors attend law schools. Specific law schools have their own requirements; there are also standard requirements set forth by the ABA and the Law School Admission Council.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Law_school_in_the_United_States

Law schools in the U.S. issue the Juris Doctor degree (J.D.), which is a professional doctorate,[1][2][3][4][5][6] and for most practitioners a terminal degree. Although most law schools only offer the traditional three-year program, several U.S. law schools offer an Accelerated JD program.
Other degrees that are awarded include the Master of Laws (LL.M.) and the Doctor of Juridical Science (J.S.D. or S.J.D.) degrees, which can be more international in scope. Most law schools are colleges, schools, or other units within a larger post-secondary institution, such as a university. Legal education is very different in the United States from that in many other parts of the world.

Based on what I google out roughly, LL.M or J.D could be obtained from a law school in United States as well. Depending on what you want to enroll in. Besides, since there's no legit pre-requisite, ACCA and a strong hand in Tax would be a very legit reason to enroll in law schools as Taxation and laws correlated strongly in various fields.

Correct me if I am wrong, however.
chiahau
post Apr 16 2013, 12:31 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(academiclawyer @ Apr 16 2013, 12:15 PM)
Sorry if i did not make it clear. I was referring to your case, ie applying for an LLM without a first law degree (LLB or JD). If you can do the JD by all means do it. But I'm quite doubtful if you could get into a really good school for LLM without a  first law degree.
This is an important issue because you are trying to use the LLM to qualify you for the state bar exam.
Yeap.

I should apply for JD 1st over the LLM. Sorry. Did not read properly. Busy dealing with the morning rush of work laugh.gif

Gonna apply for LSATs after I am free and see how it goes then. Likely to join next year hmm.gif

JD then to State Bar and LL.M if wanna study further.

Great deal of research to do today then. Thanks again laugh.gif
chiahau
post Apr 16 2013, 01:06 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(academiclawyer @ Apr 16 2013, 01:00 PM)
The only big thing with the JD is cost since it takes three years. But if that's wholly sponsored then no problem.
Yeap. Ain't that bad if you can get a good law school.

JPA tends to sponsor students who are in Ivy or 2nd tier universities if you are lucky.

And there's always US study grants, excellency scholarships and etc icon_rolleyes.gif
chiahau
post Apr 16 2013, 02:41 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Depending on where I got a job offer, of course laugh.gif

But likely the CA/NYC State Bar as I don't think I want to work anywhere else outta the NYC tbh.

There's a good market for Tax experts there laugh.gif
chiahau
post Apr 16 2013, 02:54 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Apr 16 2013, 02:51 PM)
Are you on gov sponsorship for your ACCA education presently ?
Nope. Not on government sponsorship for my current program.
chiahau
post Apr 17 2013, 12:45 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(academiclawyer @ Apr 16 2013, 10:35 PM)
I think understanding is more important than speed. The law is, unfortunately, not always easy to understand.

Try to convert this into simple English:

Keyes v School District No 1, 413 US 189, 211 (1973)
Brennan J: "This is not to say, however, that the prima facie case may not be met by evidence supporting a finding that a lesse degree of segregated schooling in the core city would not have resulted even if the board had not acted as it did".
TLDR version - No case as the evidence does not backs the finding that even if the board did not act the way it did. laugh.gif

Summary writings by US supreme court and English court are a beauty to read.

I have to agree with your statement above.

And regarding the option of LL.B, there's pretty much no options for local people except for private institution offering a twinning or full external program.

It's pretty difficult to get into the Oxbridge/London schools with Malaysian's qualifications.

Best pathway would be enrolling in the UoL external paper for private candidate for now, no?
chiahau
post Apr 17 2013, 08:40 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Apr 17 2013, 08:05 AM)
Thanks guys for your feedbacks and advice. I have also heard of MMU ? Cheers.
MMU 4 year program, no need take CLP after that.

Problem is, if you want to go overseas, I think you can forget it..

It's not recognized anywhere else except BolehLand since your syllabus consist of Malaysian Laws mostly instead of English law if I am not mistaken.

My advise, go learn English Laws and do UoL external program. It's cheap and if you are hardworking, top students could be transferred to Inn's College in London to finish the program, all paid for.

Side note -

Just checked the fees of law in a top US Law school. Man, it's at least 40k USD per year. That's 120k minimum for a JD.

It's more expensive than a medical degree locally laugh.gif
chiahau
post Apr 17 2013, 09:12 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Apr 17 2013, 09:01 AM)
Thanks for your feedback as I need also to find out whether it is still viable to practice laws in M'sia ? Judging from the situation.
What do you want to practice in Malaysia? Lawyers are not high reimbursed in Malaysia and the judicial system, well. I rather reserve my person opinion on that.
chiahau
post Apr 17 2013, 09:22 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Apr 17 2013, 09:20 AM)
Having thought of specialisation yet but guess litigation is a must for a start. What do you think ?
I can't really say what's best for everyone.

Litigation's a good start, but in Malaysia, I doubt you'll get much exposure.

chiahau
post Apr 18 2013, 08:02 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Apr 18 2013, 07:58 AM)
Can you explain a little bit more of this ? Thanks.
Very little to zero litigation case in Malaysia to even practice.

Most lawyers here practice family law, sales and purchase and M&A.

You don't see much criminal/commercial/etc litigation here.

Besides, if you listen to Academiclawyer, since the chance to get employed overseas are like 0,001% based on his statistics, I don't think studying law locally is a good option as there's nothing much to practice in Malaysia laugh.gif
chiahau
post Apr 18 2013, 09:23 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Name me 1 litigation case that's significant enough for one to learn from in Malaysia.

The last major Litigation case I read was regarding the PwC scandal. Other than that, it's all bs made up by people, litigation involving government agency that are backed by powerful people, fraudulent case against a former DPM charged with Sodomy.

How much chance can a young graduate practice litigation in this country? You tell me.

If it's 99% procedure, might as well be a paralegal.

Learning without substance = Nothing to learn at all

Might as well do other more interesting courses then.
chiahau
post Apr 18 2013, 09:34 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(academiclawyer @ Apr 18 2013, 09:28 AM)
Define "litigation". We refer to litigation as an area of practice, not a legal discipline (unless you count court procedures as a legal discipline). Every case that goes to court is litigated to some extent. Every reported case was litigated. So tell me what kind of "Litigation case" do you want to hear about?
The conduct of a lawsuit is called litigation

I'm curious to see, what interesting thing you can learn in Malaysia. Seriously.

Since you said can practice a certain amount of litigation, example please?

From my point of view, there's nothing to be practice.

Most of my lawyer friends are doing paperwork pushing till 10pm in Malaysia compared to others that are practicing elsewhere in the world.

0.0769sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:50 AM