128 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

blu3_apple
post Jul 5 2010, 12:15 PM

419 posts

I can't find anything on Australian Bar in this thread. And also the Hong Kong Bar, is it equivalent to CLP ? i'm trying very hard to look into other alternatives to avoid taking the CLP.

Would anyone be kind enough to explain about the Australian bar, and if possible the hong kong bar as well.

im more interested in the australian bar though, like when are the intakes, duration of course and acceptance of australian bar holder in malaysia.

alsree786
post Jul 5 2010, 02:58 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(blu3_apple @ Jul 5 2010, 12:15 PM)
I can't find anything on Australian Bar in this thread. And also the Hong Kong Bar, is it equivalent to CLP ? i'm trying very hard to look into other alternatives to avoid taking the CLP.

Would anyone be kind enough to explain about the Australian bar, and if possible the hong kong bar as well.

im more interested in the australian bar though, like when are the intakes, duration of course and acceptance of australian bar holder in malaysia.

Re Aus Bar...

Just would like to get some info.

1) From which uni did u obtain your LLB?

2) Which state in Aus are you considering to head to?

3) Do you intend to practice in Malaysia after?

ewenkhoo
post Jul 6 2010, 07:06 PM

17 posts

Hi, I will be studying in KDU LLB (external program) soon.
would like to ask if I will be able to get a credit transfer to Universities in Singapore or HongKong in the final year?

OR

Will I be able to practice at the respective country as well if i complete the whole course locally.
blu3_apple
post Jul 6 2010, 09:21 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Jul 5 2010, 02:58 PM)
Re Aus Bar...

Just would like to get some info.

1) From which uni did u obtain your LLB?

2) Which state in Aus are you considering to head to?

3) Do you intend to practice in Malaysia after?
oh sorry i wasnt very clear with my question. got my LLB from northumbria in the UK, and yes i would like the option to practice in malaysia. i dont have a definite choice of state and im open to all available options. do u think you can help me out here ?
alsree786
post Jul 7 2010, 12:30 AM

937 posts

QUOTE(ewenkhoo @ Jul 6 2010, 07:06 PM)
Hi, I will be studying in KDU LLB (external program) soon.
would like to ask if I will be able to get a credit transfer to Universities in Singapore or HongKong in the final year?

OR

Will I be able to practice at the respective country as well if i complete the whole course locally.
Am assuming you're pursuing the UOL Ext LLB. Am not sure about HK, but for SG:

I highly doubt u can transfer, short of saying no coz whatever it is it is still at their discretion.

And for your second question, information can be gleaned from http://app2.mlaw.gov.sg/UsefulInfo/Practic...64/Default.aspx

QUOTE(blu3_apple @ Jul 6 2010, 09:21 PM)
oh sorry i wasnt very clear with my question. got my LLB from northumbria in the UK, and yes i would like the option to practice in malaysia. i dont have a definite choice of state and im open to all available options. do u think you can help me out here ?
You will probably need to spend a year in Australia just to complete the Priestly 11. Only then is your degree recognised and you take the "bar exam". There is no equivalent of the UK Bar in australia. Every state has its own exam and generally differ from the other. If im not mistaken, in some states the profession is fused, while in others, the profession is split. Even then, this is highly not recommended...because even if you finish the state bar exam, I dun think it is recognised in Malaysia ( I have no time to check proper atm)...

wornbook
post Jul 7 2010, 10:43 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(blu3_apple @ Jul 5 2010, 12:15 PM)

Even if you're admitted to the Australian Bar (in any state), you'll have to do CLP if you want to practice in (West) Malaysia.

TSschizophrenic
post Jul 7 2010, 11:46 AM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jul 7 2010, 02:43 AM)
Even if you're admitted to the Australian Bar (in any state), you'll have to do CLP if you want to practice in (West) Malaysia.
the same applies to HK Bar

:-)

Just refer to Section 3 of the LPA
shmily
post Jul 9 2010, 03:08 PM

19 posts

Are you searching for first year /foundation/A-level law books?
I'm selling my first year law books.
please visit:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1483900&hl=
blu3_apple
post Jul 10 2010, 07:21 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Jul 7 2010, 12:30 AM)
Am assuming you're pursuing the UOL Ext LLB. Am not sure about HK, but for SG:

I highly doubt u can transfer, short of saying no coz whatever it is it is still at their discretion.

And for your second question, information can be gleaned from http://app2.mlaw.gov.sg/UsefulInfo/Practic...64/Default.aspx
You will probably need to spend a year in Australia just to complete the Priestly 11. Only then is your degree recognised and you take the "bar exam". There is no equivalent of the UK Bar in australia. Every state has its own exam and generally differ from the other. If im not mistaken, in some states the profession is fused, while in others, the profession is split. Even then, this is highly not recommended...because even if you finish the state bar exam, I dun think it is recognised in Malaysia ( I have no time to check proper atm)...
QUOTE(wornbook @ Jul 7 2010, 10:43 AM)
QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Jul 7 2010, 11:46 AM)
the same applies to HK Bar

:-)

Just refer to Section 3 of the LPA
thanks for the input guys. god this is frustrating. all other bar equivalent in other countries require us law students to take up clp in order to practice in W.MSIA ! and the BVC( aka BPTC) is the only exception, which i cant attend because of the insanely high ielts requirement !

as for australia like you said alsree, i'd have to stay one year for the priestly 11 to be eligible for their bar examinations, that's another drawback there ! argh....

guess i have no choice but to pursue CLP !!!

once again, appreciate the feedback guys.

alsree786
post Jul 10 2010, 07:55 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(blu3_apple @ Jul 10 2010, 07:21 PM)
thanks for the input guys. god this is frustrating. all other bar equivalent in other countries require us law students to take up clp in order to practice in W.MSIA ! and the BVC( aka BPTC) is the only exception, which i cant attend because of the insanely high ielts requirement !

as for australia like you said alsree, i'd have to stay one year for the priestly 11 to be eligible for their bar examinations, that's another drawback there ! argh....

guess i have no choice but to pursue CLP !!!

once again, appreciate the feedback guys.
there are many reasons why ppl do not enrol for the BPTC...but IELTS requirement?? That's the first time i've heard someone not considering the BPTC for the IELTS requirement. I did the IELTS and got 8.5...and comparatively, my overall level of English is quite average...seriously, there must be another reason for you to not consider it. Costs perhaps?

...And i'm pursuing the CLP atm, if cost is not a factor and you feel that the field of law is where you want to be in the not too distant future...pls, aim towards enrolling for the BPTC...
cybershaun
post Jul 11 2010, 04:11 AM

64 posts

Is anyone here doing the Reading programme at Taylor's?
jhong
post Jul 11 2010, 07:31 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(cybershaun @ Jul 11 2010, 04:11 AM)
Is anyone here doing the Reading programme at Taylor's?
I am not doing reading twinning program at taylors, but, i might transfer to Reading this year.
minshuen
post Jul 11 2010, 12:49 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(jhong @ Jul 11 2010, 07:31 AM)
I am not doing reading twinning program at taylors, but, i might transfer to Reading this year.
erm...is university of reading a desirable place to study law?by going through the twinning programme at taylor's UC,how is the prospect of the graduates?
jhong
post Jul 11 2010, 06:51 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(minshuen @ Jul 11 2010, 12:49 PM)
erm...is university of reading a desirable place to study law?by going through the twinning programme at taylor's UC,how is the prospect of the graduates?
As far as i know, University of Reading is quite ideal for law studies. I dont think going through which education institution that matters, ultimately, as long as you are Reading student and graduated with excellent result, no one cares where were you from. Since its a well established law school, i would think the graduates from this respective uni will be doing well prospectively. ( Of course, it differs from person to person, in addition, studying and practicing is two different stage).

Anyway, i have my heart on Cardiff.
cybershaun
post Jul 11 2010, 08:16 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(jhong @ Jul 11 2010, 07:51 PM)
Anyway, i have my heart on Cardiff.

Where are you studying now?
jhong
post Jul 11 2010, 08:40 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(cybershaun @ Jul 11 2010, 08:16 PM)
Where are you studying now?
I am currently in my second year at Brickfields Asia College.
cybershaun
post Jul 11 2010, 10:00 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(jhong @ Jul 11 2010, 08:31 AM)

Do Reading permit transfers if you didn't start off in their programme? My understanding is, unless you're transferring from a college that already has a tranfer arrangement with a particular university, it is very difficult to transfer to second-year at English and Welsh universities. Many English university Web sites flat out say they won't consider second-year entry.

jhong
post Jul 11 2010, 10:17 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(cybershaun @ Jul 11 2010, 10:00 PM)
Do Reading permit transfers if you didn't start off in their programme?  My understanding is, unless you're transferring from a college that already has a tranfer arrangement with a particular university, it is very difficult to transfer to second-year at English and Welsh universities.  Many English university Web sites flat out say they won't consider second-year entry.
Yes, it is true as what you have said. Brickfields Asia College has now tied up partnership with Reading, Cardiff, Liverpool, Exeter(only 2nd yr entry), Northumbria, Herfordshire and Oxford Brookes. If i am not mistaken, there are few universities joining in too. I am not sure about that.

This post has been edited by jhong: Jul 11 2010, 10:30 PM
cybershaun
post Jul 11 2010, 11:31 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(jhong @ Jul 11 2010, 11:17 PM)
Yes, it is true as what you have said. Brickfields Asia College has now tied up partnership with Reading, Cardiff, Liverpool, Exeter(only 2nd yr entry), Northumbria, Herfordshire and Oxford Brookes. If i am not mistaken, there are few universities joining in too. I am not sure about that.

That's good news. I wonder how Taylor's are taking in the fact that Reading are no longer exclusive to them. Liverpool and Exeter must also be new additions to BAC's twinning partners. Please keep us posted if and when more unis are added to the list. How do you find studying at BAC? How are the lecturers? I'm not too keen on the location of the college and their facilities seem rather blah.
jhong
post Jul 12 2010, 07:24 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(cybershaun @ Jul 11 2010, 11:31 PM)
That's good news.  I wonder how Taylor's are taking in the fact that Reading are no longer exclusive to them.  Liverpool and Exeter must also be new additions to BAC's twinning partners.  Please keep us posted if and when more unis are added to the list.  How do you find studying at BAC?  How are the lecturers?  I'm not too keen on the location of the college and their facilities seem rather blah.
Well, to be frank, studying in Brickfields doesnt give you much access to library. No campus life. Anyway, they have just bought another building and currently working on it. I believe facilities wise, they are improving. Still, i have a great time in Brickfields, the campus life is not whether you have all the facilities but the friends you are having, so, in the gist, i find life in Brickfields is really not bad.

Lecturer wise, their lecture team are overall a good one, in my opinion( its of course not everyone is good).
As in my first year, i dislike some lecturers, but for my second year, i have no complains. I have got all the experienced and good lecturers for all my 4 subjects. Especially Trust and Land, i like these subjects very much.

Hahaha, i think Taylors still triumphs the battle, as in their reputation with Reading has been good. Another possibility which i have not clarified is, maybe they need only overall a 50% to enter into Reading on the basis its a twinning partnership( No, the moment they registered with Taylors, they are registered under Reading as well, i suppose as long as they passed all 4 subjects, its fine). Whereas for us, in order to enter into Cardiff, Liverpool,Reading and Exeter, we need an average of 50% in first year and 60% in second year. Arghh, exams starting this July, hope i can at least maintain a 60%.

128 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:27 PM