Best manager of our time?, Best manager
blinky
Jun 18 2008, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(rikimarumal @ Jun 18 2008, 08:03 PM) Jose Mourinho is my chioce 2nd will be Guus Hiddink-take korea(1st asia country to do so) to semis in wc 2002 Guus Hiddink may be a tactician master, but I think he's highly overrated. Don't forget, Korea went as far ahead as the semi-finals in the World Cup because of luck and favours from the referee.
blinky
Jan 7 2009, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(-Nos- @ Jan 7 2009, 08:55 PM) "I did not see it" is an excuse or accusation? . If it's an excuse, it's an excuse for? Losing a game? Moving to a new stadium can be a factor though. Just like the home and away thingy. 3. Is that an excuse or accusation? 4. The truth is the pitch is not in a very good condition. 5. The truth is the players are young. 6. I remember some famous and 'best' manager complained about the fixtures as well.  2) Moving to a new stadium can be a factor but don't forget that your opponents are playing in the same stadium as well. What unfamiliarity? 3) That is an excuse. 4) Same point as no. 2 5) He chose to build his team his own way. Why the excuses now? No one forced him into nurturing a whole team of under-21s.
blinky
Jan 8 2009, 12:21 PM
If you guys are suggesting that SAF is the best manager due to his long-serving career with the titles, then this guy should be it. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Willie_Maley» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « William "Willie" Patrick Maley (born Newry, Ireland, 25 April 1868–April 2, 1958, Glasgow, Scotland) was the first manager of Celtic Football Club and one of the most successful managers in Scottish football history. He led Celtic to 30 major trophies in 43 years as manager.
Put in a more solid argument please.
blinky
Jan 8 2009, 02:39 PM
My point was, one cannot judge "the best manager" simply from the length of his tenure and the titles he hold under his belt. Yes, those are major factors to look in but we have to also take other factors into like the way he manages his players, his relationship with the media, the way he treats the referees, relationship with other managers and so on and so forth.
SAF might boast a string of titles, no doubt about it. But let us put the other factors into argument and we may have a more fruitful discussion. There is a difference between "the best manager" and "the manager who won the most titles".
This post has been edited by blinky: Jan 8 2009, 02:40 PM
blinky
Jan 8 2009, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(befitozi @ Jan 8 2009, 04:05 PM) So winning League 2 is as hard as winning the Premiership? Yes its true, different era has different standard of football. Thats where difficulty mutliplier is important. Portuguese league would have a higher mutliplier then EPL during Benfica and Eusebio's day. Yes, winning League 2 is as hard as winning the Premiership. Any reason for me not to believe that?
blinky
Jan 8 2009, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Jan 8 2009, 06:00 PM) Lippi the best manager ever.. unless scolari can win champ league, world club football, a few premier league... or do south american title counted? As long as it's a title in its own right, why not? Speaking of which, I'm very surprised that River Plate got relegated. They used to be the powerhouse of Argentina and the South American Region along with Boca.
blinky
Jan 8 2009, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Jan 8 2009, 06:20 PM) err..solstice818... please dun treat anything i write as sarcasm cos i know i m not... because now here comparing trophies won from 2000 onwards... based on that Lippi record impressive among all... how many manager can have a world cup winning medal why don u tell me who the best manager in ur opinion? Like I said, there is a distinctive difference between "Best Manager" and "Most Successful Manager". Try looking the whole topic from a different aspect. A best manager can be someone who hasn't won any titles, yet is well respected in the industry for his ethics, work rate, relationship with his players, the referees and other managers etc. This post has been edited by blinky: Jan 8 2009, 06:25 PM