What does Accord SM4 Mean?, Difference between with and without SM4

TSfido
post Jun 6 2008, 01:02 AM, updated 18y ago

90 posts

Could you kindly enlighten me on the following?

I was looking for a used car in Malaysia and I came across some early 90's Honda Accord which comes with a SM4 tag. Do you guys mind to advise what does this tag mean? Thanks in advance..

awyongcarl
post Jun 6 2008, 03:00 AM

1,870 posts

SM4 is the Model number -.-
Like CL7(The Euro Accord), EK4/9, FD1/2 (Civic 8th) and so on.

Every car has that. It kinda represent it's generation/model, some sort of that.
! Love Money
post Jun 6 2008, 05:19 AM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

better get SV4 if u consider to mod brows.gif
pillage2001
post Jun 6 2008, 06:42 AM

1,992 posts

QUOTE(fido @ Jun 6 2008, 01:02 AM)

I was looking for a used car in Malaysia and I came across some early 90's Honda Accord which comes with a SM4 tag. Do you guys mind to advise what does this tag mean? Thanks in advance..
Basically meant 4th Gen.
hkh_88
post Jun 6 2008, 01:18 PM

315 posts

SM4 is very hard to find, most of the owner sayang to let go. Good luck!! haha
b00n
post Jun 6 2008, 02:16 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

My friend's SM4 Japan import just went into workshop because timing belt broke.
Need to overhaul engine as valve also "bengkok".
jssim
post Jun 6 2008, 04:16 PM

he~~~he~~~he~~~
1,745 posts

its nice if mod to vip style,
dun talk bout perfomance on this car, if the engine still ori....
but, do u think ur wallet can stand for the high maintainence & fc???
SUSsharkteef
post Jun 6 2008, 04:59 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(fido @ Jun 6 2008, 01:02 AM)

andyjyneo has an sm4 accord. mebbe u can ask him to sell it to you ?
and its the model number of the car. SV4, SM4, CD6 are just some of it. an accord is an accord. dun bother too much bout the parts code.
RCrex
post Jun 6 2008, 07:45 PM

The man who turn impossible to possible...
2,251 posts

SM4 >>> sex maniac freak -.-"?
ShinAsakura
post Jun 6 2008, 08:25 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

The gens are SM4 > SV4 > CF0 > CD6 ......

i oso got confused with them sometimes rclxub.gif
andyjyneo
post Jun 6 2008, 08:35 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Jun 6 2008, 08:25 PM)
The gens are SM4 > SV4 > CF0 > CD6 ......

i oso got confused with them sometimes  rclxub.gif
Bro, you're wrong...
4th generation is SM4
5th generation is SV4
6th generation is CF0 (yours)
7th generation is UC1 (sharkteef's)
facelifted 7th generation is UC3
8th generation is CP3

SM4, SV4, etc are just model codes. They're used to differentiate models.

I own an SM4, as bro sharkteef said. Overall, it's a good car. But sad/bad thing about SM4 & SV4 is the braking system. Other than that, everything is great. I modified my SM4 with simple bodykit to make it attractive and looks new.

Added on June 6, 2008, 8:39 pm
QUOTE(sharkteef @ Jun 6 2008, 04:59 PM)
andyjyneo has an sm4 accord. mebbe u can ask him to sell it to you ?
and its the model number of the car. SV4, SM4, CD6 are just some of it. an accord is an accord. dun bother too much bout the parts code.
Bro, you must be joking. Haha... Spent a lot of money on this car, so my car is not for sale. Hehe...

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jun 6 2008, 08:39 PM
eastwest
post Jun 6 2008, 10:00 PM

1,608 posts

SM4 is accord 90-93? so what's "cb3" thing?
Lim Ling Yang
post Jun 6 2008, 10:07 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jun 6 2008, 08:35 PM)
Bro, you're wrong...
4th generation is SM4
5th generation is SV4
6th generation is CF0 (yours)
7th generation is UC1 (sharkteef's)
facelifted 7th generation is UC3
8th generation is CP3

SM4, SV4, etc are just model codes. They're used to differentiate models.

I own an SM4, as bro sharkteef said. Overall, it's a good car. But sad/bad thing about SM4 & SV4 is the braking system. Other than that, everything is great. I modified my SM4 with simple bodykit to make it attractive and looks new.

Added on June 6, 2008, 8:39 pm
Bro, you must be joking. Haha... Spent a lot of money on this car, so my car is not for sale. Hehe...
Define simple. hmm.gif dry.gif
andyjyneo
post Jun 6 2008, 11:35 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Jun 6 2008, 10:00 PM)
SM4 is accord 90-93? so what's "cb3" thing?
Yes... CB3 is the chassis code. Malaysian market uses CB3, while American market uses CB7. Basically, it's almost the same, except some changes in rear lighting.

QUOTE(Lim Ling Yang @ Jun 6 2008, 10:07 PM)
Define simple.  hmm.gif  dry.gif
Ain't my bodykit simple? Not fancy or ahbeng style...

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jun 6 2008, 11:37 PM
ShinAsakura
post Jun 7 2008, 07:11 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

bro andy's "simple" MUGEN bodykits reli "simple" brows.gif laugh.gif

thx for the clarifying, now only i rmb that i like UC3 doh.gif
andyjyneo
post Jun 7 2008, 07:23 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Jun 7 2008, 07:11 PM)
bro andy's "simple" MUGEN bodykits reli "simple"  brows.gif  laugh.gif

thx for the clarifying, now only i rmb that i like UC3  doh.gif
Ya, simple mah... Not ahbeng type.
OMGWTF you like UC3?! doh.gif
That model with Mercedes butt?
ShinAsakura
post Jun 7 2008, 07:26 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

yeah... I said b4 wat haha laugh.gif

i know many ppl dun like it but i do tongue.gif
but then, after Mazda6 came, i'm in luv wit it doh.gif
andyjyneo
post Jun 7 2008, 07:31 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Jun 7 2008, 07:26 PM)
yeah... I said b4 wat haha  laugh.gif

i know many ppl dun like it but i do  tongue.gif
but then, after Mazda6 came, i'm in luv wit it  doh.gif
Failed. doh.gif shakehead.gif
Certified as not a loyal Honda supporter.
TSfido
post Jun 10 2008, 12:09 AM

90 posts

Hi All,

Appreciate all your replies and thanks! For your information, I intend to get an original one (if possible), without any modifications smile.gif And if possible, a manual. And if possible, with a price tag less than MYR25K. Well, just to share my thoughts. Kindly share your opinion if this is a bad decision.

By the way, do you guys happen to know this? => Accords with an engine capacity of 2litre (any models; SM4 or others), do you find that the fuel consumption of it is relatively good as compare to Camry 2litre or Perdana V6?

Thanks in advance.

andyjyneo
post Jun 10 2008, 12:26 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(fido @ Jun 10 2008, 12:09 AM)
Hi All,

Appreciate all your replies and thanks! For your information, I intend to get an original one (if possible), without any modifications smile.gif And if possible, a manual. And if possible, with a price tag less than MYR25K. Well, just to share my thoughts. Kindly share your opinion if this is a bad decision.

By the way, do you guys happen to know this? => Accords with an engine capacity of 2litre (any models; SM4 or others), do you find that the fuel consumption of it is relatively good as compare to Camry 2litre or Perdana V6?

Thanks in advance.
SM4 these days costs less than RM15k only (without mods), if I'm not mistaken. SM4 FC is really good for a luxury sedan. It's not a really fuel hungry car. Just that it's a bit underpowered, due to old engine technology and poor braking system. Other than that, it's a very good car.

Perdana V6 is famous with its gearbox problem. So if possible, avoid Perdana at all costs. Camry, I'm not sure.

This post has been edited by andyjyneo: Jun 10 2008, 12:27 AM
SUSsharkteef
post Jun 10 2008, 12:51 AM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

eh andy forgot to ask u, your accord is manual ka ?
andyjyneo
post Jun 10 2008, 01:34 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Jun 10 2008, 12:51 AM)
eh andy forgot to ask u, your accord is manual ka ?
Last time manual. Thanks to my dad, he changed to auto. Damn it.
R3dF0x
post Jun 14 2008, 07:25 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jun 10 2008, 01:34 AM)
Last time manual. Thanks to my dad, he changed to auto. Damn it.
Can i see ur car pic?
andyjyneo
post Jun 14 2008, 07:58 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(R3dF0x @ Jun 14 2008, 07:25 PM)
Can i see ur car pic?
LOL Ask fido.
R3dF0x
post Jun 14 2008, 08:00 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jun 14 2008, 07:58 PM)
LOL Ask fido.
zzz.. y?? cannot ar?? cry.gif
andyjyneo
post Jun 14 2008, 08:05 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(R3dF0x @ Jun 14 2008, 08:00 PM)
zzz.. y?? cannot ar?? cry.gif
I'll give you later. Let me reupload first.
R3dF0x
post Jun 14 2008, 08:07 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jun 14 2008, 08:05 PM)
I'll give you later. Let me reupload first.
thx in advance... ^^ rclxms.gif
! Love Money
post Aug 14 2008, 09:15 AM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

until now no pics? hmm.gif
sharfudin
post Sep 19 2008, 11:33 AM

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jun 10 2008, 12:26 AM)
SM4 these days costs less than RM15k only (without mods), if I'm not mistaken. SM4 FC is really good for a luxury sedan. It's not a really fuel hungry car. Just that it's a bit underpowered, due to old engine technology and poor braking system. Other than that, it's a very good car.

Perdana V6 is famous with its gearbox problem. So if possible, avoid Perdana at all costs. Camry, I'm not sure.
Im a sm4 user n transfered my stock engine with F22B SOHC Vtec.
Im getting better milage n very good Hp also.
cost me around RM2400 to do it.

Change my rear Braking system to Disc for aroung RM1100.
and its like driving a good n performace sedan car.
Cost me just below 4k for all that n its worthit.
im less using my 5 series now!!!
WannaGetBuffed
post Sep 19 2008, 12:23 PM

983 posts

SM4 comes with extra whip, dildo, cup holders for bukake session, and candlestick holders. Hence the 4 items that is used for SM and the name SM4.

You can search for them at the front seats and door panels.
ShinAsakura
post Sep 19 2008, 12:44 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

sweat.gif yesterday i asked my mom what's the 2nd car she planning to get next year, guess what? she's aiming for UC3, Accord again doh.gif

i was like wtf? 2 Accords in 1 hse? but then oso ok la.... since i like UC3..... way b4 i saw the CL7 drool.gif

den yesterday i brought her out to see the CL7.... she was indifferent. maybe bcoz she like big and luxury looking car instead of sleek and sporty type. damn!
andyjyneo
post Sep 19 2008, 01:04 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Sep 19 2008, 12:44 PM)
sweat.gif yesterday i asked my mom what's the 2nd car she planning to get next year, guess what? she's aiming for UC3, Accord again  doh.gif

i was like wtf? 2 Accords in 1 hse? but then oso ok la.... since i like UC3..... way b4 i saw the CL7  drool.gif

den yesterday i brought her out to see the CL7.... she was indifferent. maybe bcoz she like big and luxury looking car instead of sleek and sporty type. damn!
Ya, that's why HM market Inspire here, instead of Accord. That way only can fight with Camry mah.
CL7 is more towards sporty type, competitor to MarkX.

Eh, don't say WTF mah. My house got all 3 generation of CR-V. I also never say WTF leh. sad.gif
ShinAsakura
post Sep 19 2008, 01:07 PM

티파니씨 를 좋아해요
2,134 posts

LOL....i was hoping for another variant haha.... but she's not confirmed yet anyway. hv to wait next year to see sweat.gif
andyjyneo
post Sep 19 2008, 02:10 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Sep 19 2008, 01:07 PM)
LOL....i was hoping for another variant haha.... but she's not confirmed yet anyway. hv to wait next year to see  sweat.gif
Get CP1 already. Don't wait already.
kompressor
post Feb 10 2009, 01:50 AM

all of u using sm4 use what type of engine oil..i have sm4 too..can we share..hehhe
! Love Money
post Feb 10 2009, 11:03 PM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(WannaGetBuffed @ Sep 19 2008, 12:23 PM)
SM4 comes with extra whip, dildo, cup holders for bukake session, and candlestick holders. Hence the 4 items that is used for SM and the name SM4.

You can search for them at the front seats and door panels.
where did u find it? my family own 1 since 1994 oledi and that is my first car when i started driving but unable to find those items as u mentioned...
SAM90Gil
post Feb 19 2009, 01:55 PM

60 posts

I'm using sm4 also....yah, i wanted to know wat engine oil too...
kompressor
post Feb 20 2009, 11:41 PM

my mom sm4 using petronas syntium 1000..15w 40 i think..but b4 this,never change from mobil 1..from it bought in 1991,till last i servised it last year..then only change to petronas,just to try..its the same think..but after this go to mobil 1 again i think..its a manual..all is standard,just change the sport rim to 17..hehe..what bout yours SAM90Gil??share with me..
yifie_911
post Jul 7 2013, 02:21 PM

36 posts

Anyone still here? I would like to know more about Honda Accord 1990an...
yifie_911
post Jul 7 2013, 03:49 PM

36 posts

U said you changed your rear braking system to disc? den what is the original 1? I m SM4 (imported from Japan) and with transferred (newer version with vtec) engine too.

0.0289sec    1.07    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:22 PM