Most overrated English footballers?

Duke Red
post Jun 5 2008, 02:56 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(jackdante22 @ Jun 5 2008, 02:41 PM)
yeah, i know but what i meant is, when MU win, alot of people claim we dun deserve it. when Arse(BPL), Che(BPL), Pool(UCL) win it, suddenly they deserve it. i dun care at all as long as we win titles.
One last thing; I think you'll find that a lot of people are saying our win in Istanbul was lucky and that AC Milan deserved to win. Don't make it out as though the whole world is against you. Ask anyone to see if I'm right about what I said.

Added on June 5, 2008, 2:57 pmDave Nugent deserves a shout. Have no idea how he made the national team. Shows you how short of targetmen England is.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jun 5 2008, 02:57 PM
Duke Red
post Jun 6 2008, 01:05 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(jackdante22 @ Jun 5 2008, 05:33 PM)
Why TS put Rio Ferdinand in the poll? Why he is overrated? Because MU win consecutive BPL & this season UCL? What area did Rio Ferdinand overrated? Why John Terry, Carragher, Toure (oh wait, he's not English) not in the poll?
It's a matter of opinion so let's see what his argument is. I'd like to start of by saying that most English players are overpriced, or overrated, kinda of the same thing really? After all to be overrated, one has to have the media build them up which in turn leads to inflation in his value.

Carragher
Cost us nothing. Plays in a number of positions much like O'Shea does for you with the exception that he is a constant in the side and comes up against the world's best strikers. Does the press talk a lot of Carragher, no? Did he cost a lot? No. How much does he earn? Hence, if anything, I think he is underrated. Who rates him aside from Liverpool fans who get to watch him play every game?

Terry
Can anyone tell me how much Chelsea paid for him, if anything at all? I can't remember. Aside from the fact I think he pesters referees too much, I cannot deny how integral he is to the Chelsea defence. He pops up to score vital goals during set pieces and his positioning is excellent. I don't think he is overrated, depending on how much he costs. How much does he earn anyway? I think we have to consider these questions before coming to a conclusion.

Ferdinand
He cost a bomb for a defender even back then. Is he good? Of course. The question is whether or not you could have got another defender who is equally adept at a lower price? How much does he earn?

Again I wish to state that I think many English players are overrated and I do think you have to weight cost - price&wages.
Duke Red
post Jun 6 2008, 02:24 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(RyanTeh @ Jun 6 2008, 02:04 PM)
Ferdinand and JT are overrated players, not to say that they aren't good but we can base on the wage. JC always consistent but still only liverpool and some other fans rate him. Overpaid is about the same as overrated.
The disturbing thing is that with conglomerates and billionaire businessmen coming into the scene, you can expect wages to balloon to astronomical figures. At one point, Chelsea was rumoured to have been prepared to offer Ronadinho $230,000 pounds a week! The question then becomes, how do we determine if a player is overpaid? What is the benchmark? I think we can only at the moment compare them to their peers.
Duke Red
post Jun 6 2008, 05:45 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jun 6 2008, 05:10 PM)
Player get paid such large amounts because their careers could end at any moment and the span of their careers are pretty short too. Not many footballers get the chance to go into managing so what they earn during their playing career must last a life time so it's fair for them to earn so much.
The depends really. They have a choice when it comes to the lifestyle they wish to have. I mean they are provided with housing and cars. It's what they do with their money that determines how well they retire. Some spend lavishly, some invest. Let us assume footballers have an average shelf life of 10 years. Let's also assume that an average player earns $20,000 a week.

$20,000 x 4 weeks x 12 months x 10 years = $9,600,000. If he had been smart and invested him money along the way, he'll earn more, not taking into consideration endorsement deals and stuff. After retirement they have the option of opening a business, moving into management, becoming a pundit or whatever. I do they they are really really well paid.

Taking into account that my assumptions are just about right, it's safe to deduce that an average footballer in the top flight will earn more than a high ranking executive. Fair? I don't know.
Duke Red
post Jun 7 2008, 01:31 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Jun 6 2008, 09:03 PM)
Overpaid is not the same as overrated, get that out of your head. Who are you to decide whether or not a player is overpaid.

So Ferdinand is overrated, I guess he was in the PFA Team of the Year at centre back because he's overrated yeah? Dude get your head out of your a**.

John Terry is currently the highest paid English player, earning 135k pounds a week. You know why? Because he's that good, there's no 2 ways about it.

I don't know how some people can mention that John Terry or Rio Ferdinand as being overrated. Damnit do you people even watch football? Do you even know what overrated means?

Stop saying stupid stuff.
While your comment was not aimed at me, your tonality suggests you know a lot about football so I will indulge your post.

While I won't address the issue of player being "overrated" because it is subjective, I will touch on the issue of overpaid footballers.

You're asking a lot of questions but you don't seem to be justifying your own claims. I do this he has a right to say that RM 135K pounds a week may indicate a players is overpaid. Take into consideration how wages have inflated. According to this article (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/4898392.stm) writted in 2006, the average Premiership player earns $13,000 pounds. Taking into consideration goal bonuses, match appearances, etc, this could rise to $26,000 pounds a week. If you take the wages of a top level footballer into consideration and factor in his bonuses, he stands to make 100% more than what is stated. This indicates that he is paid 10 times more than average players. The gulf is huge and wages are spiraling out of control (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2008/02/16/sfnjim216.xml). Premiership clubs recognise this and are looking at ways to curb it
(http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2007/mar/11/newsstory.sport7). According to reports, players like Ronaldo and Ronaldinho may command basic salaries of up to $200,000 come the 2008/2009 season. In which other industry does salaries increase so sharply? In America, where sports is huge, players have salary caps.

Based on the reasoning above, I do think the poster you are crucifying has a point.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but it's easier to accept on with reasoning. You appear pretty dismissive of the opinions of others and I'll be delighted to discuss this issue with you at greater lengths.

Before you ask, I do watch football and have been doing so for the past 2 decades. What about you?
Duke Red
post Jun 10 2008, 11:33 AM

6,112 posts

The funny thing is only the media rates Liverpool. I speak to my mates who are mancs and they tell me they have no fear facing Liverpool. I wonder then why people think Liverpool are overrated. Who rates us? You? I don't.

Anyway, let's keep things in context and talk about English footballers.

Duke Red
post Jun 12 2008, 06:10 PM

6,112 posts

In general, I feel all wingbacks the get forward a lot tend to be overrated by fans. I still think a defenders first duty is to defend and not score goals, unless he is equally adept at both.

0.0504sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:33 PM