HTC Diamond LYN's Official Thread, Added rom 1.93 by HTC, post 2

moorish
post Aug 18 2008, 04:22 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

Hi my wife just bought the HTC Diamond on sat, RM2799 + free sonyericsson stereo bluetooth, anyway I need to find out 2 things.

1. How to watch flv files dl from net
2. How to set up MMS? and when I surf net or msn how do I know I'm connected to wifi or 3G assuming I manage to set up the MMS?

Thanks, and the diamond screen is really awesome I think its the closes thing to Iphone
moorish
post Aug 18 2008, 04:42 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Aug 18 2008, 04:33 PM)
no its not HTC Home, i suspect its something to do with the version of Task Manager and Enlarge Start Menu. U sure no
@moorish, no pdas can play flv files as far as i know. MMS all u have to check with your service provider, give em a call and they'll guide u to activate etc etc. When you connect to 3G or GPRS your signal strength bar is modified to show 3G, or G for GPRS, or H for HSDPA connection active.

[
Thanks bro, how do I control it? say if I only wanna use msn with wifi instead of the phone going to 3G?
moorish
post Aug 18 2008, 08:32 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Aug 18 2008, 04:45 PM)
baronic,

i got TF3D Config Tool installed and no problem at all. i've even change my TF3D Themes to VadoFone Red. confirm no problem with SwitfBlade 5.6.

and yes, you can play flv using coreplayer v1.25  thumbup.gif
hi, thks for the tips, pk another noob ques...

I've copy n paste the coreplayer folder to my Diamond memory, i can launch the player from file explorer, how do I set the player in the program place instead of everytime i wanna use coreplayer, I've to go start:file explorer:coreplayer folder.?
moorish
post Aug 18 2008, 09:26 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Aug 18 2008, 09:08 PM)
make sure your wifi is connected and set for internet use and not for "work" use. then it will use wifi. in the absense of wifi or any other internet access it'll fall back to 3G.

Oh, coreplayer can flv? lol. never try before. thanks for the correction.

Download the free totalcommander. Its a file explorer that allows u to create shortcut without "shortcut to...."

Paste short cut in WIndows/Startmenu/Programs

Added on August 18, 2008, 9:09 pm

okay i'll download and give it a go. thanks bro. the only diamond user who bothered to help me out. knn the rest of u. XD
ok thanks bro...I'll try it out...

And this can set the coreplayer to the touchflo shortcut program icon?
moorish
post Aug 19 2008, 01:49 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

I just realize my Diamond didnt come with the backup utility program, any recommendation?
moorish
post Aug 19 2008, 04:53 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Aug 18 2008, 09:08 PM)
make sure your wifi is connected and set for internet use and not for "work" use. then it will use wifi. in the absense of wifi or any other internet access it'll fall back to 3G.

Oh, coreplayer can flv? lol. never try before. thanks for the correction.

Download the free totalcommander. Its a file explorer that allows u to create shortcut without "shortcut to...."

Paste short cut in WIndows/Startmenu/Programs

Added on August 18, 2008, 9:09 pm

okay i'll download and give it a go. thanks bro. the only diamond user who bothered to help me out. knn the rest of u. XD
Sorry ah Bro, being a noob, I've set my wifi to internet, but whenever I sign in to MSN or opera it kept on going to 3G even tho my wifi is already connected. How ah?
moorish
post Aug 19 2008, 08:20 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

ok thanks bro....now its ok, apparently I've to reboot to get the config right...kekekeke
moorish
post Aug 21 2008, 01:21 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Aug 20 2008, 12:29 AM)
@moorish, glad your problem solved lol
Thanks bro....now I'm really in love wit my Diamond hehehe. Only sad thing is the batt really cannot last more than 18hrs but of coz I play heavily too. Thisi is my 2nd HTC the first was HTC touch dual which I sold off after 1 week, but diamond is really a gem rclxm9.gif
moorish
post Aug 21 2008, 10:49 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Aug 21 2008, 09:59 PM)
what does this mean?
I think all PDA phone batt is horrible, even my NOkia N95 average use the batt hardly last me 48 hrs. But diamond if I set the backlight to dim then it last longer, nearly 36 hrs. The Bluetooth stereo headphone suxs power like hell too.

moorish
post Aug 22 2008, 12:23 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Aug 22 2008, 12:09 AM)
haha i juz got my HTC Diamond.. previously was N95, used for 1 year+ decided to go for something new.. i am a newbie in PDA world =P

P/S : Add me to owner list too ! thx  icon_rolleyes.gif
Mine is by accident, wife phone kena pick pocket at Jusco Maluri last friday, and took her handphone shopping next day, I saw the Diamond and both of us like it, then bought for her, she gave up in 2 days, so exchange phone wit me, I pass her my N95 and now me using the diamond biggrin.gif
moorish
post Aug 24 2008, 01:56 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(msmch76 @ Aug 24 2008, 03:25 AM)
SOMEONE HELPS ME PLEASEEE......
im one of u....TD user..........
my problem is, when i use this phoe after 5 to 10 minutes, this phone will get HOT......
can some one here explain to me why this happen and if i have a solution, what must i do.....
anyone of u got some problem like me???
mine too gets hot, but I ask fren he says normal wor, so nothing much to worry, unless it gets boiling hot to the point you cannot hold then prepare it might explode kua tongue.gif

Added on August 24, 2008, 1:59 pm
QUOTE(- JaY - @ Aug 24 2008, 03:37 AM)
hi guys.. i am new to this PDA thingy.. there's a few questions i would like to know and hope u guys can answer..

1) when we connect to Wifi, will the 3G connection be used and the telco's charge us? ( read a case here.. like bills over RM2k+)

2) i went surfing the net using 3G, after that i closed the web browser, my connection left on for 48minutes.. but no surfing being made, so i think there's no charges rite?

3) how to add my own ringtone into the phone and used it as my message and incoming call's ringtone?
I had the same problem when I first set-up my wifi, the program that use internet connection set to my workspace and set internet, then reboot and it wont go into 3G

This post has been edited by moorish: Aug 24 2008, 01:59 PM
moorish
post Aug 27 2008, 01:32 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

I installed mapking from action yesterday and have absolutely no idea how it works, looks very unuser frenly
moorish
post Aug 29 2008, 02:21 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Aug 27 2008, 09:47 PM)
now adays quite a lot of used htc diamond for sell......
duno why so many ppl sell their diamond -,-....
this phone izzit got any problem ?
When HTC touch dual was launch I bought the phone, never tried a PDA phone in my life and it was my first, both my bro n sis has been using HTC for years and they're the one reco me, 2 weeks later I sold the phone, nothing wrong wit the phone but its just too hightech for me kekeke.

Then after using the N95 for a while and saw the diamond, so this is my 2nd attempt on PDA phone, this time I manage quite well and I'm happy with it.

Only complaint is speaker too soft, batt issue not so bad, its only slightly less standby time (few hours) compared to my N95

My main motivation is the Diamond is bloody sexy notworthy.gif
moorish
post Aug 30 2008, 03:18 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(lucklyghost @ Aug 29 2008, 07:16 PM)
the speaker really too soft...
got a frens ask me, if u buy htc diamond, what u want to done on ur htc diamond ????

then i only answer him, GPS, INTERNET , i can play some games only.
i also duno what i can done on pda ......, then he scold me 2k above buy a pda for map and fun?????

but htc diamond damn nice la....
For mainly the look of the Diamond and the screen is fantastic 10X better than my N95, watching MTV is like watching from LCD TV plus the diamond also look like a miniature flatscreen TV tongue.gif

I mostly read news from wifi during breakfast and toilet tongue.gif

QUOTE(marauderz @ Aug 29 2008, 10:32 PM)
first you need to get a port converter to convert the usb port to an audio plug (price varies depending on you getting the HTC branding one or chapalang one) then just get a standard stereo mini jack cable.

Mine comes together with stereo bluetooth so its really cool but power hungry.
moorish
post Sep 4 2008, 05:32 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

correction, the mapking is actually very easy to use, you must be at open space meaning outdoor with nothing between your diamond and the sky, and the GPS read your location fairly fast and accurate....

The last time I couldnt get it to function coz I was at the balcony and it couldnt get satelite reading

0.0498sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:51 PM