LimHolic
post Feb 20 2009, 08:20 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(vivi79 @ Feb 19 2009, 03:01 PM)
12 hours is considered a long pain.
My mom suffers pain for almost 20 hours when delivering my brother  sweat.gif
sure your mum suffer alot when delivering your bro.....20 hours !! it long run...
budakjahat
post Feb 20 2009, 09:01 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(aerikh @ Feb 19 2009, 09:20 PM)
yeah, i work at the Labour Room as a house officer, will be ending my posting over there soon..

well, the delivery of the head is solely the mother's effort.. hence the 'difficulty'..
whereas once the head is out, the midwife can then help to pull the baby out, while delivering the shoulders quite effortlessly..

contractions pains can occur any time, but to say that true labour has started, the pain has to be regular, & the cervix will gradually thin out & 'open'..
once the cervix has 'opened' to 3 or 4cm (depending on the Hosp), with adequate contractions (preferably 3-4 contractions in 10 mintes), labour will be allowed to progress for 8-12 hours..
it is expected that the cervix should be fully 'open' by then.. (correct term would be the cervical os)
after the oss is fully dilated, the mother is encouraged to bear down to deliver the baby..
usually the delivery process (the part where the Mum is asked to push) will be allowed to take up to 1 hour, but if the fetus' heart monitor shows that it is ok, then some centres may allow an additional 1 hour (provided that the Mother is healthy & not exhausted)
oooo.. no wonder all the technical terms come out tongue.gif

Now, here's the thing, when people say they're in labour for 437 hours or whatever, what exactly does that mean?

Both times when I delivered, it was pretty much fast, contraction a bit all day long, water broke, contraction intensifies, then an hour++ later, the baby's out. I'm very2 lucky in that sense. But when people say they're in labour for that, long, does it mean they're having contractions or is it the "pushing" itself? If it's the pushing that lasts that long... wow... I'm speechless!
aerikh
post Feb 20 2009, 07:25 PM

399 posts

hehe.. the term 'labour' can be interpreted in many ways..
in medical terms.. labour actually means the period of time from when the Mom has regular contraction pains + dilatation of the cervix until delivery of the placenta..

there are 2 phases of labour:
early/latent labour: regular contraction pains, cervical dilatation <3-4 cm (3 or 4 cm depending on the health centre)
active labour: regular contraction pains + cervical dilatation >3-4 cm

labour itself can be divided into 3 stages..

stage 1: progressive dilatation of the cervix + regular contractions
this is the time when the Mom just lies down & endures contraction pains while waiting..
(maximum 8-12 hours)

stage 2: delivery of the baby once cervix is fully dilated: this is the PUSHING part..
(maximum 1-2 hours)

stage 3: delivery of the placenta
(maximum 30mins)

in any event when the time limit is exceeded, intervention may be needed, e.g.: instrumental delivery (vacuum/forceps), manual removal of the placenta, or even Caesarian Section..
budakjahat
post Feb 26 2009, 05:18 PM

617 posts

shakehead.gif haiya.. rollback..

anyways, thanks for the clarification aerikh.

so that means when some moms was "in labour" for a long time, they're most probably in the first stage lah. ok...

anyways, prior to giving birth to my 2nd child, for about 2 weeks or so, i had braxton-hicks contraction. damn uncomfortable. on top of the leg cramps, heart burn etc...
Fireball9
post Feb 26 2009, 08:42 PM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(budakjahat @ Feb 26 2009, 05:18 PM)
shakehead.gif haiya.. rollback..

anyways, thanks for the clarification aerikh.

so that means when some moms was "in labour" for a long time, they're most probably in the first stage lah. ok...

anyways, prior to giving birth to my 2nd child, for about 2 weeks or so, i had braxton-hicks contraction. damn uncomfortable. on top of the leg cramps, heart burn etc...
Fuyo, braxton-hicks contraction! Not bad.. complicated words coming out. Maybe we should get aerikh to explain! smile.gif
budakjahat
post Feb 27 2009, 10:59 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(Fireball9 @ Feb 26 2009, 08:42 PM)
Fuyo, braxton-hicks contraction! Not bad.. complicated words coming out. Maybe we should get aerikh to explain! smile.gif
BH contraction is just a fancy term for false contraction.. heheh..

Here's a bit about Braxton-Hicks Contraction...
"But unlike true labor, this so-called false labor doesn't cause significant, progressive dilation of your cervix, and the contractions don't grow consistently longer, stronger, and closer together."

Source
Fireball9
post Feb 27 2009, 09:26 PM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(budakjahat @ Feb 27 2009, 10:59 AM)
BH contraction is just a fancy term for false contraction.. heheh..

Here's a bit about Braxton-Hicks Contraction...
"But unlike true labor, this so-called false labor doesn't cause significant, progressive dilation of your cervix, and the contractions don't grow consistently longer, stronger, and closer together."

Source
Wow, so did your doctor teach you that? Not bad... did it really hurt? Can describe it in comparison to your true labour pains? smile.gif
budakjahat
post Feb 28 2009, 10:34 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(Fireball9 @ Feb 27 2009, 09:26 PM)
Wow, so did your doctor teach you that? Not bad... did it really hurt? Can describe it in comparison to your true labour pains? smile.gif
No, I discovered that thru reading. The pain is quite the same, but not as intense. With BH contraction, the pain subsides if I change position, like, if when it comes I was lying on my back, then I switch to lying on my side, then the pain stops.
TSJyEn
post Mar 1 2009, 03:52 PM

282 posts

wow budakjahat u helped me answered so many questions! thanks mama! smile.gif
danny_sp15
post Mar 2 2009, 04:12 PM

==============
3,045 posts

i pulled out placenta twice! muahahaha!
TSJyEn
post Mar 3 2009, 12:52 PM

282 posts

and you are a doctor or a father?
andrekua
post Mar 3 2009, 09:26 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Wanna ask about prenancy test kit..

I read the manual (Bought the ClearBlue brand), it says dip into the collected urine and the "|" will appear in the control window. Then wait for 2 mins before viewing result. But when my wife did the test, dip it into, but the result window has result already shown + before the control window show "|". Faulty test or pregnant liao? The manual say will see "|" first in control window before + is shown 2 minutes later.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Mar 3 2009, 09:28 PM
Fireball9
post Mar 4 2009, 01:03 AM

God is great!
718 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Mar 2 2009, 04:12 PM)
i pulled out placenta twice! muahahaha!
What's that suppose to mean? 2 placenta? One part stuck? OR 2 seperate occasion? Human? Dog? Cat?

QUOTE(andrekua @ Mar 3 2009, 09:26 PM)

I read the manual (Bought the ClearBlue brand), it says dip into the collected urine and the "|" will appear in the control window. Then wait for 2 mins before viewing result. But when my wife did the test, dip it into, but the result window has result already shown + before the control window show "|". Faulty test or pregnant liao? The manual say will see "|" first in control window before + is shown 2 minutes later.
Faulty kit, you can take it back to the pharmacy and demand for a new one. OR, just buy a new one. It's pregnancy, you dont want to be in doubt because of a faulty kit! smile.gif
budakjahat
post Mar 4 2009, 11:41 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Mar 3 2009, 09:26 PM)

You only got one? I usually will buy two, different brands and type of HPT. Then test on both.
cw_wang
post Mar 4 2009, 03:09 PM

6 Star Player
1,045 posts

Hi! is there any Prenatal Class, Yogas for preganancy around Ampang Cheras area? Thx
andrekua
post Mar 4 2009, 08:26 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(budakjahat @ Mar 4 2009, 11:41 AM)
You only got one? I usually will buy two, different brands and type of HPT. Then test on both.
No need liao...
If I knew pregnancy test only cost RM25, I rather goto clinic. Thats because the kit I bought (ClearBlue) also cost me around RM2x. Anyway, test with clinic also same result. I think maybe because my wife missed for 2 weeks liao thats why the result appear faster. The ClearBlue stated can test 4days before period due, so I guess its a little bit too sensitive.
budakjahat
post Mar 5 2009, 11:52 AM

617 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Mar 4 2009, 08:26 PM)
No need liao...
If I knew pregnancy test only cost RM25, I rather goto clinic. Thats because the kit I bought (ClearBlue) also cost me around RM2x. Anyway, test with clinic also same result. I think maybe because my wife missed for 2 weeks liao thats why the result appear faster. The ClearBlue stated can test 4days before period due, so I guess its a little bit too sensitive.
The clinics probably use the same type of HPT oso... Then clinic need to pay for doc's consultation fee.
budakjahat
post Mar 5 2009, 12:00 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(cw_wang @ Mar 4 2009, 03:09 PM)
Hi! is there any Prenatal Class, Yogas for preganancy around Ampang Cheras area? Thx
I know Tawakkal Hosp (Jln Pahang) has Parentcraft classes for expecting parents.

Not too sure about yoga etc though. Perhaps you can check with 'normal' yoga centres, see if they offer yoga for pregnancy?
Bambino
post Mar 8 2009, 09:42 PM

QUOTE(budakjahat @ Mar 4 2009, 12:41 PM)
Yeah.. I agree. thumbup.gif Branded or non-branded actually from same manufacturer. Just print different brand only. Got to test twice with different types so be assured. Heard of any promotion for these test kit? Need to get few units to standby. icon_question.gif

48 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:28 PM