Home Theatre Optoma HD65 Kakis, technical, tweaking, screenshot.........

lohlm56
post Aug 30 2008, 09:47 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 30 2008, 08:48 PM)
welcome guys! ht, ur sales rocketing up nicely ...
I have few projector screens --fixed and motor 106" /120" for sale , its brand is Grandview .
lohlm56
post Aug 31 2008, 01:50 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 31 2008, 01:11 PM)
Have completed 4 acoustic panels - 2'x4'x3" using rockwool and wrapped in PU foam in plywood frame

i AM USING SOLID WOOD FRAME YATOH , 3" THICK HIGH DENSITY ROCK WOOL , OUTSIDE DIMENSION 2'X4'. WRAPPED WITH FABRIC. ITS WEIGHT IS AROUND 10KG.

Added on August 31, 2008, 1:57 pm
QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 31 2008, 11:53 AM)
Is it in HDTV format (16:9)? Colour (matt white / HC Grey)? Price? This is Aussie brand, right?

I only have Draper and EZscreen. Maybe we can work out something  wink.gif
IT IS 16:9 MATTE WHITE AND GREY. PLS SEARCH "GRANDVIEW" WEBSITE AND KNOW MORE ABOUT INFOR. pLS LET ME KNOW WHAT MODEL U R INTERESTED.

This post has been edited by lohlm56: Aug 31 2008, 01:57 PM
lohlm56
post Sep 2 2008, 09:28 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 2 2008, 09:13 PM)
yes, i diy'ed the 4 panels myself using 1"x2"x8' timber, 1/8" plywood backing the frame, just nail up the frame with the plywood back.

fill up the frame with rockwool up to 3" thick - i made two 3" thick panels and two 2" thick panels
btw, rockwool is cool

then wrap up the whole panel with 5mm PU foam using stapler gun.

final result

approx cost per panel is RM80 each. timber from timber yard wherever you can find them, rockwool and foam from aircon installer

I'm using these panels for first reflections.

next project is to make bass traps for the 4 corners. then tackle front wall and ceiling.
Yours is cheaper than me , the different is my rockwool is above the frame then wrapped with fabric . also back is hollow and doesnt cover with plywood.

Added on September 2, 2008, 9:37 pm
QUOTE(lohlm56 @ Sep 2 2008, 09:28 PM)
Yours is cheaper than me , the different is my rockwool is above the frame then wrapped with fabric . also back is hollow and doesnt cover with plywood.
DO you interested to diy diffusors , may be we can share how to diy.

This post has been edited by lohlm56: Sep 2 2008, 09:37 PM
lohlm56
post Sep 3 2008, 02:23 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 2 2008, 09:59 PM)
yes, i'm also looking to make diffusor, looked at some plans but have to see what i can get from timber shop, also i cannot make too big coz back wall got window. thinking of installing some curved plywood strips to diffuse sound.

btw, have you got bass traps too? mind to share your plan. do you also install on ceiling? how?
I am planning to use mdf and buy a electric saw for cutting pcs , key point is how to fix them together by either screw with screws or glue .
lohlm56
post Sep 3 2008, 11:12 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Sep 3 2008, 09:48 AM)
Guys, make sure the back is hollow. And float your panel from the wall with at least 2" gap. The reason for this design is to double the effectiveness of your panel. The sound will travel pass the panel in first pass, reflect back by the wall (reduce sound wave) and go through the panel for 2nd pass. I found a lot of reference from internet. Will take the picture of my panel if anyone is interested on how to float the panel. I just screw in 4 x 2" aluminium tube with rubber feet at 4 corners and hang it on the wall like picture frame. This will allow you to arrange the panel in the most flexible way. If you feel it is over absorb, just shift or reduce the panel to experiment.

Bass trap at 4 corner is a must. The bass is control and deep.

Diffusor actually can get it quite cheap from hiwaylaser. Around RM 150 per piece.
http://www.hiwaylaser.com/diffuser
my panells are floated on the frame and back is hollow and consider as bass trap , can you put picures of aluminium tube with rubber feets at 4 corners , i am thinking of screw 4 pcs of solid block of woods and hang it.
lohlm56
post Sep 3 2008, 05:45 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 3 2008, 05:21 PM)
can have some close-up of the front wall in operation? I'd like to get some idea's if possible. I'm still llooking for the speaker cloth. Didn't you treat your ceiling and wall/ceiling edges?
Can u advise more how u hang the panel to the wall , need a bracket on the wall and triangle wood inside the the edge corner to hold the rubber feet tube ?
is your screen is sound transparent screen ? How may inches diagonal.
lohlm56
post Sep 3 2008, 10:33 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Sep 3 2008, 07:30 PM)
nice set up pierreye,i like the back panel of ur screen paint in black.If can paint both side walls to some darker colour lagi best(not black,maybe dark green)  tongue.gif

btw,u hide the front spekaer at the back oso? The room acoustic and treatment also nicely done,like the absortber too.I remembered last time in Hi Fi audio room the 1st absortber on both side wall we used to place about 5-6 fts from the front spk.We also place some "triangle pillow" in the front wall/ceiling corner.However,that depends on room size,spk placement and type of spk used.Aslo,the corner of back wall with some treatment like urs also nice.What about the middle of the back wall? Do u place an absortber there too?

welldone  thumbup.gif
front/back corners ---bass trap
side----absorber/diffusor
back/front wall----diffusor
ceiling----absorber/diffusor
lohlm56
post Sep 4 2008, 03:21 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Sep 4 2008, 08:26 AM)
I'll take some photo today for "behind the scene" equipment.

As for the panel, you need the triangle wood at the corner to hold the frame and the panel. Just screw the aluminium tube and rubber feet on the triangle. For hanging it's simple. Just screw a nail in the wall, and hang it like a picture frame.

Actually the back of the screen is not painted black. The whole panel at the back of the screen is frame wrap with speaker cloth (so that I can see my equipment in the dark and also accoustically transparent for speaker). My screen is 114" brilliant white Carada fixed screen. I previously use motorized screen for my old HT room and wrinkle is the major problem So I advise all of you to go for fixed screen if possible.

I'm thinking of getting diffusor for the back wall either using hanging bookshelf method or just buy from hiwaylaser. Reason I didn't paint the front side wall black is it looks ugly. Anyway, from my experience as long as you have thick enough black border, it's fine. Also, remember to use matte paint for your wall. Don't use Pearl Glo paint. You need to sit at least 5 ft from the diffusor for it to be effective.

As for the height, the screen is 3 ft from the floor as I need to place my center speaker below the screen. So far, no problem watching movie on the first row of the sofa. Second row sofa is perfect. I'm thinking to change the first row sofa to a 3 seats recliner chair with arm rest + cup holder.

You can get semi rigid fiberglass from www.polyglass.com.my. Those that you get from aircon installer is too soft and density might not be ideal.

My advice is room treatment is important. My previous HT room is not treated and only with thick curtain on both side to absorb the sound reflection. I can only watch movie at maximum 85db. In the new theater room, 95db is still comfortable and everything is under control.

Update on automation:
If you see the picture of my switch, there is 3 blue lighted button switch. That's a Senzo switch (developed by local company, http://www.newict.com/) which accept IR, RF and programmable switch. I use Logitech harmony one to do the macro programming as follow:

Enter Theater activity: Light and Aircon switch on.
Watch Movie: Light turn off, projector/receiver/sub turn on. If I pressed pause button, the light will turn on. Press play, light will turn off.

I love Harmony Remote but take me one whole day to get the programming right.
one end is rubber feet , how to screw it to the wall ? insert the rubber feet into the wall' screw hole? can u enlarge the screw of the wall. Tq.
i am thinking to screw a block of wood on the wall then hand the bass trap ( bass trap 's back is hollow) ,pls comment
lohlm56
post Sep 4 2008, 04:37 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Sep 4 2008, 03:40 PM)
You don't screw the rubber feet to the wall. The rubber feet is just pushing your panel 2" from the wall. You only screw a nail into your wall and hang your panel. Just pull a wire across your panel around 1/4 measure from the top of your panel height. I'll take some picture tonight.
aluminium tube is hollow and the nail is inserted with it where rubber feet is a anti vibrating material between wall and panel. am i right. How u fit the hollow tube to the triangle wood?

Added on September 4, 2008, 4:43 pm
QUOTE(lohlm56 @ Sep 4 2008, 04:37 PM)
aluminium tube is hollow and the nail is inserted with it where rubber feet is a anti vibrating material between wall and panel. am i right. How u fit the hollow tube to the triangle wood?
sorry , recorrect . a wire tie between 2 aluminium tube , then wire hang at the nail just like hanging the picture. your panel and fame should be light otherwisw cant tahan berat like mine is almost 15 kg.

This post has been edited by lohlm56: Sep 4 2008, 04:43 PM
lohlm56
post Sep 4 2008, 07:51 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 4 2008, 07:43 PM)
pierreye, very tidy and clean set-up. unfortunately i don't have the space for this but am working out something for my front wall-hope it turns out well.

btw, how is your bass trap fixed?
Really appreciate your valuablle infor. n pictures.
lohlm56
post Sep 7 2008, 12:51 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 6 2008, 08:37 PM)
I am thinking of doing it the simple way like this.
[attachmentid=583562]

just hang the panel in the corners.
I read from website that the acoustic treatment should be covered with at least 60% , corner should be bass trap with thicker layer of panel and frame , side wall will prefer high/md range absorber , where front/ back are covered with diffusor , what is your comment .
lohlm56
post Sep 7 2008, 06:44 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 7 2008, 09:38 AM)
covering 60% of a room seems too much and may make the room sound dead.

most "experts"  recommend that the key is at least covering major spots in a room- 4 corners, 2 sidewalls and ceiling for first reflections, the tri-corner areas, diffusor for back wall;  i.e. like the diagram in earlier post.

many also recommend to have a "live" floor ( hard floor) so that some reflections can still occur.

http://www.realtraps.com/placing_mt.htm
Not covering all 60% area with mid/low bass trap , like side /back wall , diffusors are applied , room will not be too dead . However some audio expert suggest to have absorber instead of diffusor on side wall. But this will depend on the room condition .
lohlm56
post Sep 7 2008, 11:24 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 7 2008, 10:42 PM)
wats the diff between diffusers and basstraps??

Added on September 7, 2008, 10:50 pmhmm how will thick 3 layer rippled curtains around the room do for sound treatment?
It cant absorb low bass and bass will rebound. So bass will not deep.

Added on September 7, 2008, 11:43 pm
QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 7 2008, 10:42 PM)
wats the diff between diffusers and basstraps??

Added on September 7, 2008, 10:50 pmhmm how will thick 3 layer rippled curtains around the room do for sound treatment?
bass trap---to trap the bass and avoid rebound
diffusor----to reflect incoming sound to many different direction ----to minimize echo

Added on September 7, 2008, 11:46 pm
QUOTE(lohlm56 @ Sep 7 2008, 11:24 PM)
It cant absorb low bass and bass will rebound. So bass will not deep.

Added on September 7, 2008, 11:43 pm
bass trap---to trap the bass and avoid rebound
diffusor----to reflect incoming sound to many different direction ----to minimize echo
Can somebody give an advise how to attach 2 pcs of different thickness t=6mm/12mm of MDF , either with screw or wood glue? I am trying to diy rpg diffusor with MDF board.

This post has been edited by lohlm56: Sep 7 2008, 11:46 PM
lohlm56
post Sep 18 2008, 12:34 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Sep 16 2008, 05:46 PM)
HT leg

my HD65 just clocked "80" jam

amazing... rclxms.gif
optoma hd70 is old model and stop production , but i heard it is better than hd65 , new old stock offer RM3800 which is close to hd65 , pls comment these 2 model . tq.

0.0417sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:33 PM