80 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Optoma HD65 Kakis, technical, tweaking, screenshot.........

pierreye
post Sep 3 2008, 04:05 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(lohlm56 @ Sep 3 2008, 11:12 AM)
my panells are floated on the frame and back is hollow and consider as bass trap , can you put picures of aluminium tube with rubber feets at 4 corners , i am thinking of screw 4 pcs of solid block of woods and hang it.
Here's some picture of bass trap (I installed for all 4 corners), first reflection point absorber and the rubber feet to float the panel.

mys_terious
post Sep 3 2008, 04:52 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Sep 3 2008, 04:05 PM)
Here's some picture of bass trap (I installed for all 4 corners), first reflection point absorber and the rubber feet to float the panel.

your ht room setup looks vely pro.. sofa looks comfy too...
ycs
post Sep 3 2008, 05:04 PM

4,232 posts

pierreye, nice room setup.

where is your equipment hiding? In the front wall?
pierreye
post Sep 3 2008, 05:16 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 3 2008, 05:04 PM)
pierreye, nice room setup.

where is your equipment hiding? In the front wall?
Thanks. I ask the carpenter to create a frame 3 feet from wall. Then wrap the frame with speaker cloth. All equipment is hidden behind the frame (front speaker, center speaker, receiver, htpc, sub). The panel below the screen can be open to access to the equipment.
ycs
post Sep 3 2008, 05:21 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Sep 3 2008, 05:16 PM)
Thanks. I ask the carpenter to create a frame 3 feet from wall. Then wrap the frame with speaker cloth. All equipment is hidden behind the frame (front speaker, center speaker, receiver, htpc, sub). The panel below the screen can be open to access to the equipment.
can have some close-up of the front wall in operation? I'd like to get some idea's if possible. I'm still llooking for the speaker cloth. Didn't you treat your ceiling and wall/ceiling edges?
lohlm56
post Sep 3 2008, 05:45 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 3 2008, 05:21 PM)
can have some close-up of the front wall in operation? I'd like to get some idea's if possible. I'm still llooking for the speaker cloth. Didn't you treat your ceiling and wall/ceiling edges?
Can u advise more how u hang the panel to the wall , need a bracket on the wall and triangle wood inside the the edge corner to hold the rubber feet tube ?
is your screen is sound transparent screen ? How may inches diagonal.
Synco
post Sep 3 2008, 06:16 PM

CCB
667 posts

nice room
but at that angle
wont your neck hurts after long hour?
i tried mine , after 2hour my neck starts to ache laugh.gif
myqd
post Sep 3 2008, 07:30 PM

2,247 posts

nice set up pierreye,i like the back panel of ur screen paint in black.If can paint both side walls to some darker colour lagi best(not black,maybe dark green) tongue.gif

btw,u hide the front spekaer at the back oso? The room acoustic and treatment also nicely done,like the absortber too.I remembered last time in Hi Fi audio room the 1st absortber on both side wall we used to place about 5-6 fts from the front spk.We also place some "triangle pillow" in the front wall/ceiling corner.However,that depends on room size,spk placement and type of spk used.Aslo,the corner of back wall with some treatment like urs also nice.What about the middle of the back wall? Do u place an absortber there too?

welldone thumbup.gif
lohlm56
post Sep 3 2008, 10:33 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Sep 3 2008, 07:30 PM)
nice set up pierreye,i like the back panel of ur screen paint in black.If can paint both side walls to some darker colour lagi best(not black,maybe dark green)  tongue.gif

btw,u hide the front spekaer at the back oso? The room acoustic and treatment also nicely done,like the absortber too.I remembered last time in Hi Fi audio room the 1st absortber on both side wall we used to place about 5-6 fts from the front spk.We also place some "triangle pillow" in the front wall/ceiling corner.However,that depends on room size,spk placement and type of spk used.Aslo,the corner of back wall with some treatment like urs also nice.What about the middle of the back wall? Do u place an absortber there too?

welldone  thumbup.gif
front/back corners ---bass trap
side----absorber/diffusor
back/front wall----diffusor
ceiling----absorber/diffusor
silbii
post Sep 3 2008, 11:33 PM

963 posts

interesting projects you got here...hope to do mine soon

query: i read that you got the rockwool and foam from aircon installer? so can i just ask any aircond installer for this and they should know?

Or is there a local name for these materials?

pierreye
post Sep 4 2008, 08:26 AM

1,308 posts

I'll take some photo today for "behind the scene" equipment.

As for the panel, you need the triangle wood at the corner to hold the frame and the panel. Just screw the aluminium tube and rubber feet on the triangle. For hanging it's simple. Just screw a nail in the wall, and hang it like a picture frame.

Actually the back of the screen is not painted black. The whole panel at the back of the screen is frame wrap with speaker cloth (so that I can see my equipment in the dark and also accoustically transparent for speaker). My screen is 114" brilliant white Carada fixed screen. I previously use motorized screen for my old HT room and wrinkle is the major problem So I advise all of you to go for fixed screen if possible.

I'm thinking of getting diffusor for the back wall either using hanging bookshelf method or just buy from hiwaylaser. Reason I didn't paint the front side wall black is it looks ugly. Anyway, from my experience as long as you have thick enough black border, it's fine. Also, remember to use matte paint for your wall. Don't use Pearl Glo paint. You need to sit at least 5 ft from the diffusor for it to be effective.

As for the height, the screen is 3 ft from the floor as I need to place my center speaker below the screen. So far, no problem watching movie on the first row of the sofa. Second row sofa is perfect. I'm thinking to change the first row sofa to a 3 seats recliner chair with arm rest + cup holder.

You can get semi rigid fiberglass from www.polyglass.com.my. Those that you get from aircon installer is too soft and density might not be ideal.

My advice is room treatment is important. My previous HT room is not treated and only with thick curtain on both side to absorb the sound reflection. I can only watch movie at maximum 85db. In the new theater room, 95db is still comfortable and everything is under control.

Update on automation:
If you see the picture of my switch, there is 3 blue lighted button switch. That's a Senzo switch (developed by local company, http://www.newict.com/) which accept IR, RF and programmable switch. I use Logitech harmony one to do the macro programming as follow:

Enter Theater activity: Light and Aircon switch on.
Watch Movie: Light turn off, projector/receiver/sub turn on. If I pressed pause button, the light will turn on. Press play, light will turn off.

I love Harmony Remote but take me one whole day to get the programming right.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Sep 4 2008, 10:18 AM
rthj
post Sep 4 2008, 11:45 AM

1,048 posts

at least the harmony remote does it right, some never do.....which harmony are you using?
1remote to rule 'em all.....
pierreye
post Sep 4 2008, 12:57 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 4 2008, 11:45 AM)
at least the harmony remote does it right, some never do.....which harmony are you using?
1remote to rule 'em all.....
Harmony one. It's quite intelligent as if some of your equipment is not turn on, with a help button, it'll give you step by step troubleshoot guide.

Best combination of touch screen + keypad.
lohlm56
post Sep 4 2008, 03:21 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Sep 4 2008, 08:26 AM)
I'll take some photo today for "behind the scene" equipment.

As for the panel, you need the triangle wood at the corner to hold the frame and the panel. Just screw the aluminium tube and rubber feet on the triangle. For hanging it's simple. Just screw a nail in the wall, and hang it like a picture frame.

Actually the back of the screen is not painted black. The whole panel at the back of the screen is frame wrap with speaker cloth (so that I can see my equipment in the dark and also accoustically transparent for speaker). My screen is 114" brilliant white Carada fixed screen. I previously use motorized screen for my old HT room and wrinkle is the major problem So I advise all of you to go for fixed screen if possible.

I'm thinking of getting diffusor for the back wall either using hanging bookshelf method or just buy from hiwaylaser. Reason I didn't paint the front side wall black is it looks ugly. Anyway, from my experience as long as you have thick enough black border, it's fine. Also, remember to use matte paint for your wall. Don't use Pearl Glo paint. You need to sit at least 5 ft from the diffusor for it to be effective.

As for the height, the screen is 3 ft from the floor as I need to place my center speaker below the screen. So far, no problem watching movie on the first row of the sofa. Second row sofa is perfect. I'm thinking to change the first row sofa to a 3 seats recliner chair with arm rest + cup holder.

You can get semi rigid fiberglass from www.polyglass.com.my. Those that you get from aircon installer is too soft and density might not be ideal.

My advice is room treatment is important. My previous HT room is not treated and only with thick curtain on both side to absorb the sound reflection. I can only watch movie at maximum 85db. In the new theater room, 95db is still comfortable and everything is under control.

Update on automation:
If you see the picture of my switch, there is 3 blue lighted button switch. That's a Senzo switch (developed by local company, http://www.newict.com/) which accept IR, RF and programmable switch. I use Logitech harmony one to do the macro programming as follow:

Enter Theater activity: Light and Aircon switch on.
Watch Movie: Light turn off, projector/receiver/sub turn on. If I pressed pause button, the light will turn on. Press play, light will turn off.

I love Harmony Remote but take me one whole day to get the programming right.
one end is rubber feet , how to screw it to the wall ? insert the rubber feet into the wall' screw hole? can u enlarge the screw of the wall. Tq.
i am thinking to screw a block of wood on the wall then hand the bass trap ( bass trap 's back is hollow) ,pls comment
pierreye
post Sep 4 2008, 03:40 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(lohlm56 @ Sep 4 2008, 03:21 PM)
one end is rubber feet , how to screw it to the wall ? insert the rubber feet into the wall' screw hole? can u enlarge the screw of the wall. Tq.
i am thinking to screw a block of wood on the wall then hand the bass trap ( bass trap 's back is hollow) ,pls comment
You don't screw the rubber feet to the wall. The rubber feet is just pushing your panel 2" from the wall. You only screw a nail into your wall and hang your panel. Just pull a wire across your panel around 1/4 measure from the top of your panel height. I'll take some picture tonight.
rthj
post Sep 4 2008, 03:57 PM

1,048 posts

didnt know harmony one has touch screen.

maybe i know what sort of price range is this thing ? how about the harmony 1000?

i am currently using an old 555.

This post has been edited by rthj: Sep 4 2008, 04:04 PM
lohlm56
post Sep 4 2008, 04:37 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Sep 4 2008, 03:40 PM)
You don't screw the rubber feet to the wall. The rubber feet is just pushing your panel 2" from the wall. You only screw a nail into your wall and hang your panel. Just pull a wire across your panel around 1/4 measure from the top of your panel height. I'll take some picture tonight.
aluminium tube is hollow and the nail is inserted with it where rubber feet is a anti vibrating material between wall and panel. am i right. How u fit the hollow tube to the triangle wood?

Added on September 4, 2008, 4:43 pm
QUOTE(lohlm56 @ Sep 4 2008, 04:37 PM)
aluminium tube is hollow and the nail is inserted with it where rubber feet is a anti vibrating material between wall and panel. am i right. How u fit the hollow tube to the triangle wood?
sorry , recorrect . a wire tie between 2 aluminium tube , then wire hang at the nail just like hanging the picture. your panel and fame should be light otherwisw cant tahan berat like mine is almost 15 kg.

This post has been edited by lohlm56: Sep 4 2008, 04:43 PM
htkaki
post Sep 4 2008, 06:28 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

that's very informative. Tks a lot, pierreye. I think need to get my carpenter to quote this to me. But, need to translate this info to him in cantonese and show him the photos here. Hope he gets the idea of it.
pierreye
post Sep 4 2008, 06:51 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 4 2008, 06:28 PM)
that's very informative. Tks a lot, pierreye. I think need to get my carpenter to quote this to me. But, need to translate this info to him in cantonese and show him the photos here. Hope he gets the idea of it.
Ha... I need to show him the step by step picture and some sketch I do to make him understand what I want. Anyway, here is the photo promised earlier:

ycs
post Sep 4 2008, 07:43 PM

4,232 posts

pierreye, very tidy and clean set-up. unfortunately i don't have the space for this but am working out something for my front wall-hope it turns out well.

btw, how is your bass trap fixed?

80 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:17 AM