MayBank shareholder Group
jasontoh
Aug 12 2009, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 11 2009, 11:52 PM) The rumour is about BNM wants to change the Maybank director board, something to do with BII acquisition? Previously BNM did block the deal, but eventually went through. Don't know how true it is. Any impact to the share price?
jasontoh
Jan 8 2010, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(VyvernS @ Jan 8 2010, 02:09 PM) Ya....I concur, wait this counter give me divvy. Wondering if i should finally lock in profits. Bought at 4.40 now nearly 7 already.  Wow...then you subscribe for the RI? Else, you lose a lot leh
jasontoh
Jan 8 2010, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(VyvernS @ Jan 8 2010, 03:41 PM) 4.40 bought after rights issue... I sold the counter about Sept 2008 for peanut profit, then bought back at 3.90 after the RI. I sold the whole lot at 4.50, then decided i made a bad call, and bought it back at 4.40. So still holding...  I felt that no way Maybank was going to remain <RM5 being the top bank in Malaysia, the BII fiasco already being included in the P&L, so just wait the price recover, hence my buying back at 4.40. I was hoping the same for Boustead after RI, but seems the price stuck at 3.4x range for now.  Well, MBB also stuck below RM7 ma
jasontoh
Sep 26 2013, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 26 2013, 02:51 PM) No Maybank investor here to give some comments on this stock/company?  Buy and hold long term will not go wrong with this counter.
jasontoh
Sep 26 2013, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 26 2013, 09:29 PM)
jasontoh
Sep 26 2013, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 26 2013, 09:47 PM) Care to share what's the average DY over the years? It the current DY within average?  Not 6% ah? I remember when I bought it, the yield was like 8%
jasontoh
Sep 26 2013, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 26 2013, 09:53 PM) Now 5%+ nia, and it just went ex Maybe should monitor first...still a long way to next divvy  2 more quarters. I opt for DRIP.
jasontoh
Sep 26 2013, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 26 2013, 09:55 PM) Drip what?  Dividend reinvestment plan. I think something like that. Meaning I only have very little of the dividend, others buy the stock.
jasontoh
Sep 26 2013, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 26 2013, 09:58 PM) Oh ok Thanks Jason for the heads up  You can convert Hupseng to Maybank if you think Hupseng is overvaluation. I'm thinking whether I should let go Hupseng or not also.
jasontoh
Sep 26 2013, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 26 2013, 10:03 PM) Totally let go, unlikely. But reduce exposure, maybe.  How to reduce? Like me, I don't have much with me. Sell 50% and keep 50%?
jasontoh
Sep 26 2013, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 26 2013, 10:30 PM) Hold on hold on Just input 2013 Q2 financial data and extrapolated (a very rough extrapolation, just divide 6 x 12) into full 12-months data Assuming a more sustainable 90% payout ratio (actual payout for past 4 years actually averaged >100%) Ping Pong actually still yields 5.8% at last closing price of 5.10  Revenue growing at 4%+ p.a. Net profit growing at 10% p.a. Why dump?  Then keep to fridge again
jasontoh
Sep 27 2013, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 27 2013, 11:22 AM) If it's really a good company/investment, by right investors would have snapped it up like hot cakes, it should not be yielding 5%++, the highest among the big bank stocks. Because at the current situation, the growth rate is limited. About 70% of the profit still generate from Malaysia. Unless Singapore segment can contribute more significantly, then it might surge further.
jasontoh
Sep 27 2013, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 27 2013, 02:33 PM) Maybank at Singapore is like some bangla bank, small small branches, totally cannot fight with DBS, UOB and OCBC  I do have an account there, and I feels it is better than the Singapore banks. Anyway, what I mean s the revenue + profit in Singapore to grow higher is crucial for the Maybank price.
jasontoh
Sep 27 2013, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 27 2013, 07:44 PM) No, what I meant was their presence is very small I have account in Maybank Singapore, though their presence is very small in Singapore, Maybank still have at least 3 branches there and many prominent places will have the Maybank ATM. I'm hoping that Maybank will do well in Singapore, not only because I have "small" holdings in the company, but it's online banking still better and to me ahead of many banks.