MayBank shareholder Group

adele123
post Mar 6 2020, 09:14 PM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 6 2020, 01:32 PM)
I like to imagine it like an open top barrel, half filled with water. Occasionally someone pours out the water from the barrel, that's the dividends. The water level in the barrel will fall. There is, however, a tap that continues to drip water into the barrel. That's the profits and the water level will go up again. Until someone pours out the water again.

Now the tricky part is that this dripping water is not very  consistent one. Sometimea a lot, some time less. This is where investment skill comes in. U buy the barrel based on how u expect the tap will flow.
This is good. Even someone who understands the share price and dividend and ex price, it is a great analogy.
adele123
post Apr 17 2020, 10:55 AM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 17 2020, 10:29 AM)
back to 7.7. there goes my dream of averaging down more sad.gif
yes, somemore this is after ex-dividend.. too green today.

Who knows, oppurtunity may arise again.

adele123
post May 6 2020, 10:38 AM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ May 6 2020, 10:24 AM)
there was no opportunity to be missed. Was hoping to buy at RM 7 or less. sad.gif

but it seems the market has already priced in 50bps OPR cut.
where were you during March? biggrin.gif

Let's not forget, cutting OPR usually result in more money flowing to the equity market. there is that.

lower OPR, in theory, we should chase for other things with higher yield. REITS go up because yield better than FD. so, maybank yield better dividend than FD.

I think there are always other factors and market not rational biggrin.gif.

beginner's 2 cents
adele123
post Jun 11 2020, 04:25 PM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(k8zw3ll @ Jun 11 2020, 02:29 PM)
all these reports, analyst, are just opinions based on analyst.

Market may not react rationally. and just too many other factors to consider.

Hindsight always 20/20. now all want to slap themselves why didnt buy more at 7.40 lo.... sigh.
adele123
post Jun 13 2020, 11:59 AM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ Jun 12 2020, 07:58 PM)
ok, thanks. Will explore that
Dont go for nominee account if can. Olden days still get charged when receive dividend. Now i dunno.

So easy to open direct account. Stick to direct.
adele123
post Aug 5 2020, 03:27 PM

4,719 posts

today matched 7.48, last week wed/thurs matched 7.68

hindsight 20/20
adele123
post Aug 5 2020, 03:38 PM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Aug 5 2020, 03:30 PM)
you must got tons of capital to buy like this.
no amount stated... if buy 300 shares only, is it alot?

if i knew will drop to 7.48, i wont buy at 7.68 right?

if dont buy, also can't learn?

adele123
post Aug 5 2020, 04:19 PM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 5 2020, 03:50 PM)

300 shares@7.68 = 2.3mil alot wor. Rich.

Before buy, got to sturdy the stock history, chart and finacial. From there, you about know what price to enter.

Normally I will go in small at 7.68. From there see where it go. Go down, buy more. It is like batch by batch buy.

I don't no when is the lowest. So this is the best way to get average lowest.
i quote example is 300 shares not 300 lot boss, i speak by share not by lot, sorry. cause later say 3 lot, someone thinking the old lot which is 1000 share per lot. jangan salah faham... what if i buy 200 only? i just quote example. dont so serious later kena tracked, thinking i'm millionaire. if i'm millionaire, no need come to forum talk serious stuff. just go kopitiam *blow water*

yes yes, i remind myself i dunno when is the lowest, but i dont want to average down for the sake of it too. gotta balance.

adele123
post Aug 14 2020, 01:01 PM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Aug 14 2020, 07:15 AM)
You lucky dude 😭😭
no one can predict the future. about a month ago, similar situation happened (shot up close to Rm8?). and these 2 weeks was hovering around 7.5/7.6 again then now naik balik.

Gotta be patient and be ready i guess

adele123
post Aug 14 2020, 06:33 PM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Aug 14 2020, 03:22 PM)
Haha, I am doing sort of DCA so I would say based on my luck and timing.

Always invest at the end of the month. Won't put aside some money to buy if share price drop as not much capital to begin with. 😢
Haha. Tak payah jealous then. Chill, i guess?
adele123
post Aug 25 2020, 02:34 PM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(alworks @ Aug 24 2020, 04:26 PM)
keep accumulating since 7.6 n thought the price i bought was the lowest.....now left last few bullet shots...need to aim well this time, cant simply shoot again.... laugh.gif
well, i'm sure you are not the only one. If we know will go to 7.5, wont buy at 7.6, and so forth.

But that's why we are supposed to "do our homework", and buy at the price you think it's worth it. Most importantly we achieve what we want. Of course, also easier said than done.

adele123
post May 28 2021, 09:20 PM

4,719 posts

The final single-tier dividend of 38.5 sen consists of a cash portion of 17.5 sen per ordinary share and an electable portion of 21.0 sen per ordinary share which can be elected to be reinvested in new ordinary shares.

this means only the 21 cent entitle for the DRIP is it?
adele123
post Jun 7 2021, 07:45 PM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 7 2021, 12:07 PM)
Just registered for boardroom ytd and my account was approved as well

but I can't find any option for DRP under Corporate Actions.... anyone have the same issue?

I already received the email for DRP option from Maybank
should be quite smooth lo. no issue. when login, the box on the right side, got a number "1"
adele123
post Sep 27 2021, 03:16 PM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Sep 27 2021, 11:49 AM)
is it worth the DRP at 7.80?
Depending on the current share price and dividend received, it may be that the "benefits" are not high to do the DRP. Or indeed the cost may be larger compared to if you just buy the share as normal.

The cost of doing DRP is rm13. I think my paper gain from doing DRP is only rm20 ish. Nett gain around rm7 to8. This number based on last friday closing price of rm8.10. If anything lesser... buying the new shares on own is cheaper

Buying new shares will be rm8 for me via hlebroking.

But this really depends on the persons's holdings quantity. If i have more shares, the answer would have been a good yes. Because the cost is still fixed to rn13
adele123
post Oct 12 2021, 08:44 PM

4,719 posts

QUOTE(HumbleBF @ Oct 12 2021, 03:42 PM)
Why dont you transfer share to Rakuten and take advantage of the fee waiver
What fee waiver? Anyway for me is best to have own account, dont want nominee ba.

Hle broking min brokerage rm8. To me it's pretty good.

0.0336sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:48 AM