MayBank shareholder Group

Yggdrasil
post Jul 21 2019, 06:49 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 21 2019, 06:38 PM)
What is your average cost for Maybank?
Currently do not hold any but plan to hold 22.5% of it in my portfolio. I'm currently holding CIMB. Most likely holding a total of 45% finance stocks (Maybank & CIMB) in the ratio of 9:7.

I'll enter next month in batches. If banking stocks announce a fall in profitability before Maybank's QR is out, most likely Maybank will also suffer fall in profitability. I'll wait 20 days for the earnings drift to end before entering. If a few banks report good results, I'll enter immediately before the QR is released.

Right now I'm at 65% cash 35% equities.

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 21 2019, 06:38 PM)
I am of the view that Maybank would only hit 8.70 if there is a weakening sign of our economy, or if our interest rate is dropped further.
US already announced a potential rate cut this month although it will be very small. Malaysia will likely follow if that happens.
moosset
post Jul 23 2019, 03:19 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 19 2019, 01:23 PM)
Can start to top up if price touch 8.80 (which is very possible with the current situation).
Been waiting eagerly for way too long brows.gif
It's about to hit RM8.80 liao!! rclxms.gif
Yggdrasil
post Jul 23 2019, 03:47 PM

2,210 posts

Lai lai support at RM8.80
Cubalagi
post Jul 23 2019, 05:28 PM

4,487 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Jul 23 2019, 03:19 PM)
It's about to hit RM8.80 liao!!  rclxms.gif
Touched 8.80 intraday. Close@ 8.82... Maybe by nxt week see it touch 8.75 (52 weeks low) again.. 😮

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jul 23 2019, 05:28 PM
Jordy
post Jul 23 2019, 05:54 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Jul 23 2019, 03:19 PM)
It's about to hit RM8.80 liao!!  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jul 23 2019, 03:47 PM)
Lai lai support at RM8.80
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jul 23 2019, 05:28 PM)
Touched 8.80 intraday. Close@ 8.82... Maybe by nxt week see it touch 8.75 (52 weeks low) again.. 😮
Damn, I didn't call my remisier to help me queue at 8.80! The support at 8.82 and 8.83 was quite strong in the morning. Stayed at KPJ for the whole day for follow up with doctor after lunch, so missed the 8.80 intraday doh.gif

Hope tomorrow got chance to buy in some at 8.80, this time I will queue from morning, no more waiting bruce.gif

Anyone of you got it at 8.80 today?
nexona88
post Jul 23 2019, 06:21 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,426 posts

something is cooking..
related to lower rate cut by US Fed whistling.gif
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jul 23 2019, 06:45 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 23 2019, 05:54 PM)
Damn, I didn't call my remisier to help me queue at 8.80! The support at 8.82 and 8.83 was quite strong in the morning. Stayed at KPJ for the whole day for follow up with doctor after lunch, so missed the 8.80 intraday doh.gif

Hope tomorrow got chance to buy in some at 8.80, this time I will queue from morning, no more waiting bruce.gif

Later see see 850
Cubalagi
post Jul 23 2019, 07:16 PM

4,487 posts

Wah still use remisier.. Haha..
Yggdrasil
post Jul 23 2019, 08:28 PM

2,210 posts

I say I waiting at RM8.80 but actually queuing at RM8.50

icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif

Better wait for Department of Statistics Malaysia's inflation rate for June 2019 first. It should be out by end of this month. If it's deflation then most likely BNM will follow US and cut rates. This will cause banking stocks to drop further.

This post has been edited by Yggdrasil: Jul 23 2019, 08:31 PM
bmwcaddy
post Jul 23 2019, 09:14 PM

513 posts

Bought them below 8.95. as 70% of investment portfolio is due to my portfolio being very small (<20k), just started not long ago
Jordy
post Jul 24 2019, 11:30 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 23 2019, 06:21 PM)
something is cooking..
related to lower rate cut by US Fed whistling.gif
Market expectation for a higher rate cut in US, but if lower then it will be less exciting for the market.
A lower rate cut is also a sign that the economy is growing well, so lesser risk of a recession.

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 23 2019, 06:45 PM)
Later see see 850
That is a bit far fetched la. There must be a supporting argument to prove the weakness of the share. At the moment there is no clear signs of such a huge weakness in it's price. 8.80-ish is the support level for now in my humble opinion. If BNM cut rate by Q3, then we might see the price going down to about 8.65-ish, but it won't stay there for long as low interest rate will spur lending. The loss in margin can easily be offset by increase lending activity as Maybank is still one of the top choice for Malaysians when it comes to borrowing.

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jul 23 2019, 07:16 PM)
Wah still use remisier.. Haha..
Yes, been with the same remisier since I started trading 20 years ago. And because I am always out of office for meetings and outstation, I cannot keep tracking. So a Whatsapp message comes in handy, when the deal is done he will revert back to me.

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jul 23 2019, 08:28 PM)

icon_idea.gif  rclxm9.gif

Better wait for Department of Statistics Malaysia's inflation rate for June 2019 first. It should be out by end of this month. If it's deflation then most likely BNM will follow US and cut rates. This will cause banking stocks to drop further.
Even if BNM cut rates also, it will not cause such a big selldown of the price. At most it might touch 8.65, chance of it hitting 8.50 is quite remote unless trade war risk worsens to a full-scale war which will in turn affect global market.

QUOTE(bmwcaddy @ Jul 23 2019, 09:14 PM)
Bought them below 8.95. as 70% of investment portfolio is due to my portfolio being very small (<20k), just started not long ago
If you have additional bullets to top up if the price continues to weaken, then you may proceed to average down. If you have less cash, then better wait and see for a bigger drop before buying.

Edit: B/Q at 8.80 is strong at 11k lots, big buying support at 8.80. This looks like a good sign that it is bottoming out for now.

This post has been edited by Jordy: Jul 24 2019, 11:36 AM
Jordy
post Jul 24 2019, 01:07 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jul 23 2019, 08:28 PM)

icon_idea.gif  rclxm9.gif

There you go. CPI released as per your request thumbup.gif

And as we can see, the growth figure looks good, inflation is kept under control with no immediate worry of a recession or pressure to cut interest rate anytime soon.

Source: https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...rated-year-ago/

This post has been edited by Jordy: Jul 24 2019, 01:08 PM
Yggdrasil
post Jul 24 2019, 01:16 PM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 24 2019, 01:07 PM)

And as we can see, the growth figure looks good, inflation is kept under control with no immediate worry of a recession or pressure to cut interest rate anytime soon.

Ok. Who's going all in? thumbup.gif
bmwcaddy
post Jul 24 2019, 01:17 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 24 2019, 11:30 AM)
Market expectation for a higher rate cut in US, but if lower then it will be less exciting for the market.
A lower rate cut is also a sign that the economy is growing well, so lesser risk of a recession.
That is a bit far fetched la. There must be a supporting argument to prove the weakness of the share. At the moment there is no clear signs of such a huge weakness in it's price. 8.80-ish is the support level for now in my humble opinion. If BNM cut rate by Q3, then we might see the price going down to about 8.65-ish, but it won't stay there for long as low interest rate will spur lending. The loss in margin can easily be offset by increase lending activity as Maybank is still one of the top choice for Malaysians when it comes to borrowing.
Yes, been with the same remisier since I started trading 20 years ago. And because I am always out of office for meetings and outstation, I cannot keep tracking. So a Whatsapp message comes in handy, when the deal is done he will revert back to me.
Even if BNM cut rates also, it will not cause such a big selldown of the price. At most it might touch 8.65, chance of it hitting 8.50 is quite remote unless trade war risk worsens to a full-scale war which will in turn affect global market.
If you have additional bullets to top up if the price continues to weaken, then you may proceed to average down. If you have less cash, then better wait and see for a bigger drop before buying.

Edit: B/Q at 8.80 is strong at 11k lots, big buying support at 8.80. This looks like a good sign that it is bottoming out for now.

Guess i shouldn't be too greedy for now. Better to diversify into other reits at this opr cutting season
Jordy
post Jul 24 2019, 01:18 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jul 24 2019, 01:16 PM)
Ok. Who's going all in?  thumbup.gif
Not going all in yet. Queued 3k units at 8.80 since 10am. Hopefully my queue would be matched in the afternoon session sweat.gif

Buying support at 8.80 is too strong, guess it would be quite difficult for my order to get matched. Sellers are not letting go lol.
bmwcaddy
post Jul 24 2019, 01:20 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jul 24 2019, 01:07 PM)

Tapi Malaysia Boleh still cut according to us fed right?
Jordy
post Jul 24 2019, 01:20 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(bmwcaddy @ Jul 24 2019, 01:17 PM)
Guess i shouldn't be too greedy for now. Better to diversify into other reits at this opr cutting season
Huh? Where got OPR cutting season wor? Choiiii. There is no pressure for BNM to cut interest rate, why you want them to cut some more? doh.gif

QUOTE(bmwcaddy @ Jul 24 2019, 01:20 PM)
Tapi Malaysia Boleh still cut according to us fed right?
US fed is expected to cut rates not because they need to, because of some stupid big mouth keep asserting pressure only. Inflation figure is good in US, there is low risk of recession. Fed was reluctant to cut rates until just recently due to that stupid fella.

Malaysia doesn't have to follow US, we have our own sovereignty lol. Why care about that stupid big mouth? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Jordy: Jul 24 2019, 01:24 PM
Cubalagi
post Jul 24 2019, 02:04 PM

4,487 posts

Inflation is higher than past months (it was negative early in the year), but fact is YTD is still relatively low. As mentioned in the article, RAM has revised this year target to 1% inflation. A country like Malaysia's healthy level of inflation is 2-3%.

What this means is that, when u combine soft inflation with other central banks also cutting, there is a higher chance of another rate cut by Bnm in Sept or Nov.

This will compress bank margins further if it happens, which I think why bank stocks are still dropping today.

Personally, I prefer Bnm to cut rates, but I won't bet on it.

cherroy
post Jul 24 2019, 03:22 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jul 24 2019, 02:04 PM)
Inflation is higher than past months (it was negative early in the year), but fact is YTD is still relatively low. As mentioned in the article, RAM has revised this year target to 1% inflation. A country like Malaysia's healthy level of inflation is 2-3%.

What this means is that, when u combine soft inflation with other central banks also cutting, there is a higher chance of another rate cut by Bnm in Sept or Nov.

This will compress bank margins further if it happens, which I think why bank stocks are still dropping today.

Personally, I prefer Bnm to cut rates, but I won't bet on it.
Year end or early next year may be if economy data keep on coming in soft.

The last round of cut effect may not surfacing yet, if so fast have another round of cut, may be seen as use up "ammunition" too early.

Currently OPR is 3%, the room of cut is not a lot, you don't want to use up too early as well.

Yggdrasil
post Jul 24 2019, 03:51 PM

2,210 posts

So anyone bought Maybank? I am buying other shares instead. CIMB is actually quite tempting to buy compared to this.

Based on my calculation, CIMB should give at least 8% return p.a. (total of capital gains and dividend) for the next 5 years.

211 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0591sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:54 AM