Public Transportations Thread, let's discuss., It will affect your property value...

TSyewkhuay
post Jun 2 2008, 02:42 AM, updated 18y ago

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

I was googling for some news on KL/PJ public transports update n found this a bit out-dated news but to me it's new, wondering anyone has any updated news on it .

In general, properties near to public transportation especially KTM /Monorail / Putra /Ampang line will get greater demand in terms of tenant business and subsale value, so it would be good for us to discuss on this as well. I managed to find some forums discussed about public transport and news on some of it.

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wed...pull_index_html

LRT, new roads to benefit Puchong
By Heidi Foo

2008/03/05

KUALA LUMPUR: Residents in Puchong can look forward to a light-rail transit (LRT) system which will help alleviate traffic congestion in the area. Work on the LRT system is expected to begin either at the end of this year or early next year.

The current Bukit Jalil LRT station in Sri Petaling will be extended through strategic townships in Puchong before ending in Putra Heights.

The 16km track is expected to serve at least 250,000 people in Taman Kinrara, Bandar Kinrara, Puchong Jaya, Tempua, Pusat Bandar Puchong, Bandar Puteri, Puchong Perdana, Puchong Indah and Tasik Puchong Prima.

The Barisan Nasional candidate for the Puchong parliamentary seat, Lau Yeng Peng, said yesterday that the project was scheduled for completion by 2011.

It is expected to cost more than RM1 billion.

"A bus service will also be provided to ferry commuters to and from the station," he said, adding that 100,000 commuters were expected to use the service during peak hours daily.

Besides reducing traffic congestion, the LRT would also stimulate growth in the area.

"Before this, there was speculation that the project would be delayed or even stopped due to the lack of finances and other problems.

"I want this announcement to dismiss all the rumours as we have been working on the development of Puchong even before the dissolution of parliament," he said.

Work would also begin after the elections on one of two alternative roads which had been approved.

"The road will be built across the Klang river, linking Kinrara Puchong and Sri Manja, while the second road will be from Tesco Puchong to USJ1.

"In fact, the plans and allocation of approximately RM20 million had been approved by the relevant authorities, including the federal government.

"As far as I am concerned at this point, the new road will be toll free and I will fight for it to stay that way," he said.

Lau added that the cabinet had approved the funds under the Public Transportation Cabinet Committee, chaired by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak, in December last year.

Also present at the press conference held at the Umno Seri Serdang state assemblyman's office were Seri Serdang and Kinrara incumbent state assemblymen Datuk Mohd Satim Diman and Dr Kow Cheong Wei.

http://www.usj.com.my/bulletin/upload/prin...5&page=27&pp=15

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.p...=102128&page=63

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...1102&sec=nation

This post has been edited by yewkhuay: Jun 2 2008, 03:00 AM
suiteng
post Jun 2 2008, 09:20 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

4 years is a long wait sweat.gif Will be very convenient if implemented. But since BN lose... erm...
aaronpang
post Jun 2 2008, 10:21 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

It depends I guess... if you don't own a car it would be great to have public transport nearby.

My personal preference:

I'd rather not have public transport nearby... it's usually a double edged sword increased public presence could lower the value of property rather than increase it.

The influx of people streaming into the neighborhood will destroy the peace and quiet I now enjoy.

I'm ok if public transport is not next to my house.

Kind of like a bus stop right next to your home, generate trash and reduce your privacy. If you happen to keep pets be prepared for idiot passer-by taunting/abuse your pet mad.gif

End personal preference.

I also hope the government would do a better job of planning the new routes and encourage park and commute.

Currently most of the LRT stations do not cater sufficient space for people to park.

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jun 2 2008, 10:30 AM
Syd G
post Jun 2 2008, 11:00 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

I'd buy a property near to LRT but will not stay there due to reasons above.

Investment biggrin.gif
Pai
post Jun 2 2008, 06:49 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

Own stay -> Not a fan.

Investment-wise -> YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!
scorgio
post Jun 2 2008, 11:04 PM

4,694 posts

In a neighbourhood where each house have 2-4 cars, doesn't matter.

For rental (investment) purpose, definately.

This post has been edited by scorgio: Jun 2 2008, 11:08 PM
ganz
post Jun 3 2008, 12:23 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

that true... investment wise is good.. but not for own stay...
nice example...
1. University / Vista Angkasa at pantai dalam
2. taman melati

tzeyin
post Jun 5 2008, 12:34 AM

97 posts

petrol price gone up again, make more sense for the gomen to seriously work on the LRT extension NOW.
cody99
post Jun 5 2008, 09:49 AM

734 posts

Where the RM13.7b savings will go

- RM7.5 billion goes back as subsidies for petrol, diesel and gas

- RM4 billion for food security

- RM1.5 billion for cooking oil subsidies

- RM400 million for standardising price of rice in Sabah and Sarawak

- RM200 million for flour subsidy

- RM100 million for bread subsidy
(Source: TheStar)

There is no indication of any fund going to channel for public transport

This post has been edited by cody99: Jun 5 2008, 10:11 AM
suiteng
post Jun 5 2008, 02:22 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

Hmm... personally I'm a station girl.. I mean, my properties is like :

1) Taman Miharja - 5 minutes to LRT / rapid KL station
2) Warisan Cityview - 8 minutes to LRT, 1 minute to bus stop
3) Wangsa Maju - 5 minutes to LRT / bus stop
4)

There.
aaronpang
post Jun 5 2008, 02:40 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

cody99 overly efficient public transport would be bad for our national carmaker...

The Malaysian governments love obsession with proton, artificial protection and lousy planning/management are National Hallmarks tongue.gif

IMHO I'm ok with paying market rate for petrol just like everyone else in the world but at the same time I don't want to pay extra for something else.

Why should my car cost double or why should I pay for useless public transport?

Public transport was supposed to be affordable and efficient... sadly it's not true for Malaysia. In Sri Petaling with 2 LRT stations in close proximity, nearby Condo's are over crowded with cars.

I've had a better experience with public transport in Prague on 50year old trams and Singapore busses compared to Kuala Lumpur.

The LRT/Metro lines in both countries are clean, efficient and properly integrated with the rest of the public transport system. I never had to walk very far from the stations to get onto the next bus, tram or cab.

It’s also dirt cheap and a joy to use when I was in Singapore and Prague... I can appreciate why many Czech and Singaporean citizens don't have to own a car.

I hate how things are run in this country! vmad.gif mad.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jun 5 2008, 02:43 PM
agape_ian
post Sep 8 2008, 04:39 PM

468 posts

For me, I think the properties near public transport amenities will have a good value.

0.0222sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:01 AM