waja sluggish autobox

TSzftrans
post May 31 2008, 09:30 PM, updated 18y ago

191 posts

lately my 2004 waja's autobox has been acting weirdly. when the car is cold/cold start, the gear change from first to second has been very sluggish. it takes a long time to shift into second and the when it changes the car jerks.

and when it is in second, and i apply the brakes to stop at a junction the car stops but the gear remains in second and it idles at 1500rpm. and when i have stopped for about 3 or 4 seconds, it downshifts again to first gear and it idles at 800rpm.

but after i have moved for about 2 to 3 minutes the gear changes becomes normal.. smooth shifting.. it only happens when the car is cold or not used for a few hours.

my car's mileage currently is 85000km and I have changed the ATF at 80000km. what could be the problem? is my gearbox showing signs of breaking down? and also the check engine light shows up for about 5 to 8 seconds after starting my car.
lucifah
post May 31 2008, 09:54 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

time to reboot the ECU - easiest way is to unplug your battery. wipes out all driving preferences

GoldenHawk
post Jun 2 2008, 10:21 AM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

Ever flushed the autobox before? unsure.gif
Get it done once every few years smile.gif
cfc-free
post Jun 5 2008, 03:14 PM

157 posts

check to see if the auto box ecu is wet. it could be faulty.
tony2304
post Jun 5 2008, 10:16 PM

did the service centre change the transmission filter when you change the ATF? i suggest you check the transmission fluid either its clean or its with carbon deposits (tiny particles fell of from you transmission's clutch disc. try to consult a transmission specialist to either flush or service your gearbox.
Esky
post Jun 6 2008, 12:39 PM

394 posts

I understand that a certain band needs to be regularly adjusted, anyone knows how this affects the auto tranny's shifting?

RoxyGal
post Jun 7 2008, 03:54 AM

٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶ Im roxygal ٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶
1,031 posts

QUOTE(cfc-free @ Jun 5 2008, 03:14 PM)
check to see if the auto box ecu is wet. it could be faulty.
yes check ur carpet whether it's wet.....

the aircond water hose block d..

check it
nakajima
post Jun 7 2008, 11:22 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Jun 2 2008, 11:21 AM)
Ever flushed the autobox before? unsure.gif
Get it done once every few years smile.gif
Agreed, have it flushed rather than just draining the oil and topping it up.
Loon1024
post Aug 17 2008, 02:31 AM

18 posts

HAhA i HAd a same problem with him... my car just done 50,000km...
nth can do also.... drive slowly when cold...
Klemann C
post Aug 17 2008, 03:18 AM

481 posts

that is ur gearbox sign of showing wanna kong edi....
i can pretty sure about it....
majority of da auto gearbox have same issue bout this caused by losing preassure to drive that gear.. each gear got different lvl preassure required to drive specific gear....for ur waja, its 4 AT....
inside, every single gear possitioned side by side.....the inner gear are normally using several layer metal clutch plate for every single gear.....all gear connecting in a single rod that from crankshaft.....in da crankshaft rod,it has 'O' ring & valve seal....that particular 'O' ring has a tiny teeth shape whole ring rounding...worn out....so when it change gear it tend to difficult to shift up or down....mainly da first run at morning, tranny oil temp are not sufficiently warm so does oil preassure weak....when it fully up to operating temp, this symptom will lost.....but it will come back after long hour stationary park.....

actually its very minor thing, juz replaced all inside gearbox 'O' ring & valve seal will solve these problem...unfortunately, most of da workshop they dun do that kind of service.....coz da process of doing it exactly same thing with disassembled gearbox from ur car...so they only do gearbox replacement either brand new or reconditioned gearbox.....

my car which is proton wit auto transmission.....
2 years ago same situation happened like wat TS mentioned....
wat i do is, went to a workshop & met a south african guy whom supervised that workshop in segambut area which is well known for gearbox replacement parts...1 of the gearbox specialist in car manafacturer.....i got to know them bcoz they did appeared on the Star newspaper.....
they do some diagnostic on my car...detected those O ring & valve seal worn out causing that problem.....they take out my car tranny, replaced all ring & valve seal.... and put in bac to my car...
and works perfectly all problem gone.....untill today still no sign of gb problem....
and it costed RM 350 to fix bac....including labour charge....
detomaso
post Aug 17 2008, 07:06 AM

1,896 posts

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Aug 17 2008, 03:18 AM)

that is ur gearbox sign of showing wanna kong edi....
i can pretty sure about it....
majority of da auto gearbox have same issue bout this caused by losing preassure to drive that gear.. each gear got different lvl preassure required to drive specific gear....for ur waja, its 4 AT....
inside, every single gear possitioned side by side.....the inner gear are normally using several layer metal clutch plate for every single gear.....all gear connecting in a single rod that from crankshaft.....in da crankshaft rod,it has 'O' ring & valve seal....that particular 'O' ring has a tiny teeth shape whole ring rounding...worn out....so when it change gear it tend to difficult to shift up or down....mainly da first run at morning, tranny oil temp are not sufficiently warm so does oil preassure weak....when it fully up to operating temp, this symptom will lost.....but it will come back after long hour stationary park.....

actually its very minor thing, juz replaced all inside gearbox 'O' ring & valve seal will solve these problem...unfortunately, most of da workshop they dun do that kind of service.....coz da process of doing it exactly same thing with disassembled gearbox from ur car...so they only do gearbox replacement either brand new or reconditioned gearbox.....

my car which is proton wit auto transmission.....
2 years ago same situation happened like wat TS mentioned....
wat i do is, went to a workshop & met a south african guy whom supervised that workshop in segambut area which is well known for gearbox replacement parts...1 of the gearbox specialist in car manafacturer.....i got to know them bcoz they did appeared on the Star newspaper.....
they do some diagnostic on my car...detected those O ring & valve seal worn out causing that problem.....they take out my car tranny, replaced all ring & valve seal.... and put in bac to my car...
and works perfectly all problem gone.....untill today still no sign of gb problem....
and it costed RM 350 to fix bac....including labour charge....
Sun Eng Hup Auto Tranny Service ka bro? nearby segambut KTM?
Klemann C
post Aug 17 2008, 12:40 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(detomaso @ Aug 17 2008, 07:06 AM)
Sun Eng Hup Auto Tranny Service ka bro? nearby segambut KTM?
nope its EH Auto....
icon_rolleyes.gif
rcracer
post Aug 17 2008, 12:52 PM

?????
3,772 posts

It's like that with autoboxes, when the oil is cold it takes sometime to build pressure to shift gears.Maybe a gear oil change can help a little
jlce10
post Aug 17 2008, 04:01 PM

1,061 posts

ya, i have the similar problem like yours, when its cold or the car din start for 2 days the 1st gear to 2nd gear will like drag awhile, then after sometime driving it become ok d...
zenwarlord
post Aug 30 2008, 11:23 AM

Transmogrifier
1,193 posts

QUOTE(zftrans @ May 31 2008, 09:30 PM)
lately my 2004 waja's autobox has been acting weirdly. when the car is cold/cold start, the gear change from first to second has been very sluggish. it takes a long time to shift into second and the when it changes the car jerks.

and when it is in second, and i apply the brakes to stop at a junction the car stops but the gear remains in second and it idles at 1500rpm. and when i have stopped for about 3 or 4 seconds, it downshifts again to first gear and it idles at 800rpm.

but after i have moved for about 2 to 3 minutes the gear changes becomes normal.. smooth shifting.. it only happens when the car is cold or not used for a few hours.

my car's mileage currently is 85000km and I have changed the ATF at 80000km. what could be the problem? is my gearbox showing signs of breaking down? and also the check engine light shows up for about 5 to 8 seconds after starting my car.
which kind of ATF fluid you're using? Are you using ATF fluid from Proton?

3glim
post Apr 24 2009, 10:10 AM

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Aug 17 2008, 12:40 PM)
nope its EH Auto....
icon_rolleyes.gif
hey, I'm also having the same problem as u all...waja auto1.6 2001

i'm having this problem for more than 2 years

it always jerks when it's changing gear from 1 to 2 and 2 to 3.... and it does not goes to 4th gear

when i stop... i does not change back to gear 1 .... it'll be at gear 3 FOREVER !!!! ( really hard to drive)

the N light will pop ( when the gear is on D, 2,3 or L)

i'm looking forward to meet this workshop (EH auto)..

can u give the address of something or any landmarks so that i can find this place..( i'm from PJ)

i tried google'ing the company name... can't find the address

thx...

This post has been edited by 3glim: Apr 24 2009, 10:31 AM
tester1979
post Apr 24 2009, 10:44 AM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

i tried googling and found this:-

http://www.ehautolink.com.my/

now I am checking with Klemann C to see if this is the one he went......

This post has been edited by tester1979: Apr 24 2009, 10:44 AM
Klemann C
post Apr 25 2009, 12:58 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Apr 24 2009, 10:44 AM)

i'm juz responded to ur pm bro icon_rolleyes.gif
but i wasn't sure whether is it da transmission specialist section still supervised under south african guy or not....
guess wat, my home car that fixed 2 years ago......that time was overdrive gear problem....now 1st gear & 2nd gear is having problem....have to wait da car fully warm up and put on D mode wait till gear fully engaged..... doh.gif
3glim
post Apr 25 2009, 09:10 AM

QUOTE(tester1979 @ Apr 24 2009, 10:44 AM)

hey guys .. yesterday i went to segambut and found Sun Eng Hup Auto Transmission SDN BHD.

i enter the office and asked the staff ..

they said they don't do repair services...

they only do "trade in" transmission gearbox...(means: u trade in yours, for a recondition gearbox and pay a sum of money)

it cost rm 3k for waja 1.6 ... cry.gif

i wasn't interested ... a recondition gearbox might have alot of problems too ... for example 1 month ago ... my alternator was not working .. so i went to the workshop to change a recondition alternator.....then the next day... the alternator fail again .... i went back 2 change another 1 .. after that on my way home ... it fail again .... i went back to change another 1 .. i changed it 3 times .....

EH autolink... i dun think is the right 1 ...coz the address is jalan kepong... icon_rolleyes.gif

jeffayn
post Apr 27 2009, 07:49 AM

67 posts

bro, the auto transmission is rarely a problem, unless you havent got the fluid change since day one you own the car....

the most common problem and issues I always pressed on waja car auto is the auto tranny ecu, which is located below the under the aircond.

Its a design flaw and the condensation from the air cond blower will drip some water into the tranny ecu.

I got this in after around 4 years using the car... I did confronted the proton guys for the design flaw, but they just wont take responsibilites, how ever, i did notice changes of the placement for the tranny ecu after 2005 model.....

if u change the gear box , if the ecu is at fault, your problem will still not solve...

how you know the ecu is not working... well.. when you are in D, the shifting gear which suppose to goes from 1 - 2- 3- 4 maybe now is 1 -2 -3 and never goes to 4, or goes to 4 when it feel happy ... hahah
3glim
post Apr 28 2009, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(jeffayn @ Apr 27 2009, 07:49 AM)
bro, the auto transmission is rarely a problem, unless you havent got the fluid change since day one you own the car....

the most common problem and issues I always pressed on waja car auto is the auto tranny ecu, which is located below the under the aircond.

Its a design flaw and the condensation from the air cond blower will drip some water into the tranny ecu.

I got this in after around 4 years using the car... I did confronted the proton guys for the design flaw, but they just wont take responsibilites, how ever, i did notice changes of the placement for the tranny ecu after 2005 model.....

if u change the gear box , if the ecu is at fault, your problem will still not solve...

how you know the ecu is not working... well.. when you are in D, the shifting gear which suppose to goes from 1 - 2- 3- 4 maybe now is 1 -2 -3 and never goes to 4, or goes to 4 when it feel happy ... hahah
I've never change the transmission oil from the 1st day i bought it ..so that was my biggest mistake... i just changed it 2 weeks ago...it was better but the problem is still there... i'll check on the condensation thing ...
it changes to 4th gear when car is warm .... but the problem is i have to warm up my car for 15 to 25 mins....that's really long... sometimes, i give up and drive to work... my problem is not like others, warming their cars for 5 mins only...

This post has been edited by 3glim: Apr 28 2009, 02:10 PM
tester1979
post Apr 29 2009, 10:43 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(3glim @ Apr 28 2009, 02:09 PM)
I've never change the transmission oil from the 1st day i bought it ..so that was my biggest mistake... i just changed it 2 weeks ago...it was better but the problem is still there... i'll check on the condensation thing ...
it changes to 4th gear when car is warm .... but the problem is i have to warm up my car for 15 to 25 mins....that's really long... sometimes, i give up and drive to work... my problem is not like others, warming their cars for 5 mins only...
hmm...since you are already in the mood of checking out how to fix your gear box, why don;t you try to call the eh auto....i believe the phone number is on the website from the link I posted....you can try ask them if they repair gearbox or not....try explain your problem and see how they respond.......

0.0232sec    0.95    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:44 AM