Movies Frank Miller's THE SPIRIT: Movie Series Thread, The SPIRIT Sequel in Plans NOW!

TSfiredauz
post May 31 2008, 03:34 AM, updated 17y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Official Website: http://www.mycityscreams.com/index.html

Adapted from the legendary comic book series created by Will Eisner, "The Spirit" is a classic action-adventure-romance written for the screen and directed by genre-twister Frank Miller (creator of "300" and "Sin City"). It is the story of a former rookie cop who returns mysteriously from the dead as the Spirit (Gabriel Macht) to fight crime from the shadows of Central City. His arch-enemy, the Octopus (Samuel L. Jackson) has a different mission: he's going to wipe out Spirit's beloved city as he pursues his own version of immortality. The Spirit tracks this cold-hearted killer from Central City's rundown warehouses, to the damp catacombs, to the windswept waterfront... all the while facing a bevy of beautiful women who either want to seduce, love or kill our masked crusader. Surrounding him at every turn are Ellen Dolan (Sarah Paulson), the whip-smart girl-next-door; Silken Floss (Scarlett Johansson), a punk secretary and frigid vixen; Plaster of Paris (Paz Vega), a murderous French nightclub dancer; Lorelei (Jaime King), a phantom siren; and Morgenstern (Stana Katic), a sexy young cop. Then of course, there's Sand Saref (Eva Mendes), the jewel thief with dangerous curves. She's the love of his life turned bad. Will he save her or will she kill him? In the vein of "Batman Begins" and "Sin City," "The Spirit" takes us on a sinister, gut-wrenching ride with a hero who is born, murdered and born again.

This post has been edited by firedauz: Mar 4 2009, 03:18 AM
mukhlisz
post May 31 2008, 03:46 AM

373 posts

dunno much about Spirit but i know i sure love Sin City to death. Marv and that Carla Cugino sure made quite a pair. biggrin.gif

where is Sin City 2 anyway? unsure.gif
Polaris
post May 31 2008, 05:28 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

With so many girls this will definitely rope in the horny masses, what's the rating?
vivienne85
post May 31 2008, 08:54 AM

360 posts

i read in wikipedia that sin city 2 is put on hold as the director, robert rodriguez is going to direct barberella... sad.gif
whatsupbro
post May 31 2008, 11:01 AM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

saw this on MTV... really cool but dunno about the spirit, hahaha... I always wonder how they produce Sin City kind of visual look..
TSfiredauz
post Jun 7 2008, 04:54 PM

876 posts

Eva:
user posted image user posted image

Samuel:

Scarlett:

kobe8byrant
post Jun 7 2008, 05:24 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

No matter how good this movie is, it sure as hell won't wow us the way Sin City did.
choyster
post Jun 7 2008, 11:02 PM

1,802 posts

yay mother f***er!
TSfiredauz
post Jun 14 2008, 08:20 PM

876 posts

Scarlett Johansson as Silken Floss in Lionsgate Films' The Spirit - 2009 wub.gif

vivienne85
post Jun 14 2008, 11:39 PM

360 posts

sexy!! biggrin.gif

cant wait for the movie..

This post has been edited by vivienne85: Jun 14 2008, 11:56 PM
TSfiredauz
post Jun 21 2008, 06:02 PM

876 posts

Click the link to *hear* each of these poster talks biggrin.gif
--> http://movies.yahoo.com/feature/thespirit_flash.html

TSfiredauz
post Jul 15 2008, 01:59 PM

876 posts

New Trailer! rclxms.gif

tomzy
post Jul 15 2008, 03:00 PM

121 posts

looks good will definate watch. too bad my favourite director robert rodriguez ain't involve in the project else it will be rclxm9.gif
vivienne85
post Jul 22 2008, 09:28 PM

360 posts

so many femme fatales

a lot of guys gonna drool over this movie tongue.gif
Calvin871989
post Sep 28 2008, 12:36 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

The Spirit (2009) HD Trailer 2

mukhlisz
post Sep 28 2008, 01:56 AM

373 posts

i heard the movie will be a PG-13. no gore n boobies then.. sad.gif
Calvin871989
post Sep 28 2008, 02:06 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(mukhlisz @ Sep 28 2008, 01:56 AM)
i heard the movie will be a PG-13. no gore n boobies then..  sad.gif
nod.gif

IMDB

MPAA: Rated PG-13 for intense sequences of stylized violence and action, some sexual content and brief nudity.

skylinegtr34rule4life
post Sep 28 2008, 10:29 AM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(mukhlisz @ Sep 28 2008, 01:56 AM)
i heard the movie will be a PG-13. no gore n boobies then..  sad.gif
lolz that sucks laugh.gif and no F as well dang doh.gif
Calvin871989
post Oct 16 2008, 12:10 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/New-Poster-...adow-10543.html

New Poster Puts The Spirit In Shadow

A new poster for The Spirit has popped up online at the Italian site Bad Taste. It’s a pretty poster, a close up with his red tie waving in the breeze and the dark. It also looks a lot like the marketing materials for The Shadow, which is perhaps prophetic since the absolute lack of buzz over this thing floating around out there may soon doom it to a box office failure similar to that of Alec Baldwin’s. Or, maybe it will surprise us all. I’m rooting for that.

Here’s the poster, click to see it bigger over at Bad Taste:

vivienne85
post Oct 16 2008, 02:52 PM

360 posts

ooo....cant wait for the movie..
ericpires
post Oct 18 2008, 08:21 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

I just watched Trailer 3 just now. Absolutely great man. Go watch it now...
Calvin871989
post Oct 21 2008, 10:09 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

Calvin871989
post Nov 4 2008, 10:53 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

Calvin871989
post Nov 18 2008, 06:40 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Celebrate-C...irit-10911.html

Celebrate Christmas With The Spirit

Christmas may seem like a strange time to see a superhero movie, but The Spirit is embracing its holiday release date. Lionsgate has just sent us a new, Christmas themed trailer for the Frank Miller film.

Adapted from the original graphic novel by Will Eisner, The Spirit is the story of a former rookie-cop who returns mysteriously from the dead as The Spirit (Gabriel Macht) to fight crime from the shadows of Central City. Be ready to join The Spirit under the mistletoe in theaters on December 25th, and watch the new Christmas-themed trailer below:

http://www.joblo.com/the-spirit-coolness

The Spirit coolness

Most of you have probably already made up your mind about the demented, exaggerated goofiness of the Frank Miller directed, Will Eisner adapted THE SPIRIT so sit back, relax and enjoy the short Christmas themed trailer and featurette on the titular hero's wide array of hotties that we recently uploaded to our video hub or you know, don't. In the film, Gabriel Macht plays a cop who becomes the titular superhero and fights Sam Jackson and his exceedingly fruity costumes while banging all kinds of hotties in the form of Scarlett Johnasson, Eva Mendes, Sarah Paulson and Jaime King. He does all this Christmas Day.

Extra Tidbit: The Spirit or Bond ain't got nothing on Hank Moody. That guy bangs at least two ridiculously smoking hotties per episode.

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Nov 18 2008, 10:02 AM
Calvin871989
post Nov 19 2008, 08:55 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.joblo.com/new-spirit-poster

New Spirit poster

So here we have a new trailer for the upcoming Frank Miller directed, Will Eisner adapted THE SPIRIT that's not as cool as some of the other promotional material that's been released but it's not so bad. The Spirit's insane brand of goofiness starts on Christmas Day.

Extra Tidbit: Think there'll be a sequel?

Calvin871989
post Dec 2 2008, 04:13 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.joblo.com/more-spirit-cleavage

More Spirit cleavage

The cleavage of this article's title doesn't, of course, refer to the titular hero in the upcoming Frank Miller directed, Will Eisner adapted THE SPIRIT, but rather to that of his foxy nemesis Silken Floss (Scarlett Johansson). It's easy to see how the Spirit (Gabriel Macht) falls prey to the wiles of this mesmerizing cleavage. Of course it doesn't help that he has a thing for banging hotties who, in the film, also include Eva Mendes, Jaime King, Sarah Paulson, Stana Katic and Paz Vega. In addition to the cleavage on the cover of "Set" magazine, check out a shot of the Spirit himself and a Taiwanese poster. The film opens Christmas Day.

Extra Tidbit: Goddamn, Johansson's cleavage never ceases to amaze.

Calvin871989
post Dec 11 2008, 12:13 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

3 clips waiting for you on the site above nod.gif
Calvin871989
post Dec 13 2008, 09:45 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

you know the drill ! rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Dec 13 2008, 09:47 AM
Calvin871989
post Dec 16 2008, 04:36 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.cinemablend.com/new/Spirit-Role...sson-11264.html

Spirit Role Expanded For Scarlett Johansson

In all the promotional materials for the film, Silken Floss has been showcased alongside all the other women in the story, suggesting the role played by Scarlett Johansson is a lead, along with Sand Saref (Eva Mendes) and Ellen Dolan (Sarah Paulson). But Silken started off as a minor role-- until Johansson expressed interest.

Johansson told a story at Saturday's press conference for The Spirit about meeting with Frank Miller about the movie, even though there weren't really any parts for her in it. "At the end of it I was like 'I'm sad there's nothing for me to do!' and he said 'I'll think of something.' He decided to expand this character." Johansson added with a smile, "I got super, super lucky."

In the film Silken is the accomplice to The Octopus (Samuel L. Jackson), a brainy student hoping to learn from his evil ways. It's hard to imagine the movie without her brilliant character, so kudos to Miller for recognizing that any movie, really, can benefit from a little more Johansson.

dattebayo
post Dec 22 2008, 09:49 PM

5,366 posts

oh, got a chance to watch a pre-theatrical release tomorrow night cool.gif
dokidoki
post Dec 24 2008, 03:09 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

going to watch tomolo...yeah!!
dattebayo
post Dec 24 2008, 08:44 PM

5,366 posts

it's quite a lame comedy actually, the backgrounds and animation are like 300 style sleep.gif

Added on December 24, 2008, 9:51 pmoh yeah... this is what I got smile.gif

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Dec 24 2008, 09:51 PM
Mgsrulz
post Dec 25 2008, 02:04 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

getting lousy reviews all over.
dvd it is,then sleep.gif
apek
post Dec 25 2008, 03:45 AM

fufu
691 posts

Just watched this movie..Good movie imo..

If you like Sin City or 300..Give this one a shot la..
mukhlisz
post Dec 25 2008, 04:58 AM

373 posts

i'm curious... does The Spirit bangs every chick in the movie? because in trailer except for Sam Jackson, everyone looked like they wanted to sleep with him..
sam5941
post Dec 25 2008, 01:51 PM

145 posts

the first movie that worse than kinta 1881
i like <<300>>

but this movie is some sort of "screw my eyes"
WASTE MY TIME!
Klesk
post Dec 25 2008, 08:06 PM

3,469 posts

just came back from this movie, if you expect this movie to be anywhere near 300, you are sure to be disappointed...
the endless boring monologues and yapping just doesnt do it for me...
dokidoki
post Dec 25 2008, 08:30 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(sam5941 @ Dec 25 2008, 01:51 PM)
i like <<300>>

WASTE MY TIME!
yes...this is what my wife told me this morning..overall i am enjoy...but..seem like no leng chai but leng lui only..so not her cup of tea~... laugh.gif
maximus85
post Dec 25 2008, 08:47 PM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

ARRHHHH MAIII EYEEE~~~

that is my review to this film....
amalost
post Dec 25 2008, 09:36 PM

798 posts

from wht i seen in the trailer,the cool part is the tie...
ico12
post Dec 25 2008, 11:27 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(sam5941 @ Dec 25 2008, 01:51 PM)
i like <<300>>

WASTE MY TIME!
Hey..at least this movie got nice jokes. And I like the humor lulz
Fight scene at beginning of the movie was funny, toilet weapon FTW
apek
post Dec 25 2008, 11:57 PM

fufu
691 posts

QUOTE(ico12 @ Dec 25 2008, 11:27 PM)
Hey..at least this movie got nice jokes. And I like the humor lulz
Fight scene at beginning of the movie was funny, toilet weapon FTW
you got that right..
I tot Octopus is a cosplayer la..
From samurai to Hitler..LOL
Didn't expect the movie to be that funny.. sweat.gif
dattebayo
post Dec 26 2008, 10:02 AM

5,366 posts

the filming style is akin to 300, but nothing else is resembling to 300. Still DC comics are better, this is crap!
DonkeyKong
post Dec 26 2008, 01:05 PM

What a movie..... near to the word sucks...
vinoth
post Dec 26 2008, 01:09 PM

514 posts

the movie was disastrous...i guess it is the worst superhero movie ever ... mad.gif
khool
post Dec 26 2008, 01:10 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(vivienne85 @ May 31 2008, 08:54 AM)
i read in wikipedia that sin city 2 is put on hold as the director, robert rodriguez is going to direct barberella... sad.gif
they r remaking barbarella??gosh ... who's gonna replace jane fonda?
doctorpopcorn
post Dec 26 2008, 04:19 PM

169 posts

The movie had a lot of unexpected aspects to it. And the acting was quite dull. The graphics were great but thats about it that was great about the movie. Sam Jackson was good too.

Check out my full review here.

http://doctorpopcorn.blogspot.com/2008/12/...-after-all.html

Please feel free to comment.

This post has been edited by doctorpopcorn: Dec 26 2008, 06:07 PM
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Dec 26 2008, 04:26 PM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 25 2008, 02:04 AM)
getting lousy reviews all over.
dvd it is,then sleep.gif
You have to watch it yourself. Another mans gold could be another mans poop. I really had a good time watching it. The acting is good , the comedy is hilarious. Its like watching / reading a comic book.
SUSkevin23
post Dec 26 2008, 06:29 PM

1,803 posts

Dont ever watch this movie..worst movie of 2008 ever! Lamest,dumbest ,lousy lame acting with stupid storyline.
dokidoki
post Dec 26 2008, 08:12 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(doctorpopcorn @ Dec 26 2008, 04:19 PM)
The movie had a lot of unexpected aspects to it. And the acting was quite dull. The graphics were great but thats about it that was great about the movie. Sam Jackson was good too.

Check out my full review here.

http://doctorpopcorn.blogspot.com/2008/12/...-after-all.html

Please feel free to comment.
put ur review here la~...promoting ur own blog pula~
ico12
post Dec 26 2008, 08:17 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Dec 26 2008, 04:26 PM)
You have to watch it yourself. Another mans gold could be another mans poop. I really had a good time watching it. The acting is good , the comedy is hilarious. Its like watching / reading a comic book.
+1
ghoster
post Dec 26 2008, 09:05 PM

I got 4 stars
641 posts

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Dec 25 2008, 08:47 PM)
ARRHHHH MAIII EYEEE~~~

that is my review to this film....
wow, that bad huh? thanks for telling us, i've been thinking of watching it, but now i change my mind la biggrin.gif
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Dec 26 2008, 09:15 PM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(ghoster @ Dec 26 2008, 09:05 PM)
wow, that bad huh? thanks for telling us, i've been thinking of watching it, but now i change my mind la biggrin.gif
If you're going to watch it just for the sake of this tag From the Creator of 300 & Sin City and expecting half nekkid man shouting for an epic battle yeah its better to avoid it. you will be dissapointed.srsly.

This kind of movie is a hit or miss. I'll be watching it for the second time tommorow and glad to do so rclxm9.gif
BelowAverage
post Dec 26 2008, 09:49 PM

1,274 posts

after watching this show

I said:" WTF IS THZ RANDOM SHYT!?!?!"

My friend say:" TIZ IS LANJ!@O ShOW!!

Wtf is this crap?

And samuel's acting is like same with other movies( snake on the plane etc)

WTF with the bald idiots, wtf wtf wtcf

and wtf with sand saref? she looks like fergie.

Wheen the show end, i lol'd

AND WTH CENSORED SO MANY THINGS? KISSING ALSO CNESORED !!

3/10

pros: i like the red tie and white shows
Cons: everything else
CherryD
post Dec 26 2008, 10:09 PM

294 posts

All i can say is :
"Terrible movie ladies and gentlemen." ... Indeed one of the worst film this year.

Went to 1u with ma cousin yesterday on high hopes that this movie would def kick @$$ due to Frank Miller.
Went into the cinema, sat down, chilling with Sprite and a packet of Nachos, waiting with excitement. Not long after all d beers advertisement, the movie finally started. Heart pounding and racing...
Next thing i know,
10 people started to leave the hall after the first 5 mintues of the show. As the show goes on, more people seem to be leaving the cinema and the crowd was getting less and less. Half way thru the movie i slept and woke up during the scene where.....er.....where.......mmhm.......where was it again?......oh crap i can't remember sh!t about the movie becoz it was too horrible. After 1hr&45min of disaster, we walked out of the cinema, all of us looking at each other and said :"that was totally f***ed up mannn."

P.S : If i would have known better, i would rather spend 3 hours watching Australia then this bullcrap. Seriously disappointing and vomitable.

This post has been edited by CherryD: Dec 26 2008, 10:11 PM
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Dec 26 2008, 10:16 PM

oro?
4,187 posts

Man. i was wondering what in the world did you guys expect la? you guys seriously holds into the tag from the creator of 300 ya?
SUSkevin23
post Dec 26 2008, 11:01 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Dec 26 2008, 10:16 PM)
Man. i  was wondering what in the world did you guys expect la? you guys seriously holds into the tag from the creator of 300 ya?
Nolah,but at least some decent respectable stuff..This show was so full of random shyt from the 3 bald idiots,to the foot with a head jumping on a table,to the girls who always show "half ball"...

I hate the "300" effect in the movie,made it so dull and lame.

The fighting part at the mud area was so stupid and lame..So many ppl were leaving the cinema.By the time the movie ended,there were few ppl left.

Really,if not for the hot chicks ,this would have gotten 0/10 from me...but i am giving it 1/10 just for the chicks..

WORST MOVIE OF 2008,what a way to end the year....
ghoster
post Dec 26 2008, 11:18 PM

I got 4 stars
641 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Dec 26 2008, 09:15 PM)
If you're going to watch it just for the sake of  this tag From the Creator of 300 & Sin City and expecting half nekkid man shouting for an epic battle yeah its better to avoid it. you will be dissapointed.srsly.

This kind of movie is a hit or miss. I'll be watching it for the second time tommorow and glad to do so rclxm9.gif
meh, not because of the tag, but frank miller is a well known writter (dark knight returns, daredevil bla bla bla). so that's why i want to watch it biggrin.gif
plus, those hotties, eva mendes and scarlett johansson tongue.gifbiggrin.gif
nimloth32
post Dec 26 2008, 11:46 PM

284 posts

watched this movie in this afternoon..kinda disappointed if u expect this movie similar to 300 and sin city because this movie is geared towards stupid fun and hot chicks instead of being serious
FatSam
post Dec 27 2008, 02:01 AM

509 posts

so boring....tertido sekejap td...also heard somebody infront row snoring too...

Awan Afuqya
post Dec 27 2008, 02:08 AM

=)
1,796 posts

First time watch movie got people walk out of cinema every 5 minutes.
Mgsrulz
post Dec 27 2008, 02:12 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Dec 26 2008, 04:26 PM)
hmm.gif
so is this movie a comedy?
i thought it was more serious(with a bit of comedy thrown in) blush.gif

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Dec 26 2008, 06:29 PM)
Dont ever watch this movie..worst movie of 2008 ever! Lamest,dumbest ,lousy lame acting with stupid storyline.
i doubt it can beat twilight's crappiness tongue.gif
tommyfai
post Dec 27 2008, 10:26 AM

408 posts

i heard it was a crap movie...
CherryD
post Dec 27 2008, 10:44 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(tommyfai @ Dec 27 2008, 10:26 AM)
i heard it was a crap movie...
you heard correctly.

Added on December 27, 2008, 10:45 am
QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Dec 26 2008, 10:16 PM)
Man. i  was wondering what in the world did you guys expect la? you guys seriously holds into the tag from the creator of 300 ya?
No I didn't. I was expecting something good from the director(Frank Miller) to produce something good not because of the Tag.

This post has been edited by CherryD: Dec 27 2008, 10:45 AM
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Dec 27 2008, 11:11 AM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 27 2008, 02:12 AM)
hmm.gif
so is this movie a comedy?
i thought it was more serious(with a bit of comedy thrown in) blush.gif

Here a gist of the movie. we have a black samurai, nigra nazi, mindless goons and cliche dialog. Its a d*** tray with more jokes and broads brows.gif

Any decent movie goer / comic lover who can wiki will immediately know wth The Spirit are. Come on, His side kick name is Ebony White who are actually an african american lol. This is coming from someone who had his name as an award. Even Eisner have humor side.

yea we cannot have christian bale to be feature on every movie and yea people should grow moar funny bone.

Gee i really sounds like i am defending the movie. My recommendation is do a little bit of homework (hell use yer 1337 apparatus on wified zone ) to know a little bit about it.

This post has been edited by Uzumaki NaruTo: Dec 27 2008, 11:12 AM
QuickFire
post Dec 27 2008, 11:44 AM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

the local ads claim this is from the director of 300. Zack Snyder directed 300. Robert Rodriguez directed Sin City. Frank Miller has no experience as a director, no wonder this stinks... though I was expecting it to be at least above average.
Uzumaki NaruTo
post Dec 27 2008, 11:51 AM

oro?
4,187 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 27 2008, 11:44 AM)
the local ads claim this is from the director of 300. Zack Snyder directed 300. Robert Rodriguez directed Sin City. Frank Miller has no experience as a director, no wonder this stinks... though I was expecting it to be at least above average.
is it director or creator? me thinks the latter one. the difference is the spirit was created by Will Eisner; yeah the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards. That guy.
Klesk
post Dec 27 2008, 01:11 PM

3,469 posts

ya take the camera away from that guy, and leave him with a pen and paper i say!
QuickFire
post Dec 27 2008, 02:34 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Dec 27 2008, 11:51 AM)
is it director or creator? me thinks the latter one. the difference is the spirit was created by Will Eisner; yeah the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards. That guy.
"From the director of 300" says the ad.

QUOTE(Klesk @ Dec 27 2008, 01:11 PM)
ya take the camera away from that guy, and leave him with a pen and paper i say!
Exactly.
defaultname365
post Dec 27 2008, 02:37 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Totally unexpected. I thought this would be at least as enjoyable as '300'. I am have not watched it (and now not planning to at all... wait for DVD).

The No.1 reason people are expecting som goodness from this film is that, this film taunts the fact of

"From the creators of '300' ". Everyone goes to the cinema watching this film expecting something as epic as '300'...

Tat seems to not be the case at all.

mukhlisz
post Dec 27 2008, 05:09 PM

373 posts

after reading the reviews in AICN, i concluded that this is gonna be pretty bad. i'll be skipping this one. nod.gif

Sin City worked because Robert Rodriguez directed it. i'm a big fan of Planet Terror as well.. biggrin.gif

Frank Miller shouldn't be given the director's chair.. ever again.
cuebiz
post Dec 27 2008, 09:00 PM

992 posts

The worse movie I seen this year. I want a refund.

Frank Miller should stick to writing comic instead of directing.
NooBiE888
post Dec 27 2008, 09:04 PM

306 posts

Just back from watching the movie this afternoon.

Wanted to watch Yes! man.

Due to time constraints cant watch it so had to watch the spirit.

Conclusion: Agree with all here that the movie was totally bad!!!

Made me want to sleep throughout the movie.

Too bad i dint check the movie before watching it.

LoL!!!!
DreamChaser
post Dec 27 2008, 11:54 PM

Dreamer
2,171 posts

skip the movie if can!

just watched it to pass my time and totally no good. lucky the ending a bit bit better to compensate the boring story...
jason991
post Dec 28 2008, 12:15 AM

is all about the money, money, money
1,189 posts

wah...is it so bad?
yesterday was about to watch the spirit but my friend insist watch ip man so really tat bad ah?
actionless movie or story dull?
BelowAverage
post Dec 28 2008, 12:17 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(jason991 @ Dec 28 2008, 12:15 AM)
wah...is it so bad?
yesterday was about to watch the spirit but my friend insist watch ip man so really tat bad ah?
actionless movie or story dull?
is lame toilet comedy. litterally.

I facepalm.jpg when i saw the first battle,

its like a simpson movie minus 80% joke and comical violence.
Gr3yL3gion81
post Dec 28 2008, 12:58 AM

\(n.n)/
685 posts

No boobies? meh
gruddzr
post Dec 28 2008, 01:09 AM

276 posts

not recommend at all, a lot of people go out from the movie early
beck_ken
post Dec 28 2008, 01:52 AM

4,716 posts

QUOTE(NooBiE888 @ Dec 27 2008, 09:04 PM)
Just back from watching the movie this afternoon.

Wanted to watch Yes! man.

Due to time constraints cant watch it so had to watch the spirit.

Conclusion: Agree with all here that the movie was totally bad!!!

Made me want to sleep throughout the movie.

Too bad i dint check the movie before watching it.

LoL!!!!
I have the same situation like u ended up this crappy rubbish movie

first 10 minutes I saw 2 couples went out.....30 minutes later a group 8 people went out...after that every 10 minutes, people either leaving or go out get some foods to eat...one word...."BORING"
doomx
post Dec 28 2008, 04:14 AM

Look at mah stars
2,801 posts

i sleep during the first 45 mins after that decided to end my pain by walking out. i wouldnt wanna read the comic also. really rubbish movie
technophile
post Dec 28 2008, 08:15 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

well the media is playing on the fact that Miller was "co-director" for those 2 films. "co-director" = director also meh..
LOL.
kyox88
post Dec 28 2008, 11:14 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(Awan Afuqya @ Dec 27 2008, 02:08 AM)
First time watch movie got people walk out of cinema every 5 minutes.
i was one of these people...wasted my rm8...this movie SUCKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!! mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

Added on December 28, 2008, 11:15 am
QUOTE(CherryD @ Dec 27 2008, 10:44 AM)
you heard correctly.

Added on December 27, 2008, 10:45 am

No I didn't. I was expecting something good from the director(Frank Miller) to produce something good not because of the Tag.
yeah, i thought would be great, sth like 300...but then, this movie SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!! mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

This post has been edited by kyox88: Dec 28 2008, 11:15 AM
AHBOON
post Dec 28 2008, 05:58 PM

1,278 posts

every1 said sux big of this movie, but actually how sux is it? afterall its a action movie wat, should not tat bad ar? 300 wor, sure got lots of goar and blood wat, hhaha
BelowAverage
post Dec 28 2008, 06:27 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(AHBOON @ Dec 28 2008, 05:58 PM)
every1 said sux big of this movie, but actually how sux is it? afterall its a action movie wat, should not tat bad ar? 300 wor, sure got lots of goar and blood wat, hhaha
unfortunately, the only similarity about 300 and the spirit is the lead have nice body with huge chest and abs, and also hot chicks.

other than that. this show fail. samuel acting is like a jim carey, but jim carey seems better doh.gif
p4n6
post Dec 28 2008, 10:36 PM

5,968 posts

After watching this movie only I know how to appreciate Wong Kar Wai's movie.

Trying to joke but it's not funny, trying to be mysterious but it fails miserably, trying to have fighting action scene but the scene is like school kids fighting for candies.

The story is simple (it's fine, a lot of superhero comic story has simple storyline) but it's the directing that sucks ...
ejiema
post Dec 28 2008, 10:41 PM

129 posts

yup i agree the spirit is so lousy, it's a wasted of money watching it.
ericpires
post Dec 30 2008, 12:27 AM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

Is that bad huh? lolz... i'll spend my money watch another movie... tongue.gif
tech_frix
post Dec 30 2008, 09:46 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

so give me some result here...
1/10??
alanyuppie
post Dec 30 2008, 10:12 AM

2,834 posts

THe show is average. it has their moments, but the overall mood made the audience go yawning. every 15 min or so, a couple left the cinema.

the Octopus is plain silly and mildly pathetic.

it's a poor man's version of Batman.

junnie87
post Jan 1 2009, 12:30 AM

841 posts

Went to watch this movie without checking out the synopsis with my bf today. We were wondering between dark floor and the spirit, finally choose the spirit because of the appropriate timing.

During the starting of the movie, we saw the bright red tie and white shoes, we were like " oh damn". Then we saw the background of the movie, we were like ".......=_=" We stayed on in the cinema for 30 minutes as my bf was trying to see how many people leave the cinema.

The whole movie was ridiculous with the actions and dialogues. In the middle of the movie, we couldnt bare the boredom of the movie, we decided to leave the cinema and the whole movie cost us RM 22. Sigh.... There goes my RM 22 on such a crap movie. Futhermore, it's my first time leaving the cinema during the middle of the movie being played.
kueks
post Jan 1 2009, 02:53 AM

Playstation
6,437 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Dec 30 2008, 12:27 AM)
Is that bad huh? lolz... i'll spend my money watch another movie... tongue.gif
yea.... even if show on public tv oso i wont watch =.=

supernothing
post Jan 1 2009, 02:58 AM

super ☆
1,343 posts

i actually liked it. sorry.
St0rmFury
post Jan 1 2009, 11:21 AM

225 posts

I hear you can see Eva Mendez's bare ass in this movie, but with our holier than thou censorship board, don't bet on seeing it.
daruma
post Jan 2 2009, 08:50 AM

7,559 posts

wrost movie of the century. i saw many ppl left half way
i din leave coz i got free ticket from ppl and they sat behind me.

This post has been edited by daruma: Jan 2 2009, 08:50 AM
kee02
post Jan 2 2009, 05:10 PM

14 posts

sad... shakehead.gif
aobk84
post Jan 2 2009, 09:46 PM

406 posts

very lame movie, we walked out after 15 minutes....
acrylic_26
post Jan 3 2009, 10:58 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(kyox88 @ Dec 28 2008, 11:14 AM)
i was one of these people...wasted my rm8...this movie SUCKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!! mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif

Added on December 28, 2008, 11:15 am
yeah, i thought would be great, sth like 300...but then, this movie SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!! mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
watched it last week, a boy next to me was sleep and snoring. But i don't mad cause this movie really suck! if not because Eva i don't even care to watch it.Btw after 5 minutes got ppl behind me leaving. Are you watched this movie at One Utama?
Ngto
post Jan 4 2009, 12:26 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(AHBOON @ Dec 28 2008, 05:58 PM)
Hopeless movie. It's actually a ridiculous comedy (but few would find it funny) disguised as an action movie.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Jan 4 2009, 12:28 PM
ADEXXXX
post Jan 4 2009, 11:43 PM

154 posts

i would give 0/100 for this movie...!!! thumbup.gif
sshahar9
post Jan 5 2009, 05:15 AM

38 posts

boring .. BIG TIME...
wasted my rm8...

dont even care if the movie is stylized that way... the whole thing still was boring
aiyish
post Jan 5 2009, 05:44 AM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

QUOTE(hawsucheng @ Jan 2 2009, 04:37 PM)
All the haters on this board complain about the campiness and the over the top characters, cheesy lines and ridiculous sequences. Well THATS THE POINT of this movie. Its supposed to be so over the top its funny.

Its been said before and I think the problem was that this film was marketed to be a serious action flick as opposed to what it actually is, a action comedy and I can even go as far to say a parody. I've never watched the trailers before i've seen the movie and I went in not knowing what to expect and i LOVED it. This movie was funny and brilliant once you understand that its SUPPOSED to be like that.

I can understand that if you walk into this movie expecting it to be the next Dark knight, because thats the way it was marketed, then yes you're going to be disappointed. Its like Kill Bill, its not a serious action movie, its actually quite ridiculous and thats where the enjoyment of the movie comes from. Chill out for a sec and allow yourself to be entertained.
i second that...

m not expecting a dark Knight here... its cheesy like Kill Bill Vol.1 & 2... it was meant that way. Can't wait if there is a sequel..
malayneum
post Jan 5 2009, 08:09 AM

penjaga kontrak sosial
2,041 posts

I DONT LIKE EGGS ON MY FACE !!
det3st
post Jan 5 2009, 11:30 AM

56 posts

does anyone think that the spirit resembles hambuglar from mcdonalds?
and yeah... the movies suck minus the tooth ad... somewhat funny
yeehs18
post Jan 5 2009, 02:59 PM

258 posts

The female actor really has the best booty.
alanyuppie
post Jan 5 2009, 03:04 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Jan 5 2009, 06:44 AM)
i second that...

m not expecting a dark Knight here... its cheesy like Kill Bill Vol.1 & 2... it was meant that way. Can't wait if there is a sequel..
Yup . agree the movie is trying to be true to the comic, and it was "meant that way". Too bad, its style and "that way" DOES NOT ENTERTAIN the masses. can't blame them for disliking "that way" .

To the lovers out there, please accept the fact that this movie FAILED TO ENTERTAIN. For true blue fan boys only. this means Commercial Failure. too specialised to ONE single market of viewers, in which its trailer might be made so to mislead "the rest of us".

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Jan 5 2009, 03:05 PM
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post Jan 5 2009, 07:53 PM

1,396 posts

i love the fact that there were many pretty ladies int he movie. besides that felt it blew a whole lot.
shaznizzle
post Jan 5 2009, 08:15 PM

YouTuber: KLONES NETWORK
570 posts

i knew it was a detective story...... so it when well for me... surprised people juz move out of the cinema... what were they expecting?? Spider-Man?? LoL!!

Its funny, story yea maybe on a dull side but well done.. actors were great and effects is very Frank Miller signature pop culture.

More action perhaps on the next movie! smile.gif

spriggan
post Jan 7 2009, 05:53 PM

325 posts

(stephen chow tone): you ask people to kao tim the actor, then you ask the director to go gao tim himself..quote from god of cookery

Hou_JaI
post Jan 7 2009, 06:15 PM

1,129 posts

lets hope this one is not as shytty as "the spitrit"
khaidani
post Jan 8 2009, 01:19 AM

385 posts

the worst movie ever..

wasting my time,

when I watch this movie, really felt wanna get the hell out of the cinema, but thanks to the chair, really comfort and I had a nice sleep
Ngto
post Jan 8 2009, 08:11 AM

4,350 posts

Yes, since already paid, just take a nap and enjoy the air-cond smile.gif
Ahlok
post Jan 8 2009, 10:57 AM

NERF THIS!
1,088 posts

QUOTE(khaidani @ Jan 8 2009, 01:19 AM)
the worst movie ever..

wasting my time,

when I watch this movie, really felt wanna get the hell out of the cinema, but thanks to the chair, really comfort and I had a nice sleep
QUOTE(Ngto @ Jan 8 2009, 08:11 AM)
Yes, since already paid, just take a nap and enjoy the air-cond  smile.gif
sorry, i cant stand it anymore when samuel became japanese.... i left the cinema after that scene..
selenium
post Jan 8 2009, 11:24 AM

RipVanWinkle
1,032 posts

ugh the 3rd baddest movie i ever seen....

i know its supposed to be slow but not my cup of tea.

even critics gave it a 16% zzzzz..

movies that are worst than this is Phantom of the opera and narnia
fraulein
post Jan 10 2009, 11:56 AM

510 posts

Can't believe I spent RM9 to watch it. doh.gif There's only 5 of us in the cinema last Saturday. 1/3 of the movie, the other couple tak boleh tahan and quit. Another guy fall asleep! rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by fraulein: Jan 10 2009, 11:57 AM
PIRATES!
post Jan 22 2009, 07:13 PM

389 posts

Today at 5:15pm at Alor Setar Mall! rclxm9.gif

Added on January 24, 2009, 7:46 pmJust saw it,love it. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by PIRATES!: Jan 24 2009, 07:46 PM
sshahar9
post Jan 25 2009, 09:43 PM

38 posts

to each their own.

but i would say that this movie sucked so bad it choked on its own vomit
Jessica Tan
post Feb 1 2009, 12:38 AM

errr.... it's not even about the way it was marketed... i went in with no expectations at all and came out feeling cheated of my time and money. mad.gif

over the top is fine, but is it even FUNNY? sure, there were some lame laughs.... then? doh.gif doh.gif

in the end of the day, it just sucks. the WORST movie EVER watched. (and i'm an avid movie-goer) sweat.gif

0.0503sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:54 PM