Chubby Hamsters V8, Rolling furballs

liette`
post Jun 8 2008, 06:39 PM

367 posts

Hey, I'm wondering if it's okay to feed a Winter White crickets?

liette`
post Jun 8 2008, 06:46 PM

367 posts

Ahh, my Winter White goes berserk over crickets, he hunts them down and chomps them up no problem. He loves them, nuff said.

Was just wondering if it's ok for their health and by reading your reply, I guess it's fine. smile.gif
liette`
post Jun 14 2008, 10:40 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(irkuysm @ Jun 14 2008, 08:47 PM)
Yours should be Winter White agouti then.Just giving u some advice,just buy a tank if u can afford it.Cage really annoying because all hamster like to bite the metal bar till rust. tongue.gif
greyish should be sapphire, not agouti. agouti is brown.

liette`
post Jun 19 2008, 12:19 AM

367 posts

what are the obvious signs of a female on heat?
liette`
post Jun 19 2008, 12:23 AM

367 posts

i have a couple of questions.
1) what's the right age to breed hamsters?
2) at what age does a female have her first heat?
liette`
post Jun 19 2008, 04:29 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Jun 19 2008, 03:04 AM)

Hi liette come show a pic of your hammies. are you planning to breed them?
Nah, not planning to breed. Getting tomorrow. cinnamon male.

liette`
post Jun 20 2008, 09:11 PM

367 posts

The ability to climb tubes does not make a hamster smart. That said, being unable to climb tubes does not make them stupid.

On another note, I got my 3 week old solid cinnamon male today. He looks pretty small, will try pumping him starting from now.

This post has been edited by liette`: Jun 20 2008, 09:15 PM

liette`
post Jun 20 2008, 09:31 PM

367 posts

Got him from terrysoh @ garage sales.

Poor bugger seems afraid and uninterested in food at the moment. I'll give him some time to settle down. He's a solid cinnamon btw, no bands.

I used my k810i to capture the photos. smile.gif
liette`
post Jun 20 2008, 09:38 PM

367 posts

Well, I left some staple hamster food for him and a small slice of carrot.
liette`
post Jun 20 2008, 09:53 PM

367 posts

I'm actually quite interested in the smoothie but I'm not familiar with the area where Pet Shack's located. Does anyone have a user-friendly map to the shop?

@blurjoey,

I'll try introducing different varieties of vegetables tomorrow, carrots are the only vegetables left in my fridge today.

On an unrelated note, according to the 'approved shopping cart' chart on the first page of this thread, it states that carrots and apples are not suitable for dwarf hamsters. Why is that?

This post has been edited by liette`: Jun 20 2008, 09:59 PM
liette`
post Jun 20 2008, 10:18 PM

367 posts

Thanks for all the replies.

@ sangels,

I know that dwarves are WW, RC and Robos. I'm just curious as to why carrots are not suitable for them. I have a WW too btw.

liette`
post Jun 20 2008, 10:49 PM

367 posts

@ jayniel,

Yeah, he's the sapphire I got from you. He's doing pretty fine, he seems healthy and I think I'm doing a pretty good job. tongue.gif

@ nezumitaro,

Will do. smile.gif
liette`
post Jun 22 2008, 01:33 PM

367 posts

Hey, actually right, everyone say pump syrian until fat fat is good... but then again, in all animals, dog , cat, rabbit, u name it, being fat isn't healthy?

or is a fat syrian actually its appropriate size?

p/s : i need serious answers, not nonsense like 'fat fat den cute ma'.

This post has been edited by liette`: Jun 22 2008, 01:33 PM
liette`
post Jun 22 2008, 03:22 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 22 2008, 02:21 PM)

Pumping on fresh food won't make a syrian fat like obese.... if we pump with sun flower seeds then yes lah. Also, Syrians are meant to be big and round. Normally if they go over 120g, that is a good size already. Dogs, cats, rabbits all eat food that is high in grain, protein and fat... so when they look fat, is unhealthy. As long you are not pumping too many mealworms and superworms amd sunflower seeds to your hamster, it will grow according to it's natural size.

Our local Syrians are actually all underweight and don't make the Syrian hamster standards..... this is due to not giving good food to breeding hamsters. Those that have a good diet since young would be able to become big hamsters.
Thanks for your response. smile.gif

You actually mean that dogs, cats and rabbits don't eat food that is high in protein and fat right so if they are fat, it means it's unhealthy because their staple food is not fattening.

liette`
post Jun 22 2008, 03:37 PM

367 posts

Thank you Hun again for your clarification. Good to have you here.

By processed dog and cat food, you mean those low-end dog food like pedigree? i thought that all dog kibbles are processed? then wat are the recommended brands of dog kibbles for hamsters?
liette`
post Jun 22 2008, 04:13 PM

367 posts

Thanks blurjoey.

So basically, a big syrian means a healthy one, not a fat one. Kinda confused as many people here keep saying,'pump him/her fat fat to the max'.
liette`
post Jun 22 2008, 04:31 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jun 22 2008, 04:22 PM)
Well big and fat to the correct size but not overweight. Those syrians in UK can weight until 200 grams and that is the hamster standard weight there.

Currently our oldest syrian, JackJack, is about 135 grams only but think he have been gaining weight from the smoothie diet.

First time hear syrian make sound when I transfer him to his new home. Didn't know syrians were vocal also.

Alright. Made a mental note. Literally speaking, it's almost impossible for any Syrians in Malaysia to be overweight then. Am I right on this?

My Syrian made noises too when I brought him home 2 days ago.

This post has been edited by liette`: Jun 22 2008, 04:34 PM
liette`
post Jun 22 2008, 04:44 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 22 2008, 04:41 PM)
smile.gif On a good diet of fruits and vegetables, it's quite impossible I guess.

blush.gif Imagine getting fat on salad. Plus some of the fat built would probably be distributed off to form flesh and muscles when our hammies exercise.

Roche got fatter and bigger but she runs often on the wheel and I give them a few hours of run time in their exercise ball in my living room daily.
I stated that it's almost impossible to be overweight because in UK, their hamsters weigh around 200g and in our country, its already kinda impossible to reach that weight so therefore how can our hamsters be overweight right? smile.gif

Eh, what is the weight of Nezu's biggest hamster?

This post has been edited by liette`: Jun 22 2008, 04:45 PM
liette`
post Jun 22 2008, 07:29 PM

367 posts

Is sanko wheel a good wheel, what is its price range and where can I get it?
liette`
post Jun 22 2008, 08:00 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(sangels @ Jun 22 2008, 07:49 PM)
Sanko wheel is good wheel as it is big enough for Syrian so that their back and spine will not hurt while running in the wheel in their adulthood cos syrian can grow until 6-7 inches in length. The price is around RM55-RM60 depends on where you get it. You can get it from Pet Shack, Pet Lover Center Sunway Pyramid and Pet Safari Ikano. For PLC and PS, I don't know whether they still have their stock or not, but Pet Shack still have a few of it and Pet Shack is slightly cheaper also thumbup.gif The other option is Wodent wheel which is very good wheel also. This only can get from Pet Shack as it's fully imported from USA.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
http://www.petshack.com.my/webshaper/store...catID=50&page=5

is it on this page? the silent wheel which costs RM54.50?

0.0528sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:53 AM