i like the taste..  drool.gif
but the Red Devil x suke sgt , cause ada red peper.  cry.gif
YEA! haha. u tried le?
u rase sebelum u beli ke?
hazzy
post Jun 24 2008, 01:34 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jun 24 2008, 01:23 PM)
she curi her hammi food! AHAHHAHA...
No, seriously mmg boleh rase?
hazzy
post Jun 24 2008, 07:01 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jun 24 2008, 03:25 PM)
yes click on my sginy, its writen there smile.gif human consumable smile.gif
if so serious better go vet.  next time see anything like kutu what waht.. pick it n throw. don't let it stick on ur pets.
Ok thank you for the information, bought it from u at pet shack last sunday, if u remember me smile.gif
hazzy
post Jun 24 2008, 09:09 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 24 2008, 08:42 PM)
bro, nezu is not the owner la.. she jz leave her smoothie there for petshack to sell oni...
aku tau, tapi kalau tak silap, time aku beli cage harituh dekat pet shack, amoi tu ckp, "dia la yg buat uncle taros smoothie"
hazzy
post Jun 25 2008, 08:52 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 25 2008, 08:41 PM)
Prestige can last quite long eh. It's been a month and my 2 syrians still leave me with an almost full packet. Divide the one pack to 3 months, one month only pay RM 8? So I think ok in a long run. Some more it's good for our hammies ma.
woah! blink.gif for real?!
currently im using harry hamster, really gonna try prestige when the harry hamster finish smile.gif
hazzy
post Jun 25 2008, 09:22 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 25 2008, 08:56 PM)
sweat.gif Well yeah. See, what people don't get is the worth in a long run. They just see "wah... RM 24. So expensive". But they can use that food for 3 months PLUS, depending on how many hamsters they have. In a long run, it is cheap and affordable. So why don't go get the best for your hammie?

ok ok thank you nod.gif
i tot, harry hamster is the best one biggrin.gif
dulu mase i beli hamster, i didnt really know about it smile.gif

hazzy
post Jun 25 2008, 09:34 PM

479 posts

Guys i rase mcm pelik jerh,

from what ive read on the internet,

WW hamster :

In the Wild

In the wild Dwarf Winter White Russian Hamsters live in colonies and resent intruders into the colony and will attack any other hamsters that wander into the colony territory.

They live in burrows within the grassy steppes and sleep during the day, waking only for short periods. They are nocturnal and awake at dusk, being active at night. Their sight is poor but their sense of smell and hearing are very acute and they rely heavily on these senses to recognise each other and their environment.

In Captivity

In captivity the Dwarf Winter White Russian Hamster is a sociable pet and will live with another of its own kind if they are introduced when young. However, an older hamster will resent the addition of another hamster and a fierce fight is likely to occur.

But only the Syrians are solitary

here is the information

In The Wild

Syrian HamsterIn the wild the Syrian Hamster lives alone and is fiercely territorial, attacking any intruders or other hamsters it may be confronted with during its travels.

They live in individual burrows a distance away from any other burrow of another hamster. They are nocturnal sleeping during the day (although they may wake for short periods) and awake at dusk becoming active at night. Their sight is poor but their senses of smell and hearing are very acute. During the night the Syrian Hamster will travel collecting food, returning to its burrow several times to empty the contents. In one night the Syrian may travel up to 8 miles in this way.

In Captivity

In captivity the Syrian Hamster's solitary instinct prevails and once mature it will not normally accept the company of another hamster. Although they live together as babies and are often seen caged together in pet shops or at the breeders, as the hamsters mature their solitary instinct develops. Syrian Hamsters will not, therefore, usually tolerate the company of another hamster once they reach approximately 6-10 weeks of age when fighting starts to occur. These fights may not be serious at first but as the hamster matures the frequency and severity of the fights increase. The fights most often take place during the night when the hamsters are most active and so often goes unobserved until serious injury or even death of one or both hamsters occurs. Therefore Syrian Hamsters should be housed separately once purchased in order to prevent injury - the golden rule is one hamster, one cage.

This is what i know since b4 i join LYN.
i think, u guys have been provided with wrong information by someone kot.
there must be misunderstanding with the Hamster living behavior
hazzy
post Jun 25 2008, 09:52 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Jun 25 2008, 09:46 PM)
I guess he is questioning the information given since my WW do fight although they're stated sociable.
my WW do fight when the first time i brought them back. But now! tido pun sama2 makan pun sama2 smile.gif
i dont think ur hammie gonna harm each other. maybe they are socializing with each other.
hazzy
post Jun 25 2008, 10:14 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 25 2008, 10:00 PM)
As I mentioned. The degree of ferocity when fighting differs. Can be as simple as just to show dominance. Can also be as serious as fight until injured.

I did mention a case in which my female robo had a gigantic hole on her butt area cuz kena aggro by other robos. I think it is more likely to happen to WWs.
hmm but 1 thing im really sure about robos, this is what i saw with my eyes.
im not sure why did that but, when u keep more than 1 robos in 1 container/tank/cage, if 1 of them get sick/injured/weak, the other robos will killed it.

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Jun 25 2008, 10:05 PM)
BTW, what do you guys use to gutload the mealworms ?
i use bread and carrots or break with choy som to gutload my meal worms.
hazzy
post Jun 25 2008, 10:24 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(kmao @ Jun 25 2008, 10:14 PM)
what is the price range for a box?? can i buy 4-5 pieces at a time? i hope the tauke wont halau me... tongue.gif

seriously, these mealworms disgust me... i feel like wanna vomit when i see them...  sweat.gif
RM1 for i cedok. depends on the shop i think.

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Jun 25 2008, 10:21 PM)
its RM1 for like a plastic bag. Im still deciding wana buy or not. My ww is a small eater, later wasted ahh coz it looks a lot :| aiya..its just small worms maa tongue.gif Wait till you see those sago worms (the one that they eat in Sarawak). HUGE!
my WW loves it biggrin.gif
hazzy
post Jun 25 2008, 10:32 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(kmao @ Jun 25 2008, 10:27 PM)
rm1 for a bag? my goodness... cheap sial..  blink.gif
i have 3 robos only, can they finish all in... how about a week? i dont think so, they ate too much of wormies is not healthy also..
if somebody buys it, i'll pay 50 cents, to get 10 piece, deal? hahaha laugh.gif

Added on June 25, 2008, 10:28 pm
how do you feed them to your hammies? by bare hands? or use a toothpick to feed?
bare hands nod.gif
because i tak geli with the worms laugh.gif
hazzy
post Jun 26 2008, 03:38 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jun 25 2008, 11:05 PM)

hazzy how ur hammi? start trying the Nutri-Smoothie?

they tried, but sikit sikit. i think later they gonna love it. have to finish the red devil first, then only i'll give the other flavor thumbup.gif

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 25 2008, 11:08 PM)
[

Tissue, paper towels, all no harm as long no perfume, colour or printing. Hamsters won't eat the tissue. They would chew on it.
Yes, get the dwarf type. Any smaller and it could cause serious damage to the spine. Not all hamsters run readily, so give it some time.
If the butt is constantly wet, then it is wet tail. The hamster would still eat but be quite lethargic with heavy breathing. It is hard to cure and can die in a day or 2.
Try and feed better food lah. Prestige and Harry Hamster, I don't see it as expensive.... summore I have many hamsters and gerbils and I am a student using my own pocket money..... just don't use your cash for stuff that is not important lah. Sometimes I don't even eat lunch just to save my bit of cash to buy Prestige and Harry Hamster.
Hamsters do not sweat. They DROOL. If it is normally around the mouth and chin, then it is drooling to cool the body down. Anyway, hamsters that drool means they are too hot.
Watch carefully. Jamien already gave you an answer about petshop hamsters and space and dominance.

When WW fight, they are really aggressive. I have heard so many people that call me or msn me, say their WW died .... all from having 2 in 1 cage. So.... better separate if they become very hostile towards each other.
Those info are too generalised and I think they never really monitor the hamsters behaviour in captivity....... WW in the wild live in colonies coz they are all related! They are family.... so they have the same territory. If a fight starts, they can run far far away coz in the wild got freedom. What freedom and space do they have in a cage?

A lot of general hamster websites just generalize information. We here have experience, and I too breed WW and Campbells, I see difference in colony, hierarchy and fights….. Of course those sites say dwarf hamsters are social coz in the wild they live in family colonies. When we house them in cages….. it changes their behaviour.

Read:
http://www.petplanet.co.uk/small_breed_profile.asp?sbid=18
http://www.petwebsite.com/hamsters/dwarf_w...rs_behavior.htm
http://www.napak.com/dwarf_hamster.html
http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/h2g2/A24833324

So if we love our hamsters, then better get one only coz there is no harm in that. They won’t die of loneliness, that type of thing only happens to gliders. WW and Campbells can only get along with siblings and if you get from a breeder…. If you get from a pet shop, even though same age and purchased on the same day, there is bound to be fights.
Veggie and dry dog/catfood is good.

Added on June 25, 2008, 11:14 pm

Funny, you already answered yourself. Of course no website would say they have to be solitary coz they can tolerate each other. Those bolded ones are already your answer.

About sudden fights, this happens coz of space and how we house them. The wikipedia info has been edited by someone, but it used to say that WW are best kept alone if FIGHTS occur. We advice people to keep WW alone to avoid people coming into this forum saying "Help, my hamsters fight till bleed" or "One died, why ah?"

Isn't it better? Anyway, there is a website by a show breeder overseas that uses the word solitary.
thank you for more detailed information thumbup.gif

hazzy
post Jun 26 2008, 04:22 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jun 26 2008, 04:10 PM)
HAHHAHA i like this pic... close own eyes.
click on my signy to find out more, at least u know how to keep, how long it can last and what ur hammi eating smile.gif
it can keep for 2 mths, and there is a 'best before' date on the label.  and its must be keep in freezer not fridge ya. also there are are NICE members willing to help to delieve to some location. check it out.
hehe small small cute wor still bb.
take the water out, sure they will eat more.
really??
ok ok nod.gif when i finish working. straight away go home and try thumbup.gif
i want to pump them biggrin.gif
hazzy
post Jun 26 2008, 04:34 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Jun 26 2008, 04:23 PM)
I fast fast snap picture just now and let her settle her new home, damn she is cute !

I guess it's cinnamon banded ? Confirm not cream banded.
Maybe the orange transparent plastic makes her looks like a golden banded.

When i approach the cage she went into the wheel and run very fast laugh.gif
Showing off ?
bahah! my WW also love to show off.
when ever i called theri names they will straight away run into the wheel
hazzy
post Jun 26 2008, 04:47 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 26 2008, 04:40 PM)
bro, reli or nt ? yr hammy so pro 1... shocking.gif  shocking.gif

Added on June 26, 2008, 4:40 pm
bro, reli or nt ? yr hammy so pro 1... shocking.gif  shocking.gif
yup yup, this is true story, tak tipu punyer.
now even my siblings called their names pun mesti dia show off pegi dekat wheel then lari2 non stop
hazzy
post Jun 26 2008, 06:15 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(jayniel @ Jun 26 2008, 05:29 PM)
scared of u kot  laugh.gif
takut sampai lari..
mane ade la tongue.gif
they always wanna me to pick them up tau tau tau nod.gif
hazzy
post Jun 26 2008, 06:42 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Jun 26 2008, 06:24 PM)
this are the hammies that had been coloured vmad.gif  vmad.gif
found in a forum.. that forumer said that the boss lady told him they have been injected by colours,and will fade as time pass mad.gif

shakehead.gif !!!! green yellow orange and pink! WTH!

hazzy
post Jun 26 2008, 06:58 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jun 26 2008, 06:43 PM)
they are not sick or wat, they are just coloured. mostly everywhere is doing this now. melaka can find it easily.
they are doing testing on them nowadays. it wont fade that fast. some they use tablets dye to colour them. even their poop or pee is that colour. i forgot which. i talked to the owner, he tell me bout it
is there any effects for the hamster?
hazzy
post Jun 26 2008, 09:00 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Jun 26 2008, 08:39 PM)
By cursing here, nothing could be done though.

There's no law stated colouring couldn't be used on hamster so those pet shops don't care.
true true true!

anyway,
can any of u recommend good brand of wheels for WW?

This post has been edited by hazzy: Jun 26 2008, 09:01 PM

0.0531sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:33 PM