Beer Girls, is it really a dirty job?

TSJessica Tan
post May 29 2008, 11:55 PM, updated 18y ago

hi everyone,

i'm looking for a job and recently came across a job as a beer ambassador. does anyone have experience in this? sweat.gif

and what do you think of beer girls? my friends told me not to do it, because men will usually harass beer girls. unsure.gif

thanks for your suggestions and opinions..... rclxms.gif
keithcky
post May 30 2008, 11:04 AM

1,135 posts

Well, if you wanna make fast buck without need to work hard this is de job.
Tamiya
post May 30 2008, 11:12 AM

321 posts

I think the pay is relatively well for the job you'll be doing...

drunken guys with sexy girls around, will not be pleasant tongue.gif
mphpopular
post May 30 2008, 11:14 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

As you know, guys pervert. So, I did not block you from working there. that will be a good experience and earning as well. But make sure you careful ok? Don't later make your family worry for you... Wish you the best
SUSvkeong
post May 30 2008, 11:23 AM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

I think you must be prepared to handle situations like being harassed
suiteng
post May 30 2008, 11:46 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

A lot of salted pig hands... etc.
alanyuppie
post May 30 2008, 12:08 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Jessica Tan @ May 30 2008, 12:55 AM)
hi everyone,

i'm looking for a job and recently came across a job as a beer ambassador. does anyone have experience in this?  sweat.gif

and what do you think of beer girls? my friends told me not to do it, because men will usually harass beer girls.  unsure.gif

thanks for your suggestions and opinions.....  rclxms.gif
that's an understatement. Men (especially in drunken state) will DEFINITELY harass beer girls.

my impression on these girls are...bimbos. Maybe they are lazy* to utilise their brain to find other jobs , plus their willingness to sacrifice dignity for quick bucks. It won't even look pretty if they put this in their resume if next time they wanna "settle down" and find proper job.

they're just few steps away to become a whore and a step away becoming some Datuk's mistress.

*well they are always exception there. Maybe their poor family needs $$$ for dad's medical expenses etc, then that's worth sympathising.

Its insulting to have the word "ambassador" be used in their job position. sigh.

IAmRyan
post May 30 2008, 01:22 PM

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ May 30 2008, 12:08 PM)
that's an understatement. Men (especially in drunken state) will DEFINITELY harass beer girls.

my impression on these girls are...bimbos. Maybe they are lazy* to utilise their brain to find other jobs , plus their willingness to sacrifice dignity for quick bucks. It won't even look pretty if they put this in their resume if next time they wanna "settle down" and find proper job.

they're just few steps away to become a whore and a step away becoming some Datuk's mistress.
*well they are always exception there. Maybe their poor family needs $$$ for dad's medical expenses etc, then that's worth sympathising.

Its insulting to have the word "ambassador" be used in their job position. sigh.
if all men, drunk or not were like that im very sad and dissapointed tongue.gif for you to categorise them this way, would you say the same about..lets say secretaries..its just that they dont do it in the open. i dont wanna say much la, just try to put yourself in their shoes. anyway its just your impression, i guess we just got diff povs. on the side note, these girls always play dice non stop. dont so pok meng ok, burn a hole in my wallet sad.gif good day to you sir
alanyuppie
post May 30 2008, 02:51 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(IAmRyan @ May 30 2008, 02:22 PM)
if all men, drunk or not were like that im very sad and dissapointed tongue.gif for you to categorise them this way, would you say the same about..lets say secretaries..its just that they dont do it in the open. i dont wanna say much la, just try to put yourself in their shoes. anyway its just your impression, i guess we just got diff povs. on the side note, these girls always play dice non stop. dont so pok meng ok, burn a hole in my wallet sad.gif good day to you sir
are you drunk when posting this reply? tongue.gif

when human gets drunk, they lost a certain sense of control. verbally they might said the stuff that they don't meant to say, and in action, might do things that they can (claim) to have no control over.

do what in the open? secretaries getting drunk or secretaries monlighting as beer "ambassadors" ?

try put my head in whose shoes? those "secretaries" or "drunken men".

what burn hole in your pocket has to do with this topic? You spent too much drinking izzit? are you one of the beer-guzzling man who loves such "ambassadors" be around you so that you caress their thigh and apologise coz you're drunk? LOL.

get sober and try to reply in a coherent manner. good day to you too , my fine drunken friend.

vey99
post May 30 2008, 04:47 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

There's nothing wrong with the job, its the Clientele that is the problem.
Yes, you very likely will get harassed, unfortunately.
Its really your call, its not like you have to do special stuff for them, just be aware of the caveats that come along with this job.
hmchan911
post May 30 2008, 05:23 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(Jessica Tan @ May 29 2008, 11:55 PM)
hi everyone,

i'm looking for a job and recently came across a job as a beer ambassador. does anyone have experience in this?  sweat.gif

and what do you think of beer girls? my friends told me not to do it, because men will usually harass beer girls.  unsure.gif

i dun think it is a dirty job
u earn the $$ with your own effort better than you do robbery
TSJessica Tan
post May 31 2008, 06:14 PM

thanks everybody for replying.. biggrin.gif

alanyuppie, i thank you for your opinion. i do agree that beer girls have a bad image. however, stereotyping them as bimbos and a few steps away from being a whore/ datuk's mistress is purely chauvinistic. if a girl wants to do such things, she will apply for a GRO position. or maybe karaoke girl position. the pay is much higher.

fyi, such jobs will not exist if men are not hamsap themselves. anyway, this will spark a long long debate so i think i'll just cut it off here.

btw, no, my dad is not dying and needs money for medication. and yes i want to make some quick money. nobody has the right to question another person's job. i am also not a bimbo (much to your disappointment) as i am an undergraduate in business.

anyhow i just want to thank you for spending your time in giving your two cents worth.

everyone else, thank u so much and i will consider this job more seriously. thumbup.gif

regards,
jessica
Kagaya
post Jun 2 2008, 11:35 PM

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

QUOTE(Jessica Tan @ May 29 2008, 11:55 PM)
hi everyone,

Beer ambassador? Hmm...nice catchy name.

Well, not necessary a "dirty" job if you aren't providing extra service to equate yourself to a whore.

It's still decent money, though from dirty hands.

Perhaps, depending on your look, whether it's beer or ciggy ambassador, it's truly depends on where you'll be stationed at. If you are in a clubbing scene with bouncers everywhere, no one would dare to harass you. But, if you end up in some cheap Chinese restaurant, be sure that for every dozen you sell, you have to entertain those uncle's with smile or might be a pat at your tight race queen tight hugging butt.

There are of course more decent job than this but this is the highest pay, lowest brain requirement but you need to be 200% alert and throw in some acting if you want your beers sell faster than suet cha at Chinese restaurant.

My 2cents anyway.
kapitan
post Jun 3 2008, 07:49 AM

2,205 posts

I would say their image wouldnt be so good.

They will definately MOLEST you. The bad thing about this is that, today you can tolerate them touching their shoulder, tomorrow they might want to touch your legs. Some even allows kissing. Still gotta kampai with them to make them happy.

Just find a sales/promoter job la.
Petre
post Jun 6 2008, 03:09 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

nothing wrong with a job that requires you to at least got a beautiful face, nice curves, wiling to wear revealing clothing and dun mind some 'accidental' touching?

very wrong la mates.

ok fair enough there are unfortunate people and its not easy to find job nowadays. got hands and 2 feet, sacrifice those before your dignity ok?

its a form of manipulation. same goes to show car girls, race queens etc. all for the hungry eyes of men
danny_ptlm
post Jun 6 2008, 05:46 PM

!@#$%^&*()_+
161 posts

nothing wrong..but must remember u girls is selling beer,not body..scared b4 12am selling beer,den after 12am selling body..hm...
mphpopular
post Jun 6 2008, 05:47 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Juz do it. I support u
alexandrak
post Jun 6 2008, 08:33 PM

40 posts

yes, it has a tarnished image.
just make sure you know how to keep their hands off you, r it won't be a pretty sight afterward.
it's just another way of earning simple and fast cash.
i don't approve of it, i'd advise you go work as a sales promoter or something. smile.gif
money's not everything, but it's your job, your life biggrin.gif
good luck in that!

Added on June 6, 2008, 8:34 pmbtw, i dont think its all no brainer.
tongue.gif you'd need loads of skill dodging those hands biggrin.gif i think =/

This post has been edited by alexandrak: Jun 6 2008, 08:34 PM
XP750
post Jun 6 2008, 09:37 PM

324 posts

why not be other brand ambassador?
like car modelling, less likely to get touched,

for beer ambassador, i can say that 100% you'll get touched, but u can't do anything because u need their business, it depends on you how much you value your body, but my advice is don't do it, try other ambassadors. good luck thumbup.gif
SadGuy2
post Jun 7 2008, 11:28 PM

78 posts

ya that will be the fastest way to get big money... but less work.. what u need to do is walk around with sexy costume, half 'balls' and super mini skirt that kills mens eyes. If you like guys to look at your one kind and love illegal touches, then you can consider this job.

For me.. i suggest you better find other job. And yes of course most of the men would think gals tat work in this field is not a good decent gal. I say 'most' not 'ALL'

AHBOON
post Jun 7 2008, 11:33 PM

1,278 posts

u not selling ur body, wat hapem to u?if doesnt makes wrong working as a beer gal? i dun feel any faulty with it, my frend working as beer gal also, not as bad as u think, aiya, dun think so much, if u kept negative on ur mind then quit though of working as beer gal
ed0gawa
post Jun 7 2008, 11:34 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

If you looks good, you'll get hugged, get touched here and there ....
People will keep demanding for your phone number ....
Some will follow you from the entrance of the club till the exits...

You need to know how to 'tam' a guy ....
Use whatever to get them to buy from you so that u get ur commission .....

Fast money, little working hour..... so what? You gonna work in this line for how long?
Some says that 'i know how to control'

Yeah right.. when u see the money, you'll be too happy with it and continue with the job...

*paiseh.. rant a bit.... bored with this issue.... sparked off a big argument with someone regarding this... zz*
TSJessica Tan
post Jun 7 2008, 11:40 PM

hi everyone,

thanks for replying... biggrin.gif

however i still have no idea what is the job scope of this job...

i only need to sell beers right? i don't think i need to play dice games like what IAmRyan said? and i think i don't need to sit down and have a drink with customers... right? sweat.gif

regards,
jessica
AHBOON
post Jun 7 2008, 11:53 PM

1,278 posts

QUOTE(Jessica Tan @ Jun 7 2008, 11:40 PM)
hi everyone,

thanks for replying...  biggrin.gif

however i still have no idea what is the job scope of this job...

i only need to sell beers right? i don't think i need to play dice games like what IAmRyan said? and i think i don't need to sit down and have a drink with customers... right?  sweat.gif

regards,
jessica
nobodty ask u to play dice game gal~!!omg u seeing too much of tvb izzit?
SUSSeLrAhC
post Jun 8 2008, 08:44 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

ermm... you have to promote beer in locations they place you to be... you are not doing sales... but just promotion... but some are hired by suppliers and they by commission which is unethical to call the position brand ambassador
Larrylow
post Jun 8 2008, 09:15 PM

RELOADED
1,516 posts

I am so surprised with the all the negative comments here.

I think it should not be considered as a dirty job, at least from my point of view.
ubsacc2004
post Jun 9 2008, 08:45 AM

No life without MUsic
1,860 posts

hm not dirty jobs but u know if u worked at such places so easi being ham sap loh target. maybe they put estacy in ur drinks or they will planning gang rape. who knows rite ? or they touch ur buttock wen u serve them drinks. for me i wont allow my gf work at beer girls.
meichee
post Jun 9 2008, 05:39 PM

53 posts

i dun think it is a dirty job though...its something like waitress helping others to refilling drinks?they are doing the same thing wat..but 1 thing diff is just that beer ambassadors need to wear a little bit sexy clothe?..if u are open minded enuf..there's no prob...

see..nowadys so many ppl wear SEXY and REVEALING clothes for outing..u walk walk outdside oso u can simply see a few... @@

alanyuppie
post Jun 9 2008, 06:07 PM

2,834 posts

for those intending to work in this job for the sake of $$$, and shoving away all the RISK AND DIGNITY in hand, its very hard NOT to judge them in "certain ways", right?

We judge a person by his/her action and intention. These intention will soon translate into the things they DO, that includes JOB and CAREER. So "nobody has the right to question nobody's job" is subjective. We can question it especially when its brought up in a forum NOT by the questioner , but by others who wish to discuss about it.So get ready for bouqets , AND brickbats too.

The problem is not just about the job. It might be a simple "beer serving" tasks. The problem is with the IMMINENT RISK there. Don't simply push aside and said " oh I'll take K of myself. I won't let them touch me. I will know how to handle 'em bla bla bla..." .

Remember, such a job puts ONESELF in the presence of MANY MEN . How far can that one girl protects herself. If these people wanna gang up and take advantage of you, there is NO TURNING BACK, especially they are further intoxicated by alcohol.

girls, the price of your dignity is worth how many litres of beer? =)

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Jun 9 2008, 06:10 PM
alexandrak
post Jun 9 2008, 08:48 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Jun 9 2008, 06:07 PM)
for those intending to work in this job for the sake of $$$,  and shoving away all the RISK AND DIGNITY in hand, its very hard NOT to judge them in "certain ways", right?

We judge a person by his/her action and intention. These intention will soon translate into the things they DO, that includes JOB and CAREER. So "nobody has the right to question nobody's job" is subjective. We can question it especially when its brought up in a forum NOT by the questioner , but by others who wish to discuss about it.So get ready for bouqets , AND brickbats too.
The problem is not just about the job. It might be a simple "beer serving" tasks. The problem is with the IMMINENT RISK there. Don't simply push aside and said " oh I'll take K of myself. I won't let them touch me. I will know how to handle 'em bla bla bla..." . 

Remember, such a job puts ONESELF  in the presence of  MANY MEN . How far can that one girl protects herself. If these people wanna gang up and take advantage of you, there is NO TURNING BACK, especially they are further intoxicated by alcohol.

sorry, but i kinda agree with him about all that risk part sad.gif
Waterz
post Jun 9 2008, 08:58 PM

you know, its only facing problem with the male..
there too are from the females,

i heard of this from a fren of mine:
A friend of his is working as this, but 1 day, she gt 'burned' with ciggarete, splashed beer at da bums, skirt lifted by a bunch of females' (supported by some tai kor) background, and the reason.. becz she had the same hairstyle as it is with the few females,

its really urs to decide for this job, nt to mention safety ..

i would say this to every girl.. get another job..

my cents ~
SadGuy2
post Jun 10 2008, 01:53 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Jun 9 2008, 06:07 PM)
for those intending to work in this job for the sake of $$$,  and shoving away all the RISK AND DIGNITY in hand, its very hard NOT to judge them in "certain ways", right?

Remember, such a job puts ONESELF  in the presence of  MANY MEN . How far can that one girl protects herself. If these people wanna gang up and take advantage of you, there is NO TURNING BACK, especially they are further intoxicated by alcohol.

ya he got all the point. Read this again and again,.... it really help you alot to decide to go or not to go for de job
danny_ptlm
post Jun 10 2008, 04:54 PM

!@#$%^&*()_+
161 posts

yup...all de point..take ur time to read
selinix
post Jun 11 2008, 09:30 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(meichee @ Jun 9 2008, 05:39 PM)
i dun think it is a dirty job though...its something like waitress helping others to refilling drinks?they are doing the same thing wat..but 1 thing diff is just that beer ambassadors need to wear a little bit sexy clothe?..if u are open minded enuf..there's no prob...

see..nowadys so many ppl wear SEXY and REVEALING clothes for outing..u walk walk outdside oso u can simply see a few... @@
It shows that the beer ambassadors need to reveal more flesh in order to get more sales...

This post has been edited by selinix: Jun 11 2008, 09:32 PM
ckmoy007
post Jun 16 2008, 08:54 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

It's still in the service provider sector...
PureGeek
post Jun 17 2008, 09:27 PM

433 posts

=.=.=.=.=.=.= okokok

This post has been edited by PureGeek: Jun 17 2008, 09:28 PM
SUSathlonxp
post Jun 17 2008, 10:59 PM

1,067 posts

let people touch only wat so big deal icon_rolleyes.gif
BridgestoneRE711
post Jun 18 2008, 03:39 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

try to avoid .
that is what i can say , whether u girls say we all boys are putting a bad image on it or not, it doesnt really matter .
what we need is fact .

u might not care other people's view , but the fact wont care on u .
think of this way , u got so many neighbours , they wont think a what u think , hence they will talk behind you and claimed that u are not a 'nice' girl .
yen1022
post Jun 18 2008, 09:07 PM

City of Angels
607 posts

i dun understand y most of the ppl will hv such bad impression of beer ambassador. i personally working for 1 of the beer company. can c my pic as i'm working as a replacement for euro 2008. u should b able to guess the beer brand. well so far i dun think this is a dangerous job as v r not allowed to drink wif customers. mayb the most concern part is mayb touched by guys. i can tell u this is unavoidable. but u just hv to work smart. of cuz most of the guys like taking advantage whenever they pretend to b drunk but u urself should b able to protect urself enough. dear ts i'll encourage u to work as beer ambassador which provided uniform. not those beer ambassador title but job scope is like pr need to drink. then it's not good for health. good luck ya.
laica
post Jun 18 2008, 11:32 PM

grown up child
801 posts

nowadays beer ambassadors got bouncer around them geh
if the gal scream one time only the guy will be there to help .... my fren is working with calsberg and she say the verbal harassment thing sure got but all the touching and stuff she never kena b4

TSJessica Tan
post Jun 19 2008, 06:43 PM

hi everyone,

once again thanks so much...

i've found a job.

and no it's not as a beer girl. icon_rolleyes.gif

thanks ya?

regards,
jessica
LExus65
post Jun 19 2008, 07:15 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

haha horror story scare u off already i guess..........

well my advice, u can do it, but for short term only. and try not to go those too quiet 1 to work if u want. less problem. But always be cautious though, u wont know what hit u until u got it.

btw are they not allowed to drink ?? i didnt notice that haha.......

lazogirlz
post Oct 14 2008, 06:57 PM

358 posts

this absolutely not a good job.. find other job..
weeloong81
post Oct 14 2008, 10:43 PM

157 posts

beer grl.... jus a job to earn living cost... don look down every job la... is fulfill the market need. ok...
taufux
post Oct 15 2008, 07:42 PM

34 posts

hai u guy ah really dunno wat is the beer girl job scope lo! cos this kind of job is just like we can c in some food court the the girl wearing the beer uniform. some of u said need to play dice and also drink with the customer, those are the PR girl of the particular cafe or pub which not a beer girl. A beer girl is just only promote the beer and some more they have a rules that they cannot drink during their working hour!

Added on October 15, 2008, 7:46 pmand 1 more thing regarding for the "TOUCHING" thinggy; the supervisor of the girls will stop the customer lo. this is the experiance it b4 la but is not i gatal, is just tat i got friend work in this field b4

This post has been edited by taufux: Oct 15 2008, 07:46 PM
stupid
post Oct 15 2008, 08:01 PM

265 posts

every job have it own dirty part
jz if for me i wont choose beer girl,honestly
yen1022
post Oct 15 2008, 08:41 PM

City of Angels
607 posts

well i'm working as 1 of the beer brand promoter. its definitely a clean job.
taufux
post Oct 15 2008, 11:55 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(yen1022 @ Oct 15 2008, 08:41 PM)
well i'm working as 1 of the beer brand promoter. its definitely a clean job.
110% agree!!! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
Quick`
post Oct 16 2008, 06:25 AM

735 posts

taufux got a point there
hmm, i notice majority of the post here brings situation where it goes to the extreme or looking at the worst case scenario..better to be safe then sorry i supposed
but will it really go that far ler?i think only to a certain extend like asking for hp's n such
(most importantly,you must pandai jaga yourself,pandai bawa diri,you do this...you can avoid those "trouble").....
it also depends where you work,i think location may determine what type of ppl ull meet.
and yeah get to know your job scope 1st.
then roughly anticipate hidden job scope behind the job,it wont be stated to you

night killer
post Oct 16 2008, 03:59 PM

542 posts

ahhh depend your working area is complicated or not by the way ... all guys going to there is relax...and mostly will do some touching touching u know guys born to be.... hahaha.... after drunk already will do more over thing.... so just take care

princess_baby
post Oct 17 2008, 03:34 AM

beer gal i dunno la, but all these depend 1. i got few frens work as chivas gal din wear sexy and never touch by guys, just wear sleeveless and long pants. what so big deal? wat dirty?

This post has been edited by princess_baby: Oct 17 2008, 03:36 AM
felicious
post Oct 17 2008, 06:01 PM

1,438 posts

It depends on what brand, and where you work.
But it will give bad impression especially to conservative people out there.
yen1022
post Oct 19 2008, 12:00 PM

City of Angels
607 posts

QUOTE(Quick` @ Oct 16 2008, 06:25 AM)
taufux got a point there
hmm, i notice majority of the post here brings situation where it goes to the extreme or looking at the worst case scenario..better to be safe then sorry i supposed
but will it really go that far ler?i think only to a certain extend like asking for hp's n such
(most importantly,you must pandai jaga yourself,pandai bawa diri,you do this...you can avoid those "trouble").....
it also depends where you work,i think location may determine what type of ppl ull meet.
and yeah get to know your job scope 1st.
then roughly anticipate hidden job scope behind the job,it wont be stated to you
well this is really a good point. somehow most places i work is not those customers asking for my contact no. its those staff who's asking for it.
tr|n|ty
post Oct 19 2008, 04:18 PM

kuukuukuu
787 posts

it's not a dirty job. it's the MEN that are dirty. if one couldnt control himself after consuming alchohol, he shouldnt drink it at the first place. and alchohol could make one loss certain sense is bullshit. try to touch a drunk man's wife, see he whacked you or not. if a man is dirty, he is dirty no matter he drinks or not.

so TS just be careful and smart.
SUSFlizzardo
post Oct 19 2008, 04:44 PM

Troll
1,093 posts

i dont think any job is dirty unless it requires you to touch shit with your hand

0.0309sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:21 AM