Refinance Theory, Refinance + ASB theory
TSttwangsa
May 28 2008, 12:39 PM, updated 18y ago
theory. if house price is 300k all paid up.
then refinance for 30 years AIA fixed. for 216k monthly need to pay is 1,267.39 at 5.80 % (ZMC) one year, need to pay bank 15,208.68
step one: get cash 216k, 200k put in ASB 16k put in ASW/ASD?
step two: gradually use 16k to pay 1st year. ASD/ASW now zero
step 3: assume asb is lowest payout : 7% you get 14k, top up = 1208.68
repeat the ccycle for 30 years
house paid up balance in asb = 200k? cash put in 1208.68 * 30 = 36,260.4
if you gradually put 1208.68 in ASB every year after 30 years, you get 123,373.64 (assuming 7% payout)
so you get 50% extra
am i making sense?
(want to try this out, but want to ask LYN financial expert first)
Pai
May 28 2008, 06:09 PM
highly doable, but one has to have the dicipline and not use the 200k for any other purpose.
To me, the biggest advantage in this strategy is that extra liquidity that could be use to generate more than just 7% p/a.
lwb
May 28 2008, 09:14 PM
the japanese are doing that.. exploiting the differences in interest rates versus returns.. borrowing cheap in yen and invest in other higher interest bearing instruments globally..
maybe, you want to try a malaysia ringgit carry-trades?
Pai
May 28 2008, 09:18 PM
lwb,
are these individual Japs? Whats the rate like?
lwb
May 28 2008, 09:41 PM
hi pai, individuals, retail, syndicates, institutionals.. you name it. i hope sovereign funds are not part of it... but i suspected they do QUOTE(Pai @ May 28 2008, 09:18 PM) lwb, are these individual Japs? Whats the rate like?
TSttwangsa
May 28 2008, 10:28 PM
besides Refinance <-> ASB, how else is the applicable? i tried to do the numbers on a 10 year refinance, but i got negative in ASB after 7 years.
Pai
May 28 2008, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(lwb @ May 28 2008, 09:41 PM) individuals, retail, syndicates, institutionals.. you name it. i hope sovereign funds are not part of it... but i suspected they do interesting. Wonder whats the % spread like and if whether ppl like us (technically a foreigner) could join the foray and leverage through the yen.  Added on May 28, 2008, 10:37 pmQUOTE(ttwangsa @ May 28 2008, 10:28 PM) besides Refinance <-> ASB, how else is the applicable? i tried to do the numbers on a 10 year refinance, but i got negative in ASB after 7 years.  Refinance -> get $$$$ -> invest in another prop and potentially generate 50% or even higher return p/a. This post has been edited by Pai: May 28 2008, 10:37 PM
nnpjj
May 29 2008, 10:31 AM

well, i would say its a good idea, but not exactly risk free, very hard to say that asb will continue to pay out 7% over the next 30 years. Suggest to spread the 200K to a few channels rather than relying on asb alone