Coolant water Brownish

moon*
post Jun 12 2008, 08:56 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

most of the ppl here already stated the reason
could be either ur radiator is dirty or the gasket leaking.

i did my flush few weeks back. hell.. the water is like SUPER THE BROWN MAN!!.. now after reflush, added new coolant.. so far so good.. gonna wait few more weeks to see if the water still turn brownish or not. IF yes.. i guess the gasket could be leaking
moon*
post Jan 20 2009, 10:00 AM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

i used to have brownish water too from my radiator due to my cast iron block; all this while i was using water n didnt really bother cos i didnt have a problem;

but everytime i flush my radiator i see all the brownish water; it jst gets on my nerve; plus my engine is already 13 years old; i can imagine all the rust n etc builds up inside;

had a consultation from MR big boss with a Big baton; he recommended me to to buy a flush from those hardware store; it feels like lemon laugh.gif

so i had my radiator flush.

the AMOUNT of rusT* water came out sweat.gif i had to fill my radiator like 4-5 times b4 the water is clear man.. so.. tats ALOT of rusT*. n rusT builds up n etc isnt good for the block or cooling.

now i m using a Honda Coolant;
NOT all coolant is pre mix with water 50/50; but this honda coolant i m using; is straight out from the bottle n poured into the radiator smile.gif

the rest; i guess its too thick; u gotta premix water urself.F

This post has been edited by moon*: Jan 20 2009, 11:16 PM
moon*
post Jan 20 2009, 11:13 AM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

lol;; how much iz the toyota long life coolant??

how many litres??

moon*
post Jan 20 2009, 11:25 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

lol!! rust guy rust!!

me must be in a hurry; rust become rush laugh.gif

ah deng; jfd quoted me b4 i manage to edit sweat.gif

This post has been edited by moon*: Jan 20 2009, 11:25 PM
moon*
post Jan 22 2009, 06:08 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

woah wat coolant is tat guy??

rm 180??? sweat.gif i know the high end motul coolant is quite expensive; around tat figure also sweat.gif

over kill la wei.

u buy the toyota long life coolant can liau. red color; bt make sure u premix with water

coolant lets say rm 30; + the flush rm 30; only rm 60

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 22 2009, 12:29 AM)
wat coolant do u all recommend?

my car is toyota vios 06" it's about 3 years old and last time i check the coolant, i see the coolant become brown colour (more like chocolate colour) and i though it is normal coz i think there r coolant available in brown colour doh.gif is it really gt rust inside radiator or something?

if i need to change new coolant i need to flush the whole thing? how much does it cost?

if 1 bottle of coolant that that cost RM180 and enough for 1 radiator with a bit left over, does it consider expensive?
moon*
post Jan 22 2009, 09:08 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

ohh.. i have no idea of the brand u just mention; but most of my frens are using the common long life toyota coolant; so far okay ah.

wat car u using?; normally i tink a 1 liter coolant + another 1 liter of water will do.

yes; normal tap water will create rust; wat i do is; i buy the coolant pour out the 1 litre into the rad; den i get those drinking water from petrol station; those with the WHITE caps;

i was told the WHITE CAP water is normal water; no mineral wan; the blue ones got mineral.

take the white wan n mix lo. But wat u do is; MIX them first; b4 u pour them in la.

if not the result u might get like those kopi kau; kopi on top den all the milk at the bottom.

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 22 2009, 06:54 PM)
the coolant brand is BILLION SUPER THERMO LLC TYPE-S COOLANT

if i mix the coolant with water wont the radiator or some other part will get rust?

how many liter do i need for my car?
moon*
post Jan 23 2009, 10:26 AM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

u trying to say;

wat if u use pure coolant??

tat will be too concentrated sweat.gif

like drinking ribena straight off the bottle without mixing water

not all radiator is the same volume;

tats y u gotta premix both the coolant n water together b4 pouring it into the radiator.

actually best is u read the guide on the coolant sticker b4 u proceed;

most of the coolant out there; u have to mix with water;

only some like the honda ones; are premix. just open n pour into the rad only

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 22 2009, 09:51 PM)
my car is vios 2nd gen lar, already mention before this

wat is i use PURE coolant only without puring in water? is all the radiator volume the same?
This post has been edited by moon*: Jan 23 2009, 10:32 AM
moon*
post Jan 23 2009, 04:09 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

i guess it depends on wat type of water u using lo;

tap water i tink it will cause the rust; i use those normal drinking water from the bottles to refill.

the kelisa till now; no sign of brownish coolant; still green.

the coolant is suppose to prevent rust.

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 23 2009, 04:07 PM)
oh....means like kopi kao kao la?

but mix with water will make the radiator rust over long time, no??
moon*
post Jan 29 2009, 05:44 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

sweat.gif
i wanna see u try drinking some battery water : sweat.gif

i belanja u

QUOTE(inoitu @ Jan 28 2009, 10:35 PM)
Better still get a bottle of battery water that is being sold and pour some on lime stone and see the action.  Battery water should be dislled water which we can drink without without any side effect.

0.0179sec    1.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:33 AM