148 posts

pplease close

This post has been edited by joychin89: Aug 31 2008, 06:52 PM
aoibhealFae
post May 28 2008, 03:25 PM

224 posts

Actually, almost every makeup counter offer them (in any department store like Jusco, Parkson and ect) For some reason, they frighteningly charged for the service for some RM100+ to RM200+ (Estee Lauder, Dior... usual stuff)... If you know some place, they might offer them free, try questioning some saloons if they offer them.

I already had my course night (equivalent to prom night for university) before my exams but then... I am the college makeup artist so I do them myself... its usually last for atleast from 8 or 9pm to 12pm... so you need some long-lasting and water-proof almost everything.

This is my advice though... some makeup counters will do your makeup horrifyingly ugly even when its trendy and such. They might even over pluck your eyebrows and try to make shadings that will end up looking dirty by the end of the day. Prepare for the inevitable since usually inevitable happens on that day. (maybe you had allergies, or the taxi is late or your platforms snapped -->happen to me, hahaha) Plus, you need to have some time for dressing and going to the venue and if you want to pay someone to made up your face, I suggest you hire your mates who good and with you on the same day.

This post has been edited by aoibhealFae: May 28 2008, 03:26 PM
alexandrak
post May 28 2008, 08:14 PM

40 posts

i'd really suggest making urself up.
my prom is coming up too, so i'm getting foundation, blusher and lipgloss.
more than enough, especially for someone who's never touched make up b4 in ur whole life, like me. at most it should cost rm50 for this 3.
Anyway..... by doing it on the day itself,
1) you may not like the style
2) you can be allergic (this is VERY common)
3) too exp

at least if u get ur own makeup, you can try it out b4 the day itself.
at least, that's what i'm planning to do.
or you can get your best buds to gather and make each other up biggrin.gif

or if your prom is after mine you can buy mine or something lah. since i'm not using them anymore anyway.

TSjoychin89
post May 29 2008, 10:07 AM

148 posts

thread close

alexandrak
post May 29 2008, 10:37 AM

40 posts

my make up skill is... non existent. hahahaha! honestly, i've never touched make up in my whole life.
but i think it should be quite okay lah. ><
if not, just get ur mom to help you biggrin.gif
i think shu eumura will probably be even more exp...... sad.gif
Monkey8989
post May 29 2008, 12:29 PM

Hello, If u are intrested i can provide makeup service. Price neg. Contact me 017-2525355
aoibhealFae
post May 29 2008, 01:58 PM

224 posts

Just buy something that you'll end up using everyday <--- I did

Some things like dresses and shoes are only reserved on that day and only be wore on specific occasion (My pretty dress... sigh... I still don't know how to make fancy stuff look casual anyway)

Makeup? Its a waste of money if you just buy them for your prom night. Just this stuff should be enough...

-Compact Foundation (Which follow your skin tone)
-Blusher/Bronzer
-Pencil eyeliner (Make some heavy line for night look and lighter for everyday look)
-Lip pencil + Lipstick/lipgloss (better yet, wear a tint like BeneTint or Bodyshop's tint... it stubbornly stays ON the skin..)
-Fake eyelash + Mascara

This might sound so basic but I use them on my prom night and its small enough for my bag... What matters is that I look pretty for cameras anyway without looking so pasty....

What matters is having fun and NOT to "often going to the toilet to check on your makeup".

I think shu uemura offer some RM60+ for their service.. well thats the last time I remembered anyway *in duration of years... yikes*. Try going to different stores but with the same brand (like go to KLCC then to Times Square and ect) some store did offer the same thing for a much lower price

Sometimes, these make up counter offer their service for free. It happen to my friend when she was browsing/window shopping at a Benefit counter in SOGO. Try asking for something subtle that funky and long-lasting to test their product efficiency.... this to avoid them charging you anyway

This post has been edited by aoibhealFae: May 29 2008, 02:00 PM
TSjoychin89
post May 30 2008, 10:24 AM

148 posts

thread close

insouciance
post May 30 2008, 10:53 AM

i personally like the makeup services of shu uemura and MAC.

for MAC, just spend RM250 and above to get a free makeover. For shu, you don't need to get their products but a makeover is about RM80 or so, I cant rmber the exact price.

TSjoychin89
post May 30 2008, 12:11 PM

148 posts

thread close

This post has been edited by joychin89: Aug 31 2008, 06:53 PM
Monkey8989
post May 31 2008, 02:18 AM

QUOTE(insouciance @ May 30 2008, 11:53 AM)
i personally like the makeup services of shu uemura and MAC.

for MAC, just spend RM250 and above to get a free makeover. For shu, you don't need to get their products but a makeover is about RM80 or so, I cant rmber the exact price.
How important is this Ball to you?
I personaly recomend maby a facial 1 day or on the same day before the ball. Make sure u have enough sleep 1 week prior to the ball if u want to look your best. Beauty is 70% internal and only 30% external. Means good health will give u greater complection. Where makeup is only to make your features stand out. What you wear on that day also needs matching.

Facial service also can be incuded. If u are intrested.
TSjoychin89
post Jun 2 2008, 01:41 PM

148 posts

thread close

This post has been edited by joychin89: Aug 31 2008, 06:53 PM

0.0148sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:12 AM