Games Street Fighter IV (PS3), Available now. FIGHT!

Darkstalker
post Feb 22 2009, 09:33 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(john_makaay @ Feb 22 2009, 07:44 PM)
any1 here got stick to play SF 4? i not sure wanna to get which 1. RM 420 is out of my range. saw 1 hori stick RM 200++. that 1 suitable to play SF 4?
Which Hori stick did you see?

And where did you see this stick?
Darkstalker
post Feb 22 2009, 10:35 PM

214 posts

Tristan, are you joining the SF4 tournament?
Darkstalker
post Feb 22 2009, 11:02 PM

214 posts

Yeah, I just wanna play against good players

(and hopefully win PS3)

But since everyone seems to think highly of you, mind if we can squeeze a game somehow (if we don't meet up in the tournament)?
Darkstalker
post Feb 22 2009, 11:08 PM

214 posts

Oh, I meant we play during tournament time.

I don't have a PS3 or a 360. smile.gif

EDIT: Alvin! You the dude I played the other day, was it? smile.gif

I'll be going back to Outpost earliest on Wednesday, although I think definitely by Thursday I'll be there. I'll confirm when my plans are more definite.

This post has been edited by Darkstalker: Feb 22 2009, 11:09 PM
Darkstalker
post Feb 22 2009, 11:10 PM

214 posts

Outpost provides free training (just buy food/drinks and they let you play).

I trained on the day I registered. Trying to get the hang of the focus system.
Darkstalker
post Feb 23 2009, 01:32 PM

214 posts

For those participating in the tournament:

I shall be going down to Outpost tomorrow (Tuesday, 24 Feb) to practise. Around 4 pm onwards. If any of you are free, why don't you drop on down? smile.gif
Darkstalker
post Feb 26 2009, 09:37 AM

214 posts

To do a focus attack back dash (or step, whatever), hold down Medium Punch and Medium Kick, double tap back, and make sure you see your character flash and actually do the dash back before releasing the buttons.

Same goes for a forward dash, only you double tap forward.

This is also how you cancel special moves into a dash. Do the special, quickly press and hold the focus attack buttons, tap the directions and only release the buttons after you see your character move. This requires two bars of meter though (the blue bars at the bottom of the screen).

This post has been edited by Darkstalker: Feb 26 2009, 09:41 AM
Darkstalker
post Feb 26 2009, 12:32 PM

214 posts

Ultras do not activate instanly. You can see this easiest with combos I think, like when you Ultra an opponent in the air, teh opponent will fall a bit first before the Ultra comes out and hits them. Same with Akuma.

Zangief might be an exception though.

This post has been edited by Darkstalker: Feb 26 2009, 12:32 PM
Darkstalker
post Feb 28 2009, 11:10 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(ajis @ Feb 28 2009, 10:01 PM)
eh? yeah..why don't you come meet me then? don't know which one is you though... blush.gif
You were at Cineleisure? Did you take part in the tournament? smile.gif
Darkstalker
post Mar 2 2009, 01:07 AM

214 posts

Curious, where's a good place to get this game for a good price? And a stick too, I guess (was so tempted to use the stick provided for the semis but thought I better keep to what I know).

If this is the wrong place to ask this sort of thing, feel free to redirect me to where I should ask this sort of question.

Thanks in advance.
Darkstalker
post Mar 2 2009, 07:25 AM

214 posts

Thanks guys.

Game first, stick later. After all, without the game, no point having the stick. tongue.gif
Darkstalker
post Mar 2 2009, 11:03 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(abasan @ Mar 2 2009, 08:52 AM)
The Horistick is 440 is it? I thought I heard someone was selling it below 400... anyone hear the same thing? Donno can afford this so if anyone heard of a good ps1 controller convertor tell me.

Btw, where is digital mall? Isn't it the one in subang parade? Someone mentioned section 14. where is that? Pj is it?
Hori stick has gone up in price, probably because of SFIV's release and maybe a bit because of the tournament too. Most places now sell for 400-500.

Digital Mall is in Section 14, and that is not at Subang Parade. Do you know now-closed down Jaya Supermarket? Digital Mall is the building that used to be Metrojaya there.
Darkstalker
post Mar 2 2009, 12:55 PM

214 posts

Haha!

"Oh, people don't want to buy this expensive stick, we should sell it for a ringgit cheaper to make them change their mind!"
Darkstalker
post Mar 2 2009, 10:14 PM

214 posts

Also, never jump within half a screen distance when he's got super/ultra.

(learned that from Alvin's bro the hard way)
Darkstalker
post Mar 2 2009, 10:59 PM

214 posts

Quick question: If I do get this game, what region version should I be aiming to get?
Darkstalker
post Mar 2 2009, 11:11 PM

214 posts

What about the R2 version? I was checking out the Garage Sale subforum and that's the one most are selling there.

And just one more question: Does it matter which version I get if I want to play with those posting here?
Darkstalker
post Mar 3 2009, 12:08 AM

214 posts

An EX move is a move that consumes 1 bar of your Super gauge. It is activated by doing a special move with at least 2 punch or kick buttons.

For Gouken, the EX Dash refers to his forward, down, down-forward + PP move.

A Focus Attack Dash Cancel (or Focus Cancel or whatever you wanna call it) is done by holding down medium punch and medium kick, then tapping forward or back twice before releasing the buttons. You can use this to absorb one attack and then advance or retreat as you wish.
Darkstalker
post Mar 3 2009, 12:48 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Mar 3 2009, 12:26 AM)
EX moves is double the normal moves...like down fwd down fwd punch for ex hadoken, or somehting like that.
No no, EX moves are upgraded special moves like EX Hadouken, which is done by pressing down, forward + 2 punches. It takes up one bar of your super gauge, You can tell if you did an EX move if you flashed yellow.

The motion you listed was a super, which uses all of the super bar.
Darkstalker
post Mar 3 2009, 08:09 AM

214 posts

I'd just like to confirm if the region of the game matters if I want to play with others here. tongue.gif
Darkstalker
post Mar 3 2009, 07:26 PM

214 posts

Shuriken. tongue.gif

0.0230sec    1.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:15 PM