5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Airasia, Airasia

htt
post Oct 5 2008, 11:35 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Oct 5 2008, 12:11 AM)
you got to see whether it is possible or not ler.. Currently Air Asia free float is about 60%. If they really want to privatized it they need to pay quite a hefty amount to privatized it..Some more the debts to equity ratio for this counter is more than 2 times which makes it impossible to be privatized...If you said being take over also not so easy as they need to pay at higher than market price in order for them to take over...
Cannot be lah... where the hell they are going to get that kind of money to privatize it? The major shareholder is rich but not until that extend... cool2.gif
htt
post Oct 6 2008, 12:17 PM

4,305 posts

Air Asia is rather risky stock due to their business model of high leverage, but the cash flow still holding ok, at least until last quarter. They aimed to be those type of high risk, high return type of company, so not to expect any dividend from them in near future.

Global trend at the moment is, government won't let big company fail as that might have deep impact to the economy as a whole, guess our government won't let them fail as customers are generally happy with their existent (as compare to the time we only have MAS to fly us in the country), but from shareholders this company just sucks (they have to as they will not able to service their loan and declare dividend at the same time, they will collapse). Buy small small and wait for couple of years, if it not doing badly you might see significant growth. Let's hope to see their planes fill in the LCCT in future.

Q3'08 should see their operating profit return to black, but I really don't like the way they book tax credit as earning (that might be perfectly all right in Accounting Standard), as the money wasn't earned (as yet). God bless us and Air Asia.
htt
post Oct 6 2008, 01:59 PM

4,305 posts

I think their business plan is to develop a comprehensive regional network as soon as possible, by acquiring large quantity of planes on credit.

From the financial statement, we can see the depreciation and non-current asset grow in pace, so do the turnover. The company will remain as going concern as long as they are able to meet the installment of loan with cash flow they receive from us. And they are not seeking a lump sum of debt when they sign the S&P for plane purchase but doing that in stage. I think some of the loan (if not all) are link to LIBOR and current LIBOR fluctuation might stress their earning later on. So far (until Q2'08), the cash flow is still healthy but if they don't grow, they're doomed. flex.gif Think they are trying to secure a loan for the next batch of planes to be deliver at the moment (maybe news of privatization helps in share price, in turn help to secure better loan package).

If I am not mistaken, they still showing smaller operating profit (but red after foreign exchange loss, I normally ignore that if the money is mean for longer term).

What worrying me more is their loss making foreign subsidiaries (Thai & Indo), the two had not showing convincing result since established (recent saga in Bangkok making their Thai business worse). But look at the bright side, their competitors start to close shop liao (1 2 Go, Adam Air...). thumbup.gif Hope they are not the next to get folded unsure.gif

Start from 3O'08 they no longer hedge their oil requirement, that's mixed of blessing for them, as oil price puncture in 3Q wink.gif (but before puncture, they was seems like going to collapse every minute hmm.gif ).

The information might not be correct and that's just base on my memory, I read their F.S. couple of weeks ago, hopefully my memory not corrupt and this is useful for some of us. Invest on your own risk blush.gif vested...
htt
post Oct 7 2008, 08:59 AM

4,305 posts

Tax credit mainly arise from company expenses & capital allowance (tax based depreciation), but AA's tax credit mainly due to government incentive (on capital allowance, I guess). To me, tax credit is nothing unless you have profit to set it off.
htt
post Nov 26 2008, 11:57 PM

4,305 posts

AA result not out yet, foreign currency translation loss too high?

Added on November 28, 2008, 7:04 pmAA drop us another bomb, big one... blink.gif
Lost 215m due to Lehman Bros? Com'on, you must be joking... but that's true. cry.gif
Another 213m to translation? That one fairly expected cool2.gif
1Q lose 465m and want to privatize the company hmm.gif look like a joke to me shakehead.gif
Think major shareholders no need to privatize the company, they can go to the market and buy next Monday, with much cheaper price. cry.gif
Only thing lucky is I so happen to hold a very small share vmad.gif
Good luck to all vested. mad.gif

This post has been edited by htt: Nov 28 2008, 07:17 PM
htt
post Dec 2 2008, 04:44 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 2 2008, 03:56 PM)
A corporate or company will die or not in near future, is not dictated by losses, but dictated by its cashflow.

If the cashflow situation is still healthy, then it has the ability to survive.
Now still healthy, but if they drop a few more lemon bombs on us, then hard to say loh tongue.gif

This post has been edited by htt: Dec 2 2008, 04:48 PM
htt
post Dec 2 2008, 05:17 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(gyver @ Dec 2 2008, 05:11 PM)
Yes, I agree. Moreover recently it has open new route to London. So I can guarantee you that more revenue there. Now I hear a lot of my x-Uk student friends going back for visits.
I think they only hold 10% of AAX, plus some royalty if not mistaken.
htt
post Dec 2 2008, 07:22 PM

4,305 posts

Another piece of bad news. Don't know when can the country return to normal.

Thailand's Constitutional Court has ordered Prime Minister Somchai Wongsawat's ruling People Power Party to disband after finding it guilty of vote fraud.

AirAsia Berhad ("AirAsia") wishes to announce for public information that as at 28 November 2008, 37.86% of the issued and paid-up share capital of AirAsia of 2,374,209,580 ordinary shares of RM0.10 each were held by foreigners (the foreign shareholding as at 28 May, 2008 was 47.87%).

FF withdrawing. But at least BKK airport functioning again.

This post has been edited by htt: Dec 3 2008, 06:35 PM
htt
post Dec 9 2008, 11:37 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Dec 9 2008, 09:36 AM)
Saw on the edge on sat, possible tie up between Mas n Quantas big threat to AA or just hot air in the making?
Don't think got a lot of impact, because AA concentrate in shorter route and MAS & Qantas & BA alliance might affect route to Europe/ Australia only.
htt
post Dec 11 2008, 08:34 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Dec 10 2008, 11:17 PM)
any good news to support or will goreng up the stock? think this counter still in problem rite
No bad news is good news tongue.gif
htt
post Dec 23 2008, 10:35 AM

4,305 posts

AA & Jetstar merge? hmm.gif
htt
post Dec 23 2008, 11:46 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(asambuffett @ Dec 23 2008, 11:40 AM)
LCCT in Labu!!!  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
But seriously don't feel like going to Labu and catch a flight... blink.gif
htt
post Jan 13 2009, 10:10 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(lanux128 @ Jan 13 2009, 10:05 AM)
is it true that airasia doesn't give any dividend? i thought all listed companies have to pay dividends to their shareholders. luckily haven't bought airasia shares yet. please enlighten me. smile.gif
Yes, that's true. There are another camp of people believing in invest back whatever profit you have to grow the company till max, so they don't recommend dividend.
htt
post Jan 13 2009, 02:22 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(lanux128 @ Jan 13 2009, 11:34 AM)
thanks for the info. no wonder they're expanding aggressively, with the labu airport coming up, that means most likely there will be no profits this year.
I think they use labu as counterweight to force MAHB to reduce their fee etc, because MAHB charge them like charge MAS, while the facilities... arh... like getting ubi with durian price... tongue.gif Tactically Labu is a no no...
htt
post Jan 15 2009, 10:56 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(lanux128 @ Jan 15 2009, 10:32 AM)
and by glancing at their financial report, i realize they split their stocks quite often. doesn't seem like a good thing for the investors.

the latest news is the LCCT in Penang, they're very much in the news nowadays.
Got meh? hmm.gif
htt
post Jan 15 2009, 11:01 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Jan 15 2009, 09:41 PM)
0.10 ? Do you think posibble ?
Par value /= market value
htt
post Jan 17 2009, 03:56 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Jan 16 2009, 06:48 AM)
Too low for me but good news as we can purchase in large qty. biggrin.gif
?
htt
post Mar 5 2009, 11:02 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Mar 5 2009, 09:23 PM)
Can MAS follow Airasia ?
Can, recognized loss one shot only mah.
htt
post Mar 6 2009, 06:45 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Mar 5 2009, 11:36 PM)
I meant MAS should sign a contract with oil supplier to minimize the loss. Why don't they follow Airasia method ?
That's rule of the game mah, Air Asia also just pay and concede loss only mah.
htt
post Apr 7 2009, 06:44 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Apr 7 2009, 05:57 AM)
when will they announce the IPO and where can i follow up? icon_question.gif
Under KLSE website there is an IPO page. I think someone might post the IPO here also, if there is one for Air Asia X.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0364sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:49 AM