Airasia, Airasia
THTgadgets.com
Jun 30 2011, 04:40 PM
Wow, the way AA shares shot upwards is like a rocket heading to the Sun!
For me, I actually bought 10 lots at $2.98/share in January (admittedly quite a high price, how silly!). If I'm not mistaken, from that time up to early May, the price actually fell to as low as $2.35-$2.40 during the February CNY correction and mainly stayed around the $2.40-$2.70 mark. There was absolutely NO WAY that it could even breach $2.80, let alone hit a break-even point; I was darn sam-tong at the time!
The price started to climb in early May and it breached the $3.00 mark on the 3rd, after the Labor Day holidays. I subsequently sold half in mid-May for $3.10/share (to take profits) but the price continued to climb. I then read some analysts' reports that recommended AA as a "BUY" stock and purchased another 5 lots @ $3.28/share in the early morning of June 27 (i.e. before trading started); it shot up 9 cents to $3.37 by the end of the day!
I guess the main reason for this rise in AA shares to the stratosphere mainly stemmed from that largest-in-history deal to buy 200 planes from Airbus. Don't forget that the company is consistently in the black, year-on-year, but of course one of the main threats is the ever-fluctuating fuel prices, to keep things in check!
This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Jun 30 2011, 04:51 PM
THTgadgets.com
Jun 30 2011, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(ronn77 @ Jun 30 2011, 10:43 AM) Looks like AA has plenty of fuel to burn for further uptrend. Tempting to sell my possesion right now but worried may regret later. Probably any sifus can shed some light or comments on this counter? How many lots are you holding at present? Maybe you can sell half, like what I did (see my previous post), and then return to buy the same number later, assuming there is a slight correction in the share price.
THTgadgets.com
Jun 30 2011, 05:29 PM
Market just closed and looks like AA rose by another 5 cents today.
The closing price is at $3.52, which is just 4 cents lower than their intra-day high of $3.56.
THTgadgets.com
Jul 1 2011, 01:04 PM
Ya hor, the AirAsia X IPO is coming up as well, but not sure when the prospectus will be introduced though...
And it's now 1300 hrs and the Bursa has stopped for midday break. Our rocket-fuel-powered AirAsia shot up another 11 cents to $3.63, what a massive increase from just 24-hours ago!
This post has been edited by THTgadgets.com: Jul 1 2011, 01:05 PM
THTgadgets.com
Mar 28 2012, 09:43 AM
Yup, AirAsia fell sharply last Monday and Tuesday, although there was a small rebound this morning... I've got 15 lots and most likely will maintain what I have, with additional purchases to make, if the share price drops further!