Airasia, Airasia

cckkpr
post Aug 11 2011, 03:27 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(firee818 @ Aug 10 2011, 06:07 PM)
Nope, It got some implication:-

1) Tuna Air (Tony) hold 20.50% of Mas, therefore, Tony is one of the executive director of Mas, but he only got little influence to Mas direction. The power to run Mas is Khanazah. AAsia need to take Mas's profit/loss into its account(AAsia) (associate company). Therefore, to let AAsia to show good profit, the competition between Mas & AAsia will be minuize, this mean that the consumers will need to pay higher price for the air ticket fee in future.

2) Khanazah's hold AAsia 10%, this mean that Khanazah have some influence on AAsia direction, I mean political influence.

The consumers have to pay the price for this deal. How can enemy become partner...weird!
Tune Air holding MAS shares, not AA. So associate status does not apply to AA.
PiggyAikz
post Aug 11 2011, 05:42 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(firee818 @ Aug 11 2011, 02:21 PM)
Benefiary

1) Tony
He has control over AA & MAS, now he is a superstar. So, he has the larger voice to get certain "visa" to be grant by gov't which previously could not (last time no power). e.g. Airport issues.  I think he will award Tan Sri title soon. Now, Tony is a gov't crony.

2) Government
Indirectly, gov't still has a chance to rescue MAS.

3) Investor
Investor of AA and MAS, benefit from monopoly biz and thus profitable account.
Loser
You and me who buy air-line tickets as monopoly of air-line market emerge.
1) He will not be awarded Tan Sri title soon. He is already in fact Tan Sri Tony F. MAS does not own airports. MAHB owns airports. So by AA and MAS having the same major shareholders it will not affect any "airport issues" directly. Indirectly however, Khazanah being a common shareholder of AA, MAS and MAHB might have influence on "airport issues" to the advantage of AA.

2) Government or not. It will be a herculean task for TF to turn around MAS. If he succeeds he is one hell of a magician.

3) AA and MAS competes on different markets. AA has branded itself a low cost carrier while MAS is a premium airliner. Competitions for AA would perhaps be Tiger Airways and JetStar while competition for MAS would be Singapore Airlines and Emirates. To note however, MAS also has Fireflyz which is branded as MAS's low cost carrier franchise. AA and Fireflyz might be condescending but if not wrong only a few routes "cross" paths. For consumers, AA would still offer economical alternatives to travel compared to flying full fledged premium airlines. Sole purpose or business model for AA is to offer economical alternatives to travel by air if its fares are cheaper by a significant premium to MAS or any other premium airlines i think we as consumers are getting our bargains to travel economically. As for MAS, if TF is indeed successful in his herculean task then you and I who travel full fledged carriers will then get our monies worth. We will get better and improved services for the same price we pay today.

If you ask me... win win for all. there might be concerns that AA's gearing is very high. But that is a separate issue altogether and has nothing to do with this share swap (which has nothing to do with AA or MAS since its at shareholder level not company level). Airliners are capex intensive not surprising to have high gearing. but doubts do arise if AA is able to manage its high gearing if the high gearing is manageable and AA is able to improve its earnings i think the business is sustainable.
duckaton
post Aug 11 2011, 07:43 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

Anyway I look at it, AAsia is gone case.
Oracles99
post Aug 11 2011, 08:13 PM

984 posts

The idea looks neat. AA target low-price segment n MAS target full service segment. But the reality is the two segments easily overlap. Hard times would force the premium segment customers to shift into the low price segment. After all, the purpose is only to reach yr destination.
If MAS were to get more customers, Tony would surely have to entice low cost segment customers to patronize MAS and not the other way round.
No man can serve two masters.

This post has been edited by Oracles99: Aug 11 2011, 08:13 PM
Cowhide
post Aug 11 2011, 08:49 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Oracles99 @ Aug 11 2011, 08:13 PM)
The idea looks neat. AA target low-price segment n MAS target full service segment. But the reality is the two segments easily overlap. Hard times would force the premium segment customers to shift into the low price segment. After all, the purpose is only to reach yr destination.
If MAS were to get more customers, Tony would surely have to entice low cost segment customers to patronize MAS and not the other way round.
No man can serve two masters.
Yet 1 man can serve 4 wives. brows.gif

TP RM4 for the bravehearts.
Oracles99
post Aug 11 2011, 11:02 PM

984 posts

4 wives of course can lah! They will milk u until u get dry! beware

This post has been edited by Oracles99: Aug 11 2011, 11:03 PM
paikut
post Aug 12 2011, 12:09 PM

469 posts

well any sifus can advise on aa? what price can we buy it at today?
pinky.faye3
post Aug 12 2011, 12:10 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Oracles99 @ Aug 11 2011, 11:02 PM)
4 wives of course can lah! They will milk u until u get  dry! beware
aiyah,where got 4 wives? mad.gif

lostintransition
post Aug 12 2011, 01:25 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(paikut @ Aug 12 2011, 12:09 PM)
well any sifus can advise on aa? what price can we buy it at today?
For me, i will just stand at the sideline and wait for another week. If the price slides lower, then we will be getting a good company on a discount.
duckaton
post Aug 12 2011, 10:30 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(lostintransition @ Aug 12 2011, 01:25 PM)
For me, i will just stand at the sideline and wait for another week. If the price slides lower, then we will be getting a good company on a discount.
company with high debts, high gearing, high pe
cannot categorise as good company.

high potential maybe la...
yok70
post Aug 13 2011, 04:33 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Aug 12 2011, 10:30 PM)
company with high debts, high gearing, high pe
cannot categorise as good company.

high potential maybe la...
high PE? how high? hmm.gif
mpisthe616
post Aug 13 2011, 04:44 AM

30 posts

Guys gimme a sign! How are we doing with AA under current context. Hold?Sell?Buy. Market has been crazy! What are your views buddies?

Added on August 13, 2011, 4:49 amDuckaton you said AA is a " gone case" what do you mean by that?

This post has been edited by mpisthe616: Aug 13 2011, 04:49 AM
rosdi1
post Aug 13 2011, 04:10 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Aug 11 2011, 07:43 PM)
Anyway I look at it, AAsia is gone case.
Yes for now....
I think when the 2Q result announced later this month the sliding will be faster.
The fact that the swap need to be done before the 2 Q results of both MAS and Airasia is interesting or
they don't need the help of this good/bad news anyway.
but we have to remember that AA share can be push fro 1.50 to 4.20 in a year and it can be done again if need be.
I think the major players will be happy to see AA slide to say 2.50 for now.
leoltc
post Aug 15 2011, 01:44 PM

223 posts

AA re-bound everyone*****to those who look down wont be rise~! pls open u eye and see!!
XiaominG
post Aug 15 2011, 01:51 PM

What drives AA rebound?
leoltc
post Aug 15 2011, 02:00 PM

223 posts

Just believe~~~
Dackson
post Aug 15 2011, 04:05 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

may be can reach 3.9 a wild guess ...
ReVolVolution
post Aug 15 2011, 04:14 PM

311 posts

it used to be at RM 4 before the announcement of share swap...
rainie1284
post Aug 15 2011, 04:21 PM

883 posts

used to be 3.1X
Dackson
post Aug 15 2011, 04:59 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

anyone know the new pE and EPS after share swap and outstandshare ?

125 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:20 PM