126 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

davelcm
post Apr 16 2009, 09:55 AM

2 possible reasons when waterslide decals dun stick to the surface:-
1) old decals...therefore the adhesive on the decals is gone or very little or something
2) soaked in water too long. reason you soak in water is to moist the "glue" and causes it to be sticky. release agent...chemical reaction kinda thingy. so if you soak too long...the remnant of glue on the decal is less. so it won't stick well. this is worse if the decal is old.

u can make it a habit on using mark setter. not a necessity if the decals are good but yes, it does make it stick better.

http://www.rlm.at/cont/thema11_e.htm

this link should cater for explanation on applying decals
-------

airbrush usage. the length of time is dependant on the type of compressor. diaphragm/oil-less type heats up quickly, therefore you can't keep it on too long. if not the motor will burn. for that...it'll be max 35 to 40 mins. you can continue to keep it on but my advise, nothing longer than 45 min.

those with tanks on the diaphragm type compressors...u can keep it up longer...i keep it on a regular 45 mins to 1 hr then i off it. by then, watever needs to be painted are done. for both types of compressors, make it a habit to off the compressors when u're not using...i.e. tidying up the kit, mixing paints and preppin things up.

then they r the bigger oil piston type compressors. silent and basically u can just keep it on all the time. the tank handles everything. n since there's oil in the piston...overheating is minimal if not non-existent.

zieraq
post Apr 16 2009, 12:45 PM

58 posts

guys please guide icon_question.gif me how much is weight for mr hobby spray can? i want to buy from a forumer but he said poslaju shipping cost rm 13 for 2 unit. blink.gif hmm.gif is the rate true? btw he's location is JB
golbeza
post Apr 16 2009, 12:50 PM

58 posts

hello again guys, thanks for the tips on decalling again ><. its really helpful. just another thing, remember the transparent pink NTD psycho frame parts for the MG Unicorn?, i wanna make them gold, so is it possible to 'decolourise' them? like make them clear white parts, or it i just have to forget the idea and just surface them and spray gold upon them, but it will look solid & not translucent cry.gif icon_question.gif
dante3
post Apr 16 2009, 01:09 PM

167 posts

golbeza: erix93 did solid gold. CLICK HERE

EDIT !!!!! READ THIS !! : After more studying from previous thread, i found out that gold color will dull overtime. Gold requires high maintenance. You will have to keep it in a box, air tight, clean n away from sunlight....same goes to model kits that have metalic coating/finishing..

if you still want transparent gold, why not email to BANDAI and request for 1? (dunno they will accept that offer or not)..

This post has been edited by dante3: Apr 16 2009, 04:12 PM
davelcm
post Apr 16 2009, 01:50 PM

QUOTE(zieraq @ Apr 16 2009, 12:45 PM)
guys please guide icon_question.gif  me how much is weight for mr hobby spray can? i want to buy from a forumer but he said poslaju shipping cost rm 13 for 2 unit.  blink.gif hmm.gif  is the rate true? btw he's location is JB
http://www.hlj.com/product/GNZJ-001

it's abt 140g... weight n stuffs can be found online. u'll just need to google it.
zieraq
post Apr 16 2009, 05:41 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(davelcm @ Apr 16 2009, 01:50 PM)
http://www.hlj.com/product/GNZJ-001

it's abt 140g... weight n stuffs can be found online. u'll just need to google it.
Thx 4 the link actually I refer to this one.
http://www.hlj.com/product/GNZB-514

2 bottle should be 420 gram. + wrap plastic & box for packaging i think still should be able to achieve below 500g which only cost rm7 i think sweat.gif no? hmm.gif
davelcm
post Apr 16 2009, 10:01 PM

oso note...ppl have to go to post office n wrap it for u. so...do expect an extra premium on postage. but whether reasonable or not...ur choice.
richard0304
post Apr 16 2009, 10:08 PM

193 posts

eh I think HLJ does not ship liquid items overseas.. It's in their terms and conditions page..
davelcm
post Apr 16 2009, 10:42 PM

QUOTE(richard0304 @ Apr 16 2009, 10:08 PM)
eh I think HLJ does not ship liquid items overseas.. It's in their terms and conditions page..
read the previous posts. he's talkin abt someone in johor shipping spray paints to him. hlj is being used as reference on the weight of the spray cans. no one said anything abt shipment fr hlj for the paints.
rayloke
post Apr 17 2009, 10:17 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(davelcm @ Apr 16 2009, 10:42 PM)
read the previous posts. he's talkin abt someone in johor shipping spray paints to him. hlj is being used as reference on the weight of the spray cans. no one said anything abt shipment fr hlj for the paints.
a side note guys, hlj is the only company i know ship bottle primer, AND Spray can!

The only party giving problem would probably our kastam, who will tell u "tak boleh" n "bahaya" if they open your shipment n see spray can.

temptation1314
post Apr 17 2009, 12:38 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

POS don't even ship flammable things la.

somemore spray can, when they roll the box, they can hear the canister ball inside moving. doh.gif
Then your parcel sure GG, or legal action.

I think if using DHL or private courier shouldn't be a problem as long as you notifiy them.
maxgil05
post Apr 17 2009, 01:09 PM

QUOTE(davelcm @ Apr 16 2009, 09:55 AM)
2 possible reasons when waterslide decals dun stick to the surface:-
1) old decals...therefore the adhesive on the decals is gone or very little or something
2) soaked in water too long. reason you soak in water is to moist the "glue" and causes it to be sticky. release agent...chemical reaction kinda thingy. so if you soak too long...the remnant of glue on the decal is less. so it won't stick well. this is worse if the decal is old.

u can make it a habit on using mark setter. not a necessity if the decals are good but yes, it does make it stick better.

http://www.rlm.at/cont/thema11_e.htm

this link should cater for explanation on applying decals
-------

airbrush usage. the length of time is dependant on the type of compressor. diaphragm/oil-less type heats up quickly, therefore you can't keep it on too long. if not the motor will burn. for that...it'll be max 35 to 40 mins. you can continue to keep it on but my advise, nothing longer than 45 min.

those with tanks on the diaphragm type compressors...u can keep it up longer...i keep it on a regular 45 mins to 1 hr then i off it. by then, watever needs to be painted are done. for both types of compressors, make it a habit to off the compressors when u're not using...i.e. tidying up the kit, mixing paints and preppin things up.

then they r the bigger oil piston type compressors. silent and basically u can just keep it on all the time. the tank handles everything. n since there's oil in the piston...overheating is minimal if not non-existent.
Then I think I will buy the big compressor, saw in AF Hobby and noise is only for 10 to 12 seconds but can user for 1 hour plus. By the way, he cover the compressor with box and the noise was reduce slightly.
rayloke
post Apr 17 2009, 06:16 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Apr 17 2009, 12:38 PM)

somemore spray can, when they roll the box, they can hear the canister ball inside moving. doh.gif

I think if using DHL or private courier shouldn't be a problem as long as you notifiy them.
That's how i buy all my spray can primer

everytime get at least 24 cans, which last me years....
hcyap00
post Apr 17 2009, 09:13 PM

QUOTE(rayloke @ Apr 17 2009, 10:17 AM)
a side note guys, hlj is the only company i know ship bottle primer, AND Spray can!

The only party giving problem would probably our kastam, who will tell u "tak boleh" n "bahaya" if they open your shipment n see spray can.
rainbowten also ship spray can also to oversea lah...order it b4....

This post has been edited by hcyap00: Apr 17 2009, 09:13 PM
zieraq
post Apr 18 2009, 11:35 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Apr 17 2009, 12:38 PM)

He send me the spray can using regular post already. should take around 4 working days to arrive. so i think spray can shipment by post office is ok nod.gif

Added on April 19, 2009, 10:37 amDonno if this is a repost. but very interesting indeed. No paint gunpla.

http://pinoygundam.proboards.com/index.cgi...play&thread=130

apparently the sanding technique same like achieving a mirror finish for processor lapping doh.gif so should be easy for overclockers
btw is sanding sponges like in the link easily available at hardware shop?

This post has been edited by zieraq: Apr 19 2009, 10:37 AM
yshiuan
post Apr 19 2009, 12:40 PM

2,126 posts

is it possible to use a highlighter to replace clear paint to paint the eyes?
mych
post Apr 19 2009, 12:59 PM

2,068 posts

just not via air.. land post should be ok
unpronunceable
post Apr 20 2009, 12:20 AM

33 posts

eh what glue can be used to glue two broken pieces gunpla parts
z3r0717
post Apr 20 2009, 01:28 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(zieraq @ Apr 18 2009, 11:35 AM)

Added on April 19, 2009, 10:37 amDonno if this is a repost. but very interesting indeed. No paint gunpla.

http://pinoygundam.proboards.com/index.cgi...play&thread=130

apparently the sanding technique same like achieving a mirror finish for processor lapping doh.gif  so should be easy for overclockers
btw is sanding sponges like in the link easily available at hardware shop?
sanding sponges can be found in hardware shops BUT mostly not suitable for model kit because their grits are too low.. if found higher grits then it's ok..
I heard some ppl manage to find it but 4get where..

QUOTE(yshiuan @ Apr 19 2009, 12:40 PM)
is it possible to use a highlighter to replace clear paint to paint the eyes?
erm... 1st time hear use highlighter.. it's up to u how u wan to paint the eyes.. If it looks good for u, y not?

QUOTE(unpronunceable @ Apr 20 2009, 12:20 AM)
have to see wat part and how it is broken...
small parts use super glue, cement also can but still have to see the situation..
hcyap00
post Apr 20 2009, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(unpronunceable @ Apr 20 2009, 12:20 AM)
gam gajah.....

126 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:16 PM