wii from aussie and compatibility issues
TSrareglove
May 24 2008, 10:13 AM, updated 18y ago
Hey guys.. I'm graduating from uni here in oz and coming back home soon. Thinking of buying the wii console here since a fren of mine is selling his. Would there be any regional issue with the games n stuff? I dont plan to get it modded or play pirated games. Or do u guys think i should just wait till i got back to KL and look for one there. Any help would be greatly appreciated
Kyoyagami
May 24 2008, 10:27 AM
KyoYagami-myed
QUOTE(rareglove @ May 24 2008, 10:13 AM) Hey guys.. I'm graduating from uni here in oz and coming back home soon. Thinking of buying the wii console here since a fren of mine is selling his. Would there be any regional issue with the games n stuff? I dont plan to get it modded or play pirated games. Or do u guys think i should just wait till i got back to KL and look for one there. Any help would be greatly appreciated  The Wii i checked out at Target was AUD 399. And that's PAL region. Over in Mas, ur bound to have more US region games. So its either, 1. U buy it back at Malaysia. 2. U buy 1 from Ebay or Amazon that is US region. IINM, its cheaper to buy the US region at Aussie, but you'll have to purchase a stepdown converter, or get urself a travel adapter to change the plug socket and voltage. that is also the Aus Wii's prob, as the socket is different and u have to change the voltage too.
psyeo
May 24 2008, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ May 24 2008, 02:27 PM) The Wii i checked out at Target was AUD 399. And that's PAL region. Over in Mas, ur bound to have more US region games. So its either, 1. U buy it back at Malaysia. 2. U buy 1 from Ebay or Amazon that is US region. IINM, its cheaper to buy the US region at Aussie, but you'll have to purchase a stepdown converter, or get urself a travel adapter to change the plug socket and voltage. that is also the Aus Wii's prob, as the socket is different and u have to change the voltage too. the voltage for aussie wii is the same as Malaysia, you just need to change the socket. @rareglove Although originally Malaysia is consider as a PAL region, I suggest that you get a wii NTSC/U in Malaysia instead of getting a PAL console, as most of the games in Malaysia are of US region Or, you can buy a PAL Datel Freeloader to play NTSC game on your PAL console. This post has been edited by psyeo: May 24 2008, 11:04 AM
Eventless
May 24 2008, 11:42 AM
PAL games comes out much later than US NTSC games that is if they do come out at all. The price will also be much higher as well. Most of the online shopping sites don't carry PAL games so you can't buy from them. In another words, you will have a console that uses slow to release, expensive and hard to find games.
psyeo
May 24 2008, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(Eventless @ May 24 2008, 03:42 PM) PAL games comes out much later than US NTSC games that is if they do come out at all. The price will also be much higher as well. Most of the online shopping sites don't carry PAL games so you can't buy from them. In another words, you will have a console that uses slow to release, expensive and hard to find games. Not entirely true, some games are release earlier in PAL console as compare to NTSC/U, e.g. Recently Mario Kart and Wii Fit
BlueBerry~
May 24 2008, 12:19 PM
Theres your answer. I think going for a US machine would be wiser lor. Most shops sell US games. But there is always freeloader. However, be warned. Freeloader would get banned by nintendo.
TSrareglove
May 24 2008, 12:48 PM
Wow...really quick replies. Yeah, i guess i should wait out and get a console back home. Thanks everyone. Top class!
ELM0
May 8 2009, 01:52 PM
i got 1 question now i already bought a wii in brisbane end of the year im bring it back to KL the games, is it possible to play ??? original games in msia
gundamalpha
May 8 2009, 03:38 PM
How come no one ask me?  I have a PAL Wii and the only way I could get the games is through my wife who's in Australia. Although PAL games are quite readily available and cheaper than most of its NTSC counterparts, it's not easy to find a seller willing to ship to Malaysia.
msn83235502
May 8 2009, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(ELM0 @ May 8 2009, 01:52 PM) i got 1 question now i already bought a wii in brisbane end of the year im bring it back to KL the games, is it possible to play ??? original games in msia they already answered ur question if u read post by post...and also post below ur post.
ELM0
May 8 2009, 09:01 PM
ok i read all so means im dead..... the games cant be found in Msia only can be ship from australia the cheapest