iPhone Power Issue, Need experts advice ASAP ! Thx !

TSMandy Sim
post May 23 2008, 07:55 PM, updated 18y ago

13 posts

Hi guys..

I've had a problem this morning where I mistakenly used my bro's AC Car Charger which is suppose to be for his iPod Video to connect to my iPhone, thinking that it can charge my iPhone.. however there is no charging sign on the phone so I guess it could not be charged using that cable..

Then I went back home and wanted to charge it using the usual method I always do with the original AC Adapter for the iPhone.. but to my knowledge it cannot work any longer as there was no Charging.. sign on the iPhone when it is connected to it..

The battery now for the iPhone has died or should I say went to 0% since I cannot recharge the phone and I'm unable to also do a system restore on it..

Do give your advice on how to help me solve this particular issue.. Thanks ! blush.gif
SUSeggtart
post May 23 2008, 08:04 PM

101 posts

mabe your usb cable is loose. try shake it a bit. Mine also like this sometimes.
ff8ong
post May 23 2008, 08:09 PM

2,550 posts

try charge it together with the dock.. smile.gif
TSMandy Sim
post May 23 2008, 08:20 PM

13 posts

I doubt the cable is loose as I've been using it quite some time now..

Normally you don't have to use the dock.. but in this case using the dock also has the same result.. even if I tried connecting it to the PC, the PC cannot detect the iPhone.. hmm.gif
ajul
post May 23 2008, 08:23 PM

100% ONLINE DEALER
1,258 posts

buy new one..:-)
ff8ong
post May 23 2008, 08:29 PM

2,550 posts

maybe because the diffrent of voltage spoil your iphone...pity you..
llllll
post May 23 2008, 09:07 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ May 23 2008, 08:29 PM)
maybe because the diffrent of voltage spoil your iphone...pity you..
i think it most probably happen.... sad.gif
panasonic88
post May 23 2008, 10:15 PM

37,028 posts

not sure whether does this work for your case, but no harm trying.

from ochiburi's post

Plug in the phone using the wall socket charger, leave it for a few hours to get a charge (i know it doesn't look like its charging). Later, press the on/off button. The battery icon appears with just a thin red line. Let it go back to black. Then press the the on/off button and the menu button simultaneously for about 8 seconds. A red button should appear on the screen with a question asking if you want to power off the phone. Say yes. (I think it was a slide bar, but can't remember now.) Wait a few secs while the phone powers off. Then remove the power plug from the phone. Now reinsert the power plug. After a few (worrying) seconds of nothing, a white Apple logo appears in the middle of the screen, a few more seconds and the iphone main menu appears. No data has been lost, no settings are altered, and best of all, the battery shows a full charge and seems to be back to normal again.

source: http://www.fixya.com/support/t267682-iphone_wont_charge
stephentang
post May 23 2008, 10:18 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 23 2008, 10:15 PM)
not sure whether does this work for your case, but no harm trying.

from ochiburi's post
source: http://www.fixya.com/support/t267682-iphone_wont_charge
Sounds like a useful attempt to get the iphone work...
panasonic88
post May 23 2008, 10:23 PM

37,028 posts

not sure, i just dont wish to see someone's precious become a trash, that feeling hurts sad.gif

hopefully will hear some good news from Mandy.
frozzbyte
post May 24 2008, 01:18 AM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

Mmmm .... seems like a case of a busted logic board (the power control chip to be precise). If it is ... the only solution would be swapping the logic board with a new one. And thats not an easy feat. Or u can go kamikaze and solder a wire to bypass the fried chip.
shockk
post May 24 2008, 01:56 AM

[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
11,883 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ May 24 2008, 01:18 AM)
Mmmm .... seems like a case of a busted logic board (the power control chip to be precise). If it is ... the only solution would be swapping the logic board with a new one. And thats not an easy feat. Or u can go kamikaze and solder a wire to bypass the fried chip.
yea sounds like it too.
but i think a/c charger from a car battery should be pretty low right?

i was thinkin to buy a car charger too, but now perhaps not. hmm.gif
nokia2003
post May 24 2008, 02:40 AM

5,786 posts

hmmm thats why back then i voted against a user to purchase this ipod sony alarm clock dock from the states for his iphone

but kena flamed back instead.

blush.gif
nicopatch
post May 24 2008, 02:57 AM

23 posts

Got same problem just now. I unplugged all other USB devices (except usb mouse) , and charging, sync OK. Try other available USB port.
philipcs
post Jun 16 2008, 09:49 PM

2,581 posts

I just got my iPhone car charger and bought from DealExtreme

Tested and confirmed is working.

I prefer this because it came with cable and no need to carry my cable with me all the time

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.10510
Fighteden
post Jun 17 2008, 09:45 PM

Stark Industries
976 posts

Hmm .. after reading this topic, one thing came to my mind ..

What if the iPhone's battery is ... er .. "kong" ?
Like can't charge fully anymore ..

if there any replacement for it?
Singapore? Local Mac's store?
d3vilzzzz
post Jun 18 2008, 09:53 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

this has been discussed before..u can DIY yourself, local MAC store won't help you don't hv warranty..u can also look for a fellow forumer; sonnettechasia rclxms.gif

i m nt sure abt singapore..but as 3G will be reaching shores..hu knws?

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Jun 18 2008, 09:54 AM
Fighteden
post Jun 19 2008, 09:13 PM

Stark Industries
976 posts

DIY repair the battery?

How? =.= ..
ff8ong
post Jun 19 2008, 09:16 PM

2,550 posts

Open The case