7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Tax charges at Malaysia Custom, From Singapore

TScristiano7mu
post May 23 2008, 04:50 PM, updated 18y ago

2,588 posts

Recently found out Singapore selling Yamaha Dtxplorer SGD1200 (1k cheaper than Malaysia after convert from SGD to RM.)

So i'm planning to buy at SG, am i allowed to bring it into msia?
If can, how much is the TAX i need to pay? hm, btw most probably i will come back by train.

Other than this way, another other method u guys recommend??
-ask singaporean frens to buy n later post it to my hse.

strife01
post May 23 2008, 05:43 PM

158 posts

7% GST. lol... anyway if you fly through Changi Airport, you can claim back the tax.
TScristiano7mu
post May 23 2008, 06:02 PM

2,588 posts

i mean custom tax wor, coz i heard if u buy a new things and bring it back to ur own country u need to pay some custom tax.

No??
strife01
post May 23 2008, 06:02 PM

158 posts

no need, cos i just bought my big baby from there o_o
TScristiano7mu
post May 23 2008, 06:06 PM

2,588 posts

QUOTE(strife01 @ May 23 2008, 06:02 PM)
no need, cos i just bought my big baby from there o_o
big baby? wats tat ? hehe

tat means i can buy the electrnic drum and bring it back to msia without paying any additional fees/charges la
haha great
strife01
post May 23 2008, 06:19 PM

158 posts

not sure about electrical stuff though. fyi, big baby is an acoustic guitar xD. i think there should be no additional tax.
gapnap
post May 23 2008, 06:43 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ May 23 2008, 04:50 PM)
Recently found out Singapore selling Yamaha Dtxplorer SGD1200 (1k cheaper than Malaysia after convert from SGD to RM.)

So i'm planning to buy at SG, am i allowed to bring it into msia?
If can, how much is the TAX i need to pay? hm, btw most probably i will  come back by train.

Other than this way, another other method u guys recommend??
-ask singaporean frens to buy n later post it to my hse.
haha..you better call the store to make sure they got stock ...

last time i went there all the way for a pedal..when i reach they just sold the last one few hours ago
Everdying
post May 23 2008, 06:48 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

of cos add 7% GST there.
then 30% for tax on electrical stuff.
strife01
post May 23 2008, 06:57 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ May 23 2008, 06:43 PM)
haha..you better call the store to make sure they got stock ...

last time i went there all the way for a pedal..when i reach they just sold the last one few hours ago
so unlucky for you.

30% is hell lot =x

This post has been edited by strife01: May 23 2008, 06:57 PM
Ah Shawn
post Jun 25 2008, 04:19 PM

512 posts

my fren did this once b4.he bought d gitar, put it in a gig bag n go bck 2 msia sayin it was his guitar fr malaysia brought over 2 spore.he got a few dubious stares, but no receipt no box nothing,they cant prove that u bought it there.considering d vast diff i mite consider gettin an amp dwn fr spore 2
blademaster
post Jun 25 2008, 05:07 PM

1,009 posts

Actually they cannot tax your guitar. If they were, then they'll have to tax all your personal belongings like your toothbrush that you're having on you.

Maybe some greedy officers just pretend to stop you so they can get some duit kopi
lordie
post Jun 25 2008, 05:34 PM

942 posts

no taxes so far when i get into KLIA all the time carrying to and fro every other week
crysania
post Jun 25 2008, 09:44 PM

130 posts

Hi guys,
Just wanna know if buy pedal from Amazon will kena tax or not?
Books i know will hav no tax but for electronics stuff??
Anyone care to shred some light?

soulfly
post Jun 26 2008, 03:41 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

There is no more tax on electrical music instrument. Go to malaysia custom website and download the tariff list document. NO TAX.
crysania
post Jun 27 2008, 09:14 AM

130 posts

Thanks 4 d info.Appreciate it.
limsy
post Jun 27 2008, 05:24 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jun 26 2008, 03:41 PM)
There is no more tax on electrical music instrument. Go to malaysia custom website and download the tariff list document. NO TAX.
Wow! Thanks for the info. I'm most grateful. notworthy.gif

However, do you have a copy of the document? I tried going to the above website but it kept giving me errors. Anyone? Thanks. smile.gif
(I wanted to look up other things on it as well)

This post has been edited by limsy: Jun 27 2008, 05:24 PM
don8ld
post Jun 27 2008, 05:26 PM

R.I.P Gary Moore
1,267 posts

i dont think so bought my kh vintage 2 from sg i forgot what shop but i nym..

but the point is i didnt get tax wait i mean my dad didnt get tax
Everdying
post Jun 27 2008, 05:30 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

there is no tax for guitars etc.
but there is a 10% import duty that customs charges based on the total cost of the item inclusive of shipping charges.
limsy
post Jun 28 2008, 08:41 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 27 2008, 05:30 PM)
there is no tax for guitars etc.
but there is a 10% import duty that customs charges based on the total cost of the item inclusive of shipping charges.
Huh? You've got me confused now. I would have assumed the import duty is only APPLICABLE to taxable items. I know for a fact that ALL COMPUTER items are non-taxable. The customs cannot tax you when you bring in a new pc / notebook from Singapore.
That is still true yes? I'm beginning to worry now... *sweat drop*

Party2DMax
post Jun 28 2008, 09:09 AM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

LOL, let's stop the confusion. Here is what I gleaned from the customs website.
There are two taxes an item is subject to - sales tax and import duty. These taxes are calculated on the cost of the item plus shipping and insurance.

"Musical instruments, the sound of which is produced, or must be amplified, electrically (for example, organs, guitars, accordions)."
No sales tax, no import duty.

"Parts and accessories of the musical instruments [above mentioned]."
10% sales tax, no import duty.

"Audio-frequency electric amplifiers."
10% sales tax, 15% import duty. Special rate of 8% (instead of 10+15=25%) applicable if movement is within ASEAN countries.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:19 AM