QUOTE(dsugums @ May 28 2008, 10:03 PM)
I'll say it goes red. If i lose, i give you my used boxers. This post has been edited by AdamG1981: May 29 2008, 01:06 PM
Stock Market V13, Stock Market Chat, Traders and Investors Chit Chat
May 29 2008, 01:05 PM
4,030 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
May 29 2008, 01:08 PM
607 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
May 29 2008, 01:15 PM
But, it will be 'challenging' to cut the budget deficit to 3.1 per cent of GDP this year as rising oil prices swell the fuel subsidy, says a minister
MALAYSIA'S economic growth will reach a target of 5 per cent to 6 per cent this year without special measures as the country’s manufacturing and agriculture industries expand, the government said. There’s no need for a “specific plan” to bolster growth because the fallout from the US subprime crisis hasn’t reached Malaysia, Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop told reporters outside the capital Kuala Lumpur today. “I’m very confident we can achieve the target based on the policies we are taking,” Nor said. Malaysia, Southeast Asia’s third-largest economy, grew a faster-than-expected 7.1 per cent in the first three months of 2008 from a year earlier, the central bank said yesterday. The economy expanded 6.3 per cent in 2007. Nor also said it will be “challenging” to reduce the budget deficit to 3.1 per cent of gross domestic product this year from 3.2 per cent in 2007 as rising oil prices swell the government’s fuel subsidy. “We are facing daunting challenges,” Nor said. The government’s fuel subsidy, which was about RM35 billion (US$11 billion) in 2007, may reach RM53 billion this year with oil at US$130 a barrel, Nor said May 22. - Bloomberg Tan Sri, how about inflation? How about worldwide inflation? Ever thought of that? Removing the subsidy will fuel inflation! SO BETTER THINK TWICE! Bigger budget deficit or higher CPI and PPI. Either way, the outlook for KLCI is BLEAK. This post has been edited by AdamG1981: May 29 2008, 01:18 PM |
May 29 2008, 01:16 PM
1,470 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Securities Industry |
May 29 2008, 01:42 PM
1,385 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
May 29 2008, 01:43 PM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ May 29 2008, 01:15 PM) Removing the subsidy will fuel inflation! SO BETTER THINK TWICE! Bigger budget deficit or higher CPI and PPI. Either way, the outlook for KLCI is BLEAK. Either way is bleak, no escape route at the moment. Quite correct. Stock market won't tumble without any reason, if future is bright and good ahead, do you think Genting share would fall from more than 8.00 to now less than 6.00? Market will take care of itself and it is a future discount mechanism ie. current stock price is reflecting 6 month to 1 year ahead situation.But gov only tell half of the story, as oil price keep on surging, Petronas is making tons of money from it which Malaysia should benefit from it. You have more subsidy paying out but you are still earning more from the source of it. So breakeven only for the gov if gov is using its resources more properly, less wastage. Please don't buy a screw driver that cost Rm200 will do. Until now, Malaysia is a net exported of oil (not yet as net importer but projected to be in next 5 years if production and consumption level as same as predicted). Don't get me wrong, I know it is not sustainable in long run with high subsidy around. Just to highlight the half story issue. This post has been edited by cherroy: May 29 2008, 01:45 PM |
May 29 2008, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ May 28 2008, 10:43 PM) Either way is bleak, no escape route at the moment. Quite correct. Stock market won't tumble without any reason, if future is bright and good ahead, do you think Genting share would fall from more than 8.00 to now less than 6.00? Market will take care of itself and it is a future discount mechanism ie. current stock price is reflecting 6 month to 1 year ahead situation. IT's the government's fault to create artificial demand. IF i am not mistaken, private consumption increased last quarter, from auto sales to construction. Take away the subsidy, and all those gains will be wiped out. But gov only tell half of the story, as oil price keep on surging, Petronas is making tons of money from it which Malaysia should benefit from it. You have more subsidy paying out but you are still earning more from the source of it. So breakeven only for the gov if gov is using its resources more properly, less wastage. Please don't buy a screw driver that cost Rm200 will do. Until now, Malaysia is a net exported of oil (not yet as net importer but projected to be in next 5 years if production and consumption level as same as predicted). Don't get me wrong, I know it is not sustainable in long run with high subsidy around. Just to highlight the half story issue. Technically, with 7.1 % GDP growth, budget deficit of 3.1% GDP, and inflation rate of 2.3%; is our economy growing or slowing down? Petronas might earn a lot of money, but so far couple of states are owed billions in royalties that have not been paid. This post has been edited by AdamG1981: May 29 2008, 01:56 PM |
May 29 2008, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ May 29 2008, 01:52 PM) IT's the government's fault to create artificial demand. IF i am not mistaken, private consumption increased last quarter, from auto sales to construction. Take away the subsidy, and all those gains will be wiped out. One reason for private consumption increment is because of massive paid rise for gov servant. Those salary increment is being spent out and circulate in the economy system. That's one of the reason why 7.1% is achieved. Technically, with 7.1 % GDP growth, budget deficit of 3.1% GDP, and inflation rate of 2.3%; is our economy growing or slowing down? Petronas might earn a lot of money, but so far couple of states are owed billions in royalties that have not been paid. But it affects the gov budget deficit over the long run as more and more gov servant being hired. We have more than 1 millions people are working under gov or gov related agencies with total population of 20+ million (including kids, retired people) |
May 29 2008, 02:07 PM
37,028 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(PBB boleh @ May 29 2008, 12:21 PM) Hmmm... I hold some stock in that counter, do they sent me cheque directly or do I need to call my remiser? mate, i checked out with my dad during lunch just nowhe has 150 lots of MAGNUM at 2.xx averagely, he said they will send you cheque and seems like MAGNUM is going to give another final round of dividends (didnt announce how much yet) fat fat pocket yeah |
May 29 2008, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ May 28 2008, 11:05 PM) One reason for private consumption increment is because of massive paid rise for gov servant. Those salary increment is being spent out and circulate in the economy system. That's one of the reason why 7.1% is achieved. But it affects the gov budget deficit over the long run as more and more gov servant being hired. We have more than 1 millions people are working under gov or gov related agencies with total population of 20+ million (including kids, retired people) |
May 29 2008, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 29 2008, 02:07 PM) mate, i checked out with my dad during lunch just now No leh,Magnum has not declared any dividend prior to the capital repayment .So Magnum shareholders(except MPHB) will only receive the 3.45 per share,and habis cerita liao.he has 150 lots of MAGNUM at 2.xx averagely, he said they will send you cheque and seems like MAGNUM is going to give another final round of dividends (didnt announce how much yet) fat fat pocket yeah |
May 29 2008, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 29 2008, 02:07 PM) mate, i checked out with my dad during lunch just now When they reached the mandatory take-over (owning more than 90%) then it will trigger automatically all remaning shareholders have to sell their shares to the party that privatise it disregard the reamaning 10% shareholders' wish.he has 150 lots of MAGNUM at 2.xx averagely, he said they will send you cheque and seems like MAGNUM is going to give another final round of dividends (didnt announce how much yet) fat fat pocket yeah So by right, they will send the cheque for the privatisation offer and debit your shares in the CDS. But I have no experience regarding it. So don't know whether existing shareholders need to do anything, may be Iklatmy can give out more accruate information about privatisation deal. By right on paper, shareholders don't need to do anything. |
May 29 2008, 02:26 PM
shareholder just seat there and waiting for their 3.45 from MAGNUM
May 29 2008, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ May 29 2008, 02:21 PM) When they reached the mandatory take-over (owning more than 90%) then it will trigger automatically all remaning shareholders have to sell their shares to the party that privatise it disregard the reamaning 10% shareholders' wish. I have already posted the answer in #464 above.So by right, they will send the cheque for the privatisation offer and debit your shares in the CDS. But I have no experience regarding it. So don't know whether existing shareholders need to do anything, may be Iklatmy can give out more accruate information about privatisation deal. By right on paper, shareholders don't need to do anything. |
May 29 2008, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(lklatmy @ May 29 2008, 02:28 PM) Oppss, sorry didn't remember, will check back. Thanks.Somebody just make a wrong transaction in F&N, key in mistaken or what. Spotted because F&N is in my 'favourite page' list. This stock is around Rm9.00, somebody just sold 160 lots at 7.95. Force-sell also not like that mah. Those who bought instantly 10K+. Now back to 8.95. This post has been edited by cherroy: May 29 2008, 02:36 PM |
May 29 2008, 02:44 PM
Lock your profits before its too late!
May 29 2008, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ May 29 2008, 02:34 PM) Oppss, sorry didn't remember, will check back. Thanks. wow seriously?? the lucky bugger who grabbed it at 7.95 is laughing his ass out!!! Somebody just make a wrong transaction in F&N, key in mistaken or what. Spotted because F&N is in my 'favourite page' list. This stock is around Rm9.00, somebody just sold 160 lots at 7.95. Force-sell also not like that mah. Those who bought instantly 10K+. Now back to 8.95. |
May 29 2008, 02:52 PM
716 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
May 29 2008, 02:52 PM
162 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Penang |
QUOTE(cherroy @ May 29 2008, 03:34 PM) Oppss, sorry didn't remember, will check back. Thanks. I dont that people will get to buy at 7.95. It will be first person in next queue grab it... if the queue is at RM8.00 then it is sold at RM8.00... same goes to buyer. Will clear the first buy/sell queue first... just my understanding...Somebody just make a wrong transaction in F&N, key in mistaken or what. Spotted because F&N is in my 'favourite page' list. This stock is around Rm9.00, somebody just sold 160 lots at 7.95. Force-sell also not like that mah. Those who bought instantly 10K+. Now back to 8.95. |
May 29 2008, 02:53 PM
| Change to: | 0.0250sec