55 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

House of Westies, Owners of 'Small lions', share here.

Pennywise
post May 22 2009, 01:02 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(teaspoon.t @ May 22 2009, 11:19 AM)
Yes, they are siblings!  smile.gif

I got Heidi on 30th August 08. She was the only female westie puppy and the most active. I saw the litter on the 29th August... after some thought I got her the following day.
OMG!! Really small world! Or maybe the Westie community is small. I got Marquis on the 31st Aug.

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ May 22 2009, 11:38 AM)
do WESTIE will change his tooth ??
he is biting my clothes aggressively !
All dogs change teeth, it is normal but aggressively may be a behavior issue. Please correct him accordingly.
Christopher7
post May 22 2009, 01:23 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 22 2009, 02:02 PM)
OMG!! Really small world! Or maybe the Westie community is small. I got Marquis on the 31st Aug.
All dogs change teeth, it is normal but aggressively may be a behavior issue. Please correct him accordingly.
He will change teeth ??
what do i need to do if he change teeth ?
i correct him and he will do the same thing again ~
teaspoon.t
post May 22 2009, 03:04 PM

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ May 22 2009, 11:38 AM)
do WESTIE will change his tooth ??
he is biting my clothes aggressively !
Pets comes with giving a lot of TLC, attention and responsibilities.

Please dog proof your house... read some articles about it... you can google it. Example

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/1..._your_home.html

Also, give your doggie a chew chew toy... each time s/he starts to chew something ie your clothes/shoes,homework,newspaper/wallet etc, dont shout at them (cause you may encourage them to do it behind your back) but immediately take the item away and replace it with his/her chew chew toy. Also note: Raw hide is meant for chewing and not to be swallowed by doggies. If you doggie swallow it, may cause digestion problems. Once the hide is soft, remove it. (Suggestion: Let you doggie chew on carrots, cored apples etc. healthier and cleans teeth)

If they chew on furnitures (eg table leg), rub tiger balm/vicks on it and let them smell the tiget balm/vicks on your fingers, they dont like the eucalyptus smell.... he he he...

Dog-proof your house, dont leave items lying around for your doggie to chew... the only things lying on the floor should be your doggie and his toys.

This post has been edited by teaspoon.t: May 22 2009, 03:11 PM
Pennywise
post May 23 2009, 05:15 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ May 22 2009, 01:23 PM)
He will change teeth ??
what do i need to do if he change teeth ?
i correct him and he will do the same thing again ~
All dogs change their teeth once in their life time. You dont have to do anything and it's ok even if they eat their broken teeth. Nothing to worry about.
Correct him until he stop doing the same thing or provide him alternatives, like teaspoon advised, give him treats and toys!
angeline84ng
post May 27 2009, 08:54 AM

13 posts

I just gave my Shih Tzu a Westie haircut...Been more than a month nw..starts to grow longer d...Will do another haircut for him on Friday..

teaspoon.t
post May 27 2009, 10:48 AM

QUOTE(angeline84ng @ May 27 2009, 08:54 AM)

I just gave my Shih Tzu a Westie haircut...Been more than a month nw..starts to grow longer d...Will do another haircut for him on Friday..

Ha ha! I gave me Maltese a Westie haircut sometime back.... this is Sebastien with the westie haircut.

More pictures of Heidi

Christopher7
post May 28 2009, 02:51 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

ur maltese looks so evil ==" ( no offence )
teaspoon.t
post May 29 2009, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ May 28 2009, 02:51 PM)
ur maltese looks so evil ==" ( no offence )
Ha ha! Yes! Sebastien is very very cheeky! smile.gif
benjac
post Jun 6 2009, 02:51 AM

75 posts

i just found out from 1 of irene's buyers that her puppy died 2 weeks after collection. he was infected with canine distemper virus. the owner noticed the symptoms only after they reached KL.

after we exchanged stories, i found out that her puppy and scubby shared some health problems. too long story to write here.

if you have friends interested to buy her westies, ask them to think twice.

all puppies are cute, so why buy one with potential health problems? and not cheap - medical bill or the dog.

read from from this thread http://homeapet.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=...&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

This post has been edited by benjac: Jun 6 2009, 12:15 PM
joeylny
post Jun 7 2009, 04:25 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(benjac @ Jun 6 2009, 02:51 AM)
i just found out from 1 of irene's buyers that her puppy died 2 weeks after collection. he was infected with canine distemper virus. the owner noticed the symptoms only after they reached KL.

after we exchanged stories, i found out that her puppy and scubby shared some health problems. too long story to write here.

if you have friends interested to buy her westies, ask them to think twice.

all puppies are cute, so why buy one with potential health problems? and not cheap - medical bill or the dog.

read from from this thread http://homeapet.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=...&st=0&sk=t&sd=a
i am so sorry to hear about scubby..ive been following this thread for quite some time ..since u brought back scubby n see pictures of it grow bigger .. i even book mark irenes website considering to buy one from her when time is right but now i better think i shud look for a nother breeder d..

anybody know a good honest westie breeder with healthy westies ?
Jenn7912
post Jun 26 2009, 10:20 AM

hello all Westies' owners,

I am lucky to have found tis local Westies forum. Have been doing some research quite sometime before i decided to rare a dog. I'll be getting my puppy soon, a westie of course. icon_rolleyes.gif I m a new owner, dun have any experience in raising a westie.

Would appreciate it if you all could provide me some info before i bring him back home:-

1) Which brand of dog food is good for him? i heard from the pet shop owner, westie is allergy to chicken
2) Which shampoo shud i use to prevent skin prob?
3) Which type of toy shud i buy for him?
4) Wat kind of bed suits him the best?
5) How to prevent him from biting shoes and papers?
6) Wat kind of treats tht he loves?

thanks a bunch! smile.gif
Pennywise
post Jun 26 2009, 01:13 PM

5,796 posts

Hi there,

Welcome aboard!

1. Any brand of dog food will be fine for westies - go for more premium brand like Natural Balance, Evanger, Eaglepack, Innova, etc. Try to avoid Alpo, Science Diet and Pedigree.
2. All System #1 shampoo is good but skin prob is common in westie, so it may be unavoidable - much depends on luck. If your westie has skin disease, try with malaseb shampoo.
3. Any kind of toys will do them good - squeeky ones for them to play when they're on their own, rope to play tug of war and ball to learn how to fetch.
4. Instead of bed, I let my dogs sleep on the floor with a floormat. Younger ones live in a cage. Beds can some times be hot in our weather so I avoid them.
5. Patience - u need to take the shoes and paper to warn him whenever he bite. This one depends on you more than it depends on him. No one teach him, no one correct him, he will continue to do wrong only.
6. Any kind that smells good. Mine love JerHigh treats.

In fact, all your questions are not limited to only westie, it applies to all dogs. What matters most is that he's given lots of freedom to run and exercise, to play and have fun. Hope you can post up some photos when you buy one.

QUOTE(Jenn7912 @ Jun 26 2009, 10:20 AM)
hello all Westies' owners,

I am lucky to have found tis local Westies forum. Have been doing some research quite sometime before i decided to rare a dog. I'll be getting my puppy soon, a westie of course.  icon_rolleyes.gif I m a new owner, dun have any experience in raising a westie.

Would appreciate it if you all could provide me some info before i bring him back home:-

1) Which brand of dog food is good for him? i heard from the pet shop owner, westie is allergy to chicken
2) Which shampoo shud i use to prevent skin prob?
3) Which type of toy shud i buy for him?
4) Wat kind of bed suits him the best?
5) How to prevent him from biting shoes and papers?
6) Wat kind of treats tht he loves?

thanks a bunch!  smile.gif
Jenn7912
post Jun 26 2009, 03:29 PM

Hi PennyWise,

Thanks for your advises.. :-) it helps a lot as i am a first time owner.. i think i need to read more& prepare the needed stuffs before i get my westie...

i will be getting him the week after next, in fact he is currently 5 months old. He is a litter of Taiwan& Hungary line.. i love him becos he is so smart looking and energetic.. wat a healthy dog :-) will upload pics of him when i bring him home.

Thanks for sharing :-) Wish you&your westies have a fab weekend..

Cheers,
Jenn

ihawk98
post Jun 27 2009, 08:15 AM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

awesome! another westie owner!
davidyet
post Jun 28 2009, 05:26 PM

38 posts

Can I Know one Westie Market Price how much?

So jealous those are having it!!

really cute!!

What size normally it will grow till?

mthc
post Jul 1 2009, 05:09 AM

4,525 posts

How possible can we know whether a Westie is diseased or not? Will the pet shop owner speaks out the truth?

kvyeoh
post Jul 1 2009, 11:31 PM

72 posts

Hi all the Westie owners here,

I am so late to know about the thread for Westie in Malaysia. I had a westie too named Snowie and she is 3+ years old now. Here are some of her recent photos.

Kevin ")

Jenn7912
post Jul 2 2009, 11:53 AM

QUOTE(kvyeoh @ Jul 1 2009, 11:31 PM)

I am so late to know about the thread for Westie in Malaysia. I had a westie too named Snowie and she is 3+ years old now. Here are some of her recent photos.

Kevin ")
Your snowie is so cute..... very pretty gal.. thumbup.gif How do you take care of her fur until so soft& shiny?

Doraemon11
post Jul 2 2009, 12:15 PM

530 posts

Kevin ")
yawor... her fur look silky ler... so nice wub.gif
teaspoon.t
post Jul 2 2009, 01:09 PM

Kevin ")
She is a sweetheart!

55 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:59 PM