wish to have one too!
House of Westies, Owners of 'Small lions', share here.
Oct 18 2008, 05:42 PM
246 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
westies are cuteee !
wish to have one too! |
Oct 18 2008, 07:21 PM
5,796 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Oct 18 2008, 02:11 AM) WAT!!! 7-10 kg could be de!!??? ahaha Casper and Moonie is about 8 - 10kg, not sure. Rarely weigh them, but it's around there la. NB kibble smaller than 10 cent coin meh? I see like quite big so I didnt feed it to Marquis. He's still eating those small small biji from Eukanuba. Small boy, small mouth, small kibble.Pennywise.. u dnt kidding and play play ha.... heheehe I just measure NB kibble jor.. it's slighly smaller den 10cents coin only ha... QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Oct 18 2008, 04:57 PM) wah pennywise, thank for the sms alert. didn't know that there are more Westie owners now. Welcome. Yup, thread's getting alive and many ppl are coming in and out to leave a post or two. very cool! about the kibbles, buffy's skin problem was still an issue so i switched from Royal Canin (chicken) to Nutro Lamb and Rice for many months, and now Natural Balance Potato and Duck. if the duck oso susah, then she gonna get vegetarian food liao. How bad is Buffy skin problem? I think larryho's Casper also same case. You can speak to him to see if he has any kibbles to recommend you. I've never tried Royal Canin (due to its expensive) nor Nutro Lamb before. Lamb for Buffy also problem? Can also try Eaglepack fish and berries one la. Should be ok right? QUOTE(joeycheong23 @ Oct 18 2008, 05:42 PM) Yup there are. Dont wish, just go buy. Is that a westie in your avatar? |
Oct 18 2008, 07:41 PM
121 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Ampang, Selangor |
QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Oct 18 2008, 04:57 PM) wah pennywise, thank for the sms alert. didn't know that there are more Westie owners now. ihawk...if the problem persis, try Eagle Pack Salmon...it works out quite fine for my Casper and the doctor also said there's improvement once he changed to this new food.very cool! about the kibbles, buffy's skin problem was still an issue so i switched from Royal Canin (chicken) to Nutro Lamb and Rice for many months, and now Natural Balance Potato and Duck. if the duck oso susah, then she gonna get vegetarian food liao. Anyway, now im back...i hope Casper will be in good shape soon. I'll take a few pics and show u all wat his skin probs looks like and i hope all westies owners will be aware of that. This post has been edited by larryho: Oct 18 2008, 07:45 PM |
Oct 18 2008, 07:46 PM
larryho,
The Eaglepack salmon is with berries one is it? |
Oct 18 2008, 07:46 PM
Can someone teach me how to quote a sentence?
Added on October 18, 2008, 7:47 pm QUOTE(Pennywise @ Oct 18 2008, 07:46 PM) Nope...its without berries.Added on October 18, 2008, 7:51 pmThis are the details of the food, Brand: Eagle Pack Title: Holistic Select Ingredients: Anchovy, Sardine & Salmon meal formula with oatmeal I choose this food is because its fish and fishes are very less injected with genetic or hormon. Compared to Beef and Chicken, most farmers will jab their animals with hormon or genetic medicine for them to grow faster for production and the side effect aren't really good for our dogs. Lamb and rice are good choices for dogs but if our dogs are not improving in their skin condition after taking lamb and rice, then its time to change to another food. Previously Casper was taking lamb and rice aso, but it din show good effect on his skin. So now i've changed to Eagle Pack and its doing quite good. This post has been edited by larryho: Oct 18 2008, 07:58 PM |
Oct 18 2008, 08:27 PM
1,575 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Singapore, Chicago, Appleton WI, Bangkok, KL |
to larryho and pennywise:
i tried Avoderm Trout flavor for Buffy....she don't like to eat and eat already diahorrea and soft stools. so means she does not like fish flavor so i will skip the salmon thanks. that's why i tried potato and duck next.... |
Oct 19 2008, 01:01 AM
QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Oct 18 2008, 08:27 PM) to larryho and pennywise: oic...then try out the duck and potato then, c how it goes. If its good for Buffy then better continue on that. Let us knw what is the outcome ok.i tried Avoderm Trout flavor for Buffy....she don't like to eat and eat already diahorrea and soft stools. so means she does not like fish flavor so i will skip the salmon thanks. that's why i tried potato and duck next.... |
Oct 19 2008, 01:09 AM
530 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Hey fren.. seen like westie very common on skin prob? How could it occur de? Is coz of westie genetic or our country weather to make it happen de?? How could prevent it?
Oct 19 2008, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Oct 18 2008, 08:27 PM) to larryho and pennywise: Oh I see, there's Evanger's Pheasant and brown rice as well. Just a suggestion to keep your options open.i tried Avoderm Trout flavor for Buffy....she don't like to eat and eat already diahorrea and soft stools. so means she does not like fish flavor so i will skip the salmon thanks. that's why i tried potato and duck next.... |
Oct 19 2008, 01:55 AM
841 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Oct 19 2008, 01:09 AM) Hey fren.. seen like westie very common on skin prob? How could it occur de? Is coz of westie genetic or our country weather to make it happen de?? How could prevent it? We have 3 westie of our own but none of them have skin problem. So not sure whether it's genetic or not but i guess maybe due to the environment. |
Oct 19 2008, 03:30 AM
QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Oct 19 2008, 01:09 AM) Hey fren.. seen like westie very common on skin prob? How could it occur de? Is coz of westie genetic or our country weather to make it happen de?? How could prevent it? 1st of all, its also due to environment and the other is genetic from their parents or grandparents or anchestors. Previously when my casper was at overseas with cooling environment, he does not have any probs wit his skin. But once he came to m'sia for like 6mths+, his skin started to get probs and we were not so aware of it coz westies was new to us. After some time, it gets worst and v started to find out wat was the main prob. So its inherited and also due to environment issue. Westies are preferred at a cooling atmosphere rather than hot. Exercise and constant grooming for westies are also essential. Try not to giv them eat alot of yeast content food such as bread. The main issue of westies skin prob is yeast infection.My casper is already 8yrs wit us and it makes me understand about tis breed alot and i've read many books and info about this dogs. Mostly i'll spend alot of my time grooming and playing around with them. This post has been edited by larryho: Oct 19 2008, 03:32 AM |
Oct 19 2008, 07:28 AM
15 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
wondering whether i should get a westie abroad then bring it back??
Oct 19 2008, 09:54 AM
Oct 19 2008, 07:40 PM
15 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
this may be totally trivial but are there any good westie breeders in kl? and around how much will they cost me to get a pup?
Oct 19 2008, 08:16 PM
530 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Every single cents u paid for the quanlity.. How much ur budget??
Oct 19 2008, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(greenpeas @ Oct 19 2008, 07:40 PM) this may be totally trivial but are there any good westie breeders in kl? and around how much will they cost me to get a pup? Got plenty la friend. I've seen westie from the price of 1.5k to 5k. Haha... like asked, how much is your budget? Westie arent that difficult to find these days.This post has been edited by Pennywise: Oct 19 2008, 10:25 PM |
Oct 20 2008, 02:05 AM
QUOTE(greenpeas @ Oct 19 2008, 07:40 PM) this may be totally trivial but are there any good westie breeders in kl? and around how much will they cost me to get a pup? Frankly speaking...i've haven seen any really nice breed or considered as a standard westie breed with show quality over here in KL, but im not very familiar with westies breeder around in KL also. Mayb there are good breeders around as pennywise said but its good to ask him where to get good westies coz he already has 3. Westies are really very common now in M'sia but to really find a perfect 1 its really hard. Thats why its depend on ur budget also and the demand you want. It you are goin to take a westie as a show dog, then you must really search properly. |
Oct 20 2008, 12:56 PM
Depends on what kind of quality he is looking for. Westie breeder is getting more common these days and to find one that's nice is not impossible. To find one with quality of those in Scotland may be tough la.
How much is the buyer willing to pay is often the question. For me, I feel Marquis is the nicest among my 3 westies, but he's RM3k. Will you pay more than that to get those like Scotland quality? You should speak to ihawk98 on where and how much he got Sparky. Sparky build is different, more macho, head also bigger. This post has been edited by Pennywise: Oct 20 2008, 01:09 PM |
Oct 20 2008, 05:35 PM
Well...i would like to share wit u all a westie breeder in the UK, all of their westies are really top quality westies and their pups also look damn adorable. Im keeping contact with them and planning to get one of their pups back in m'sia. check out the website below.
http://www.hariwest.co.uk/ One thing that breeders over here and europe are different is the pedigree...european dogs with pedigree are mostly show dogs and those dogs with lesser standard aren't given the title as pedigreed dog. So in order to get a pedigree in europe, the pup muz have high standard oni it is entitle to get it. |
Oct 20 2008, 07:37 PM
75 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
hi westie owners!
we (ben & jaclyn) will soon be a westie parent. our little boy is currently at 6 weeks old and is still with the breeder. after seeing the dam and sire, we totally recommend to any westie lover. QUOTE(greenpeas @ Oct 19 2008, 07:40 PM) this may be totally trivial but are there any good westie breeders in kl? and around how much will they cost me to get a pup? if you don't mind the travel up north to penang, you can check out irene's westies. we went to see her puppies last month and totally fell in love at first sight! we're just counting the days now to bring him home!! you can check out her website at http://www.freewebs.com/starhillkennel/westies.htm do you guys do any furkids get together? we would love our little boy to socialize with other westies. who knows, they could be some long lost cousins This post has been edited by benjac: Oct 20 2008, 07:38 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0261sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:45 AM |