House of Westies, Owners of 'Small lions', share here.

benjac
post Apr 22 2009, 07:01 PM

75 posts

here's how scubby looks like now wub.gif

this was taken last month - he's 6mths here. i'm not sure if this is his full size, hopefully he doesn't grow anymore tongue.gif currently 3.88kg

this was taken yesterday. he doesn't fight the cone and lets me wear it easily. he'll need to wear it for another 10 days until his sutures are removed next week.

This post has been edited by benjac: Apr 22 2009, 07:01 PM
benjac
post Apr 23 2009, 12:00 AM

75 posts

i never wrote about scubby tip-toeing before because it never occurs to us that it was a problem.

irene did not point a gun to our heads, we bought scubby because we liked ozzy and christy. we didn't even mind that we cannot choose. it is very bad business etiquette to LIE to your customers. promising HEAVEN and EARTH that your dogs are TOP quality and WITHOUT health problems. you can promise, but first, you should check and make sure what you say is true.

she lied about pinky. why she lied i do not know, but the fact that she lied. and this is only one of the many others, which i'm quite upset to write about. of course all these lies, i found out after bringing scubby home. one by one she change her words when i asked her later. we tolerated with it and even remained in contact. i still send her photos of scubby update every week until he was 5mths old. but now, I THINK NOT!

it is the decisions of other buyers if they want to buy her puppies. i'm just doing my part to inform who i can. she should not be breeding ozzy and christy anymore because they carry this gene. it is really irresponsible and will cause great pain to both the dog and owner.

1) physical pain -- the dog would be in pain everytime it walks, and can no longer run freely.
2) emotional pain -- which owner wants to see their dog's in pain? wouldn't the dog also be moody because it cannot move freely?
3) financial constraint -- the supplements that the dog needs to take forever is not cheap. surgery is not guaranteed successful.

when the buying stops, this irresponsible act will stop too...

This post has been edited by benjac: Apr 23 2009, 12:26 AM
benjac
post Apr 23 2009, 03:43 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Apr 23 2009, 03:26 PM)
Complicated =="
life is complicated. else it wouldn't be called LIFE icon_rolleyes.gif

so when are you bringing your westie back?
benjac
post Apr 23 2009, 05:18 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Apr 23 2009, 05:06 PM)
Petcare vet reli cant hope... after my 2nd visit i alrd give up.
I been bringing my white poodle for vacin, that dr grace written on my boy's medical card ~ breed column there "West Highland Terrier".............. shocking.gif  shocking.gif
Petcare really is a vet that DRINK BLOOD lo.

when i bring scubby back from Penang, he already have puppy rash problem (pimple everywhere on the body) and ear infection. i went to petcare more than 8x also cannot cure. finally only 1mth ago, it went away!

so which vet you go now? i drive all the way to PJ also dun mind because the vet there is good.
benjac
post Apr 23 2009, 09:19 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(pet@icon @ Apr 23 2009, 09:07 PM)
By the way, where do you groom ur Westie? Very sparse hair...!
i groom him in my bathroom...

benjac
post Apr 23 2009, 10:24 PM

75 posts

i'll bring him for professional groomer when his fur is long enough for westie cut. currently i only trim between his eyes, his paw pads, sanitary areas and tail. so i can do all that in the toilet lo biggrin.gif

i'm looking around for groomer that can do a good westie cut. too many sad story of lousy grooming result but still need to pay. sommore after that need to wait for the fur to grow back...

Added on April 23, 2009, 10:25 pm
QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Apr 23 2009, 09:49 PM)
Izzit normal that Westie like to " JUMP " instead of run normally ??
I afraid that my Westie leg got problemĀ  cry.gif
don't be scared yet ok.

before this i hear all the scary skin problem story here, and i ask irene if her westies got this problem. and she promised me don't have. but now i also scared because dunno can believe her or not... cry.gif

This post has been edited by benjac: Apr 23 2009, 10:26 PM
benjac
post Jun 6 2009, 02:51 AM

75 posts

i just found out from 1 of irene's buyers that her puppy died 2 weeks after collection. he was infected with canine distemper virus. the owner noticed the symptoms only after they reached KL.

after we exchanged stories, i found out that her puppy and scubby shared some health problems. too long story to write here.

if you have friends interested to buy her westies, ask them to think twice.

all puppies are cute, so why buy one with potential health problems? and not cheap - medical bill or the dog.

read from from this thread http://homeapet.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=...&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

This post has been edited by benjac: Jun 6 2009, 12:15 PM
benjac
post Jul 7 2009, 07:11 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(huffpuffpuffy @ Jul 7 2009, 06:43 PM)
However, Puffy do have seborrhea, and for westie's, i've read, it is a genetic disease.
Puffy have seborrhea? I have an email from Irene below confirming that her dogs is free from skin problems vmad.gif

Subject: Re: Westie Photo
Date: Thursday, October 30, 2008, 12:10 AM

Hi Jaclyn,

No, both parents have no history of skin problem.

See you soon,
Irene

Irene Kang is just full of lies!

I hope Scubby will not suffer the same fate. Having suspected Canine Hip Dysplasia is already bad enough cry.gif
benjac
post Sep 1 2009, 03:01 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(huffpuffpuffy @ Aug 31 2009, 06:25 PM)
before this he wasnt taking any medication just omega fatty acids oil and supplements to boost his immune system, i also shower him with malaseb twice a week cause the vet said that he has sebborrhea. he only took had skin infections and had to take antibiotics to control it and that was a couple of months back

a couple of weeks ago when i came back from my trip he had skin very bad skin infection and scabs collected at the end of his ears, i brought him to a different vet cause it is nearer can i couldnt wait already. the vet said that he has mange, so now he is on antibiotics and mange medication. hopefully the mange medication works and he wouldnt have any more skin infections after this sad.gif

i am monitoring his food, i changed his food from the normal eukanuba puppy food to lamb and rice puppy food. hopefully he will be better

and yes i got him from irene
it's so sad to know that puffy's skin problem has not gotten better since we last chat. do you want to try bringing him to gasing veterinary hospital? we went to see dr lim chee kin before and he is very detailed and knowledgeable. call first and check if he is working, the hospital open everyday. 03 7782 3553.

hopefully puffy's condition will get better as he grows older. don't feed eukanuba because this brand is not good. their ingredients are filled with fillers and rubbishes. we feed scubby natural balance or avoderm. you can find more details here http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/

scubby is turning 1 next week! he has grown up into a very handsome boy. i have not taken any new pictures of him, but hopefully will get around to do it soon and post some up smile.gif
benjac
post Sep 1 2009, 05:09 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(larryho @ Sep 1 2009, 03:40 PM)
Turning 1 week...wooow, becoming younger eh. How u turn back his time ah?
blush.gif

Added on September 1, 2009, 5:25 pm
QUOTE(huffpuffpuffy @ Sep 1 2009, 03:59 PM)
yea Puffy was diagnose to have demodex mites by the 2nd vet i brought him to. after his first round of antibiotics, he had an outbreak and now he is on his second round of antibiotics. i am worried that one day these stupid bacteria or fungus will overcome the antibiotics (that doesnt do much harm to his body), i will need to start giving him antibiotics that will harm his body sad.gif

so now he is on his mange medication, i hope he will be much better if this medication works.

did you find benzoyl peroxide better than malaseb? cause i think malaseb is not really working for Puffy.

its good to hear Casper skin condition is under control. i hope one day Puffy will too.
I can so relate to what you mean by being the personal doctor hahaha cause everyday when i get home after work when i am playing with thim i will check and see if got anything unusual happening on his body or not.

my next biggest problem now is tht Puffy eats his own shit and lick his own pee sleep.gif"

Added on September 1, 2009, 4:19 pm

Hi Jac

yea i think i am going to consider bringing him to the gasing vet hospital, my friend who has a min. shz. recommended to me too.

i hope puffy gets better too. my first vet recommended for me to change to the lamb and rice formula first, if it doesnt work i will need to change puffy's food to fish base food. so now still experimenting which type of food will suite him better. i read from your blog on the dog food analysis and i saw the review on eukanuba before. dont think the lamb and rice is good for him cause his outbreak was bad this time

time really flies smile.gif Scubby is 1 yr old already!
hurry up post more new pictures of him, i miss looking at Scubby's pictures u post smile.gif
puffy's condition sounds so serious. i hope it doesn't turned out to be like Casper's sad.gif

did you try asking irene kang about this? if any of her other puppies from puffy's batch suffers the same condition? actually after reading about puffy, i am also fearing that scubby might suddenly develop this if it is genetic.

i've been scubby's personal nurse since the day we brought him back. he had so much pimples on his entire body and ear infection that it took 4mths to clear. hopefully it would NOT be the same for puffy. blush.gif

oh no! why is puffy eating and licking his own business? sad.gif

This post has been edited by benjac: Sep 1 2009, 05:47 PM
benjac
post Sep 9 2009, 03:52 PM

75 posts

Scubby's big day is here and he is ONE today! wub.gif

For more photos, you can visit his Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kuala-Lumpur...or/115099831286

Don't forget to be a fan! rclxms.gif

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0382sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:28 AM