56 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Movies AVATAR Movie: Discussion Thread, Trilogy Plan | Next Release: August 24th

gstoh
post Dec 21 2009, 02:31 AM

INTJ
1,282 posts

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Dec 20 2009, 06:15 PM)
Never explained what that unobtanium was capable of which made it so valuable.
if not mistaken, it is an anti-gravity mineral biggrin.gif ...
RoxyGal
post Dec 21 2009, 02:36 AM

٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶ Im roxygal ٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶
1,031 posts

should make the sequel this way...

50 years after the human was sent back the earth... The earth new order sent full army and WMD to pandora...Jake getting old and he has a son..but the son grows up to be on the bad side.

stories goes on..... as earth dun have any plant left..the stories will end when the war is won and the plant from pandora is brought back to earth..

V3nz
post Dec 21 2009, 02:38 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

Do i choose 3d or non-3d when watching Avatar?

never try 3d before...
MaggieMee
post Dec 21 2009, 02:58 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(gstoh @ Dec 21 2009, 02:31 AM)
if not mistaken, it is an anti-gravity mineral biggrin.gif ...
its actually a super-conductor material, as said in the making of stuff...
defaultname365
post Dec 21 2009, 03:04 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Wow! Worldwide gross (domestic + international) is at $232 million!

In just 3 days !

http://www.boxofficemojo.com/movies/?id=avatar.htm

rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Dec 21 2009, 03:05 AM
[LinkZ]
post Dec 21 2009, 03:24 AM

645 posts

Avatar song sang by Leona Lewis! Enjoy!

crashoverride
post Dec 21 2009, 04:41 AM

361 posts

quote from some guy who posted a comment on roger ebert's site.

What I don't understand from other reviews I've read is complaints that the story and ending are "predictable".
Really? You mean when you saw Star Wars and the Death Star was introduced as the ultimate weapon of the bad guys and Luke Skywalker is introduced as the protagonist that it was a complete surprise to you at the end when Luke blew it up?
People who only pay attention to the endings and story mechanics of movies and expect some Shyamalan-esque twist miss the entire point. It's the whole experience and the story-telling that matters.

P.S. - I don't think the fact that the ending to Titanic was spoiled affected it negatively in any way.

=D. This is why Quetin Tarantino and Martin Scorsese are great directors. It's the whole experience and the story-telling that matters.

This post has been edited by crashoverride: Dec 21 2009, 04:42 AM
QuickFire
post Dec 21 2009, 07:25 AM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

That's what I've been saying all along. A simple story is inconsequential as long as the movie rises above it.
Makakeke
post Dec 21 2009, 08:47 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 21 2009, 07:25 AM)
That's what I've been saying all along. A simple story is inconsequential as long as the movie rises above it.
But Avatar didn't do it for me. In Star Wars, even the escort of Chewbacca to the prison was suspenseful as hell, the motorbike chase in T2, etc greatly affected the whole movie and the characters. In that aspect, Cameron decides to boast the CGI effects with the beautiful Eywa, the plants, animals, so on and that by itself was amazing. He didn't do much to the characters, everything seem so convenient...

I should be watching it for a second time next week maybe. Let's see if my opinion changes.
QuickFire
post Dec 21 2009, 08:55 AM

2,867 posts

You're talking about suspense, but Avatar is not chiefly about suspense, although it has it as well. Just let the world of Pandora envelope you, do not attempt to notice the story mechanics, and let Pandora itself tell the story. Everything just flows from there. At least that's how I view it.
satsugai
post Dec 21 2009, 09:01 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 21 2009, 08:55 AM)
You're talking about suspense, but Avatar is not chiefly about suspense, although it has it as well. Just let the world of Pandora envelope you, do not attempt to notice the story mechanics, and let Pandora itself tell the story. Everything just flows from there. At least that's how I view it.
the world of pandora enveloped me only initially, and maybe a lil bit in the middle, the tiger thingy chase scene and the bird taming scene, ouh and which the taming of the gigantic pterodactyl scene was longer; would have been f***ing awesome.

personally it was hard not to notice the story mechanics cos the acting and the storyline felt lacking.

will also give it a second viewing to see if my opinion changes XD
gotta get better seats this time XD
Acethriller
post Dec 21 2009, 10:07 AM

146 posts

Awesome movie! The experience and the story is superb. I walked out feeling good, entertained and make my day!
nowadays few movies make you come out cinema feeling good and the feel good lingers on for some time....

Planing to watch again...yaya
laowai
post Dec 21 2009, 10:15 AM

490 posts

No english subs at all. Just malay subs mad.gif

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Dec 21 2009, 12:46 AM)
i also did the same thing, try to catch the holy spirit~

Added on December 21, 2009, 12:48 am
u serious?

When we watch 3D, there is no subtitles, but only for alien language.
QuickFire
post Dec 21 2009, 10:15 AM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(satsugai @ Dec 21 2009, 09:01 AM)
the world of pandora enveloped me only initially, and maybe a lil bit in the middle, the tiger thingy chase scene and the bird taming scene, ouh and which the taming of the gigantic pterodactyl scene was longer; would have been f***ing awesome.

personally it was hard not to notice the story mechanics cos the acting and the storyline felt lacking.

will also give it a second viewing to see if my opinion changes XD
gotta get better seats this time XD
Haha nevermind la... it's fine if you don't like the movie. I dont want to be accused of trying to imprint my experience on others. laugh.gif
satsugai
post Dec 21 2009, 10:19 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 21 2009, 10:15 AM)
Haha nevermind la... it's fine if you don't like the movie. I dont want to be accused of trying to imprint my experience on others.  laugh.gif
tis kay, i enjoy pointless/endless arguments over the internet where both sides(one being mine) are stubborn bastards who will never change their mind.

holidays... watchu gonna do.... tongue.gif
feizaiII
post Dec 21 2009, 10:21 AM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

So bad.. wanted to watch 3D, but no subtitle for it..
QuickFire
post Dec 21 2009, 10:31 AM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(satsugai @ Dec 21 2009, 10:19 AM)
tis kay, i enjoy pointless/endless arguments over the internet where both sides(one being mine) are stubborn bastards who will never change their mind.

holidays... watchu gonna do.... tongue.gif
lol I'm at work. Just argued with a colleage who thinks the 3D is not syok because "they never keep throwing stuff at the audience. Like that 3D where got nice?"
satsugai
post Dec 21 2009, 10:34 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 21 2009, 10:31 AM)
lol I'm at work. Just argued with a colleage who thinks the 3D is not syok because "they never keep throwing stuff at the audience. Like that 3D where got nice?"
lmfao XDDDD best argument against 3D i've heard so far XDDDDDDDDDDDD
feizaiII
post Dec 21 2009, 10:35 AM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

i not understand..
mrhulk
post Dec 21 2009, 10:36 AM

131 posts

5/5. A perfect simple sci-fi movie. If you are a sci-fi fan, the movie is worth of your money.

My 2009 film review:
D9>Avatar>Star Trek>>Twilight:New Moon>>>Storm Warrior>Transformers 2 (i want my money back).

This post has been edited by mrhulk: Dec 21 2009, 10:37 AM

56 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:03 AM