ARGHHH... My screen has cracked

TShoulierr
post May 20 2008, 07:49 PM, updated 18y ago

139 posts

My iPhone fell and the screen has cracked up.
Can the screen be changed here or does the Apple warranty cover this by any chance?
sad.gif

llllll
post May 20 2008, 07:55 PM

284 posts

screen cracked=gone.. sad.gif

if u in US they can replace another brand new iphone...in Malaysia ....then sweat.gif

you can replace the screen,it cost around RM1K rclxub.gif
gidlcin
post May 20 2008, 08:34 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(houlierr @ May 20 2008, 07:49 PM)
Can the screen be changed here or does the Apple warranty cover this by any chance?
sad.gif
well there is 2 ways u can try.. bring ur iphone to any apple store or those officially one..
cause i heard from my friend..although ur phone is in malaysia..u just need to restore it back and bring it to apple store in malaysia..they might be able to help u sent it back to US..(this method is not 100% guarantee)
another solution is..look around or try ur luck in lowyat..screen might be able to get but it might cost u Rm600~1k

stephentang
post May 20 2008, 09:14 PM

211 posts

sad.gif
cry.gif Sorry to hear that... you will either find a replacement screen or better buy a new iphone and sell the rest of your iphone as spare parts...
d@odao
post May 20 2008, 09:47 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

sad.gif
check here...
http://mobile.brando.com.hk/prod_detail.php?prod_id=03030

ff8ong
post May 20 2008, 09:49 PM

2,550 posts

How you drop the iphone?very high force?
wilson88
post May 20 2008, 10:03 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(gidlcin @ May 20 2008, 08:34 PM)
well there is 2 ways u can try.. bring ur iphone to any apple store or those officially one..
cause i heard from my friend..although ur phone is in malaysia..u just need to restore it back and bring it to apple store in malaysia
..they might be able to help u sent it back to US..(this method is not 100% guarantee)
another solution is..look around or try ur luck in lowyat..screen might be able to get but it might cost u Rm600~1k
Apple Malaysia will not accept iPhones because it is a regional warranty product.
Voonz
post May 21 2008, 02:04 AM

701 posts

welcome to the club. last i checked was around 500 DIY
ferricide
post May 21 2008, 05:14 AM

Mercenary
638 posts

500? Wow, i guess iPhone users really have to pay thru their noses for any LCD damage
TShoulierr
post May 21 2008, 02:29 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ May 20 2008, 09:47 PM)
Thanks for the link.
Am doing a bit of reasearch of them before deciding to purchase.

Added on May 21, 2008, 2:30 pm
QUOTE(ff8ong @ May 20 2008, 09:49 PM)
How you drop the iphone?very high force?
Was on my lap in the car and fell front faced onto the road when I got out.
This was only the second time it was without the cover and this had to happen.....

Added on May 21, 2008, 2:33 pm
QUOTE(Voonz @ May 21 2008, 02:04 AM)
welcome to the club. last i checked was around 500 DIY
Hi Voonz, where did you get this price? Online store or a shop here?

This post has been edited by houlierr: May 21 2008, 02:33 PM
frozzbyte
post May 21 2008, 02:43 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

Thats why my switcheasy capsule now is a part of the phone. Just like venom in spiderman. Ehehehehehe. Can never live apart.
llllll
post May 21 2008, 02:47 PM

284 posts

please listen to my advice,it's not recomended to DIY because the difficulties to replace the LCD.

please look for professional to do it.
frozzbyte
post May 21 2008, 02:49 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

Even I open the case and replace the battery oso feels like hell. If don't have the proper tool then better not attempt to do it yourself.
tayhaithian
post May 21 2008, 02:53 PM

460 posts

lol 500 ... rather get a brand new phone .
ferricide
post May 21 2008, 03:01 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

Yeah, but thats already 1.5k down the drain man... might as well cough up 500 more to repair IF POSSIBLE.
shinyshampoo
post May 21 2008, 03:02 PM

285 posts

maybe another option is if the phone still working, u can sell it off and get a new one lo... coz i dun think DIY is a good idea.. you might have butterfinger and spoil it again...

who knows rite? just my 2cent.. touching a wounded patient is not a good idea unless you're a doctor..
d3vilzzzz
post May 21 2008, 03:03 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

y dun u check with sonnettech??

he is da guy for replacement parts when its anything to do with ipods
Moonflown
post May 21 2008, 06:12 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

I dont think its as cheap as 500. It's a touch sensitive screen so it will be quite expensive. Furthermore you're not repairing it in US.
ldragon
post May 21 2008, 07:17 PM

1,026 posts

can buy the spare parts thru this web:

iPhone Replacement LCD Display with Touch Panel
http://mobile.brando.com.hk/prod_detail.ph...id=&cat_id=0696

iPhone Opening Tools Kit
http://mobile.brando.com.hk/prod_detail.ph...id=&cat_id=0995

Courier charges is only USD3

This post has been edited by ldragon: May 21 2008, 07:19 PM
terencetoo
post May 21 2008, 08:40 PM

3,246 posts

emm iPhone screen is not build from TFT screen layer then another coated with glass?

when reading through this thread, i realise not only the body need to protect...even the screen as well..gosh i felt sorry for u mate....

y not u wait awhile singapore will be having iPhone soon .....1 2 try the luck there?

0.0161sec    0.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:50 AM