QUOTE(marvintwj @ Jul 4 2008, 03:26 AM)
Hmm, not too sure. I think that would be me. But it's just my personal opinion.
Hmm, you slowly scan the whole thread and see if anyone is insulting you. No? Oh dear me, that just leaves me as the lone suspect. I'm sure even with your standard 3 level of education, you can put 2 and 2 to make 4. Or can you? But, it's ok. I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and I'll be kind to dumb animals by not proving my point any further. I can't possibly make you look any stupider then you currently are already.
Yes, of course Sanction speaks for everyone. Sanction's word is the law. Sanction this, Sanction that. No wonder name also sanction la, if anyone wants to breathe in blitz, need you to sanction that action, ya? Well, Sanction can go f*** himself for all I care. Nobody I know really gives two hoots about you.
Yah, they are bullshit to you cause you have the mentality and the brains of a 9 year old.
Haha, and btw, seriously, even before the flame war begun, you've always been the noobest member of [ESP] . You couldn't knife me while I'm stunned and blinded. And correct me if I'm wrong, but you have the propensity to act big and important, no? Boy, just because your mother doesn't give you a curfew, it doesn't make you an adult. Capish, boy?
Now now.. stop being a troll. Besides, the person who asked the question is no longer here i believe. Hmm, you slowly scan the whole thread and see if anyone is insulting you. No? Oh dear me, that just leaves me as the lone suspect. I'm sure even with your standard 3 level of education, you can put 2 and 2 to make 4. Or can you? But, it's ok. I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and I'll be kind to dumb animals by not proving my point any further. I can't possibly make you look any stupider then you currently are already.
Yes, of course Sanction speaks for everyone. Sanction's word is the law. Sanction this, Sanction that. No wonder name also sanction la, if anyone wants to breathe in blitz, need you to sanction that action, ya? Well, Sanction can go f*** himself for all I care. Nobody I know really gives two hoots about you.
Yah, they are bullshit to you cause you have the mentality and the brains of a 9 year old.
Haha, and btw, seriously, even before the flame war begun, you've always been the noobest member of [ESP] . You couldn't knife me while I'm stunned and blinded. And correct me if I'm wrong, but you have the propensity to act big and important, no? Boy, just because your mother doesn't give you a curfew, it doesn't make you an adult. Capish, boy?
This kind of behaviour is what i want to change in gamers, trolls and flamers. You see, insult on the internet has no particular value, you can say what you want and have no effect what so ever, from personal experience.
When you want a point taken into consideration, take it out verbally because from what i see from this thread is a bunch of trolls flinging axes around. What does a troll mean? You're clearly a human, yes. But a troll in internet terms is "someone who posts controversial and usually irrelevant or off-topic messages in an online community, such as an online discussion forum or chat room, with the intention of baiting other users into an emotional response or to generally disrupt normal on-topic discussion."
Judith Donath (1999) first documented this practice of "trolling", who used several anecdotal examples from various Usenet newsgroups in her discussion. Donald's paper outlines the difference between real communities and "virtual communities"
"In the physical world there is an inherent unity to the self, for the body provides a compelling and convenient definition of identity. The norm is: one body, one identity. ... The virtual world is different. It is composed of information rather than matter."
Which in laymans terms mean regardsless of who you say you are, you are still a virtual entity online, which means you can pretend to be someone or on the pretext of being "helpful" be otherwise destructive.
Donath provides a concise overview of identity deception games which trade on the confusion between physical and epistemic community:
Trolling is a game about identity deception, albeit one that is played without the consent of most of the players. The troll attempts to pass as a legitimate participant, sharing the group's common interests and concerns; the newsgroups members, if they are cognizant of trolls and other identity deceptions, attempt to both distinguish real from trolling postings, and upon judging a poster a troll, make the offending poster leave the group. Their success at the former depends on how well they — and the troll — understand identity cues; their success at the latter depends on whether the troll's enjoyment is sufficiently diminished or outweighed by the costs imposed by the group.
Trolls can be costly in several ways. A troll can disrupt the discussion on a newsgroup, disseminate bad advice, and damage the feeling of trust in the newsgroup community. Furthermore, in a group that has become sensitized to trolling — where the rate of deception is high — many honestly naïve questions may be quickly rejected as trollings. This can be quite off-putting to the new user who upon venturing a first posting is immediately bombarded with angry accusations. Even if the accusation is unfounded, being branded a troll is quite damaging to one's online reputation." (Donath, 1999, p. 45)[1]
marvintwj, with all due respect you are not helping the poor sod who first asked the question about muzzle flash, instead you chose to OUTLINE other users and readers before you answered him. Although your outline was taken as borderline flame, it wouldn't be if you were close to the readers. But your sudden appearence in the thread to with written slangs "what's so farking cute" to people you don't really know, makes you a troll. It is therefore a natural response of active members to be defensive towards your behaviour, regardless if you did not mean to offend them in the first place.
From the explanation above im sure you can identify which part is considered a bait and which part consists of a flame. But for reference i will identify them for you.
Your first reply or post was on 20th June 2008 saying "mmmmzzz...who cant play for this coming tourney ar? if death susu sanction hayabusa all can play...wah then sien lor..duwan join "
This isnt an issue since you were pretty much on topic.
Your next reply was on 1st of July, pages later saying "What so farking cute about this reply? I mean, I dunno about you la, but I wasnt born with the ability to play CoD4 instantaneously. He already said he's noob, means new player la. I dont see the "cuteness" in it. If you're not gonna help him, don't humiliate and deflate people, can? And IMHO, training doesnt make the muzzle flash go away, although it helps you get used to it.
And btw, johnnycp, use silencer, use a different weapon or watch for the mini crosshair that appears when you hit something. Thats all I can offer.
In response to this post by JohnnyCP
"dear COD4 pro,
i need some help here, whenever i fire ma gunz. the muzzleflash are too huge
and blocking my vision. It really disrupt my aiming. Kindly advice.
TQ
From,
COD4 NoobAss
I will identify the baits for you.
1. BAIT - "What's so farking cute about this reply? I mean, I dunno about you la, but i wasn't born with the ability to play COD4 Instantaneously"
Why is this a bait? - You stayed on topic but you no longer attempted to answer the question. Instead, you chose to find fault in another users post, indirectly throwing an insult infront of the multitudes of people reading.
2. BAIT - "He already said he's noob, means new player la."
Why is this a bait? - You are reassuring JohnnyCP that he is a noob, whereas the question he posted had nothing to do with restating such. This was completely irrelavant to the post above. Therefore baiting users further into an emotional response.
3. BAIT - "If you're not gonna help him, don't humiliate and deflate people, can?"
Why is this a bait? - let's take a lot at the reply of the users from the original post.
Luftwacko instantaneously replied and answered his question stating "Then use silencer to reduce muzzle flash".
AeonStrife gave another reasonable answer stating "yea or lower ur vid settings "
Quack decided to comment on the reply and while stating another possible solution "lol.... this has to be the most cutest reply ive seen for COD4...lolx....JUST KEEP TRAINING THE GUN YOU'VE GOT PROBLEMS WITH."
Let's take a look at your reply again.
"What so farking cute about this reply? I mean, I dunno about you la, but I wasnt born with the ability to play CoD4 instantaneously."
There was no reason to say the second sentence. Justifying your reply does not help you answer your question. This is irrelavant, you diregarded the question.
"He already said he's noob, means new player la. I dont see the "cuteness" in it."
Here, you restate that Johnny is a noob, which basically means you are indirectly insulting him. The second statement shows you have problems with people saying that replies are cute and also attempts to justify your first sentence. Like girls saying mashi maro's are cute, perception is a man's gift to himself, no two minds perceive the same in all things - i for one do not find bears with plungers stuck on their heads cute. This was a blantlant insult to Quacks reply.
"If you're not gonna help him, don't humiliate and deflate people, can?"
In all 3 replies there were no insults, no humiliations and deflatations. In fact, all 3 are present in YOUR post. The first quote was an insult, the second was deflatation and humiliation("already a noob") of the original poster's question. All 3 replies gave 3 different answers.
"And IMHO, training doesnt make the muzzle flash go away, although it helps you get used to it."
This is true, and i have no problem with this answer.
"And btw, johnnycp, use silencer, use a different weapon or watch for the mini crosshair that appears when you hit something. Thats all I can offer."
Finally getting to the picture, which is ofcourse at the END of the conversation, you repeat a reply from a previous post, not stating you agree with it or disagree with it, regardless you claim it to be yours, justified in the second part of this sentence "Thats all I can offer".
Although genuinely you did propose some points, you main focus was not in replying to the question,but rather making a point of other replies. Rather than agreeing or disagreeing with their replies, you disregard them and focus on less important parts of the replies, such as "cuteness" which on all accords was not even part of the question. A mere comment on Quack's behalf.
If you didnt mean to insult these people, the least you could have done was apologize when they reacted irrationally, but you had rather continued your "Fight" rather than back down and review your post. I will disregard all other posts after the posts stated above, due to the fact that there was no attempt to stop this behaviour after the first signs of dispute.
And if you say wrote such words due to your lack of knowledge in English, then you should have justified those claims a little earlier than letting it move 3 pages to the end.
The mastery of english isnt about the number of words you know or sentences you can make, it is the focus of your sentences, placement of the words and ability to understand what the reader perceives in what you write that makes you good in a language. The best writtings can always be written in simple english and still have its charm because the best authors understand the focus of their articles and how their readers will perceive it, no matter how simple or complex they may become.
This is NOT an insult to you or to those who replied to your posts but rather a note for you to understand what mistakes were made in such a short period of time. However this is only a reference for those who WANT to stop all these non-sense.
besides, all i really wanted to say was.
I like trains... Do you like trains?
Muzzle flash is reduced by remove specular map and lighting from the options menu. Muzzle flash only occurs after spraying a weapon over a short duration of time, apparent in weapons such as AK74u, RPD and M60e. All of which are either high powered weapons with a high caliber or have short barrels.
AKS-74U which stands for "Avtomat Kalashnikov So "skladnym prikladom" - 74 Ukorochenniy" uses a 5.45x39mm bullet, which is the biggest for the available weapons in COD4, explaining its penetration ability. If you translate that into english it means "Automatic Rifle Kalshnikov 1974 Model with Metal Side-Folding Stock Carbine"
Weapons with longer barrels have less muzzle flash due to the travel time of bullets and airspace in the barrel from one end to the other. The longer the barrel the less muzzle flash. Silencers also help reduce muzzle flash, but reduces accuracy and range.
Silencers causes friction and reduces bullet travel speeds which in turn also allows enemies to see bullet trails more often. This explains why there is a Range drop when you equip a silencer into a weapon.
Both RPD and M60E have long barrels which reduce muzzle flash by itself. However, due to the caliber of both weapons (both use 7.62 NATO or similar ammo) their muzzle flash will be large upon regular use - spraying for example. It is better to fire in bursts of 3 to fully utilize its accuracy and power. Training does help here since mastering the weapon reduces muzzle flash here.
Assault based weapons such as, AK47, M4Carbines, M14, G3 & G36c don't have muzzle flash problems as compared to submachine or machine guns. The long barrels reduce muzzle flash by itself and the caliber of those weapons fit their range. AK47 uses 7.62 ammuntion, similar to the RPD, it is however slower in fire rate, so spraying will not affect the muzzle flash. Also explains the penetration ability of the AK47 in COD4.
M4 Carbines use the 5.62mm catridge, which with its long barrel has less penetrating power and reduced damage. Smaller bullets also mean they are released faster from the catridge and barrel increasing lock and loading speeds. This explains the rate of fire speeds for weapons in COD4.
Sub-machineguns such as MP5 and P90 have higher fire rates because they use the 9mm bullets, similar to those you find in pistols like Berretta's. These guns were not made to penetrate armor, but due to its size over caliber ratio, these weapons fire faster. You P90 whores. .. . . .. .
Using a RDS (Red Dot Sight) or Silencer on these weapons don't do more then silence your weapons and reduce accuracy, so that is really up to you. Muzzle flash on the P90 can only be seen after 1-2seconds of constant trigger fire - spraying.. bunch of whores.
If you didnt know already knives and shotguns dont have problems with muzzle flash... knives dont have barrels but they do block your screen. Shotguns dont fire fast enough to cause a real issue, but putting a red dot might help make you blinder.
This post has been edited by crashtec: Jul 4 2008, 05:38 AM
Jul 4 2008, 04:58 AM

0.0261sec