Travel Singapore, Q&A & Driving into Singapore - on Pg1

bbmars
post Dec 15 2009, 09:02 PM

545 posts

Try Robertson Quay hotel... near Clark Quay and some 10min walk from CXlark Quay MRT.... room not very spacious, but enou biggrin.gif gh for 2...
According to their website, same price... no change, SG$100/N, check it out yourself..

http://www.robertsonquayhotel.com.sg/rates.htm

bbmars
post Dec 18 2009, 09:55 PM

545 posts

Check out this site for the free trolley ride. Its open for all... the site will tell you the schedule and timing, where it stops.... enjoy your trip.. howerver, beware over the weekends, Orchard road might be conjested.....

http://www.orchardroad.sg/events/events_co....php?id=trolley

There another school holiday promotion going on. Ducktours is offering 4 in 1 promotion till Dec 09, pass is valid till Mar 2010 min purchase = 2
passes

http://www.ducktours.com.sg/ look out for "Special Year End 4 - 1 School Promotion. Is valid for Singaporeans, PR and EP holder. I am booking mine for my family. Adult and child prices, valid ID is requried and a print out of that advertisement.

This post has been edited by bbmars: Dec 18 2009, 10:30 PM
bbmars
post Dec 19 2009, 11:17 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(arafat @ Dec 19 2009, 06:55 PM)
are the shopping complexes operating 24hour?
only Mustafa is open 24 hrs. However, due to the Christmas season, many centres are open till 11pm especially on Fridy and Saturday.
bbmars
post Jan 20 2010, 01:14 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(crash_makers @ Jan 20 2010, 02:26 AM)
hey guys

where can i find budget hotel in sg (preferly less than 100 bucks a night ) in singapore? i am planning to visit singapore in early march 2010. really need feedback from you guys

if possible the hotel location is not too far from esplanade Singapore.

I had pout up Robertson Quay hotel over here before. Used to be $100/N. now not sure who much it charges. near to Clark Quay and MRT.

Okay, just check, promotion still valid. try see for yourself at below site.

bbmars
post Feb 22 2010, 08:10 PM

545 posts

Universal studio will only be open some time in March. Some of the rides are still undergoing test ride. You best bet for now will be Apr. Genting has mentioned that they will open by the 1st Quarter of the year. Its going to be end of Feb now. March was mentioned by the CEO..

bbmars
post Feb 23 2010, 10:52 PM

545 posts

rclxub.gif
QUOTE(Abie.C @ Feb 23 2010, 04:46 PM)
hopefully USS open mid march. Cos i be there and planning to stay at the hard rock hotel if rooms available. Let's the kids have some fun there.

Can anyone recommend me suitable for kids. Other than Zoo and science centre. How about snow city?

Any good hotels for family? budget around or below RM300.
Given your budget, I think you can forget about Hard Rock hotel. Not sure there is any package available which is that cheap. THe price of any of the RWS's hotel is in the region of $400/N. I was thinking of just stay too but was beaten back by the price.... Mind you, there are people out there crazy enough to book those hotel. Understand from Genting press conference, 80% of the rooms were already booked for CNY period then.
bbmars
post Feb 28 2010, 09:26 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(chongelicia @ Feb 27 2010, 05:15 PM)
hey guys, can anyone know any cheapest hotel or hostel can accormodate me and my bf. preferable 2 person one room with a toilet, air cond is a must. hope to find cheapest as we plan to stay there for 5-10 days during singapore sales.
try Roberston quay hotel near Clark Quay. not far from Clark Quay MRT. If you want to walk to city hall, some 20-25min. quite easily to walk I should say. Last yr price $100/N, this yr, I think in hte region of ~$120. Try their hotel home site. I think I had posted it here before. Room wiste not very big..... but I think its good enough as most hotel prices had gone up already.

Added on February 28, 2010, 9:28 pm
QUOTE(bbmars @ Feb 28 2010, 09:26 PM)
try Roberston quay hotel near Clark Quay. not far from Clark Quay MRT.  If you want to walk to city hall, some 20-25min. quite easily to walk I should say.  Last yr price $100/N, this yr, I think in hte region of ~$120.  Try their hotel home site. I think I had posted it here before.  Room wiste not very big..... but I think its good enough as most hotel prices had gone up already.
Just check, they are still selling at $100 till march 10.... better write in and ask about their price

This post has been edited by bbmars: Feb 28 2010, 09:28 PM
bbmars
post May 1 2010, 09:47 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(sheffbatik @ Apr 30 2010, 02:37 PM)
i'm going to singapore this end of may with my gf. can anyone recommend a good hotel not more than RM350 per night, no hostel please. a decent room with attach bathroom. if can near to bugis or orchard or mustapha centre.

thnks!
You can definitely try Ibis hotel near to Bugis, new hotel and I read from travel blog review, not bad, price I think should easily fit your RM350 I hope. Last year, it was ~$120/night. As for Mustafa centre area, not such Parkroyal at Kitchener road is good deal. I think the price is higher, but Farrer Park MRT is just across the road.
bbmars
post Sep 11 2010, 12:06 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Sep 10 2010, 11:55 PM)
i want to find hotel that near to city center or bugis there, with MRT nearby, any introduction ?
What's your budget? Ibis in Bugis is ~ SG$135/N I think, you can check their website. Its a budget kind of hotel, but is well received by tourists. new hotel and modern.

bbmars
post Jan 23 2011, 11:45 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Jan 23 2011, 03:52 PM)
My parents (60 y.o.) prefer to stay in Chinatown and short walking distance (5-10 mins) to MRT/hawker centres.

I have selected a few from Agoda and Wotif but need some feedbacks on hotel condition, conveniency and location.

1. Hotel Re! - $378 for 3 nights.
2. Hotel 81 Osaka - $294 for 3 nights. (If not mistaken this is located in a neighbourhood and don't have much to see/shop/walk nearby?)
3. Hotel 81 Chinatown - $303 for 3 nights. (Wotif says usual price $300/night! Sure anot?)

1. Hotel Re! - is located somewhat on a hill or beside it. need to walk some distance to Outram MRT, this building is renovated a few years ago. It was my former primary school converted into hotel stay. There is a small reservoir with war bunker up in the hill. Haven't been there since I left school many years ago.

2. Hotel 81 Osaka - Yes, located somewhere in Tiong Bahru area, also need to walk some distance to MRT. Quiet surrounding and I think nice environment, many old buildings in this area, Tiong Bahru market is well known here. Need to walk

3. Hotel 81 Chinatown - (Wotif says usual price $300/night! Sure anot?)
I doubt that's the usual price. I might be wrong but I doubt such a class hotel is being priced at 4 or even 5 star hotel price. utterly bullshit. This is a budget hotel which I think charge higher prices than others that's all (I believe its because of its location). The hotel is nearer to Chinatown MRT which is just separated by Mosque Street. I used to live on the 3rd level at this place for 26 years. Convenience wise, this is the best place I would say among the 3. Opposite the hotel (depending on which side, main entrance of hotel facing it) you have Chinatown point shopping centre. Another direction, you have Yuhua (HK chinese departmental store), people's complex and centre all separated by a main road. Food wise, its every where.

This post has been edited by bbmars: Jan 23 2011, 11:49 PM
bbmars
post Apr 11 2011, 10:13 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(chenster @ Apr 11 2011, 06:23 PM)
hi guys..
want to ask how to get Universal studio tickets?
i heard from friends that the counter for day sale is closed everyday because the tickets have all been sold out online?
anyway to get the tickets online then? and where?
I thought you can just search for USS website. Simply book online there and pay by credit card. they do have a website. Easily to search, just yahoo.com.sg search for it. Definited can fin.

Added on April 11, 2011, 10:17 pmRead this, some one else also posted the same question

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g2942...-Singapore.html

This post has been edited by bbmars: Apr 11 2011, 10:17 PM
bbmars
post Apr 21 2011, 08:39 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(alwinc @ Apr 15 2011, 07:12 PM)
anyone can recommend a hotel for budget around rm400 per night anywhere that convenient to mrt station? planning for 4 days and 3 night trips
Ibis at Bugis, buget hotel could be one for consideration. Right in the heart of everything, Bugis MRT, Bugis Junction, Bugis shopping street, HDB heartland and hawker centre nearby, Chinese and Hindu temple next to each other within walking distance. If you are a walker, you can even walk to Suntec city, Raffles shopping centre (one stop from Bugis).... etc....

Something like SG$130/N.

Changing RM=>SG$ is cheaper in SG, change at Money changer, better deal. JB rate is not as good. You can use the below website as referrence. Its not the best around, but one of the better one. Only catch is, unless you are changing a lot, if no, don't bother to go all hte way to Mustafa to change.

http://www.mustafa.com.sg/forex.asp

Forgot to add, the surrounding area is crowded, because it is also a tourist's place, not forgetting many eateries and fast food in the area.

This post has been edited by bbmars: Apr 21 2011, 08:42 PM
bbmars
post Sep 5 2011, 08:53 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Sep 4 2011, 01:36 AM)
wanna buy tripod and camera accessory..wondering if anyone know where good place to get in singapore??
Peninsula shopping centre, Cathy Photo. You try them, don't know what kind of pricing now as I no longer into photography. Used to buy stuff from them, cheaper than most other stores and definitely better than in the mall. They do provide better pricing especially old customers. but you can try asking for better pricing.
bbmars
post Oct 18 2011, 09:49 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Strawberry L @ Oct 18 2011, 07:02 PM)
Hi.. I' m going to Singapore with my kids in December. I plan to try duck tour, flyer, river cruise & hip- on bus. As our currency exchange high, can anyone who hv tried the tour share wz me if it's worth for the price or not. Tks. .
try searching for SG website on these items that you are going to visit. You may find promotional items that budle the as packages which may be much cheaper. tried one few years abck, meant for family during holiday promotion. quite cheap. However, have not done so for sometime. So can't really tell you much about it.

Back then, I bought a all round ticket valid for 3 months, Duck tour, Open top bus and boat cruise unlimted ride during these period. Personally, I like teh duck tour, not bad and often have to queue, but queue time not that bad. If you have to queue, most like you already bought your ticket and have to wait. Don't worry, just window shop around Suntec area, plenty of things to see if you have not been there before.

As for Hop on off bus, as and when, just get in and out as you like. There is even one for Sentosa. You can check out their website below for more of their promotion:

http://www.ducktours.com.sg/tours.php
bbmars
post Oct 31 2011, 10:17 AM

545 posts

My personal opinion, if you are coming into SG by the causeway, I think the problem is the same. Driving in during feative season and school holiday, likely to have jam depending on which hour you are coming into SG. Weekdays would be a better bet. If taking a bus over from JB, slightly better (bus lane usually given clearance unlike cars) only need more time to clear both customs especially JB side. Not sure whether same for Malaysian. But for Singaporeans, trouble some but still can manage by taking bus over to JB. However, if you are flying into SG, dont think much different. But peak season in SG = higher hotel cost.

Typical shopping centres around the city and in some suburd malls comes with live musical shows mainly for the kids so that the parents would come along and shop. If you have kids, that will be good. Most shows begin sometime 1st week of SG School holiday, usually last week of Nov (no show on Monday). This has to be confirm, most show will ends mid Dec. All information can be found in Straits Times newspaper.
bbmars
post Nov 3 2011, 10:24 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(ysoon @ Nov 1 2011, 05:24 PM)
JB Central Hotel, it's opposite the JB Sentral and beside the City Square only so you can cross to Singapore easilly.  The hotel do provide free breakfeast, it's quite ok and affordable.

Added on November 1, 2011, 5:27 pm

Do you know how much to park the car a day in JB Sentral and City Square?
Sorry, can't answer that questions, I don't drive, every time I cross over to JB, I go by bus or colleague drives me in.

Any one from JB can help with this?
bbmars
post Jul 3 2012, 07:52 PM

545 posts

There are many food stalls in Little India selling halal food. Most Indian stalls are halal, look out for the sign. If you are at hawker centre or shopping mall, there will always be at least 1 or few stalls selling halal food. This is I think a requirement. So don't worry about food. Only thing might be price.

Changi village hawker centre is closed for renovation I think till year end of next year but you still can find halal coffeeshop. No problem, I had eaten ther some 1.5 months ago.

Added on July 3, 2012, 8:01 pm
QUOTE(litnit @ Jun 30 2012, 03:29 PM)
I will be go Singapore on August and stay at china town area for 4D3N.

Please kindly suggest some place to visit.
Day 1 - Marina bay and flyer
Day 2 - USS, MAME
Day 3 - shopping but where?? safari
Day 4 - .....

I worry about the transport within Singapore.
Hope can help..
Right in the heart of Chinatown, there is the Buddhist tooth relic temple. You can visit but mindful of your dressing. Not sure whether you can go up to the roof top garden. A small one though, but no harm going since there. Most places are except common areas are closed to public except on occasions. Evening night scene would be good between sunset and night fall where the temple will be lighted up.

Weekdays, MRT peak period to avoid. Recently SMRT increase discount from 30c to 50c for travelling before 7.30am. After 9am would be a better choice to travel.

Added on July 3, 2012, 8:07 pm
QUOTE(iiam @ Jul 1 2012, 05:01 PM)
anyone know whether we can bring foods to Singapore like maggi, biscuits etc?
save to save money since it will be a 5Days trip
Normal Maggi mee and biscuit are cheaper in MY, you can bring them in. Food wise, if budget really is your priority, then avoid shopping mall foodcourt. Look for coffeeshop. However, if most areas you are visiting are also tourist area, then the next best place is still foodcourt as restaurants would cost more.

This post has been edited by bbmars: Jul 3 2012, 08:07 PM
bbmars
post Oct 18 2012, 09:04 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(sowhon @ Oct 10 2012, 11:55 AM)
Wanna ask, Garden By the Bay visit during the day time or night time better? Anyone can share their experience?
If you want to go, may be you should search online for packages, it should be cheaper than walking price as it comes with other stuff (deal.com.sg/Groupon/plus deal sites, etc..). Been there last month, gave the skywalk a miss due to heavy human traffic. They only allowed certain number of people to be up on the bridge. So you have to queue and wait. As for both the conservatories (Flower Dome/Cloud Forest), not bad and I particularly like the Cloud Forest.

Queue to enter, design for all to walk down the entire waterfall from the top all the way downwards towards the ground level. Flower Dome - plenty of flowers in an air-con control environment. Don't worry about the heat, you won't feel it except when you are outside both of them.

I went there mid afternoon and spend most time inside both the Conservatories, came out late 5+pm and decided to gave up skywalk as queue time was some 1hr and weekends closed slightly later. Went over to MBS for dinner after that. Do note that there are many local tours being organised by local residence committee at very cheap price that comes with some food. Unless you know someone here and can find such lobang, other wise, go online search for promotional discount. Some part of the park is not ready. Just last week, it was announced that plan for children playground will start work soon at the park to be completed by 2014. So now you know why certain areas are not ready yet.

Added on October 18, 2012, 9:09 pm
QUOTE(tanhks @ Oct 18 2012, 04:19 AM)
Anyone tried rent a tent and camp overnight on the East Cost Park?
How much to rent a tent per day/night?
Bring you own tent. if you really keen on that, make sure you camp near toilet facility. Some areas are more popular than others because there are other amenties around, like food, Macdonald, etc... please check as there are changes to such amenties, not been there for long time, so information may not be updated. However, you just can't camp out like that, you to apply for permit to stay camp there.

You can also camp at Changi beach too (Changi Point).

This post has been edited by bbmars: Oct 18 2012, 09:09 PM
bbmars
post Oct 23 2012, 07:13 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(freewarechan @ Oct 22 2012, 10:53 AM)
Just made a trip to S'pore for a two day one night trip using the causeway for the very 1st time.When we arrived in JB,we ask some direction to the Woodlands/checkpoint compleks n we were told to use the Johore City Centre way.From observation there were lack of signbrds n ppl in the compleks were also not that familiar.We did manage to arrived at JB Sentral n try to ask some Malaysian Tourist officer n a policemen on duty but they were not much help neither.Finally when we pass the Malaysian custom again we were not sure which bus lane to take across the border.Two lines of lanes were provided but without much info n when we ask some bangla guys that mans the stationary booth we were told to wait at 170.We took the bus without paying but we did managed to go across.Finally we reach S'pore in one piece.Btw if happen in S'pore make sure you ask the right person or ask another person just to double c'firm.Either we dont speak Singlish or too much forieigner r found in S'pore.
With regard to your 170 bus journey. It is a night mare isn't it? But of course, if you know that you have to cross the causeway and into SG to clear SG custom, you should have known that all buses regardless of which one, must STOP at SG Custom, go onto the custom platform to clear and then get into SG. From there, get onto whatever bus for your onward journey. Many people didn't think of that. Just got onto any buses to get into SG, doesn't matter what bus, even including those factory buses, they may let you on for a small fees ( had not tried that for many years).

Both 160/170 or 950 buses are using Ezlink card for travelling, just tap the card and the card value will be captured till you exit where the actual deduction will be made known. For those yellow buses, mostly have to pay cash. Only SG buses like 160/170 uses link card. Don't really need to know which queue you are in, all the same when either bus arrives, the inpsector will let both queue to board the bus. As far as I know, travelling within the casueway between both countries, the fare is actually suspended = No Charges but you need a valid card or depending on the driver. You should have asked prior to your departure.

This post has been edited by bbmars: Oct 23 2012, 07:15 PM

0.0451sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:04 AM