131 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Travel Singapore, Q&A & Driving into Singapore - on Pg1

genuine
post Mar 27 2008, 05:53 PM

Sorry somehow I just feel their bed is "unclean" and disgusts me if you know what I mean. Oh well, that's my opinion no intention to put Hotel81's group of hotels down ok. NSS itself and the hotel guests are decent that's all I'm saying.

Another backpackers' favourite is Prince of Wales www.pow.com.sg It's located at Dunlop Street in Little India. I never stayed there but I have been there for their varities of cold draught beers and it's dirt cheap. I paid SGD7.00 for a pint due to discount, normal price is about SGD10-12 I think. Lots of Europeans due to cheap stay, show rugby games on tv, pool (one table) and of course b e e r s wink.gif

Blackbird
post Mar 27 2008, 07:53 PM

291 posts

Another vote for the NSS hotel. Located at a very convinient location. Would definately be staying there again should I visit S'pore. Here's a shot taken from the room window. smile.gif

Eisenmeteor
post Mar 28 2008, 11:36 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

So wats the normal bus ticket price to go to Singapore from KL?
DEVILtonight
post Mar 28 2008, 07:56 PM

74 posts

another vote for inn crowd. i love that place! they have this board near their entrance, and they will write travel opportunities/free tour etc there.
genuine
post Mar 29 2008, 05:08 PM

the last time I travelled was RM30 from puduraya but I have saved the hassle by paying more, I'm taking better coach now.

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Mar 28 2008, 11:36 AM)
So wats the normal bus ticket price to go to Singapore from KL?
TScandy_chl
post Mar 30 2008, 06:54 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Mar 27 2008, 12:13 PM)
My mum said she might book Berjaya Hotel Singapore coz the rate is like Rm50 for Berjaya card members..But I doubt the chances of getting the room..haha
wah dat's really cheap but only for card members only........haha......mayb she could get it for u...or else wat's the point she sign up as a member..... sweat.gif

Added on March 30, 2008, 7:03 pm
QUOTE(genuine @ Mar 27 2008, 02:18 PM)
Hi hi these are my suggestions :-

1. Girls, please avoid Hotel81 if you can wink.gif

2. http://www.nsshotel.com/accommodation.php it's next to Bugis Junction Mall & Bugis train station. You & your girlfriend can share a standard room at RM140/S$60 that is RM70 each per night or a bunk bed costs RM44/S$18 per person per night smile.gif

3. Try this website to give you an idea for your daily itineraries
http://www.visitsingapore.com/publish/stbportal/en/home.html

4. IMHO, GSS is not fantastic and no huge bargain anymore.

5. http://www.singaporeflyer.sg/ is the talk of the town but pricey. Heard it's fully booked till July but if you're willing to pay more there is/are seats of course. This flyer would put our EYE to shame if you know what I mean tongue.gif

Hope the above help.

Cheers
ic.....thanks a lot of the suggestion......ya the Flyer looks so awesome.......really do hope can hav a try on it..... tongue.gif ......our EYE....haiz.....nothing much interesting, been there once is already enough, definitely no second time

Added on March 30, 2008, 7:07 pm
QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 27 2008, 03:07 PM)
Not all Hotel81 located at Geylang althought there are atleast 3 Hotel81 at Geylang itself  biggrin.gif ..All my previous trip to SG, I stayed at Hotel81-Palace (Lrg 16)  which is located right at the centre of redlight district....Lotsa Ah Kua too at nite....And I don't stayed alone..I was wth my wife & daughter....So far no problem..room is tiny just like Genting 1st world BUT it is VERY CLEAN!!..I was shock on how clean the room is ..infact is is better than some 4star rated hotels in Malaysia!! ..It comes wth free 2 Super cup mee & 2Mineral waters too..Not bad for a RM100/nite hotel.

Although notorious..but I hv no problem walking at nite in Geylang (BTW, it is abit dirty along the road there-lah..The dirtiest of all SG town)...

For ladies who dun feel secure although it is not so bad as u all imagine, u can try other Hotel81 such as the one at Beecoleen, or Chinatown - Right beside the chinatown nite market...or NiutzeXui...
Wah.....SG oso a lot akua.......but i won't hav much trouble with them......as i'm not a guy biggrin.gif

hhm.....anyway i should really avoid geylang then especially nite time.....dun really wanna step into 'something' else..... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by candy_chl: Mar 30 2008, 07:07 PM
Eisenmeteor
post Mar 31 2008, 01:21 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

wah dat's really cheap but only for card members only........haha......mayb she could get it for u...or else wat's the point she sign up as a member....

Yea..haha..But Im going myself and my parents keep on ask me to find a friend to teman..lolz..haha..Dang..muz plan my schedule nw..bus tickets should book nw or wat?
coolwave
post Mar 31 2008, 10:36 AM

131 posts

ya... i stay at Hotel81... it was cheap and ok...

the branch is at Bencoolen Street.... crossing the Orchard Road, located in the city... u can visit the city by just walking
Eisenmeteor
post Mar 31 2008, 12:12 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Dang..The hotel is fully booked..nw looking into other options..haha..

Interested in NSS and inncrowd.. now..U all stayed in which room de?

This post has been edited by Eisenmeteor: Mar 31 2008, 12:22 PM
abcdefcuk
post Mar 31 2008, 04:37 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Mar 31 2008, 01:21 AM)
Yea..haha..But Im going myself and my parents keep on ask me to find a friend to teman..lolz..haha..Dang..muz plan my schedule nw..bus tickets should book nw or wat?
eisenmeteor hinting at TS to go together la. TS respond abit, can??
Eisenmeteor
post Mar 31 2008, 05:09 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(abcdefcuk @ Mar 31 2008, 04:37 PM)
eisenmeteor hinting at TS to go together la. TS respond abit, can??
Lol..No la dude..Not interested in going with people.. tongue.gif tongue.gif
bbmars
post Mar 31 2008, 08:49 PM

545 posts

try these budget hostel... saw this on chinese documentary late last night.

http://www.fernloft.com/
http://www.thehivebackpackers.com/
http://www.summertavern.com/

the owners were interviewed about how they started and why they do it... check out their site, some quite impressive
RegentCid
post Mar 31 2008, 09:11 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Does the Singapore F1 ticket start selling?...going to singapore see it..1st in earth F1 race in night mode
genuine
post Apr 3 2008, 05:18 PM

yes it is on sale now..
http://www.singaporegp.sg/ticket.html

Marina Bay Street - 3 day season passes priced from SGD 168 for a walkabout to SGD S$1,388 for the premeir Pit Grandstand.
TScandy_chl
post Apr 7 2008, 07:21 PM

23 posts

Haiz.....can't reschedule my time table.....looks like i have to miss the SG sales oso......but anyway wil still go travel around SG during august.

Now already planning to book NSS hotel, really seems like very convenient. Prev someone mention that it's near Durian building......just wondering what is that? only noted is a building that looks like durian........ is it a shopping complex or building full of durian ... laugh.gif
Eisenmeteor
post Apr 7 2008, 07:34 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Im gonna book the inn crowd..seems like a nice place..haha
THTgadgets.com
post Apr 7 2008, 11:55 PM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

My favorite place in SG is still the excellent RP on Scotts... They renovated the place when my mum and bros were there around 2 weekends ago and what a change... The hotel room looks very contemporary and stylish, although the facade outside still looks like what it was 20 years ago!

Unfortunately, as me and my gf were on a budget, we went for the Hotel 81 Palace on Lorong 16, Geylang (we were on the same trip with my mum actually, but they flew via AirAsia whilst we drove in!)... That was a real budget hotel, standard bed and tiny toilet...

The main Geylang Road was quite happening at night, with all sorts of weird entertainment around as well as crowded kopitiams... However, Lorong 16 was quite scary though, with trannies and other strange ppl around the area...
TScandy_chl
post Apr 8 2008, 08:53 PM

23 posts

Currently here's the summary of places that i planning to go.....

1. Bugis Juction mall
2. Suntec city ......famous for largest fountain.....but main thing is shopping. Is this the so call famous durian building??
3. Bugis village.......still checking on the map where is it.......famous for hawkers food n pasar malam
4. Sim Lim Square (KIV) .....actually is it cheap to buy electronic stuff there as compare to Low Yat ????
5. Kwan Im Temple......maybe can stop by to pray that have more increment.....or get married faster.......lol
6. Marina bay.......to have a look a the merlion and the flyer is there oso rite???
7. Night safari (KIV)......not sure whether is it worth it
8. China town.......is it sort of like our version of petaling street? Hoping to taste great food there
9. ..........still checking out

People.......more suggestion please............. notworthy.gif

i'll be there for 3 days 2 nights.......main purpose is shopping (eventhough is not during the great sales....damn), secondary purpose is anything that is nice, not expensive entrance fee (flyer is expensive but planning to go hav a look anyway), must go, not to be miss places.....
wlcling
post Apr 8 2008, 11:52 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

stay sg 2 years liao.. heres what i think

1) Bugis Mall ok la... but since it's nearby Bugis Village & Sim Lim, might as well go there. Can try the reasonably nice Siao Long Baos at Nanxiang Steam Bun Restaurant 2nd floor. (Cannot beat the main Branch in Shanghai, but still not bad la.)
2) Suntec City ok for shopping too.. you can go to a machine console near fountain which you can input free text which will then projected onto the fountain using lasers... you can also try Tony Roma's prime pork ribs near the fountain as well... yummy. biggrin.gif
3) Bugis Village just has lots of those small boutique shops. Not to a guy's interest la (albeit a sex shop...heeheee)... so i can't say
4) Sim Lim... yes slightly cheaper generally. Just be careful of most shops on bottom floor selling cameras. Some horror stories on them... Alan Photo is ok however
5) No comment. I guess this is the one near Bugis as well?
6) think so.
7) ok ok la... nothing too special, although its something to experience just once.
8) ok ok la... is a touristy area... so i think it's not cheap too. Food? Not too sure.
9) Head to Sentosa in the morning/afternoon, and head to Vivocity for shopping in the evening. After that head down to Clarke Quay for a drink or just chill out. They are located quite near each other.
10) How could you miss out the number 1 place to shop at? Orchard Road?!!@!

QUOTE(candy_chl @ Apr 8 2008, 08:53 PM)
Currently here's the summary of places that i planning to go.....

1. Bugis Juction mall >>
2. Suntec city ......famous for largest fountain.....but main thing is shopping. Is this the so call famous durian building??
3. Bugis village.......still checking on the map where is it.......famous for hawkers food n pasar malam
4. Sim Lim Square (KIV) .....actually is it cheap to buy electronic stuff there as compare to Low Yat ????
5. Kwan Im Temple......maybe can stop by to pray that have more increment.....or get married faster.......lol
6. Marina bay.......to have a look a the merlion and the flyer is there oso rite???
7. Night safari (KIV)......not sure whether is it worth it
8. China town.......is it sort of like our version of petaling street? Hoping to taste great food there
9. ..........still checking out

People.......more suggestion please............. notworthy.gif

i'll be there for 3 days 2 nights.......main purpose is shopping (eventhough is not during the great sales....damn), secondary purpose is anything that is nice, not expensive entrance fee (flyer is expensive but planning to go hav a look anyway), must go, not to be miss places.....
Eisenmeteor
post Apr 9 2008, 11:09 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

The Durian building is the Esplanade at Marina Bay..quite nice view..

131 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:57 PM