Regarding The One Academy!, Students from there hop in!

kelsoo
post Jun 25 2009, 02:05 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Myra @ Jun 24 2009, 10:01 PM)
Ahh. Okay. I shall do my English test properly then. Haha. Thanks for your reply! (:
Anyone else have any tips for me before I start @ TOA? I'd appreciate your help!

Many thanks in advanced.
1st: i can safely say around 65% of toa student communicate in chinese, around foundation year if u do go into the first or second class you are safe just by communicating in English but as you progress to your 2nd year where you will get mix around with the other classes where they mainly speak chinese you'll be screwed like some of my class mates as they cant communicate well with their team members during group project which will come during the 3rd year. (so pick up chinese which will be damn helpful)

2nd: Get the library card for a deposit of rm100 immediately as the library have tons of book for reference and tutorials (self learn is the key to survive in our world)

3rd: stock up on your coffee and hot soups for late nights work (if you are lucky) normally after their third sem in foundation year students will have already master the skill of not sleeping for a day or so, as u progress higher to 2nd and third year u will learn how to sleep for a maximum of 3 hours daily hahaha (thats in my batch of course)

4th: get your work done by saturday's as college, lecturer, print shops are always close on the weekend. so u'll be screwed if you have a date line on monday morning and cant print or ask for advise on it on sunday.

5th: enjoy your foundation year as best you can (join all the outings, filed trip, installation activities, seminars, design conference), after the second year u'll be pretty much stuck at home doing all this crap.

whistling.gif all the best bro haha
kelsoo
post Jun 26 2009, 12:07 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(nikeshock @ Jun 25 2009, 09:28 PM)
if you're going for degree course you're safe too.
i do agree with you bro, currently on 2nd sem this year. simplified figures are mad. loooooollll and typo fundamentals.
tonight have to stay up again.

@ myra, dont do your work last minute. you will screw up everything
haha i wont say degree course is safe, i have a hse mate doing degree which she say is quite busy, they dont have exploration week which you guys will have nxt week sad.gif and they have alot of extra subjects.

YEAH dont do last minute work, it really end up crappy and u'll just disappoint ur self as all ur work will go into ur portfolio which i am redoing right now cz of stupid me.

Nawww. I'm pretty much terrified now. Hahaha, I decided to go to TOA because they have the exact course that I want. Lim Kok Wing, whilst I don't have to worry about communications, they don't have the course. (Illustration with Comic). I very much doubt I'd be able to speak or understand Chinese any time soon. @__@ How did some of your classmates cope with that? How about the non-Chinese? I mean, are they really screwed just because they can't understand Chinese? Sigh.

TOA has good lecturers during ur major year which is way better damn lim kok wing. i have lots of frenz from lim kok wing that can testify to that as well. illustration in TOA is great judging by the work that is coming out.

TOA do have language class for those that has problem with english, but we do not have classes for ppl with problem in chinese. For my frenz that has communication problem normally they get frenz like me to translate for them haha. Well i mostly hang out with frenz who speak english but i was chinese educated during my primary school years so i have no problem with both language.

Now a days i believe TOA is evolving as we have more foreign students now, so dont be disappointed so soon.

We have 3 new clubs now.
Photography club
Art jammers club

Bowling Club
kelsoo
post Jun 28 2009, 09:44 AM

47 posts

There is a huge difference in DG and MM.
I'm in DG atm, and kelsoo is in MM, you got any questions you can ask them. xD

Drawing is something anyone can learn, you'll be under intense training in the foundation period to buff up your drawing skills, art sense and some technical stuff.

what kellie always say: the diffrence between DG and MM is that MM students smell better than DG student hahaha (well thats a joke le)

well you can ask xiven about the DG stuff, i would suggest you to go MM if u like to do outdoor activities, group projects, interactive media, quick thinking, musics, movies, games, photography, filming, exploration. Basically we in MM do everything from branding, project planning, photography, film and movie making, short animation, composing music, new media exploration and interactive game.

We focus more on execution and how to implement our ideas into new media such as website, mobile device, installations, virtual worlds and anything that is new. Do not think that Multimedia is just a focus on computer related subject but its actually a focus on everything that IL, AD, DG student learn. Everyone mistakenly think that MM is a short form for multimedia but its actually a short form for Multiple Media as in you will deal with anything from print, video, web, sculpture, installations and so forth.

Do take note that MM is a very fast pace major as we need to do everything quickly.

Oh and MM faculty is the most active XD and also we have lots of crazy lecturer that will force you to watch movies and play games for research. biggrin.gif
kelsoo
post Jun 30 2009, 11:53 PM

47 posts

depending on your course, for AD is 2nd year 2nd sem, for DG and ilust is 2nd year 2nd sem as well i think. for MM is 2nd year 3rd term
kelsoo
post Jul 2 2009, 07:53 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(lonelyshadoe @ Jul 1 2009, 12:00 PM)
dat sucks..now i dun have a reason 2 ask 4 a dslr..
Well hang in there for awhile more, dslr price dropping quite far down this few months and a lot of new features being develop such as full frame cam and HD recording which will be available to beginners very very soon.
kelsoo
post Oct 5 2009, 01:58 AM

47 posts

toa tread always die half way =_= and only come to life around mid nite when all the toa ppl wake up from their coffin and suck blood. Damn assignments screw up my sleeping life.
kelsoo
post Feb 24 2010, 02:18 PM

47 posts

to build new facilities and buy new comp for over complaining students like me ><
kelsoo
post Mar 23 2010, 04:30 AM

47 posts

if u really plan to go into MM then brace your self for coding cz we do plenty of it but mostly modifying the code rather than creating it from scratch. secondly MM and DG student are famous for being the night owls as we spent most of our time in frnt of the bloody computer trying to do troubleshooting, may it be flash, web, motion or just plain interface design MM is all about troubleshooting (be prepare to give up your precious sleep, unlike other major DG and MM has the worst sleeping habit, most of us sleep at 5am bcz of assignment and still have class at 9am)

3rd, if you are a MM major you will know that our lect are a bit crazy, we submit our finals 1 - 2 weeks before any other major in toa.

but the best part about being in MM is the great faculty present there, MM faculty is one of the most hype fac in the whole toa and we have the best eq. So if u want to join the most fun and stessful batch by all means come into mm
kelsoo
post Mar 24 2010, 12:47 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(ShiroHusky @ Mar 24 2010, 12:02 PM)
erm~ i wanna go submit application form n sit for the test...nid to call the college 1st to inform them or straight away go? hope i pass @@ lol...hmmm how much is the rent per room? >.<
its around rm400 - 600 depending on what you need, rm380 - 400 no aircon, rm500 - 600 with aircon. but those comes with utillities included.
i would recommend you to get one with ac unit bcz pjs9 is damn hot.
kelsoo
post Mar 25 2010, 01:25 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(sueannee @ Mar 24 2010, 03:16 PM)
I need to find a room ASAP..><
come down to pjs9, gt a few rooms for rent this few weeks. can help u get the numbers if u need any.
kelsoo
post Mar 29 2010, 09:32 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(sueannee @ Mar 29 2010, 08:44 PM)
I think I need physical before I can go into deep thinking. Haha
why do u even need to go into deep thinking? btw not many rooms left for rent. last week had alot more, today i found out that half of those i saw has been taken.
kelsoo
post Mar 29 2010, 11:16 PM

47 posts

cool, jz give me a call when u r here then i'll show you the place to yim cha arnd toa haha
kelsoo
post Mar 30 2010, 12:13 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(SimBa @ Mar 29 2010, 11:21 PM)
lol i nid room aso >.<
anyone know any rooms at pjs9 ?? ~
about 1 more month to TOA...

no room then nid find big cardboard box d lol
what type of room are you finding? constanly go out jogging arnd mid night so i normally see those room for rent sign, but just like i told sueannee not much left. if u came down and find 2 weeks ago there were tons of those rental sign hanging around. normally rooms here cost arnd rm400 - rm600 depending on your needs. if you want cheaper can try ridzuan or pjs7.

sueannee not yim cha le more like going out to do assignment arnd mid night haha, if u go out now you can see tons of student either in station1, kfc, or dsayang doing figures and all sort

This post has been edited by kelsoo: Mar 30 2010, 12:15 AM
kelsoo
post Mar 30 2010, 12:43 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(sueannee @ Mar 30 2010, 12:31 AM)
LOL. Seems like everyone had quite a stressing life. LOL.  tongue.gif But also need to take a rest from it sometimes. Haha. I just hope that the only room I find is still available when I go to KL next week ><
well toa is stressing, after second sem you basically master the technique of not sleeping. your term starting soon is it? why come over so fast? our finals end only nxt week, well mine actually =_=. still gt other room i think, tmr nite going out to jog at the further part of pjs9, will tell you if i see any.
kelsoo
post Mar 30 2010, 12:25 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(KeithCheeFB @ Mar 30 2010, 02:07 AM)
D'sayang lol!
big cardbox? sunway open in the night oso.. can go tumpang  smile.gif there
but seriously D'sayang food sux big time whistling.gif the only reason we go there is bcz there is no other place to go to at 2am in the morning haha
kelsoo
post Mar 31 2010, 04:57 PM

47 posts

nothing like that, we learn action script 3.0, html, css thats all. very basic coding
kelsoo
post Apr 2 2010, 03:08 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(SimBa @ Apr 1 2010, 09:49 PM)
hey
is lagoon perdana good place to stay ?
i got a room thr quite cheap
Lagoon Perdana freaking cheap RM600 can get a whole unit, bad thing about lagoon perdana is super duper freakingly dangerous. all sort of shit happen there, alot of robbery, slasher and all sort of bad things. had a few friend who stay there and it really isnt a place i would like to visit on a daily basis.

RM300 per room is normally a room that isnt own by an agent, even finding a room at RM400 is hard enough in pjs9. And all rooms is bound by contract even if dont have contract you must normally tell 2 months in advance before you move out or find a tenant to replace your current room.
kelsoo
post Jun 23 2010, 01:23 PM

47 posts

hey guys i'll be graduating soon and wondering if any of u would like to purchase my lightbox? its almost as new as buying frm vision and alot more cheaper. do check the thread here if u all are interested http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1467086/+0& will give special discount for TOA jr =)

0.0159sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:14 AM