QUOTE(kfc @ Jan 2 2009, 04:18 AM)
I used to be in same class with Junning, Zhe Lin and Wei Chuan (all of them are illus lecturers, not sure I spelt their name wrong).
We all compete furiously for atleast 16-24 pieces (we experimented with various sizes) a week and try our best to get it picked for best of the class.
8 was our minimum for the submission in class.
I'm not really happy with the leeway for new students. I don't understand what the student can learn with 2 pieces a week.
for some of the ppl mentioned above about lecturer pilih kasih.... I don't think that's the issue. Student usually fail for not handling their work, done very badly in their projects or didn't do well with attendance.
sigh... seriously sad for students nowadays.
when they came out and start work. they'd blame the school for not teaching them enough to be good artist. in contrary, students should learned to learn from their job instead of spoon fed.
Perhaps I should play the devil's advocate here.
First of all, I very agree to your point where students should learn from their work instead of being spoon fed. In my contrary opinion, it's just down to what you want to learn in the end. Not being the 'almighty', the slaves' free time would be dependent to the work given.
Here are the flaws for giving the students too much work:
1. It's breaking the creative work flow and individuality. It's setting the same style. No time to explore as the student religiously follow the modules.
2. It's setting a bad work culture. People do art because they have the passion, making it too hard for them will break their motivation and their very reason to continue. Hence this will continue to the industry, those who succeed will complain the failures who can't. It's discriminating, it's harsh and artists have a heart, if not a fragile one. If you want to preserve and strengthen the industry, strengthen their heart by encouragement, not force them to do what the 'almighty' wants.
3. On top of that, the workloads also reflected by their intention of treating students as professional workers. Look here, it's true that we will have lots more work from college, but your focus will not be that diverse as you were in college. You'll be handling single intense task or multiple similar tasks, in college you'll learn diverse multiple tasks. So just think how you can manage them all well, and obviously you need more time to learn and explore.
4. Setting too much work, most students will be dependent to the college's work. They will not devise their own motivation to learn their own, because they are used to work with them. In reality, this is the most important quality if you seek to become better. I have been through this as well, even if I say there's no stress to myself, my subconscious mind keeps telling me something's wrong, and I'm thankful to have the time to think it through when I was in a more relaxing semester. I was no longer dependent to someone else's plan, but my own. You guys should too.
Well, you can give a counter, I'll reply for sure. To make it simple to your reply, I feel it utterly useless to do 16-24 pieces a week if you don't know what you are learning but to create a great piece of figure portrait. Let me ask you a question, are you a painting portraits as your job? Are Junning, Zhe Lin and Wei Chuan painting portraits too? There are greater aspects to learn other than form, light & shadow, lines, strokes, composition, proportion, anatomy, observation, aesthetics and performance, even within these contexts they can practically different for other subject. So as I say, it's still what you want to learn at the end. Is giving lots of work without strong foundation and objective is that plausible?
QUOTE(kfc @ Jan 2 2009, 04:18 AM)
We all compete furiously for atleast 16-24 pieces (we experimented with various sizes) a week and try our best to get it picked for best of the class. 8 was our minimum for the submission in class.
I'm not really happy with the leeway for new students. I don't understand what the student can learn with 2 pieces a week.
Hold on, let me ask Craig Mullins if he paints that many portraits.

kfc, I respect you for who you are really (still at CM?), if you want to get personal you can pm me. But I can't stand the modules and your harsh views on the juniors, so I'm sorry if I get a little too agitated to you. But I'm sure some are struggling hard to be as good as you are, they need more time to explore not just do what the college asks however.
Happy New Year all...

My message to you all artist here, 'Just do what you think is
right.'