Regarding The One Academy!, Students from there hop in!

Virion
post Jul 29 2008, 12:16 AM

145 posts

hey guys I'm from CD081-3 biggrin.gif glad to see you guys here. what i want to say here is, no matter which major you want to choose, don't just depend on college. you should study and explore the things that either related or not related to your major by yourself, the more the better (i study programming as well). anyways i'm going to major in DG next sem. smile.gif i have been playing with 3d modeling softwares since form 4 wink.gif

This post has been edited by Virion: Jul 29 2008, 12:43 AM
Virion
post Oct 19 2008, 02:11 AM

145 posts

Xiven which major are you in? o_O till 10pm so late one meh I thought TOA close at 9?
Virion
post Jan 26 2009, 07:42 AM

145 posts

join DG then you'll know what's the real scary thing. (i'm in DG by the way)
Virion
post Sep 1 2010, 03:15 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(Saphira4597 @ Aug 15 2010, 09:53 PM)
Ooh I see..

Okay guys in comparison would it be better to pursue a course in programming (C++, etc) or digital animation? :l
I'm actually interested in both but my dad is scaring the hell out of me right now on design..
haha finally someone with the same passion like me. well I am also interested in both programming (C++!!) and animation. and you know what, I learn both. i am TOA animation student (3rd year now) and I study programming by myself. it's actually quite easy to learn programming by myself i just need some books, internet and start coding! everything else is just your own logical thinking - how you put your idea into coding. study animation at college while learning programming by yourself - i think its the best way.

This post has been edited by Virion: Sep 1 2010, 03:16 PM
Virion
post Sep 30 2010, 01:27 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(alcohol @ Sep 8 2010, 03:50 PM)
i'm 25 and leaving my stable banking work and pay to continue study art (my passion). Most probably in animation. It's a hard decision and i'm not getting much support from ppl around me.

Many issues has arised;
starting next year.. 3 years course. i'll be only working at 29.
GF wants to get married around 2 years time. how? leave her?
I'll be most probably living off my previous work's pay.. until i can get other source of income.

I'm taking a big risk here just so that I would love my job doing art instead of now. I've done my research and looks like TOA is my first choice now. I'll like to get some insight from the forumers on what is the average student age in toa? i'm afraid i can't blend in. How's the job prospect in the future? In reality malaysia isn't much of a good place for animators..

is it worth it to pursue my passion? Hope some current students in TOA get to reply me. thanks!
i have a classmate who entered TOA at the age of 30. he going to graduate by end of this year, so he's now 32. he will be working at the age of 33. i don't see any problem. i think its important that you do what you like; if you like animation then go ahead, you're welcomed. smile.gif

Added on September 30, 2010, 1:31 pm
anyways i got some questions for the seniors. ill be majoring in digital animation. may i knwo what subjects we will be having in the coming semesters ? im just curious. i heard we will have drama class n stuff but because we are having too many credit hours. some lessons are gonna be removed ?

truth is the two thing i like are creating replicas/models (weapons/armours/figures,etc) and also filming. The big dream is to one day become a film director. Im curious if, we will be learn things like Adobe after effects ?

AE, combustion those got~~ but not many classes for that. which batch are you in?

I heard the syllabus changed a lot for the juniors and you guys are going for specialization, which means you will choose either modeling/assets creation OR animation OR special effects. unlike our batch we learn everything.

This post has been edited by Virion: Sep 30 2010, 01:31 PM
Virion
post Oct 27 2010, 05:02 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Oct 25 2010, 09:05 PM)
my exploration week is damn "FUN"..
we DG never had exploration week. at least you guys have one rclxms.gif

i heard the DG juniors got internship leh!!! cry.gif me in final sem edi maybe can see u guys in company soon cool2.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by Virion: Oct 27 2010, 05:03 PM
Virion
post Nov 15 2010, 09:46 PM

145 posts

Hey TOA students please support batch 81's graduation campaign!!

Follow us here:
http://www.facebook.com/curio81

This post has been edited by Virion: Nov 15 2010, 09:47 PM
Virion
post Nov 20 2010, 03:56 AM

145 posts

what's CCD and FCD? i'm in older batch didn't have all these things lol.
Virion
post Nov 21 2010, 04:43 PM

145 posts

Me last time was in CD081-3. Didn't have CCD and FCD last time. Only CD.
Virion
post Dec 1 2010, 02:42 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(accelerateOK @ Nov 28 2010, 08:22 PM)
hey guys, was wondering if any of you failed any subjects or have any friends that failed before? it's coming to the end of my 1st semester and i'm suspecting that i have a possibility of failing figure studies so... what's the criteria of failing one class? or getting an otp? how do you fail? :/
you just have to attend all classes and pass up all assignments... guarantee won't fail one.
Virion
post Dec 2 2010, 01:06 AM

145 posts

and i heard my friends who did OTP before said OTP is just like paying money to pass because it's veryyyyyy easy. don't worry la won't fail so easily one... yet, still so many people failed lol. they just gave up too easily...
Virion
post Dec 13 2010, 07:53 PM

145 posts

hey guys, come and support our graduation exhibition!

http://www.facebook.com/curio81#!/even...178561438837319

Time 17 December at 19:00 - 22 December at 16:30
Location Black Box, MAP KL, Level G2-01, Block A5, Solaris Dutamas, 1 Jalan Dutamas 1, Off Jalan Duta, Kuala Lumpur

Graduating tongue.gif
Virion
post Dec 30 2010, 09:45 PM

145 posts

i used to have a bunch. not sure whether i still keeping it or not.
Virion
post Jan 21 2012, 09:12 PM

145 posts

I was in my first year first semester when this threat was started. Now I have graduated for more than a year already, and I read back this thread, walao~ an odd feeling~

Anyway, I have watched the latest DG final project showreel. Very nice! Especially that ninja thingy. rclxms.gif

Added on January 21, 2012, 9:15 pm
QUOTE(inachi @ Jan 12 2012, 10:26 PM)
he means all the suffer we are experiencing is just small case.
my colleague did 3-6 concept art paintings (with nice lighting, color mood and great finishing) per day, for the entire year. You say yours is peanut or not?

This post has been edited by Virion: Jan 21 2012, 09:15 PM
Virion
post May 23 2012, 12:02 PM

145 posts

Just pass by here and wanna say good luck to you all. smile.gif I graduated 2 years already. and... LOL layout pad!! Kinda miss those paper. tongue.gif

0.0178sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:37 PM