Asus P320, Last Known Price : RM 899

surfer88
post Aug 15 2008, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(lkoky @ Aug 14 2008, 11:39 AM)
anyone manage to get the GPS catcher update successfully?

I tried using wifi to connect to my home streamyx and do the update but it failed.
Should not be a problem as GPS Catcher updates easily...
Firstly, get your PDA connected to your home streamyx successfully..

Then, go to Programs > GPS Catcher > Menu > Setting
and then tick " Auto - update when connected to a computer" only.
Note: Better not to tick "When GPS is expired, "Update automatically", because your PDA may update every three days through GPRS connection and provide you with a hefty GPRS billing, unintentionally...

Press "Done", and then "Update".... ( takes only few seconds)

surfer88
post Aug 27 2008, 12:23 AM

QUOTE(OwenMnM @ Aug 25 2008, 07:31 PM)
Wow cool, i'm using ori Auto Cleaner that come with my P320 to close program with the 'X' button. Ram of my p320 around 25mb +- at Start up this PDA.

Any guide/website to getting 3rd party ROM to free up 70MB rom ?  drool.gif
Really great if we can get 70MB ROM after freeing up "unnecessary programs", but it would also be important to know what these unnecessary programs are or what programs are included... Deani_77, please advise.

Other than that, use Auto Cleaner to close program with 'X' Button, also using Oxios Close Apps and Oxios Hibernate utility programs will greatly free up valuable RAM space. Careful usage of Remove programs to remove unnecessary programs will also help. Use Clear Temp to clear off temporary files on a regular basis, especially for frequent internet users.

Finally, use File explorer and go through Device storage memory carefully and transfer as many programs to storage card memory, where possible. However, some program files just cannot be deleted as they are "protected system files" and also ringtones and theme files appear to be still copied to Device Memory, even if we install them on storage card memory. Go ahead and replace the 1GB card with at least a 2GB card.

surfer88
post Sep 12 2008, 11:00 PM

QUOTE(yeh_chiam @ Sep 11 2008, 11:16 PM)
Oh... Seems like that u guys dun really recommand this phone? I'm new to PDA, just wan to get a try to a cheap 1 1st, and my budget is low... I also got think of buying HTC P3400, that is very cheap, but 1 big issue, no WIFI...
P320 is a great entry level wm6.1 pda, and it is light ( unfortunately no good carrying case that I can find ), has built in GPS, with WIFI and competitively priced.

Well, this pda only has a normal performance 2 mp camera that works okay in outdoor situations but camera button activation is rather awkward.

So far, whenever the p320 hangs ( common in wm6 devices, and especially so with many third party programs being installed ), a simple soft reset will usually set you back on track....

Of course, there are so many other higher end pdas ( and they keep coming in at astonishing rates and competitive pricing all the time ) that outperform the p320 in every aspect and feature.

Well, the decision is entirely yours....
surfer88
post Sep 19 2008, 02:00 PM

QUOTE(denniswwm @ Sep 15 2008, 08:58 PM)
oh... Thanks for your advice.
May i know what is the size of the main memory without install any third party software?

Added on September 18, 2008, 4:40 pmhello....any one can help on my previous question???

thanks in advance...
Well, the Asus P320 has 128MB ROM and 64MB RAM

But after the device has been installed with wm6.1 plus some other common utility programs, you would be left with the following:

Storage total : 31 MB In use: 23 MB Free : 8 MB

Program total: 47 MB In Use: 27 MB Free: 20 MB

Thus, without third party software, you have 31MB storage total for installing your own user programs. By uninstalling ALL programs that is listed in the Remove Programs list should enable the user to reclaim all of the 23MB...

The free 20 MB RAM available is normally adequate for most applications.
For storage memory, it should be kept to at least 2MB free memory.

Regards....

This post has been edited by surfer88: Sep 19 2008, 02:30 PM
surfer88
post Sep 20 2008, 02:51 PM

QUOTE(denniswwm @ Sep 20 2008, 09:34 AM)
I see, thanks for your advise. Then i plan to uninstall my mapking 2007 since now i more frequenly use garmin mobile XT as my main GPS software. However, garmin already took about 8mb for my precious storage memory, definately a memory killer. T.T

Now really having problem of sufring net using wifi, need keep on deleting the temporary internet file, very troublesome.

Still new for PDA and this P320 is my first PDA device. haha, mind to gv me your msn so that i can consult u if i have any enquiry about PDA? cool.gif  cool.gif
Hey, I am also learning, lah, but you can always pm me so that we can share our experiences on using the P320 - good an bad ones. But for challenging issues, you should always post your queries on the forum so that you will always get the best answers from the best sifus here....

Cheers...

surfer88
post Oct 3 2008, 10:58 AM

QUOTE(sktse @ Sep 30 2008, 12:48 AM)
Hi there, never use PDA before n plan to buy P320, just wanna know can i save my SMS to the external memory on PDA?

or any pda have this function?

You may use this 14 day trial application to do so...

http://www.trinketsoftware.com/PowerSMS/

Regards...

0.0260sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:11 AM