Combining few heatsink to make 1, Need comments and ideas.

TSchyu89
post May 17 2008, 12:47 AM, updated 18y ago

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

Izzit wise to combine few heatsinks together. coz at my dad's workshop got some cooling coils. copper and alu .
wanted to know if i removed my stock amd heatsink and do some combining either by glue or welding. i dont think alu can be weld . so do gimme some idea thanks
IcEMoCHa
post May 17 2008, 04:47 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

u can't simply take some chunk of metal and weld them together to make a heatsink.. U see those heatsink with heatpipes?.. The heatpipe itself is a very complicated piece of technology.. Those companies invest thousands of dollars to research on them.. And the fins design is also very important for optimal heat transfer..
mADmAN
post May 17 2008, 04:58 PM

10,530 posts

actually u can....

a long long long long long long time ago some white dude took 2 units of XP-120 and modded them...he cut some fins...bent the heatpipes on 1 unit and then welded them together at the base.

result was quite good if i remember correctly.
campsol2k
post May 17 2008, 05:23 PM

1,214 posts

Just for your info, weld dissimilar metal like copper-aluminium is feasible and it is rather difficult and complicated process. Weld similar metal such as Al-Al in other hand is possible.
IcEMoCHa
post May 17 2008, 05:42 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 17 2008, 04:58 PM)
actually u can....

a long long long long long long time ago some white dude took 2 units of XP-120 and modded them...he cut some fins...bent the heatpipes on 1 unit and then welded them together at the base.

result was quite good if i remember correctly.
for that price buying a cooler is cheaper.. I meant it is not worth the money..
TSchyu89
post May 17 2008, 08:42 PM

2,465 posts

my parent shop alot junk cooling coils ma.. want me buy 2 xp120 and weld? siao meh.. might get stock cooler as base and use all lapsap coils to merge.
LExus65
post May 17 2008, 09:10 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

yes u can, but result may not be good at the first trial, u need to make trial and error.....

as for heat pipe u can try to imitated 1, try google and see u can make it or not.
lohwenli
post May 17 2008, 11:30 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Combining heat sinks is not as easy as most people think. If the heat doesn't transfer to all the heatsinks, the extra heatsinks are pointless, and may even obstruct airflow and make things worse. Welding is definitely required for best performance (nearly all glues are poor conductors), and FYI its not possible to weld aluminium except in an oxygen free chamber (don't even attempt it in air, when hot enough aluminium can flare dangerously). If you intend to use heatpipes to transfer heat, its even more complicated. Below are links to 3 attempts by someone to make heatpipes, even on his best try it only comes up to the level of heatpipes during the P4/A64 era, and todays heatpipes easily leave those in the dust. Also keep in mind, heatpipes without wick systems like his can only work in a vertical position, put it horizontally and heat transfer will drop drastically.

http://www.benchtest.com/heat_pipe1.html
http://www.benchtest.com/heat_pipe2.html
http://www.benchtest.com/heat_pipe2_2.html
TSchyu89
post May 18 2008, 03:04 AM

2,465 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 17 2008, 11:30 PM)
Combining heat sinks is not as easy as most people think. If the heat doesn't transfer to all the heatsinks, the extra heatsinks are pointless, and may even obstruct airflow and make things worse. Welding is definitely required for best performance (nearly all glues are poor conductors), and FYI its not possible to weld aluminium except in an oxygen free chamber (don't even attempt it in air, when hot enough aluminium can flare dangerously). If you intend to use heatpipes to transfer heat, its even more complicated. Below are links to 3 attempts by someone to make heatpipes, even on his best try it only comes up to the level of heatpipes during the P4/A64 era, and todays heatpipes easily leave those in the dust. Also keep in mind, heatpipes without wick systems like his can only work in a vertical position, put it horizontally and heat transfer will drop drastically.

http://www.benchtest.com/heat_pipe1.html
http://www.benchtest.com/heat_pipe2.html
http://www.benchtest.com/heat_pipe2_2.html
It's way too complicated than expected. what if i make fins which connect to each fins at stock heatsink. extend the radius of the heatsink.
lohwenli
post May 18 2008, 06:33 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

You probably won't notice much difference. Most heatsinks already can't transfer heat to the tips/edges of the fins (they're usually not even warm to the touch), extending them would not help and might increase air resistance.

0.0166sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:59 AM