126 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Bottom

â—™The New PROTON PERSONAâ—™ V4, Proud CAMPRO all the way....

necromencer
post Sep 25 2008, 04:38 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(neorage_x @ Sep 25 2008, 04:04 PM)
really? i thought gen2 uses 1.6 campro CPS, while persona is 1.6 campro IAFM. hm.. the old gen2 use IAFM too. but i think new ones got CPS inside. One quick question, who know how to assemble my GPS inside the persona? dont know where to put that thing. hahahahaha

need the persona owner userbar also :-)
the new gen2 comes with a new variant.... with iafm model or cps model
overfloe
post Sep 25 2008, 04:42 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Sep 25 2008, 02:40 PM)
But persona and gen2 are using same engine isnt it?
same engine.. but the older Gen2 is using a bigger oil sump that is problematic.. i couldn't exactly remember what is the problem but I think it is due to the thing cracked. so proton redesigned the oil sump and it is now smaller in size.
Suk
post Sep 25 2008, 11:45 PM

2,330 posts

anyone got any comment on Persona SE edition ?

My roommate has order 1 unit and the sales girl told him have to wait 1 month only.
can she trusted ?
sebnimh84
post Sep 26 2008, 09:37 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(necromencer @ Sep 25 2008, 04:38 PM)
the new gen2 comes with a new variant.... with iafm model or cps model
This as far as I know;

Gen 2 Available Engine Types ; Campro (No Longer), IAFM (I think no longer as well), CPS (Current)
Persona Available Engine Types; Campro (Prolly 2007 batch with 30 litre tank), IAFM (Current batch with 40 litre tank), CPS (A lotta people waiting for this haha!)

QUOTE(Suk @ Sep 25 2008, 11:45 PM)
anyone got any comment on Persona SE edition ?

My roommate has order 1 unit and the sales girl told him have to wait 1 month only.
can she trusted ?
Maybe la laugh.gif Cause I got my Persona within a month as well. Try to get it from Proton, not a dealer
TSUltima
post Sep 26 2008, 09:48 AM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

for those who dunno, iafm is using normal campro engine, the old one..

iafm is juz a module added to the engine, thts all...

cps is the one which is diff than normal campro, thts all..
necromencer
post Sep 26 2008, 10:32 AM

157 posts

IAFM - Intake Air Fuel Module with old CAMPRO Engine

CPS & VIM rights now only for Gen-2 & WAJA
TSUltima
post Sep 26 2008, 10:35 AM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

vim is in the cps...
mfanthony
post Sep 26 2008, 01:16 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Sep 24 2008, 08:39 PM)
when you get your new car, what is the mileadge?????
It was about 5km only smile.gif
mfanthony
post Sep 26 2008, 01:21 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Sep 25 2008, 11:07 AM)
I've been using 5w-40 fully-syn oil for 10k and 20k services.. so far no probs.. in fact engine noise is quieter, compared to mineral.

but I'm having a doubt if the SC really pours in the oil that I brought.. maybe they exchange with other oil, but return the empty bottle to me. (maybe the person is doing for his personal gains).. I dunno la.. just curious only.. coz customers are not allowed to enter the service bay, so cannot check.

anyway.. i realize that the SC always pour in the whole 4l of oil. when I check the dipstick the oil level is always more than the max level!

i know, older Gen2 models have bigger oil sump so that the engine needs almost 4l of oil. but persona have smaller oil sump and i the engine surely requires less than the Gen2.

similarly sized engine requires 3.5 to 3.75 litres of oil only.
Since the required amount is 3.5 to 3.75 litres of oil is required, if the SC foreman put in 4 litres, will it spoil the engine or not? Normally, my old iswara, outside foreman always have leftover oil to bring back home.

Any comments?

overfloe
post Sep 26 2008, 02:34 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

overfilling the oil is never good for the engine. it will cause high pressure and oil leakage.

i guess the SC is familiar with the old engine so they simply pour in the same amount to persona. how ignorant!
necromencer
post Sep 26 2008, 03:14 PM

157 posts

Anyone interested to upgrade your B-line head unit to M-line HU, can play mp3......

Pm me....
sebnimh84
post Sep 26 2008, 03:25 PM

321 posts

Here's an article I found on the web;

Campro CPS and VIM engine

The Campro CPS engine uses a variable valve lift system (Cam Profile Switching system) and a variable length intake manifold (VIM; not to be confused with the stand-alone IAFM used in the 2008 Proton Saga) to boost maximum power and improve the CPS engine's torque curve over the standard DOHC Campro engine.

The engine's Variable-length Intake Manifold (VIM) switches between a long intake manifold at low engine speeds and a short intake manifold at higher engine speeds. Proton is using a longer intake manifold to achieve slower air flow; as they found this promotes better mixing with fuel. The short intake manifold allows more air in faster. This is beneficial at high RPMs[2].

The Cam Profile Switching (CPS) system uses a trilobite camshaft to switch between two different cam profiles. One cam profile provides low valve lift, while the other cam profile has a high valve lift. The low valve lift cam profile is used at low to mid engine speeds to maintain idling quality and reduce emissions, while the high lift cam profile is used when the engine is spinning at mid to high engine speeds improve peak horsepower and torque[2].

VIM switches from the long to short runner at 4,800 rpm, while the CPS system switches over at 3,800 rpm. The result is 127 horsepower (96kW) at 6,500 rpm and 150Nm of torque at 4,500 rpm compared to the non-CPS Campro’s 110 horsepower (82kW) at 6,000 rpm and 148Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm[2]. Proton claims that there is better response and torque at low engine speeds of between 2000 - 2500 rpm.

The new CPS engine first made its debut in the facelifted Proton GEN2 launched in Thailand[3][4], and made its first Malaysian debut in the Proton Waja Campro 1.6 Premium (CPS)[2]. Besides the 1.6L version, the Campro CPS engine is also available in 1.8L version; however, the bigger 1.8L version has not yet debuted in any of Proton's car (as in 30 April 2008) but rather made its first debut in a Malaysian-made hovercraft[5].

Applications:-

* 2008 Proton Gen-2 (H-line)
* 2008 Proton Waja

Campro IAFM engine[U]

The Campro IAFM (Integrated Air-Fuel Module) is essentially a basic DOHC Campro engine equipped with a variable-length intake manifold, developed under a joint fast track programme which began in April 2005 by EPMB, Bosch and Proton. However, the IAFM differs from the VIM (Variable Inlet Manifold) for the Campro CPS engine in terms as follows:-[6]

1. The IAFM is a stand-alone module that can be fitted with a basic DOHC Campro engine whereas the VIM needs to work in conjunction with the CPS system in a Campro CPS engine.[6]
2. The IAFM is operated by the engine vacuum while the VIM uses an ECU-controlled solenoid.[6]

The Integrated Air-Fuel Module for the Proton Campro engine debuted in the second-generation Proton Saga, which was launched on 18 January 2008. We first heard of it back in October 2006 where it was still in advanced tooling stages, and ever since then everyone has been eagerly awaiting for the first Campros to roll out with the new air fuel module.

With the IAFM, the 1.3L engine used in the Proton Saga now produces 98 bhp (73 kW) @ 6,500 rpm[7]. The maximum torque is slightly reduced to 113.2 N·m (83.5 ft·lbf); however, the engine has broader torque range and the noticeable torque dip in the basic DOHC Campro engine has been eliminated[7]. However, the official brochure is only published with the familiar 94 bhp (70 kW) @ 6,000 rpm power and 120 N-m @ 4,000 rpm torque for consistency with other 1.3L Proton models.[8]

Meanwhile, the output of the 1.6L version of the IAFM engine which debuted in the 2008 Proton Gen-2 M-Line produces 110 bhp (82 kW) @ 6,500 rpm of horsepower and 148 N·m (109 ft·lbf) of torque, and the torque dip around 2,500-3,500 rpm has been eliminated.[9]

Applications:-

* 2008 Proton Saga
* 2008 Proton Gen-2 (M-line)
* 2008 Proton Persona

(sourced from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campro_engine)

alternatively, check out:
http://www.proton.com/innovation/rnd/campro.php
mfanthony
post Sep 26 2008, 06:50 PM

25 posts

I remember sum1 here ask whether got Metal Grey (Colour code is A0090) for AutoSpa. Yes, I can confirmed that it is available. I bought 1 bottle of the Metal Grey A0090 (RM21.90) & 1 bottle of Clear Coat (RM9.90) at Eneos Car Centre at Jusco Kepong.

I guess it is available at all Eneos Car Centre.
rclxms.gif

ychwang
post Sep 26 2008, 07:00 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

QUOTE(mfanthony @ Sep 26 2008, 06:50 PM)
I remember sum1 here ask whether got Metal Grey (Colour code is A0090) for AutoSpa. Yes, I can confirmed that it is available. I bought 1 bottle of the Metal Grey A0090 (RM21.90) & 1 bottle of Clear Coat (RM9.90) at Eneos Car Centre at Jusco Kepong.

I guess it is available at all Eneos Car Centre.
rclxms.gif
For what purpose? ur car need to repaint?
mfanthony
post Sep 26 2008, 07:15 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Sep 26 2008, 07:00 PM)
For what purpose? ur car need to repaint?
It is a type of touch up paint for scratches on ur car. My card side step on the passenger got 1 small spot that the paint came out when I take my new car. mad.gif

I did bring my car to SC to complaint but they said that need to repaint the whole thing which need a lot of time to send back for the repaint. He advise me to buy this paint lor which I was informed earlier by this forum also.

ychwang
post Sep 26 2008, 07:32 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

oh, can u not to accept the car when encounter problem?
mfanthony
post Sep 26 2008, 07:50 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Sep 26 2008, 07:32 PM)
oh, can u not to accept the car when encounter problem?
You can but you would not want to wait for another 1 to 2 months to get ur car lor sad.gif
mfanthony
post Sep 26 2008, 07:51 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(mfanthony @ Sep 26 2008, 07:50 PM)
You can but you would not want to wait for another 1 to 2 months to get ur car lor sad.gif
It is better to take the car first then complaint to SC.
NukeNews
post Sep 26 2008, 09:19 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Sep 24 2008, 08:39 PM)
when you get your new car, what is the mileadge?????
Mine was 9KM.

Btw M-Line persona window is power window and automatic right? When we push the window (driver side) button once, the window will automatically go down right? But why my window is not automatic? I have to keep pushing the button to down the window.

Thank you.
hwchua
post Sep 26 2008, 10:38 PM

691 posts

Does any1 here already had the HU ICE totally make over? (change to other HU).

126 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:59 PM