How to use Wifi with 40gb PS3, Help

TSdevanbrat
post May 16 2008, 01:33 PM, updated 18y ago

177 posts

Guys im wondering if its possible to use a USB Wifi dongle to plug into the 40gb PS3 and use wifi? I can't be dragging a cable downstairs to my hall just for my PS3!

This post has been edited by devanbrat: May 16 2008, 01:39 PM
Joker339
post May 16 2008, 03:23 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(devanbrat @ May 16 2008, 01:33 PM)
Guys im wondering if its possible to use a USB Wifi dongle to plug into the 40gb PS3 and use wifi? I can't be dragging a cable downstairs to my hall just for my PS3!
Err... what kind of strange 40GB do you have that doesn't have built in wifi?

Are you sure you using PS3?
rx330
post May 16 2008, 03:39 PM

11,811 posts

fuiyoh!!! new spec PS3

u upgrade from a 20gb ps3 with a new 40gb hdd is it?
DjiNn
post May 16 2008, 03:59 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(devanbrat @ May 16 2008, 01:33 PM)
Well in case you don't know, the standard 40GB Playstation3 has a build in Wifi Adapter, you don't need to use any dongle to connect via wifi.

where do you find the wifi setting you say?

go to your PS3 Dashboard.

Go to : -

Setting

Network Setting

Internet Connection Setting (And Choose Wireless)

Key in your WEP/WPA Password (you don't need to key in anything if you don't have those setting enable)

Test the connection setting (once you already key in WEP/WPA Key it will automatically test your internet connectivity)

And your done.

This post has been edited by DjiNn: May 17 2008, 07:52 PM
samurai20
post May 16 2008, 06:55 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

laugh.gif... PS3 already got built in wifi la... smile.gif
judge-the
post May 16 2008, 07:04 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ May 16 2008, 06:55 PM)
laugh.gif... PS3 already got built in wifi la... smile.gif
how come i dont know lah... hohoho all this while using network cable
samurai20
post May 16 2008, 07:08 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

Erkk not all PS3 ok...only 40g, 60g and 80g version... 20g dont have WIFI... laugh.gif...

p/s: ceh judge saja je tu... tongue.gif
judge-the
post May 16 2008, 07:32 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ May 16 2008, 07:08 PM)
Erkk not all PS3 ok...only 40g, 60g and 80g version... 20g dont have WIFI... laugh.gif...

p/s: ceh judge saja je tu... tongue.gif
seriously i dont know lah... been using network cable since day 1 smile.gif
TSdevanbrat
post May 16 2008, 11:34 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ May 16 2008, 07:32 PM)
seriously i dont know lah... been using network cable since day 1 smile.gif
Haha just checked Wikipedia here and there is Wifi for the 40gb version..looks like im not the only one that didn't know lol..thanks guys!

allornothing
post May 17 2008, 06:33 PM

Melancholic //
926 posts

Good news for me. I didn't know either smile.gif
TSdevanbrat
post May 17 2008, 06:52 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(allornothing @ May 17 2008, 06:33 PM)
Good news for me. I didn't know either  smile.gif
We should make a list of ppl that don't know..i was under the impression all this while i needed 80Gb one coz 40Gb no Wifi..what a relief now!

0.0187sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:14 AM