Question about 8600GT, Heat problem
TShtpkevin
May 15 2008, 06:05 PM, updated 18y ago
Sry, i am a newbie here. I got a gigabyte 8600GT with Zalman fan. When my system is idle, the temperature is 57C and when i run some games, the temperature is about 65C. My question is, do i need to spend extra money to get a better cooler for the card? Or this temperature is enough(don wan my card to burn off when i overclock)
thx in advance
lohwenli
May 16 2008, 01:21 PM
You'll have to overclock first while checking th temperature continuously. Generally for graphic cards its ok as long as temperatures do not hit 80C. You only need better cooling if you intend to voltmod the card, because at higher voltages you need the temperature to be lower to avoid damaging the card.
TShtpkevin
May 16 2008, 01:33 PM
ok thx. I overclock my card, my default core is 600, temperature around 57. When i overclock until like 650, when max load, the temperature is around 72. But now i facing another problem, when i use ATI tools to overclock and scan for artifacts, at 660, it got some artifacts, but, i tried to run 3dmark03 game test 4, it is still smooth, no artifacts. Should i continue to OC? or should i stop and lower it??
User_Xp
May 18 2008, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(htpkevin @ May 16 2008, 01:33 PM) ok thx. I overclock my card, my default core is 600, temperature around 57. When i overclock until like 650, when max load, the temperature is around 72. But now i facing another problem, when i use ATI tools to overclock and scan for artifacts, at 660, it got some artifacts, but, i tried to run 3dmark03 game test 4, it is still smooth, no artifacts. Should i continue to OC? or should i stop and lower it??
HanevE
May 19 2008, 01:03 PM

If ur TIM is still stock, Try to chg to good TIM. maybe can solve ur probs. i prefer Tuniq TX-2, cheap and powerful. Good case airflow oso can help to reduces ur GC temp. Try to put exhaust blower at ur PCI slot to reduces heat at that area.
U have to stop at the highest clock that artifact found.. if not, it will appear while gaming.
(TIM = Thermal Interface Material / Thermal Paste)
This post has been edited by HanevE: May 19 2008, 01:05 PM
TShtpkevin
May 20 2008, 06:16 AM