Comparison between overseas vs local graduates, who earn more? who has more potential?

bysquashy
post May 19 2008, 10:20 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ May 19 2008, 12:44 AM)
Sorry off topic..
Errr.. Where is UTHM?
Universiti Tun Hussein Onn
www.uthm.edu.my
Batu Pahat, Johor.

Well, to be honest, although I'm from small local uni, sorry to say that I think generally the foreign counterpart is better in terms of exposure.

This post has been edited by bysquashy: May 20 2008, 10:33 AM
dinozilla
post May 19 2008, 10:41 PM

1,680 posts

ok...lets stick to topic....
who earn more....
foreign probably get better head start compare to local....
or it could be same level of field for some Co
Who has more potential....
kind of subjective....hardly u can know one has a lot capability which still await to be unleashed....

i would say in a mixture of foreign n local grads, potential from local can yield greater, mainly bcoz in dat env, they can more tend to worry if they can perform as good as the others, and has poorer impression to the boss

mmohdnor
post May 20 2008, 12:58 AM

1,021 posts

i think for MNCs, foreign student do have a slight advantage over local students. But that would depend on the foreign grad himself too, if he excels in the interview and has the right knowledge/skills, he wud get it.

the same goes for the local grads also. if he is gud enuff to be called for interview and excel in the interview, he wud also get it.
i mean, your skills, knowledge, communication and others matters to the hiring manager.

the hiring managers are not just hiring the person for fun ... they would have to judge the person good enuff bcoz he'll be working for him soon, right? further more, the manager above him will also evaluate and agree on the decision.

in terms of salary, if that guy deserves the job post i believe the salary is the same (this is if the company is MNC, especially US-based)
the reason is also because hiring/headcounts are based on budget allocated and also level/rank offered for the job post.

i believe salary is based on the person's experience, knowledge and skills needed for the job. And for fresh grads, it is also affected by the result/cgpa blush.gif smile.gif.
So both grads from local/foreign have good-equal chances given that they know what to target and what is their career objective

my answer for TS questions :
1. Most likely they take overseas grads. but that depends on the candidate quality too.
2. Most of the time oversea grads are more independent, can adapt faster to environment and more open to measurement equipments/simulation softwares (well exposed) <--- talking about engineering
3. Not likely, i think same salary is expected for MNC companies regardless of local/foreign grads. if u got the skills for the job, then u get the offered salary if the hiring department is still within their budget.

* i have no idea about local companies hiring protocol

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: May 20 2008, 01:16 AM
ibmsege
post May 20 2008, 01:43 AM

182 posts

for US company, the fact is, there is no diff between local or foreign in terms of compensation and chance of getting promotion.. whether a local or a foreign graduate stand higher chance during interview, that is purely based on the interviewer judgement. there is no black and white telling that foreign has 70% quota or what ever.. that is fair enuff rite?

but be frank, i love to work with US educated boss than local graduated boss..haha! most of the US graduated boss look at your performance. Unlike the local one, always keep track of your attendence or your working hour like school teacher..
s[H]sIkuA
post May 20 2008, 09:51 AM

live in the present
2,162 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 19 2008, 09:25 PM)
Like someone said earlier, let's compare apples to apples. Try not to go off on a tangent and take a 'good' local vs a 'bad' foreign. Skewed comparisons work the other way as well.

If 2 candidates were absolutely identical in terms of their personal traits, just that one had a local degree and the other a foreign degree - then it's inevitable that the foreign degree holder has an advantage. It might be large or small, but it's an advantage nonetheless. And most times, when bosses can't make up their mind between 2 candidates' skills and personalities, the better recognised qualification will tip the scales. Easily justifiable within an objective assessment system.
Well, sad but what you said is true. Foreign degree does seems to be a more favorable choice for bosses if they can't make up their mind between 2 candidates. Even if you ask anyone out there who are not bosses, they will tell you they will pick the one with foreign degree, if both are identical in terms of their traits, or whatever you call it smile.gif

It is more to our cultural viewpoint IMHO. Malaysian tend to rate others (especially those Englishman country) higher compare to ourselves.
bysquashy
post May 20 2008, 10:35 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

Many company practice Equal Opportunities Employer policy. Read it up.
seantang
post May 20 2008, 01:46 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ May 20 2008, 10:35 AM)
Many company practice Equal Opportunities Employer policy. Read it up.

What does that have to do with anything?

Equal Opportunity legislation deals with disability, ethnicity, religion, gender and age, mostly.

Education is not within the purview (unless you mean that a local degree is equivalent to a disability). There is no legislation in this world that says that employers must assess every bachelors or masters etc degree equally - regardless of which university or country issued it.

Where your school and university ranks amongst its peers, its medium of instruction, location and reputation forms a legitimate part of your overall profile, right next to your skills, personality etc. You can deny it all you want but that's god honest truth. Otherwise, we'd just list the name of the degree in our resumes. Why then, bother to specify the name of the Uni, which country it's in, the number of years spent there and that it wasn't a twinning, distance or local-foreign partner program done locally?

Ask any NUS, Tokyo U, Beijing U, HKU alumni in the past 5 years and you can see how their 'reputation' to their employers have been enhanced with their alma maters' climb up the rankings. It's an aura that envelopes them even if they are weak individually. The feeling is always "That's a good Uni. You got in and you came out in one piece with a degree. You must be doing something right".
cheong86
post May 21 2008, 06:14 PM

63 posts

Foreign universities has better overall education packages. The education system has provided intuitsive learning environment because if you are a overseas grad, you'll be expose to many people from different ethnics and groups. Therefore the chances of interacting with these professionals helps the invidual to develop strong communication skills and becomes more approachable. I'm from local uni and I dun get the necessary 'people' to communicate. I tend to stick to the same 'gang' while doing my studies. Hence I believe foreign grads have better opportunity when comes to securing a job. Chances of doing well in interview sessions are better than local grads.
s[H]sIkuA
post May 21 2008, 09:00 PM

live in the present
2,162 posts

QUOTE(cheong86 @ May 21 2008, 06:14 PM)
Foreign universities has better overall education packages. The education system has provided intuitsive learning environment because if you are a overseas grad, you'll be expose to many people from different ethnics and groups. Therefore the chances of interacting with these professionals helps the invidual to develop strong communication skills and becomes more approachable. I'm from local uni and I dun get the necessary 'people' to communicate. I tend to stick to the same 'gang' while doing my studies. Hence I believe foreign grads have better opportunity when comes to securing a job. Chances of doing well in interview sessions are better than local grads.
Well it is true to certain degree. Communication skill is one of the weakness of our local grads here compare to overseas grads. It is mostly because of Malaysian culture IMHO. My lecturers who have experience in teaching overseas always told me about that, and it is not one but few others also giving the same opinion. In UK, the students are asking ALOT of questions during lectures to the point it became more like a debate between students/lecturer. In Malaysia? Lecturer talks, student listen, take notes, class end. They label our student here as "shy" laugh.gif

Malaysia Universities/Colleges should really concentrate on communication skill more than anything else

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0143sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:10 PM