Gigabyte: Asus Lied & Fooled Customers

tech3910
post May 15 2008, 12:07 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(Downcast @ May 15 2008, 01:01 AM)
Asus mobo is well known expensive, but how can they cheat their users like that? would like to see what's their response to this..
i think cause dey wanna cut cost.........
after all, their manufacture cost is very high...........

man, if dis is true, i'll nvr use asus product again..........
tech3910
post May 15 2008, 12:37 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(merzchan @ May 15 2008, 01:33 AM)
the statement really hurt those asus customer include me because i just bought asus motherboard. i hope asus will clarify this as soon as possible.
i think i know, i've nvr hav a burst capacitor wen i OC using asus mobo...............

bt i do notice dat asus mobo is bit unstable wen i stress test it............
tech3910
post May 15 2008, 12:58 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(gamers maniac @ May 15 2008, 01:52 AM)
say TAKNAK to asus..
no wonder asus is 1 of the most hated comapany.........
tech3910
post May 15 2008, 01:26 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(gamers maniac @ May 15 2008, 02:24 AM)
asus oso got a reputation as time consuming in RMA proses.  whistling.gif
i think so..........
flight bck 2 Taiwan woh.........can tek months.......
tech3910
post May 15 2008, 05:11 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(piggy(^(00)^) @ May 15 2008, 05:58 PM)
hmm... juz awhile ago, i tot Asus and gaygaybyte had a joint venture... or something... right?

so the joint venture... is to create such a drama in the ICT world?
ha ha, anything can happen..............
not long ago, AMD also use 2 b partnering wit nvidia................
look @ now, war in graphic.............

of course gigabyte is furious la, since dat dey r da 1 dat come out wit dat power saving solution 1st.......
all of a sudden, asus cheat ahead.........
tech3910
post May 16 2008, 01:26 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ May 16 2008, 02:06 AM)
The thing Gigabyte is trying to say is that they only use Japanese-made solid capacitors in their range of motherboards that they claim to have solid capacitors installed, whereas Asus only uses Japanese-made solid capacitors in some of the motherboards, but not in all of their motherboard range that claim to have solid capacitors installed on their motherboards. That is what Gigabyte is trying to say. Not that all Asus boards don't use Japanese-made capacitors.

IMO, in the critical areas such as the CPU area, I believe Asus really installed Japanese made capacitors, they will use non-Japanese made solid capacitors in not so critical areas.
i dun really care about solid capacitor o not............
all my pc nvr been use long enough till capacitor burst............

wat bothers me is the how d EPU works..............
auto downclock & OC is fine bt i just dun like dat dey mess wit fsb & core voltage...........

i prefer 2 hav control over dat areas.......
tech3910
post May 16 2008, 09:18 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ May 16 2008, 05:29 AM)
It's the other way around for me. DES or EPU is not that important for me. It is because I run my CPU at full speed most of the time e.g. Gaming & etc.

You don't care about solid capacitor or not? I assume you are not an overclocker? These solid capacitors are very important for your system to run stably. What you meant was you don't care whether they are Japanese made or not is it? It's not that the capacitors burst or don't burst, who doesn't want a motherboard that has the quality to run for as long as possible?

If you are someone that likes to fiddle with BIOS settings or overclock your system, you don't need or want to turn on EPU/DES I suppose.

EPU or DES greatly relies on your FSB or VCore to save energy. So you should just turn it off if you happen to own a motherboard has this feature.
i dun OC on da system dat i'm using........only OC the system which is 4 testing & benchmarking..................
i actually like the DES features.......auto downclock wen u dun performing task dat dun need so much processing power...............really save a lot electric bill........not 2 mention lower cpu & system temperature........... icon_rolleyes.gif
tech3910
post May 16 2008, 09:28 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(tomatos @ May 16 2008, 10:20 PM)
Asus did not mention about the claimed 80% power saving.

I noticed a few fans of particular brand claiming that the other brand has more RMA and so. The case now is the claim by Asus that their product perform better than it's actual performance. Whether or not your board RMA-ed before does not prove whether it's a reliable board or not. Your board is only a minute sample of all the boards they produce in the world.
not exactly 80%, bt dey do mention bout 70+%.................
it is printed on their mobo box & posters............

ha, cannot really say which brand has more RMA..............
more accurate would da b percentage...............
if more people is using dat brand, of course RMA will also more le............... blush.gif

This post has been edited by tech3910: May 17 2008, 02:04 AM
tech3910
post May 17 2008, 12:07 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ May 16 2008, 11:48 PM)
Yeap yeap, but not very significant if 1 PC only.. Let say if you have 10 PCs, the amount would be more significant.
It is because EPU can shut down idle hard drives while DES don't do the same. That's why they insisted to attach 3 hard drives to show that EPU are more energy saving.

It seems like that if EPU or DES is turned on, the multiplier is locked at 6.  hmm.gif
bt if u on ur rig 24/7, over some period, u can really save a lot.....................
actually dis is wad GGB target, those offices wit lots of pc & those 24/7 pc..............it will save a lot of money on electric bill tongue.gif

is not dat multiplier locked @ 6, wen idle o dun use so much processing power, it will auto go down 2 6..............
bt during load, it will jump 2 max...........

This post has been edited by tech3910: May 17 2008, 12:07 AM
tech3910
post May 17 2008, 11:09 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(WebWalker @ May 17 2008, 12:02 PM)
Here is the news :-

ASUS Responds Angrily To Gigabyte

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/asus-giga...board,5403.html
hm....... hmm.gif
looks like a very weak respond, doesn't clarify anything wad so ever..........instead, it back fire..................

seams dat ASUS is in deeper shit after their respond..... doh.gif

This post has been edited by tech3910: May 17 2008, 11:10 AM
tech3910
post May 17 2008, 01:16 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(lex @ May 17 2008, 01:24 PM)
I second that...  icon_rolleyes.gif

After TweakTown... THG said they will conduct its own independent comparison of the ASUS P5K series and the Gigabyte EP35-DS3L. That would be interesting...  brows.gif
i'm really looking 4ward 4 dat result..........

b sure 2 post the latest result here...... icon_rolleyes.gif
tech3910
post May 18 2008, 07:58 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ May 18 2008, 07:56 PM)
Mine did blow out after 4 1/2 years, taking the PSU and CPU with it. Not sure about the cause though, anyway it was a good board at that time.

I don't really care anyways, but I never considered Asus's P35 after reading reviews on them drawing more power than Abit's and Gigabyte's before EPU came out. Their press statement does little more than to make people more suspicious about their P5K EPU boards.
dude, 4.5 years is very long already lo.................
consider as durable la.............
no pc last 4rever la.

i think i wanna buy n ASUS board now 4 testing..........
tech3910
post Jun 22 2008, 09:54 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

just couple of weeks ago.......i saw on tomshardware.com, gigabyte apologizing 2 asus regarding their claim (flashing on the advertisement bar......)
tech3910
post Jun 23 2008, 01:22 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

i dun really get it..............

1) asus did not really mek any effort clearing their name............

2) little people know bout the apologized b coz it doesn't really made big.........

3) y there r so little news bout the war?

p/s:
who cares about supporting which brand........
just buy the 1 dat u think most suited 4 ur usage......
tech3910
post Nov 25 2008, 10:45 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

THIS THREAD ALREADY LONG DEAD.
EVEN ASUS & GIGABYTE THEMSELVES HAS SETTLE THIS CASE.
PLS DO NOT REPLY IN THIS THREAD ANYMORE.

This post has been edited by tech3910: Nov 25 2008, 10:46 PM

0.0264sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:41 PM